check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Charming Designer 1st Flr Marais Apt, 3 Mins Place Des Vosges

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 nights

Description

Les Archives Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

This absolutely charming first floor apartment is situated in the Rue de Turenne, close to the magnificent Place des Vosges, at the heart of the Marais. This is considered one of Europe's most beautiful city courtyards with its symmetrically placed brick pavers and lovely gardens. The apartment looks out onto the beautiful Rue Turenne and 2 fun bistros through expansive windows. The Rue des Francs-Bourgeois, with its trendy boutiques, galleries, cafes and restaurants, and the Musee Carnavalet is just around the corner, as is the Rue des Rosiers with its delicatessens and many exclusive boutiques. All are just a few minutes' walk away. Also within a short walk is the Musee Picasso, a great outdoor food market, the Marche des Enfants Rouges and Richard Lenoir open-air markets, Pompidou Centre, Ile St. Louis, and Notre Dame. The location is simply extraordinary.

The apartment is up only one flight of stairs and has been decorated and furnished with great taste and style by its interior designer owner The main salon features beautifully refinished hardwood floors, a traditional fireplace with mantle, and authentic beamed ceilings. There is a zinc-topped dining table with comfortable seating for six on the opposite side of the salon from the fireplace. A double-sized day bed faces the fireplace and television screen. The apartment is also equipped with wireless internet, a CD player, a safe, and an ice machine.

**New Feature**

The owners have opened a rare outdoor atrium up in the center of the apartment which allows guests to enjoy their morning coffee or an evening cocktail under the Paris sky with a view of the Paris rooftops. This atrium allows for an incredible amount of light in the apartment and is accessed off of the 2nd bedroom and kitchen. Such outdoor space is very unusual in the center of Paris!!

The accommodation comprises a large living room and open kitchen, a master bedroom with a comfy King size bed and adjacent shower bath room and a second bedroom. This second bedroom has a trundle bed (single bed, also with a pull-out single bed), and its own bathroom with bathtub.

The kitchen window and both bedrooms and the bathroom (with bathtub) look out over a central atrium with fountain. The atrium cannot be accessed, but provides additional light to all rooms around it and is quite charming! It is filled with boxwoods and a fun antique wood birdhouse with a 1700 French style mansard roof which can be viewed from the kitchen window.

Amenities include an air-cooling system, Wi-Fi/Internet, stereo, flat screen TV, washing machine and dryer, and two French heated towel racks. The telephone provides for free US and Canadian calls for both cell and home lines, in addition to home numbers in France and Europe. The only charges are for local cell calls. Access to the apartment is by a secure entrance with code and up just one flight of stairs.

Ideal for families with infants (under 1 year) and/or children over the age of 5.

Everyone has a different reason for loving Paris, and this apartment on the Rue de Turenne will be the perfect addition to your list. Situated in the heart of the Marais, there are numerous sightseeing opportunities with a 3-min walk to Place des Vosges and the home of Victor Hugo; 5 mins to Picasso Museum; 10 mins to Place de la Bastille, Jewish Museum, Hotel de Ville; and Beaubourg Center; 15 mins to Opera Bastille; Louvre Museum, Saint Louis, Ile de la Cite; and Carnavalot Museum.

Also, a 5-min walk east takes you to many of the trendiest little shopping streets in Paris, among them the cutting edge shops of the Rue des Francs-Bourgeois.

The variety of restaurants is amazing. There are many small and intimate, lots of trendy and fun, and one of the only 5-star Michelene restaurants is located in Place de Vosges just around the corner. A 3-min walk north brings you to one of the finest street markets for antiques and gourmet foods. A 10-min walk south and you're standing at Notre Dame Cathedral on the Seine. On Rue Rambuteau, all the food that brings us to Paris can be found in a single block--a boulanger artisanal for bread and pastries, traiteurs for those amazing sausages and pates, one of the few remaining poissoniers still going strong for fresh fish and oysters, a great wine shop, and a chocolaterie for a little love of the confectionary kind.

Extra services include: Possible extra maid service. This includes reasonable laundry. The maid is compensated directly. Also, a stocked fridge, cook service, airport transfer, baby bed, and cell phone.

When requesting information from outside of the United States, please include the COUNTRY OF ORIGIN and DIRECT DIAL INFORMATION.

Keywords: Marais, 4th arrondissement, Place des Vosges, 1st floor, luxury, designer, central, shopping, apartment, restaurants, accessible, Rue de Francs-Bourgeois, flat, charm, Musee Picasso, Marche des Enfants Rouges, Richard Lenoir, Ile St. Louis, Notre Dame, Pompidou Centre, Musee Carnavalet

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Kylie Mimitz
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 23, 2016
Call Manager

About Kylie Mimitz

This apartment was bought and decorated by Holly Howard, although run by Kylie Mimitz, her reservation manager. Holly had worked as an interior decorator for many years in the US as well as Europe. She loved opening her home to others get receive the true Parisian experience for all guests. The apartment is now owned by her brother, Wesley Peltzer, who enjoys the same love to travel and explore the world.

Kylie Mimitz purchased this apartment in 2010

What makes this apartment unique

The cafes and bright awnings give a gay Parisian flare to this corner location. I find it delightful, in fact, to open the living room windows and not only bask in the amazing French light, but watch the French regalia of horses and riders that parade by on most French holidays. The three apartment balcony windows also provide a front row seat for all the “goings on” in the plaza below. It’s quite amusing and fun!

Guestbook comments from the manager

It is a stunning unit, position perfect, and beautifully designed and finished! I will continue to reccomend it to my friends and family as a wonderful Parisian Haven to visit!!
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Charming Designer 1st Flr Marais Apt, 3 Mins Place Des Vosges
average rating of 4.5 based on 29 reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
4

Family stay in Paris - Great apartment in a great area!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed a year ago and will stay again! I realised we forgot to write a review when we checked to see what the latest reviews were like. We chose the area and looked to see what was available and felt lucky to have found this. We were 2 adults and 2 teenagers and it was perfect. Met by David who gave us the tour of the apartment, gave recommendations and helped return items we forgot when we left the apartment- fantastic!

Loved the area - we had been to Paris a few times before and knew here (the area) was where we wanted to be. We walked pretty much everywhere! It was close to every where we wanted to be on this trip. Nice bistro across the road was great for a meal or 2 - or an afternoon glas of wine before getting ready for dinner. The apartment itself was as the photos depict. We thought it charming and fun - and we had room enough for our stuff. Just piled our suitcases in one corner out of the way. We felt like it was our apartment we were coming home to in the afternoons. Plenty of shops and bakery's for breakfast stuff which were the only meals we had in the apartment. The only minus would be as someone else said, that it was filled with too much of the owners personal stuff in the draws. If it was mine and I wanted to rent it out I possibly would consider thinning out the decorations and giving more space in the draws. I did also read that they were thinking of the storage situation so that may already have been taken care of?. Like I said before we had space for our stuff- maybe we travel light? But you could see that the owner loved their apartment and made so much out of it.

Would we stay here again - definitely!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Rosa, CA
3

great location but some problems with apartment

  • 3 of 5

Apartment was charming but had major functionality issues. Despite assurances from owner that back bedroom was accessible through kitchen and porch, (important to us, since we were staying with another couple) we were told upon arrival that we could not walk across porch. That bedroom could only be accessed through our master bedroom.

Phone did not work for first week of our stay. Washer drain pipe was not secured, flooding the bathroom, and cable periodically stopped working.

No response from owner when I emailed requesting a rate concession because the apartment was not as promised.

That said, the local manager was very responsive, even making restaurant bookings for us when we didn't have a phone.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Stay.

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely the perfect apartment. It was just as it appears in the images here. Information and communication was no problem at all and we were greeted at the door with two sets of keys and a tour of the apartment before we settled it. There was a convenient grocery shop just steps from the apartment with two brasseries just beneath the apartment which made for a perfect setting for a quick breakfast. I loved that the river was a short 5-10 minute walk. It really was the perfect stay.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Washington, DC
5

Girls Parisian Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This is definitely a Girls getaway. Not for people of size - shower and apartment layout is for skinny mini's. No chested drawers and you can't work out of your suitcase or you will not have anyplace to walk...so bring a hang-up bag or such to make these items easily accessible when stored in your closet(s). Pay close attention to the orientation on the washer, dryer and stove. We were jet lagged and were like the 3 stooges trying to figure it out when the time came to use them. You WILL need to use them since maid service is not available and may want clean towels every other day (takes 2+ hrs for a load). TV/cable is great, Bose docking station is out of date with our phones so we really were sad that we didn't have the french music to go with the whole atmosphere. The 3 door key ritual was interesting and from our understanding not uncommon so pay attention to that block of instruction too - not as easy as you would expect. The place is in (from my perspective) an ideal location - from the neighborhood to the actual corner action that kept us entertained from our balcony. Bus stop is RIGHT there but we used UBER which was super fast, luxury and uses your credit card so save your Euro! Sundries shop for fresh fruit, coffee/cream, wine and fresh pastries on the other corner! Book your stay over two weekends to make the most of the area because it is the only place where store fronts stay open on weekends! There is SO MUCH to see & eat right there so...check out all the tours on Viator! Loved this place!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
3

Paris

  • 3 of 5

Booking the rental and meeting for the keys was handled well. The process was seamless. It was my first time staying in a rental as apposed to a hotel. The location is awesome.

I would rate it as average. I doubt I would ever do a rental again. It just lacked all the amenities.

The apartment is crowded because it has too much furniture for the small place. Also to much junk. I wanted to put my iPad in a drawer but they were all full of junk. Small bathrooms. Second bathroom is hard to use because the curtains cover the commode. Only cleaned superficially. Decor items were covered in dust. Overall it was average. I would recommend removing some of the decor. Changing the bed in the master to a queen allowing you to walk through to the second bathroom. Getting smaller curtains and cleaning the curtains. It has 3 beautiful windows that are blocked by furniture. It would be nice to be able to look out the windows. Repairing the floor in the patio. I was afraid to walk on the floor.

We still had an awesome trip. The apartment wasn't terrible just needed some improvement. The place would be perfect for 2 adults and 1 child. Not 4 adults.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Monica, We truly appreciate your comments, and have taken them into serious consideration. We are refocusing on making the apartment more comfortable for guests, and space for their items. I do hope you think of us again when coming to Paris. Best regards for now, Holly Howard
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Beverly Hills, Ca
5

Jewel Box in Paris

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have never enjoyed Paris more! The apartment is exquisitely decorated and very Parisian. The location can't be beat; right near The Palais Royale and Victor Hugo's home. We spent our mornings sightseeing, the afternoon eating a leisurely lunch at one of the many charming restaurants nearby, and the evenings cooking meals with the fresh produce from the farmers market. We especially loved opening all of the windows and being able to open them and watch all of the fun things going on below from the balcony. Our only regret is that we didn't book the apartment for a longer time. We are hoping to go back in May and stay the entire month. Highly recommend this charming jewel box in Paris!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Les Archives Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter Getaway
Jan 4 2017 - Feb 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Spring Fever
Mar 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Summer Special
May 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
$299
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$425
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
3/ngts has small fee $250

20% Security deposit is required and refundable once apartment has been inspected and there is no damage.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Les Archives Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 813 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Notes:
Atrium with fountain, air cooling system, hardwood floor, refrigerator, heated towel racks, maid service, airport transfer, stocked fridge, laundry, and full of light.

Partner Offers