check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lynn Jones

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Unique, Updated Massanutten Lodge, Game Room, Gorgeous Views, Privacy

39 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

McGaheysville House Rental Photos and Description

Elegant and gorgeous, four floors, five bedrooms, three large bathrooms, privacy

Sleeping for twelve as follows: (1) king bed, (3) queen beds, (1) twin over double bunk bed, and (1) Serta double futon.

Fabulous hot tub for six on the upper, covered deck.

Seven flat screen TVs, three DVD players and ceiling fans in every room of the house.

At least 1000 sq.ft. of covered decking with a large propane grill and lots of furniture (seasonal) to enjoy nature.

Three floors of vacation living topped with a Crow’s Nest with panoramic views of the Massanutten and Blue Ridge Mountains.

Enter the great room with two complete walls of windows to enjoy the forest in privacy with green space on three sides. There you will find the family room w/fireplace, a large flat screen TV and DVD player that can be seen from everywhere including the dining area and kitchen (granite and stainless steel appliances). Enter a hall way with a large four-piece bathroom and stackable laundry next to two bedrooms. Take the steps up to the second floor fabulous master bedroom suite . It has lovely and rustic furniture and queen bedding, sitting areas for six people, large flat screen TV, DVD player, and a large 5 piece master bath with Jacuzzi Tub with windows to relax and enjoy the views. It has a beautiful spiral staircase leading to the Crow’s Nest where you can enjoy your coffee, wine, read, meditate and most of all relax. Then, there is the basement with family/game room with large flat-screen TV, lots of seating and a regulation sized foos ball table. There is a fabulous bedroom next to this with king bed and cherry-stained dresser that has a 32” flat screen TV, DVD player, and sliding glass doors to the covered deck. Next to this is another bedroom with a queen bed with sliding glass doors to the deck. There is a lovely, newly-renovated bathroom for all in the basement to share. There is a second full laundry room. This home is one of the most uniquely beautiful homes in Massanutten and everyone who has stayed here has loved it.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lynn Jones (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Lynn Jones

I'm a retired woman who loves the Shenandoah Valley and especially Massanutten. Having been born in PA in the mountains, this area in the mountains (Blue Ridge, Massanutten and Allegheny mountain ranges) is perfect for me. I also love people and owning vacation rentals is the perfect way for me to be able to treat others to what I love and offer them unforgettable vacations.

Lynn Jones purchased this house in 2012

Why Lynn Jones chose Shenandoah Valley

The Crow's Nest is the most unique house I have seen in Massanutten. It almost looks like a house from a movie scene with a European flare, two sets of hand-welded spiral stair cases, warm knotty-wood pine walls in the great room and hall ways, hard wood doors and moldings and views of the mountains I love the out-of-doors and this house has about 1,000 square feet of beautiful covered decking with lots of wicker furniture and views.

What makes this house unique

This house makes you feel 'one with nature.' There are two large walls of floor to ceiling windows and approx. 1,000 sq ft of Trex decking and rails all covered with lovely roofing. The most unique aspect is the crow's nest atop the house for viewing the mountains.

Reviews

4.9
based on 39 traveler reviews

Unique, Updated Massanutten Lodge, Game Room, Gorgeous Views, Privacy
average rating of 4.948718 based on 39 reviews
4

Cozy relaxing house surrounded by any activities to entertain your family.

  • 4 of 5

This was the best house we could find in our budget for the amount of people in our group. This was a great place to stay but there were some inconvenient quarks about the property that prevented five star review. We had towels only for eight people but we had 12 guests. The property has ample sleeping quarters but it does not have adequate living space for a party of 12 unless you count outside or if your group is a close knit family that doesn't mind sitting on top of each other. The amenities were wonderful with plenty to do. Be careful not to use the master bedroom jacuzzi tub during the night if someone is sleeping in the room under the master because it makes the whole room vibrate. I would definitely go back but with a smaller group. The kitchen was well beyonde stock. They put a lot of thought into the items they made available. Our party really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Treehouse

  • 5 of 5

What a great house! The decks are amazing! From the upper levels you feel like you're in a treehouse above the world and the lower levels put you right in the trees not far from where the deer walk each morning.

The exterior is beautiful and the kitchen and baths are very nicely done. The sheets, towels, and beds were fantastic!

The house was plenty big enough with 5 very comfortable bedrooms. We loved the downstairs rec room and played plenty of foosball and checkers. There are tons of tv's for movie watching, or in our case the Olympic's!

The location was low enough on the mountain for easy in and out access but high enough on a slope for great views.

Lynn was very courteous, easy to work with and just a wonderful lady.

We are grateful for our time there!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This was probably the best place that I have stayed with family

  • 5 of 5

Wanted to arrange a family reunion of 3 generations and common point between NJ,VA and NC. Shenandoah was the choice and then looked for a big house to accommodate 11 people. This house popped out of the search and based on review grabbed it. Realized that this was the perfect choice after reaching out to this place.Hot tube was the star attraction for kids.Enough rooms for families and perfect kitchen with all utensil. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this house. Lynn was very helpful from the beginning.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic! Great house!

  • 5 of 5

The description was pretty spot on. The crow's nest was a great place to hang out and play cards. The living room was a little small for our group of seven so we would watch movies in the huge second floor bedroom. We definitely intend to stay here again.

Thanks Lynn!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Time at Crow's Nest

  • 5 of 5

Our recent trip to Massanutten with our family was a big success. The house was every bit as nice as advertised, and Lynn was great to work with. There were ten of us, three generations from sixties down to a couple of one year olds. Plenty of room to spread out inside, and we really enjoyed the outdoor decks. The kitchen had everything we needed, there were some good toys for the kids, the hot tub was nice and we enjoyed the very big grill. Our stay at Crow's Nest couldn't have been any better. Thank you Lynn, and we'll be back one day!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Mountain Get Away!

  • 5 of 5

We needed a place to get six of our grandkids together for a family summer fling. Most of them had already made the beach scene with their parents and we wanted something different and a bit more private. A Massanutten cabin seemed to fit the bill - and having a waterpark nearby was perfect. We had eleven total folks present and the cabin easily handled that number. The Unit was spotlessly clean and the beds first class. The decor was most attractive - but not overdone as you sometimes run into with "cabin fever". Having two wash dryer setups was perfect with all the swimming going on. A new and large outdoor gas grill kept the food supply rolling and the well stocked kitchen supported the task beautifully. The master level and crow's nest generated a special and private retreat for the old folks in charge - while the basement game room and other common spaces easily gave all present some elbow space to do what they wanted to do. A hot tub - working TVs - bountiful decks - and spectacular wooded views complete the ideal package. Access package and directions were perfect, complete, clear, and accuarte. The Owner is one-on-one interested in your stay and satisfaction. We plan on making this a permanent stop over in our future summer schedules.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Shenandoah
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Fairways or the Water Park
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Massanutten
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Fairways or the Water Park
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Massanutten
Nearest Beach
200 Miles
Virginia Beach
Car: necessary

Massanutten is a Four Seasons Resort on the Massanutten Mountain. It is flanked by the Blue Ridge and Allegheny Mountain Ranges. There is a large in-door/out-door Water Park, skiing, two 18-hole champion golf courses, zip lining, go karts, miniature golfing, bungee jumping, Winter & Summer tubing, festivals, free concerts, hiking trails, arboretum & play ground.

Photos

Rates & Availability

McGaheysville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 28 2016
2 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
Leaf/Columbus Day
Sep 29 2016 - Oct 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Fall
Oct 18 2016 - Nov 21 2016
2 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
Christmas Holiday
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$375
$2,199
 
 
Martin Luther King Holiday
Jan 12 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
President's Day Weekend
Feb 16 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Memorial Day Holiday
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Jummer
Jun 9 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,799
 
 
July 4th Holiday
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
$1,999
 
 
Summer
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$1,799
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$275
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 2.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed.

We encourage our guests to purchase Travel Insurance so they will not lose their investment if they must cancel.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

McGaheysville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main floor; double sinks/oversized tub & shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Basement - large sink area.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , MBR is large&lovely with double sinks/ceramic floors/views.
  • Master bath has original Jacuzzi tub sitting by two large windows to enjoy the views while you relax. All floors have a large bathroom except the Crow's Nest.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Lovely, very large, master bedroom with en suite.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , First of two bedrooms on main floor level; great 4 seniors.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , Romantic king bedroom in the basement w/SGDs to the deck.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Main Level Kids' Bunk Room, Twin over Double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen Bed and Double Futon, Sleeps Four People
  • Master Bedroom takes up the whole second floor. Beautiful views and sitting area. Spiral staircase leading to Crow's Nest. Master bath has a Jacuzzi tub with views, double sinks and separate shower. There are three closets. Two bedrooms on main level and two in basement (all nicely decorated with comfortable furniture and wall decor.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers