check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Joy OBrien

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

SPECIAL SALE!! ST.MAARTEN OCEAN & TROPICAL GARDEN VIEW+FREE WiFi+CHROMECAST+MORE

23 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 14 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Maho Reef Studio Rental Photos and Description

See Jets Fly Into Princess Juliana Airport From Condo Unit. Very Large Terrace!!

*****CONTACT OWNER FOR CURRENT SPECIAL DISCOUNTS FOR BOOKINGS FOR STAYS IN AUG. SEPT. OCT. AND NOV. 2016 ONLY***** LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!! THIS STUDIO CONDO UNIT's rates and all dollar amounts noted here are in U.S. Dollars and are based on double occupancy only. ****MANY PERKS AND AMENITIES INCLUDED IN THE RATES FOR THIS UNIT!!!!**** PLUS BONUS Free Wi-Fi AND CHROMECAST STREAMING FOR YOUR HULU, NETFLIX, ETC. + BINOCULARS FOR AIRPLANE WATCHING, ETC. + MUCH, MUCH MORE!!!

Check in is 3pm. Check out is by 10:00am. Check in and out times may be adjusted if possible.

To keep the integrity of the unit, any stays beyond 7 days/nights, requires a purchase of cleaning approximately each 7 to 10 days. Every booking will also be assessed a one time exit cleaning fee.

Clean, Spacious, Air Conditioned, Soundproof STUDIO Unit on 2nd level in The Royal Islander Club-La Terrasse Hotel/Resort, facing the ocean, with breathtaking views of the professionally landscaped rooftop tropical garden, pool area and the gorgeous ocean and beach!!! Right in the heart of the most happening spot on the island, Maho Bay Village! Located on the Dutch side of the island.

The fully furnished unit offers, plenty of space to stretch out and relax, especially in the comfortable king size bed and comfortable sofa. Fully equipped kitchen offers Espresso/Cappuccino machine, coffee maker, tea kettle, large size blender, 4 electric flat burners for cooking. No conventional oven, but the microwave is also an oven/grill in one (instructions in kitchen drawer). Also there is a dishwasher and a 4 slice bagel wide toaster.

And for your outdoor pleasure, there is a portable cooler with wheels, Snorkel gear, 2 boogie boards for pool or beach, fishing rods. Umbrellas for the tropical rain. And on the large terrace, there is a dining table with 4 folding chairs, a gravity lounge chair and a double glider chair (not shown in Pic). Fishing rods, broom, mop, floor steamer. Also recently added is a wine rack, just under the folding bar counter inside the unit. If you use or open any of the bottles just replace with something you like! Fun Perk! :)

Huge flat screen TV, CD Player, DVD player, DVD movies, CD player, alarm clock, used books. Candles, for ambiance, Iron and portable ironing board. Portable hand held clothes steamer. Spacious bathroom with hair blow dryer, 2 shower heads with massage settings, one head is also hand held. (no bathtub). Rack in shower for your shampoo, etc., and a hand bar to prevent slips and falls. Extra clean bath towels and extra clean linen and comforters also provided already in the unit for your convenience.

Clean beach towels and safe key are obtained from front desk. Your own personal safe is in the condo unit's closet. Wireless phone in room. Any outgoing calls using the room phone is paid for at front desk. Beach is a short stroll across the street. Laundry facility on site in lower level, uses quarters.

Buy your own groceries at market right downstairs, or eat at one of the many local international cuisine restaurants all just steps away from unit. Also shop at the many shops, right there in Maho Village. Relax in Hot Tub in Pool area, or/and get pampered in Spa just right downstairs from Hotel/Resort, or work up a sweat in the Gym just across the street.

Many stores in St. Maarten (The Dutch Side) are famous for their duty free shopping, being the only true duty and tax free island in the Caribbean. Surrounded by magnificent beaches, golf course, sailing, fishing, scuba diving, wind surfing, fantastic dining & night life, day trips to Anguilla or St. Barts, and more. This unit is also very close to French side of the Island. Bus/minivan or taxi service right in front of Hotel. Approx. 10 min walk to Airport.

Local restaurants:

The island offers some of the finest restaurants, The Cabana, which is ocean front, Temptation, Rare, La Gondola and Bajatzu, Bamboo Bernies, and many more.

Activities:

Play golf, Jet ski, Rhino Safari. Play in the casinos, Zip-line through the tree tops at Lotterie Farm. Race wet bikes at La Samanna. Spend endless days sailing, laid out on the beach tanning, or snorkeling. Explore ship-wrecks. Spend the day on one of the nearby islands like St. Barts or Anguilla, or do absolutely nothing!

Night Life:

24hr Security allows you to paint the town in comfort! Plenty of night life! Live street shows, right in front of Resort and also across street in the Sister Resorts. Casino Royale Casino right next door, Tantra nite club is also right next door as well as Cheri's bar/restaurant and Bliss nite club a short stroll across the street via the beach. Sky Beach Bar on the rooftop with real sand and fire effect coming out of the little sand hills! The Red Piano in Simpson Bay or go for live music in the area hotels. Take a short beach stroll and have one of the great drinks at Sunset Beach Bar. There are also plenty of casinos, live bands, dancing and entertainment in Maho Village.

If daily housekeeping is desired it is to be arranged with owner at time of booking, NOT the front desk. $60 for desired daily cleanings during the week and $75 on weekends and Holidays. A one time Exit/check-out cleaning fee is assessed at $60 during the week and $75 Sat or Sun.

A down payment of approximately 50% of the rental amount is required for confirmation of booking. As not to forfeit your deposit your remaining payment required no later than 30 days before check in date. At least 60 days before check in for cancellation is required for 100% refund. At least 30 days before check in for 50% refund of total room booked rate. No refund for cancellations less than 30 days before check in. Included in Guest's invoice will be a small fee for Damage Insurance Protection offered from this site for first time guests. Please note fees will be assessed accordingly for any damages beyond the insurance protection amount.

No car needed at all. But if you desire renting a car you can park on street or you can park in the secured parking garage under the hotel, that can be arranged at front desk for a small fee.

***Please contact owner for holiday rates, as those rates are not reflected here.***

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Joy OBrien (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Joy OBrien

My wife and I love to travel and we especially love the Caribbean! We work hard and like to play and relax whenever we find the opportunity. Since owning our own little peace of paradise in the Dutch Caribbean, St. Maarten, we are opening it up to share with you, so that you may enjoy it as much as we do!!! We love relaxing on the beach, by the pool and in the Hot tub, while watching the Jets fly into Princess Julianna Airport. Our St. Maarten Condo in the Caribbean is the ideal location for us. We love the night life, the live shows, the authentic cuisines, the casinos, the ocean and tropical garden views that our unit offers, and the fact that everything is right outside the door, literally!! When we're not able to get out of the country, we then love to hang out at our other vacation home in Maryland on the water and have a glass of wine in the hot tub, Jetski, boat, fish and kayak, or just sit on one of the 3 waterfront decks and enjoy the waterview! Our Motto is "Live, Love, Laugh"!!! Our aim is to please each and every one of our guests!!! When sending us a message/inquiry, please tell us a little about yourselves :)

Why Joy OBrien chose World

This property offers ALOT more amenities, perks and frills than other properties offered here, and it is located in the most happening spot on the Island!!!

What makes this studio unique

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!! THIS LOCATION IS THE BEST, MOST HAPPENING SPOT ON THE ISLAND!!! GREAT FOR ALL AGES!!!

Reviews

4.7
based on 23 traveler reviews

SPECIAL SALE!! ST.MAARTEN OCEAN & TROPICAL GARDEN VIEW+FREE WiFi+CHROMECAST+MORE
average rating of 4.695652 based on 23 reviews
5

Wow Great!

  • 5 of 5

This place was wonderful! Perfect spot and everything was very convenient and close by. Grocery store right below and lots of restaurants were plentiful and so were the Casino's.We did rent a car ,but not really necessary,everything near by in walking distance. The beaches were great at Maho and Mullet Bay was only a 5minute drive.This rental had everything that you could want, pots and pans,silverware,toaster,full size refrigerator , microwave, coffee pot, and the best balcony which was very big with a great view of ocean and airport and you could actually lay in bed( great bed and king size, which was extremely comfy) and watch the planes come in and watch TV at the same time! The porch was great to eat on and table and chairs,nice! The room was extremely clean and nice size.Great service from Joy and communication was great and she was very friendly and accommodating! We will definitely be back next year for sure!We were in St. Maarten's 2years ago and loved it so much that we decided to come again , this time staying near the airport , my husband loves to watch the planes coming in and taking off and this place was perfect for that. There was never loudness at night , flights were usually in the day and room was pretty sound proof.The restaurants we liked were The Stone,The Hideaway,Toppers by the sea had a broad show acts on Thursday nights was very good,Cherie's next store was good for food and entertainment, and the dueling Piano's across the street. Sorry that we had to go, can't wait to get back to this great place! Thanks Joy for everything and great service and a great place!

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Linda, thanks so much for the great review! We loved accommodating you as well as all our wonderful guests! We strive to please and put alot of love into our condo unit, and it warms our hearts that we've done it again! Look forward to having you both return in the future! The pleasure was all ours! Best Regards for the coming Holidays! Joy and Dale :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Toronto
5

Location Location Location ! The Best !

  • 5 of 5

The best place we have ever stayed in Maho Beach ! Our 6th trip to Maho beach. Previous stays were at the Sonesta Hotel and The Royal Islander , both across the street from La Terrasse. We very much would not stay anywhere else but La Terrasse in future. In particular Joy and Dales studio unit . It spoiled us for any where else. Everything that is on the listing was there and more ! Yes the unit is very soundproof. Our King bed spoiled us and was so comfortable that I looked up the matttress brand for my own home purchase. We couldn't believe the kitchen and how equipped with every utensil you would need and more. Great Pots and Pans , the cutlery and dishes were so my own taste.

There was so many extras we didn't even use, like a cooler , fishing rods , boogie boards, and even snorkel , fins and masks etc etc.

We did however use and really enjoy the BIG SCREEN TV , with chromecast .

When not viewing the TV , our view from the balconey was wonderful. Yachts , planes , surf and the most gorgeous gardens right in front of us.

The pool is outstanding. Perfect temperature everyday. You usually have it to yourself . Joy was a great owner to deal with ,and always attentive with any query and responded promptly . Her cleaning staff were great . We cant wait to return !

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us and future prospective guests. This allows guests to see the bang they get for their buck when they book this unit!! It truly means alot to us knowing that our unit has served you both so well! We take pride in it. And we love and enjoy it, and all the area has to offer as well, whenever we can! We totally appreciate the fact that all of our guests love and enjoy it so much too!!! Yes, that's what it's all about! LIVING, LOVING and LAUGHING!!! You guys were an absolute delight and the pleasure was all ours! We look forward to having you both back again, anytime! ☺
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great studio in an excellent location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently stayed in this wonderful studio located in the La Terrasse resort. The studio has all the amenities one would need, and the location is hard to beat. Although we had a rental car, it was nice to have the option of just stepping outside the resort and being able to walk to quite a few nice restaurants, bars/clubs, and even a casino. It's also a very short walk to Mullet Bay Beach, which saved us from having to find parking there on busy days. Another nice benefit was able to watch planes land right from the unit's balcony. And even though in the heart of all this "action", the location and soundproofing of the unit is so good that noise was no issue whatsoever.

Joy and Dale's communication was excellent before, during, and after the stay.

We definitely look forward to staying here again!!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awwww... thanks so much John for submitting such a lovely review! It was a pleasure accommodating you both and look forward to accommodating you both again for your future visits to St. Maarten. I am sure this helps our future prospective guests in making their final decisions of where to stay while in St. Maarten! Regards, Joy and Dale :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great stay. Very clean and comfortable!

  • 4 of 5

Excellent view, beautiful gardens, all extremely well maintained. We had a fabulous time. Location allows you to keep to yourself and relax when you need it or venture out to Maho village for lots of fun and entertainment. We did not experience any problems and were confident that Joy and Dale would respond if we needed them. We were not disappointed, the bed was firm but comfortable. We hope to stay again soon!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to do this lovely review for us Dianna! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased. Once again, it makes it all worth our while!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND ALL THE READERS HERE!! Regards, Joy and Dale :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to be

  • 4 of 5

We were here again. We know the place and it is great to be there. Only if you don't like aircraft noise stay away but it is the best place on island

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you once again for a lovely review Willem! And thanks again for your repeat business! It is always our pleasure accommodating you! Future guests will also now see that guests, like you, who were once first time guests are now repeat guests! And being a repeat guest staying at our condo says alot!! We also want to point out to any new prospective guests that the Resort/Hotel is soundproofed and with the terrace doors closed, the airplane noise is very minimal. And the airport is not very busy and does not open all night. The last flight comes in around 9pm. Regards, and all the best for the holiday season to you and yours and all of the holiday rental shoppers reading this message!! Dale and Joy :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A nice stay in a great location

  • 4 of 5

The location and view are exceptional. The price was also a good value. Joy and Dale seem easy to deal with. If it wasn't for the extremely hard bed, we would probably look to rebook next year.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Steven, Thanks so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to submit your review. We are truly sad to know that you did not feel the mattress was to your liking, and wish there was something we could have done about it. But as you know mattresses are a personal, individual choice, in the area of comfort. As a matter of fact, you are the first guest that has expressed this to us. Quite the contrary though, we have always had guests stating to us that the bed was most comfortable, and some guests even asked us where we ordered it from. As noted in one of our previous guest reviews that was submitted, (noted here) these guests felt, and noted that the mattress was "extremely comfortable" to them. We aim to please all of our guests, and face the reality that we can't always please everybody... Even though we still try our best to. And this is why we didn't just go out and purchase any mattress. We actually did our homework and then had it special ordered to fit what was the most comfortable and the most desirable to the majority of people surveyed via the different companies we looked into. We did it this way because we wanted to try to please the majority of our guests in this aspect, if not all of them! Thanks again for choosing to rent with us and Best Regards! Joy and Dale :)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
800 Kilometres
Princess Juliana Int'l Airport
Nearest Ferry
5 Kilometres
Philipsburg
Nearest Golf
400 Metres
Maho
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Maho Beach
Car: not necessary

NOTE THIS IS A STUDIO CONDO, NOT A 1 BEDROOM in the La Terrasse-Royal Islander Hotel. Located in what people are calling the most happening spot in St. Maarten in the Village of Maho on the Dutch side. Across the street from Princess Juliana Airport runway. Many people say that they thought it would be noisy being so close to the airport, but they were pleasantly surprised! Watch jets land and take off on the observation deck which is located in the pool area. There is also a hot spa tub, childrens pool and bar by pool. Steps away from plenty of activities including but not limited to, four of the top night clubs on the island, beaches, shopping, beauty salon, grocery store, casinos, parking, and much more!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maho Reef Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Season
Aug 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$135
$850
$2,900
 
 
Season
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,000
$3,500
 
 
Season
Jan 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$155
$1,000
$3,500
 
 
Season
Apr 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
$900
$3,000
 
 
Season
Aug 1 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$135
$850
$2,900
 
 
Season
Jan 1 2018 - Mar 31 2018
14 night minimum stay
$1,000
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Rates are 1 to 2 persons occupancy only. If housekeeping svc's are desired, you must advise owner before confirmation of booking. Housekeeping will be arranged by owner, NOT front desk. There is a 1 time charge for exit cleaning. Cleaning fees as follows -any day during the week=$60, Sat or Sun=$75. NOTE- Rates are subject to change and not guaranteed until confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maho Reef Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Condo unit has one spacious bathroom with large shower. Offers double adjustable massage heads and one head is an arm that can be hand held. Hair dryer, clothes hamper, laundry basket. Fresh towels. Fresh linen in dresser drawers!
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • This is a newly furnished studio condo unit. Up to 2 occupants only. Offers comfortable king bed with big screen TV and much, much, more!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Hotel is located in what people are calling the most happening spot on the island, Maho Village. Many different attractions can be found on the island from water sports to ATV rentals. All kinds of duty free shopping, many nite clubs to choose from, and many different international authentic cuisine to be tasted and savored at any of the many restaurants, like Temptation, Bamboo Bernies, La Gondola, Bajatzu, Sunset bar and grill, and many more. Plenty of beaches, live street shows in costumes right in front of Hotel. Live shows at sister and neighboring hotels, casinos, adult entertainment, and more all in walking distance! Play golf, Jet ski around the island, Rhino Safari. Play in the casinos. Zip-line through the tree tops at Lotterie Farm. Race wet bikes at La Samanna. Spend endless days sailing, or snorkeling. Explore ship-wrecks. Spend the day on one of the nearby islands like St. Barts or Anguilla, or at the spa or beauty salon, or do absolutely nothing!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties