check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Grant Castle

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Cozy Renovated Cottage on Ocean at Seawall, Southwest Harbor

29 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Seawall Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

*****THE WEEK OF JUNE 11-18 HAS JUST BECOME AVAILABLE DUE TO AN ILLNESS*** Thanks to all our new and returning friends and guests. See you all soon!

Please note this property only rents from Saturday to Saturday. No exceptions. Multiple weeks possible.***

Spend your vacation in a sophisticated modern setting in our modern upgraded cottage with your private access to a pink granite seawall for viewing yachts, lobstermen and wildlife in MDI's Western Way ocean thoroughfare. The Eagle picture below was taken right there. The building is in prime shape, with amenities that bring it to an A+ level. Features a great room with 5 floor to ceiling sliding glass panel doors for sunlight. Large living and dining area; recent new kitchen with gas stove, dishwasher and gourmet granite eat-in bar; one bedroom (King Bed configuration); granite and glass bathroom with walk-in shower. Newly repainted interior with all new lighting. Two flat screen TV's, one DVD, wifi, mobile phone signal boost for AT&T and Verizon frequencies. Sofas covered in bomber jacket leather with flip up leg rests for optimal relation and video viewing. Private outdoor deck off bedroom and sunrise deck off living room with new outdoor lighting and Kinsley-Bate wicker furniture. Washer and dryer to keep your laundry up to date, and a wood stove and propane area heater to keep you toasty on chilly Maine evenings. All kitchen gear you'll need to cook up your gourmet lobster feasts.

The cottage was designed by a noted local architect and our renovations make it a contemporary, stylish gem. Please look at the recent reviews for a sense of how our guests have liked the place. It is optimal for one or two adults, and we have seen a very strong interest in the September and October season when the weather and views can be amazing.

Situated on 3 acres of oceanfront, the very private property features a pond, vegetable and flower gardens, pink granite beach and lush lawns. Help yourself to the vegetable garden.

Space available for bike and other vacation toys in garage.

Ideally situated for boaters, bikers and hikers to enjoy Acadia National Park and life in Manset, home of boatbuilders, fishermen and craftstmen. Nearby Acadia locations are Seawall, Seawall Campground and Picnic Areas, Wonderland, Ship Harbor and the Bass Harbor Lighthouse.

Town of Southwest Harbor with food stores, library, marina, restaurants and shopping nearby.

No pets. Firm on this.

Keywords: Guest cottage on this 3 acre estate in Southwest Harbor offers GREAT VIEWS of the Western Way, Cranberry Isles, open ocean and marine activity. Two outdoor decks; completely remodeled kitchen w/all new appliances inc dishwasher. Wall to wall berber carpeting; Wood burning stove; WIFI. and cable TV; grill; bedroom w/washer/dryer. Storage shed for bikes, etc. A short path leads you to the bold, pink granite shore frontage where you can sit, watch sailing ships as they pass, or sit on your private deck and enjoy the abundant wild life and the peacefulness of this serene area.

AeroBed available for visiting overnight guests.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Grant Castle (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Grant Castle

Owners on property in main house on the 3 acre estate. We live here about half of the year. Our son is grown and on his own, so it is very quiet here.

Grant Castle purchased this cottage in 1998

Why Grant Castle chose Southwest Harbor

Our family has vacationed and lived in the area for generations, so it was preordained that we would end up somewhere nearby. When we had a chance to buy this place we jumped on it.

What makes this cottage unique

We found this property 20 years ago abandoned because of the time and expense it takes to keep an oceanfront property up to date. It took us 17 years to get it right, but now it is a truly first class environment.

Reviews

4.9
based on 29 traveler reviews

Beautiful Cozy Renovated Cottage on Ocean at Seawall, Southwest Harbor
average rating of 4.862069 based on 29 reviews
5

Fantastic Cottage Location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had the privilege of spending a week at this amazing cottage. If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful place to vacation, look no further. "Stone Beach" is perfect for two people. Grant and Becky could not have been nicer hosts. They were very informative about where to eat and what to do while visiting Mount Desert Island. Our favorite restaurant was Thurston's in Bernard. The granite bathroom is exceptionally nice. The king bed was very comfortable. We really enjoyed watching the deer in the yard every morning while eating breakfast and walking the seawall. We highly recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exceeds Expectations!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have had the pleasure of staying at quite a few wonderful places from Portland to Lubec. Seawall Cottage at Stone Beach is truly a gem! The location is spectacular with the overall property being serene, offering great views and the pictures of the grounds do not do justice for the beauty this place offers.

It's no wonder the reviews are so high, the 5 stars are deserved. My wife and I will definitely plan a return trip to this wonderful spot on Mount Desert Island.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for staying with us. As the first guests of the the season, you were troupers to live through the water heater's failure with great tolerance and style. Please come back and join our regulars!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Jackie and Bill

  • 5 of 5

This is to echo all the very positive reviews of this special place. Pristine and tastefully appointed property. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Special vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is perfect for a single person or a couple, is fully equipped, clean and comfortable. Great views of the ocean and Duck Island and Little Duck Island. Quiet, except for the sound of the ocean, birds, and the occasional lobster boat. Good restaurants within a very short drive; Red Sky was particularly excellent. The owners are very attentive, responsive and pleasant. Special place.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

30year anniversary vacation

  • 5 of 5

My husband & I just returned from Seawall yesterday. We had a fantastic vacation & seawall cottage & the entire property were gorgeous & pristine. We enjoyed lobster twice at Beal's lobster pound on Clark point road, took a ride to Schoodic point, about a 45 minute ride, but so worth it once there.Trips into Bar Harbor & the park were so easy & convenient to get to. But every afternoon we looked forward to returning to seawall. The only noise we heard all week were birds & the sound of the ocean. Words cannot describe the beauty of this property & the way it is maintained. There is also a lot of wildlife on the property, momma duck displayed her 11 little ducklings on the gorgeous pond on the property, we saw deer, (passing by) many types of warblers , a bald eagle & a seal bobbing in the waves. The entire property lends itself to peacefulness, quieting your mind & just relaxing & enjoying the natural beauty that surrounds you. I would not hesitate to recommend renting this comfortable & fully stocked home.Grant was a pleasure to work with & we feel so blessed that he & his wife share this slice of heaven on earth!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We love to share our piece of heaven. Please come back and don't wait for your 60th anniversary!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Frederick, Md
5

Wonderful cottage, Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Seawall cottage close to Southwest Harbor. The cottage was delightful, comfortable and a pleasure to call home for a week. The view was amazing and a wonder to see first thing each morning. The deer were welcome visitors a few times during our stay! The cottage was well appointed and the bathroom was beyond amazing. We have visited the Acadia National Park area a few times and this was the best place we ever stayed and was very reasonably priced. The town of Southwest Harbor had wonderful restaurants and services. Whereas it was a little difficult to get in and out of the town due to road construction, the peacefulness and quietness of this part of the island was well worth the minor inconvenience. When we travel back to the area, my husband and I will definitely stay at this cottage if available. I only wish Grant had a larger property for rent here so we could bring the whole family!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the place. The Fall is a beautiful time of year if the weather cooperates and it's a perfect time to explore all day and build a fire and keep cozy at night. The cottage seems to be just what a couple needs for a week. Sorry we can't accomodate more people. Past visitors with families have rented a second place nearby and loved being alone sometimes and together at other times. Come back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Acadia National Park's Seawall sites: Wonderland, Ships Harbor and Bass Harbor Light are nearby; Acadia Mountain trails and lakes on the Quiet Side of Mount Desert Island - 10 minutes drive. Great Harbor Marina provides boat slips and/or boating excursions - 7 minutes travel time. Bass Harbor, Southwest Harbor both 7-10 minutes by car; 15 by bike.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Seawall Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
May/June 2017
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
July/Aug/Labor Day 2017
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
September/Oct 2017
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

$250 damage deposit;50% Deposit due w/signed lease: 50% due 60 days prior to start Please include $250 deposit in separate check. PROPERTY RENTS SATURDAY TO SATURDAY ONLY. Please do not request shorter stays or different start/end day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Seawall Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Private access to seawall for oceanfront relaxing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties