Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Big Pine Shorty's - Cozy Cabin In Northern Minnesota's Superior National Forest

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 BR, 1 Bath - 1 Canoe & Firewood - 2 Night Min - Best for 4 guests - 6 max

Big Pine Shorty's is a clean, cozy cabin with access to a small quiet lake in the wild heart of the Superior National Forest. It's only about 8 miles from the southern boundary of the B.W.C.A. The lakefront is just a short walk down the hill. A perfect place to commune with nature, reconnect with family and restore your spirit. If you are planning a wild party weekend, please seek different accommodations. Big red and white pines tower overhead, providing nesting habitat for eagles, osprey, owls and kestrels. This simple, clean, cozy cabin has a genuine 'northwoods' feel. We even throw in a CANOE and FIREWOOD. Silent recreation for all seasons at our simple little cottage in the woods.

If you are looking for a quiet, secluded wilderness escape, you have found it. Even with a very adequate public boat launch less than a minute away, there is no such thing as 'rush hour' on pristine Lake Gegoka. Speedboats, tubing and jet skis are definitely out of character here. This sparkling clean little 150 acre lake offers fishing, canoeing, swimming and just plain gazing out at. Our complimentary canoe provides a perfect way to explore the lake. The dock down at the shoreline is available to cast your line from or could accommodate your own small fishing boat launched from the public landing just around the corner. Lake Gegoka is a shallow sandy bottomed lake and warms up early in the summer. Just a few minutes away is a little used public swimming area on Flathorn Lake (connects to Gegoka). There is a very scenic hiking trail around it and a picnic area with water pump, grills, tables and a brand new vault toilet.

Lake Superior's North Shore is only about 30 minutes away and provides many opportunities for day trips, including Split Rock Lighthouse tours, the Superior Hiking Trail and some of Minnesota's most popular State Parks. It's a great place to cool down on a warm day inland and grab a bite to eat or a special souvenir. Ely is a 45 minute drive and has a variety of good restaurants and unique gift shops. This lively little town is the jumping off point for Boundary Waters Canoe Area trips and has some great attractions for rainy or sunny days. Both the International Wolf Center and the North American Bear Center are great places to learn about 2 of the area's wild residents. The Soudan Mine tour is a fascinating look back in time to 'hard rock' underground mining on the Range in the early 1900's.

More Details

Property Manager
Andy Fisher
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2018

About Andy Fisher

Love my job as a lodging host. I wear many hats and pretty much enjoy most of them (especially the bomber!)

Andy Fisher purchased this cabin in 2008

Why Andy Fisher chose Isabella

Location, location, location. The woods and lake are beautiful and pristine!

What makes this cabin unique

We're easy to get to but far from the noise and lights. Lots of Minnesota's rare and shy wildlife hangs out right in the surrounding Superior National Forest. You can even see the stars (all of them!). Peace & quiet...

Amenities

Isabella Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Shower, toilet and sink. Guests provide their own towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 4 twin/ single , 2 twin bunkbeds
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (1) Guests must provide their own sheets, pillows, blankets. Twin Bunk Beds (2) Guests must provide their own sheets, pillows, blankets. Sleeping bags work well too.
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • swimming
Notes:
Lake front is just a short walk down the hill. Exclusive use of 1 canoe. Small paddle boat and rowboat available on first come first served basis (may need to share with 1 other cabin rented at this location). Paddles and life vests available. - Ski-In: 30 kilometers of groomed classic cross country ski trails in the pines. - Our commitment to a peaceful setting means ATVs and snowmobiles may not be operated on the property. You will need to trailer them to designated use areas. - Guests must provide their own sheets, pillows, blankets and towels. - Cell Phone Service: Verizon & AT&T (weak signals)

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
37% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Big Pine Shorty's - Cozy Cabin In Northern Minnesota's Superior National Forest
average rating of 4.375 based on 24 reviews
Roseville, MN
5

Great getaway on a quiet lake.

  • 5 of 5

Went to Big Pine Shorty's cabin with my wife and toddler son for a late summer getaway for a couple nights. Hardly saw anyone else, was able to explore the quiet lake in the provided canoes, had a campfire, and saw some beautiful stars. Wish we could have stayed a couple nights longer. Already trying to figure out when we can come back.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Daniel. Glad you enjoyed your visit. We would certainly love to have you back. The stars are certainly amazing up in these parts. Definitely no light pollution. We appreciate your business and taking the time to share your experience. Sincerely, Andy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

nice cabin, but road close by

  • 3 of 5

Cabin was very nice and well maintained. Lake is pretty. It was a little strange to have a road pretty much right in the back of the cabin.. we could hear the cars and some trucks going by.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ulrike, Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the cabin. You're right, the road is a bit close. The traffic is fairly low on this back woods highway and I've tried to compensate for that by pricing the cabin reasonably. Rarely any traffic at night. This summer they have been resurfacing sections of the road, so there have been a few more trucks as a result. Sorry that it was bothersome for you. Hope you got a chance to get out on beautiful Lake Gegoka in the complementary canoe. Thanks again, Andy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The cabin was clean and was very cozy. Perfect spot to get away from it all and enjoy nature.

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a wonderful time making memories here on our summer vacation. The peaceful views from the dock and the quietness of the north woods were just what we needed. Our highlights from our stay were canoeing on the lake, campfires each night and viewing the stars from the dock. We wanted to show our children, 9, 10, and 12, the beauty of northern Minnesota and the BWCA, and still have the convenience of home. This was the perfect experience to do just that. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Theresa! I'm glad Shorty's could be a good home base for your family's memory making. I've always said that this spot is BWCA wilderness without the portaging. I really appreciate you taking the time to share some of your experiences. -Andy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Upon arrival at the National Forest Lodge, we were able to easily locate the Big Pine Shorty's Cabin. The VRBO description is accurate with the interior layout/amenities, etc. and the cabin was clean when we arrived. We enjoyed the various boats on the property for renters to use and even had some luck catching fish, the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare daily meals while staying on the property, we enjoyed an afternoon drive through the Superior National Forest and even used to fire pit to cook some grilled sandwiches.

Prior to our departure I had reached out to Andy and he was quick to respond to my emails and answer any questions I had regarding the property. This cozy cabin provided our family of three (2 adults and a 3 yr old) the perfect location for a family get away from the Twin Cities.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Amy. Thanks so much for your business and taking the time to share this review. Glad you made good use the fire pit, boats and even caught some fish. Its nice to hear that our VRBO listing gave an accurate idea of what Shorty's had to offer. Maybe you can return with a 4 year old next year :). Thanks again, Andy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
3

Cute, no frills cabin & beautiful, remote location

  • 3 of 5

This was a wonderful location for a quiet little getaway. We mostly had a great experience overall, but it was obvious that some things are not always carefully managed here. The electrical breaker that powers the sauna was in a mystery location because this was not explained anywhere that we could find (until we looked at the closing instructions, and this was still quite vague). The sauna flue was also broken and the owner was very surprised to hear this, which was disconcerting. Also we had a water issue among all of the cabins where the line broke and all the water turned off in the whole resort. While this is an understandable accident, the most troubling thing was that when each of the cabins attempted to contact management, the phone answered and then promptly HUNG UP...REPEATEDLY!! Once someone finally answered after our 5th call, it wasn't even management! It was all figured out and Andy was very responsive once he was there, but it could have been much better executed for sure.

Other things management could mention ahead of time in the List of Things to Bring: cooking oil or vinegar. Tongs for grilling. Hand towels for drying hands and dishes.

What we loved: the location! This is as remote as you're going to get, and we LOVED that! The lake was wonderful and the woods are dense and fun to hike through. We walked around flathead lake and that was a wonderfully maintained and enjoyable trail for a day hike that everyone could handle. The cabin was cute. Nothing fancy, but we don't need that! Wifi worked without any issues.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary. Thanks for your review. Sorry about the inconveniences. It certainly was a "perfect storm" of problems. We had just done some phone upgrades to better serve our guests and a system glitch was the hangup culprit. We never would. The last guests in had told me they enjoyed the sauna and I assumed the damper was working fine. I hope you had a chance to use it after I repaired it Friday night. You were right about the sauna light instructions. They were not even on the "Welcome" side of the cabin greeting. Thanks for pointing it out and I have updated it. Hope you'll give us another shot some time. Thanks again, Andy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super Cozy cabin and gorgeous surroundings

  • 5 of 5

The cabin and property were fantastic. We stayed during the week and didn't see any other people the entire time. Andy was amazing and totally saved our butts with one issue we caused with the cabin. Would stay again!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi John. Thanks for taking the time to share your enjoyable stay. It was nice to meet you and be able to help out with the "issue." Looking forward to hosting you guys for another quiet stay. Thanks again, Andy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Miles
Duluth, Mn
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Knotted Pine Tavern
Nearest Golf
35 Miles
Ely
Nearest Restaurant
25 Miles
Our Place
Car: necessary

For those who enjoy nature and being close to it, this is the ideal getaway. In this remote corner of Superior National Forest, wildlife is abundant. Moose roam the area, and on occasion have been seen swimming in our lake. Timber wolves, pine martin, foxes, fishers and many other shy forest creatures are seen and heard. The surrounding area is very sparsely populated and offers many opportunities for exploring. The U.S. Forest Service maintains a number of hiking trails, picnic areas and public accesses to lakes large and small. Day trips to the B.W.C.A. wilderness are also an option.

Other Activities: shopping in Ely, kayaking, wildlife viewing, boating, cross country skiing, snowshoeing

Ski: Direct access to 30K of groomed, single tracked classic cross country ski trails. Flathorn/Gegoka trail system. No skijoring. Also designated snowshoe trails.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

MINIMUM 2 NIGHT STAY - Check-in 4PM Check-out 11AM - No pets allowed - Ask us about weekly rate discounts

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties