check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

The Bay's Best Kept Secret!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Sequoyah Apartment Rental Photos and Description

This tastefully decorated 2 bedroom one bath guest suite high in Sequoyah Hills, Oakland is a relaxing retreat while providing easy access to all the excitement the Bay Area is known and loved for. It's perfect alternative to expensive hotel rooms, providing a microwave and refrigerator but NO FULL KITCHEN. This location truly is in the center of all the action. The Bay Bridge to San Francisco is bout 15 mins away. Noted UC Berkeley Campus is less than 15 mins away via the hwy 13. Thriving Tech Industry of San Jose 'Silicon Valley' is about a 1/2 hour drive. Famed Napa Valley Winery's are close to 40 min away. Not to mention all that is virtually at your finger tips. Sequoyah Country Club, Chabot Regional Parks, Chabot Science and Space Observatory, and Oakland Hills Tennis Club all in the neighborhood! Popular neighborhood activities include golf, tennis, hiking, cycling and equestrian boarding. Historic and beautifully revitalized Lake Merritt & Downtown is just a few miles and is bubbling with events like a Saturday morning farmers market and a once a month local art street fair (Art Murmur) wich attract about 6,000 people. Shopping at Piedmont Ave and Montclair Village (5 min drive) offers whimsical choices including antiques, curiosities and quaint or trendy boutiques.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
maya kante
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 25, 2016
Call Manager

Guestbook comments from the manager

Your home is beautiful. I'm ready to enjoy a wonderful few days here. Thank you again for everything!
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

The Bay's Best Kept Secret!
average rating of 3.9285715 based on 15 reviews
2

Noisy owner stays above- yelling on phone

  • 2 of 5

The owner stays above, walks on wooden floor with heavy boots. She speaks so loudly on the phone you cannot sleep. She is on speaker phone and yells. Her toilet is right above master bedroom and so it is a pain.

My son turned on the hair dryer and we lost power. The manager managed to tell the owner to reset the circuit breaker which is in the top floor. I was advised not to use the hair dryer when using heater or microwave wave. I came in at 1 am. It was raining and you need to walk down the stairs which are basically slippery wooden logs. The lighting is poor and when you carry a 40 pound suitcase, you can have an accident. ATT signal cannot be received in this house. and when I book Uber on wifi , they cannot call u back. Not recommended.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so sorry you didn’t have a great experience. We wish you had notified us during your stay so that we could have addressed the issues immediately. We have spoken to the person upstairs and they've agreed to keep noise to a minimum. We advised against using a hair dryer, the microwave, and a space heater simultaneously as they could trip the breaker and we wanted to prevent any inconvenience to you. We are a small family owned business and we do our best to make all guests as comfortable as possible during their stays. Yours is our first complaint about cell reception, and based on your feedback we've added a cell phone repeater antenna to provide much better coverage. In addition, the landline phone in the apartment has always been available for guests to use. We provide a lock-box system to help accommodate guests who need a late check-in. As it very rarely rains in Oakland, we have never had a guest mention the steps being an issue before. Our apologies for any inconvenience. We are always striving to make the rental better for each guest as we go forward. All the best and thank you for your feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house

  • 4 of 5

We were a party of four, and stayed at this property for 3 days early in September 2016. We made day trips into San Francisco from the house.

It is a well-kept house in a nice neighborhood of Oakland. The backyard is simply beautiful! The BART station is accessible at Oakland Coliseum , and driving into SF isn't too bad a drive either (depending on the traffic and the time you set off).

Overall, we had a really nice and peaceful stay at the property and would recommend it anyone traveling in the area.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best Kept Secret - YES!

  • 5 of 5

No surprises and exactly as described. It was nicely furnished (and high quality)! We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Stay

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and found everything to be ready for us on arrival. This is a very affordable option in the bay area. The BART station was about a 15 minute drive away and made SF very accessible to us. The home is located in a very quiet and safe neighborhood which was very important to us. The apartment could use some patching in the walls and re-grouting in the bath but these are the only things we found fault with. The stairs, as others have mentioned are uneven but they are well lit so even coming back after dark it's not a big issue. Thank you Bosco and family for a nice stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Maryland
4

Good value but a few negatives

  • 4 of 5

I would give this property 3.5 stars if I could. Here is my list of pros and cons:

Pros:

1. Owner was very responsive and polite when we had a problem.

2. Good value for your money.

3. Property was clean.

4. Property is in a good area and close to major highways.

5. Owner did a good job of providing supplies.

6. Deposit refund was very punctual.

7. Beds were comfortable.

Cons:

1. The external stairs leading to the basement are tricky, particularly if they are wet and you are arriving at night (as we did). They are uneven (there is an earthquake fault line nearby) and we used a flashlight to supplement existing lighting.

2. Although the property was clean, there were some maintenance areas. In some places, the drywall needed to be patched. The built in soap dish in the bathtub was worn out and pretty gross.

3. The bedrooms had closets to hang things up but no shelving. A dresser in the master bedroom would be nice.

4. The owners make clear that there is not a full kitchen but do provide a microwave, toaster, and fridge. However there is no water source near the kitchen so we were washing our dishes in the bathtub.

5. We could not get cell phone reception (Sprint). Very unusual in a major metro area. Not the owner's fault, and they do provide free wifi and a landline.

Overall, I would recommend this property to others. Just be sure you understand the limitations.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Small but sufficient.

  • 1 of 5

Disappointing to get there at 9:30 PM and could find no glass or cup (glass, paper or plastic) to get a drink of water! No utensil to spread peanut butter. We knew there wasn't a full kitchen, but we did think we would not have to buy knives, glasses and coffee cups. We didn't need a can opener but you should bring one of those too...just in case!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do our best to respond quickly to any of our guest’s concerns, and we are very sorry to hear that a guest was unable to find the cups. We have a full set of dishes, including coffee cups, bowls, plates, silverware, and a can opener. We wish we had been notified so that we would have had the opportunity to help during your stay. We are extremely proud of our numerous 4-5 star reviews, and the recurring theme from our guests is that they appreciate our responsiveness. Even at 9:30PM, we would have been happy to show a guest where to find the cups in the suite or to bring by additional supplies. We believe in putting our best foot forward and going above and beyond to make sure each guest’s stay is a great one. We hope you will come and stay with us again soon so that we may exceed your highest expectations! Sincerely, Bosco, Maya, & Che’
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8.6 Miles
Oakland International
Nearest Barpub
7.6 Miles
In Montclair Villige
Nearest Ferry
7.7 Miles
Alameda
Nearest Golf
3.6 Miles
Chabot Golf Course
Nearest Train
11.9 Miles
Jack London Square Amtrack
Nearest Motorway
1.8 Miles
I 580 & 13
Nearest Restaurant
7.6 Miles
in Montclair Village
Nearest Ski
179 Miles
Boreal Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Alameda
Car: necessary

Rates & Availability

Sequoyah Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$99
$696
$3,495
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
cleaning fee $90
Tax Rate 14.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sequoyah Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties