check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

The TUDOR BARN, nestled in hundreds of acres of private woodlands.

Bedrooms 2
Property type barn
Minimum Stay nights


Minimum Stay

About the property

Plan your next vacation at a stunningly restored 1920's 'Historic' barn, perfect for a family looking for a fun-filled getaway, or couples who appreciate privacy, space, and the wonders of 270 acres of private woods and wildlife. Miles of country roads and pathways, passing along Hamlin Lake, ponds and wetlands, are perfect for biking, jogging and long walks.

Your shared pier (by owner) on Upper Hamlin Lake, a short walk from the Barn, is where you can swim, secure your boat, launch your kayak or just 'hang out', read a book or watch a sunset. You will enjoy the abundant wildlife including many varieties of birds that live in the forest, fields, wetlands and ponds. The wetlands can be easily accessed by kayaks for a closer look at nature.

The Tudor Barn offers 1800 sq. ft. of spacious living for up to 5 persons. The first floor comprises a living/dining room with a dining table for 6, a fully equipped kitchen with every amenity and a bar counter that seats several persons. Down the hall is an enclosed washer and dryer, and further on a full bathroom with tub/shower. The Master bedroom is nicely furnished and has a Queen size bed. Stairs lead to the loft, a lovely large room with handsome hand-cut wood 'Gothic' rafters and a small balcony overlooking a pond down the road. At the far end of the loft, up a few stairs, is an open bedroom area with three twin beds. A full bathroom and wet bar are part of the main loft area. Card table, chairs, ping pong table, games and books complete the room, perfect for the younger family members' 'getaways'.

There is an outdoor terrace off the living room with table, chairs and BBQ for picnic style dining.

The Tudor Barn was designated THE historical building in Mason County for 2012 by the Ludington Historical Society, and awarded a special 'Plaque'. Hamlin Lake with its spectacular sand dunes, is minutes away from the barn. Boat rentals are available nearby. Ludington is about 20 minutes south by car and offers the 'best' Lake Michigan beach in MI.', according to an article in the New York Times. This delightful small town is the perfect 'family' town with many summer activities geared for children. The Lighthouse and the Ludington State Park, one of the most popular parks in the U.S., are all here to be enjoyed. Four fine public golf courses are nearby including the challenging Hemlock Golf Club. Please come and join us for your most memorable vacation yet.

Owner on property. Online calendar not used. Contact owner for reservations. Please note that the Loft is not heated, however the Loft bathroom is heated.

Rentals during high season are weekly - Saturday to Saturday - only: arriving no earlier than 3:00 pm on a Saturday and departing no later than 10:30 am the following Saturday.

More Details

Betty Silander
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 3, 2016

Why Betty Silander chose Western Michigan

Privacy. Lots of space to ride bikes, walk, A shared private pier on upper Hamlin Lake , two block walk, to swim, launch a boat, ski, pier fish. Bird and wildlife viewing.

What makes this barn unique

See above. 272 acres of prime forests with country roads to explore the wildlife and wetland areas to view the many varieties of birds, plus turtles. Hamlin Lake sand Dunes, perfect for swimming, climbing, beach combing. Can walk to Lake Michigan. All state park. Many canoe trails at the Ludington State Park

Guestbook comments from the owner

We came to the barn for a family Salmon Charter. What a nice treat to see deer out the window every morning and evening, not to mention on most drives in to the barn. Peaceful walks on the trails and to the lake were so nice.

Our Salmon Charter went well with Salmon Slayers caught two Coho and 3 King. Rented a Pontoon boat on Hamlin at Action Rentals. They were great as well. A drive to Manistee was nice - lunch at BlueFinn was yummy. Chuckwagon Pizza was good. Call for a reservation.

All in all a nice relaxing time at the Tudor Barn. Thank you so much.
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 14


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

The TUDOR BARN, nestled in hundreds of acres of private woodlands.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 20 reviews

Hidden Hideaway

  • 5 of 5

The barn was a very peaceful retreat for a family adventure. Our family of five (two parents and three sons) had lots of fun relaxing, fishing, kayaking and swimming on Hamlin Lake. The woods were peaceful and very pretty. We saw lots of deer on the property. We could have very happily relaxed there each day but we were busy paddling, hiking and swimming in many different areas in the National Forest. When we were there in the evenings we enjoyed ping pong and playing cards. Many of the nights we were lucky enough to hear Barred Owls and a Great Horned Owl. Everything was clean and the master bedroom was cozy with a comfortable bed. The water access was a little challenging with five kayaks but worth the effort. We paddled over to the Ludington State Park Beach a couple of times and that was great. Overall this property is a good value. If you rent this location, make sure to ask for directions into the property. It's a little confusing on dirt roads & private property signage. Also note there is no TV.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sterling Heights, MI

Thank you again for a wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at the barn and we couldn't be happier. Comfortable and cozy with everything you need to enjoy a quiet, peaceful vacation. We rented a pontoon boat this time and had a great time viewing the coastline while we cruised around. On a good day, the dock is the perfect place to fish from. My 13 yr old caught Perch, Bluegill and Bass- a little too small to keep, but so much fun anyway! If peace and quiet is your destination this is the place for you.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place for a small family!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and our toddler just concluded a weekend trip here. We had a great time. Al was very friendly and available if we needed him. We loved the wooded area that the property is in, and are likely to try to rent again in a future stay. About a 20 minute drive from downtown Ludington.

Pros: Private, clean, all needed kitchen appliances, ping pong table, tons of nature (we saw deer, muskrats, porcupines, turkeys, and other animals on property), lake access, walking trails/roads.

Things to consider for future renters that some may consider as cons: No lake view from barn, no TV, no fire pit, internet is a bit off and on.

Any couples or family with children - This is a great place for you to escape to.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sterling Heights, MI

Quiet peaceful retreat

  • 5 of 5

We have rented throughout Michigan over the years and I have to say this is one of my top picks for getting away. We didn't even mind the weather (a bit chilly and wet) because the barn was so cozy. We walked around the many trails and dirt roads that surround the property and it was just lovely and so quiet and peaceful. Our dog enjoyed romping ahead of us on the trail and we saw so many different types of wildlife and birds. The dock is a short walk through the woods and our daughter (12) enjoyed fishing from this spot although there was never any bites. I imagine there are better spots to fish around the lake- we would have enjoyed renting a boat to use but we were only there for a few days. I would recommend it if you stay a week or longer. The lake is beautiful. I enjoy taking photos and I had ample opportunities for some great shots. The kitchen was well stocked with implements but there was no toaster (we used the handy toaster oven, but it would be nice if there were an actual toaster). Keep in mind when you rent that there are no bonfires allowed (which was okay for us, but we do love a nice marshmallow roast!) and the internet is a bit sketchy due to the local. Also there is no tv/cable so if you enjoy watching movies or what-not in the evening you might want to consider bringing along what you might need (DVD player/TV or computer). The evenings were a bit boring for us city folks without the visual entertainment, but we did get to play a lot of games and ping pong! Overall I highly recommend this property and hope to rent again soon.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 3 of 5

I was really excited about this vacation. My husband and I went with another couple and our 6 month old. I was really disappointed to find out that there was no heat in the loft. It was in the 40s at night and even though we turned the heat up and kept the door to the loft open it was too cold to sleep, especially with a 6 month old. Our friends had to sleep downstairs on the queen bed because he is 6'2 and couldn't fit on the twins upstairs or the futon. So my husband and I slept on the futon in the living room with our son. I was disappointed that we didn't have any privacy and then felt like we had to convert our "room" back and forth every night. The kitchen utensils were dirty so I had to wash everything before I used it.

I don't think we would stay here again. It was affordable but unfortunately because of the heat issue and lack of privacy our stay wasn't very enjoyable.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so disappointed to read that our last guests of our third rental season did not have a happy experience during their planned holiday. As this was our first critical review in we did want to address their comments. Our main goal is to have our guest have a wonderful holiday. My nephew Al Silander greets every guest, shows them around, answers all questions and tells them he is available if any problems arises or they have more questions. He lives a short walk away. Michigan weather is chancy off-season, and that is why rates are lower and we don't rent until the third week of May and close the second week of October. The loft is not heated but the bathroom upstairs is and with the door open to the heated first floor( heat rises) most find it satisfactory if we get a chilly night, If they had called me --- I'm five minutes away, I would have tried a space heater. Our excellent cleaning lady Susan comes after every guest departs and spends 3 - 4 hours cleaning everything and Al inspects everything after she leaves. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness which is imperative in a house rental. . Advise to all renters. If your rental house is dirty , advise the owner immediately. Late Saturday our guests asked for a later departure on Sunday which we were happy to offer ad we did welcome their dog, happily. Again, we are so sorry our guests did not enjoy our charming 20's Tudor Barn. Sincerely, The Silander family
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Ottawa, OH

Relaxing, secluded getaway

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this cottage last summer for a week, and had an amazing time. It was me, my husband, our 3 year old daughter, and my dog. There was lots to explore near the cottage. The owner was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed talking with him. Each afternoon we would head in to Ludington and do even more exploring. We loved every minute of this vacation. The cottage was nice and updated and we had plenty of space when the in-laws came and stayed with us for an evening! If you are looking for a relaxing way to spend your vacation, THIS IS IT!! The washer/dryer was a huge perk. And there is a ping pong table upstairs that we had a blast with!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
18 0


Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Grand Rapids
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
US 31
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lower Hamlin Lake Dunes

Antique shops, restaurants, art galleries, car ferry, miniature golf, movie theater, childrens library, childrens museum, Ludington State Park, lighthouse, extensive beach, childrens activities, playground.


Rates & Availability

Ludington Barn Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75

$20 per night charge for 6th person
*MAXIMUM occupancy 6 persons
Dogs considered
CLOSED October 11 - May 15
Rentals during high season are weekly - Saturday to Saturday - only: arriving no earlier than 3:00pm on a Saturday and departing no later than 10:30am the following Saturday. Spring/Fall season 3 night minimum.

$300.00 deposit due upon booking. Total rent non-refundable 2 months prior to arrival. Cash or Personal Check accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Ludington Barn Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • barn
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Downstairs Bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upstairs Bath
  • Loft bathroom heated.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Downstairs Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , Loft:Bedroom/Sitting area - card table, chairs and ping pong
  • Loft not heated.
  • Books
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
270 acres of private woods, wetlands and lakeshore to explore. Shared pier on property provides access to Hamlin Lake. Four fine public golf courses are nearby including the challenging Hemlock Golf Course.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties