Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Chez Socolisa: the Cliff, D4 - 2BR + Free Car & Int'l Phone

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,750 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Chez SoColisa is an elegant 2 BR condo located on the 4th floor, Suite D4, of The Cliff at Cupecoy.

SoColisa was developed as a residence for its owner, not as a vacation rental property. Therefore, the best of design, decor, furnishing and technology was deployed to evolve what is now among the highest quality vacation properties you can experience. Examples include high quality contemporary furnishings shipped from Cantoni Furniture Store located in Orange County, California; custom made tables and consoles; designer selected backsplash in kitchen; the best in A/V including 3 flat screen TVs, iPod docks built into the walls in each BR, custom built A/V command center with iPod dock, CD/DVD player and satellite with extensive programming.

SoColisa can be rented as a one bedroom utilizing the master bedroom which is equipped with a king size bed & 1 1/2 baths, or as a two bedroom with 2 & 1/2 baths. The 2nd bedroom offers two double beds and can sleep four.

The moment you enter SoColisa you will know you have secured the right accommodations for the high quality vacation you seek and deserve. Your comfort and convenience while vacationing have been the focus of our planning......and we have succeeded! You will experience high quality and custom built furnishings throughout; a breath taking unobstructed straight on view of the Caribbean Sea; a back terrace overlooking the lighted tennis court; a custom built entertainment center; a fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances for those who wish to cook; a Keurig coffee/tea center with complimentary coffees and teas. The master suite has been modified to replace the standard bathroom door with a sliding shoji screen for the bathroom and closet. The master bathroom has double sinks and a Jacuzzi bathtub. Both BRs have custom-made blackout window coverings.

SoColisa is equipped with a central sound system throughout, including the BRs, 55” TV and a DVD/CD player in the living room and 32' TV's in each of the bedrooms. The BRs also have iPod docks built into the walls that will override anything being played through the central sound system.

Free wire less Internet access is provided as well as free local and international phone calls. A USA area code has been incorporated so you can receive calls from the USA with no international charges to the caller.

Located in The Cliff at Cupecoy, SoColisa offers 24 hour security, secured on-site parking, outdoor pool & Children’s pool, indoor heated olympic size lap pool, weight room, aerobics room, exercise equipment such as treadmills and cycles, lighted tennis court, steam room, sauna, and the stylish Christian Dior® Health Spa to further indulge your pleasures. The Cliff Cafe, a lunchtime delight, provides wonderful French food to further enhance your Chez SoColisa stay.

Cupecoy is ideally located just 5 minutes from Juliana International Airport and within walking distance from casinos, quality international restaurants and St. Maarten's only golf course. It's a 10-minute drive to Marigot, the French St. Martin's capital, and a 20-minute drive to Philipsburg, Dutch St. Maarten's capital.

For those who enjoy getting around the beautiful and culturally diverse island of St. Maarten/St. Martin, a fully loaded 'Suzuki Grand Vitara i' is provided free of cost. Your only obligation will be to replace the gasoline used during your stay at Chez SoColisa. We also provide you with a free cell phone for your use while renting Chez SoColisa.

Keywords: vacation, condo, flat, villa, luxury, apartment, St. Maarten, Cupecoy, exclusive, contemporary, beach, pool, exercise, sauna, residence, quality living, Caribbean Sea,

More Details

Owner
Fred J. Grigsby, Jr.
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 14, 2017

About Fred J. Grigsby, Jr.

I retired in late 2006 following a 37-year career in human resource management. I retired in California from a company in the energy sector. Prior to that I had a long career with one company in a number of geographical locations including Minneapolis, Pittsburgh, Chicago and Cleveland. The majority of the year I reside at Villa Bahari located at the Villas of Shore Pointe, Cupecoy. Therefore, if you rent Chez SoColisa the chances are very high that I will be on island and personally help get oriented to the property.

When I am not in St. Maarten I reside in Atlanta, Georgia and Washington, DC.

Fred J. Grigsby, Jr. purchased this condo in 2007

Why Fred J. Grigsby, Jr. chose St Maarten / Saint Martin

I bought some timeshare weeks at the Sapphire Beach Resort and therefore started coming to St. Maarten annually for a couple of weeks. I feel in love with St. Maarten and the convenience of Cupecoy. Therefore, when I learned that The Cliff at Cupecoy was going to be developed I bought in pre-construction. As they say, 'the rest is history'!

What makes this condo unique

I lived at Chez SoColisa for the first 15 months while it was being furnished and decorated. I love the building and its amenities. There is a strong sense of security due to the design of the complex and the quality and stability of the security staff. The underground parking you will enjoy at Chez SoColisa is located on the top floor of the garage and directly across from the elevator that will take you up to Chez SoColisa, suite D4. There is a great air conditioned fitness center and pools available for your use at your discretion. Many residents of St. Maarten have expressed a desire to buy memberships to the gym. I served as Chairman of the HOA board at The Cliff for the first 4 years of its existence. We consistently rejected these revenue-generating proposals to preserve the privacy and convenience of the fitness center for the owners and their guest, including renters.

I love the convenience to a variety of beaches within walking distance (including the beach at The Cliff) and on the French side of the island. This includes both traditional beaches and clothing optional beaches.

I love the variety of excellent restaurants in the building, across the street and a couple of minutes away by car in Maho and at Puerto Cupecoy. I enjoy playing blackjack and can frequently be found across the street at the Atlantis Casino. By the way, you will never see the casino complex from Chez SoColisa as you do from many other condos at The Cliff. A feature I appreciate.

Amenities

Maho Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bathroom has a jetted tub/shower with multiple shower heads, toilet and duel face bowls. The guest bathroom has a shower, toilet and single face bowl. The power room has a toilet and face bowl.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Bedroom - 2 double , Each double bed can accommodate 2 adults
    Living Room Sofa Bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon , The living room sofa easily converts to a queen size bed.
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (2), and Sleep Sofa (1). Each bedroom is equipped with a sound system that permits you to play music from the living room entertainment center equipment or you can drop your iPod/iPhone into a built-in wall iPod dock.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Two double beds in guest bedroom, iPod docks in walls of each bed room, surround sound, central iPod dock, Keurig coffee center with complementary coffees and tea, cell phone, Vonage phone line with free international calls, free use of a car during your stay at Chez SoColisa.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

Chez Socolisa: the Cliff, D4 - 2BR + Free Car & Int'l Phone
average rating of 5.0 based on 31 reviews
5

The most beautiful place in SXM.....

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have visited SXM for 9 years, and of that, 6 of them have been spent at Chez Sol Colista, and we’re booked again. That in itself speaks for how much we love it. The property is stunning, well appointed and clean. If at any time we notice some small thing we feel needs some attention, Fred is immediately on it whether he is on the island or not. For us, it’s like home away from home. Fred has pride in ownership, and throughout the soon to be 7 years that we’ve spent a vacation there, he continues to maintain and keep his property in excellent condition. Marcia, the housekeeper also has pride in her work. When you arrive at the condo, it looks and smells clean and so welcoming.

Many people asked us if we aren't interested in going to other islands. Truth is, we have gone to many other islands, and basically one Caribbean island is pretty much the same as the next in our minds. For us, one of the most important things is feeling safe and enjoying the space you live in while away. There really is nothing one is lacking in this condo. Fred has thought of everything including wifi, and phone service to stay connected to home, and a clean vehicle for getting around.

Fred has other places on the island, and there’s no doubt all would be at the same standard as Chez Sol Colista. My husband and I have become ‘the go to people’ for friends and colleagues inquiring about where to stay in St Martin. Our oasis.

Jack & Nancy

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nancy & Jack - Thank you so much for your kind review. Any owner of a vacation rental property would love to have you as clients. It is an absolute privilege and pleasure to have you as repeat clients. Chez SoColisa and JusMarNa Penthouse fortunately both have a number of repeat clients. The advantage this gives us is getting to know you and your needs so we can better accommodate your stay. For example, we know to do a pre-arrival thorough inspection and, if needed, repair of the terrace screens to make certain they are impenetrable by the occasional mosquito that might find its way to the fourth floor. We want Chez SoColisa to feel like your home away from home from the second you arrive until you depart. We look forward to welcoming you home next February. - Fred
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing property with an amazing view.

  • 5 of 5

It was a very good experience from the beginning to the end. The facility was very clean and the condo was perfect. Fred was there to greet us, and show us around. He was also available to answer questions during the week. The car was a huge help. I would not recommend doing this trip without a car. The ability to call back to the states on a landline to keep in touch with our kids was very helpful. It was an all around great experience!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Davey - It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay at Chez SoColisa. As a first time visitor to SXM I hope the information I emailed you was helpful to finding your way around to enjoy the activities, restaurants and beaches. I hope you will return to SXM and give us an opportunity to host you again at Chez SoColisa, or at one of our other properties (JusMarNa Penthouse, Lemon Drop Cove or Villa Bahari) Thank you so much for your unsolicited review. It means a lot to us. - Fred
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Omaha, NE
5

Great Vacation and Beautiful Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

This was our first stay in St. Maarten. I'm so glad we found this condo and the owner Fred. The place was beautiful and very comfortable. Everything was as presented on the website or better. The Cliffs is a wonderful and secure place to stay. The view from the balcony was spectacular!! The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the nightly breeze blowing through the suite was so relaxing. It was great to be able to sleep with the sliding doors open. The beach and pool area were beautiful.

The SUV provided was a great benefit. My husband and I scheduled massages in the spa. The massages were the best we've ever experienced. The massages were so good that we returned later in the week for a 2nd massage. Well worth the cost!!

Lastly, I must comment on the owner Fred. He was very helpful and informative throughout the entire trip planning process. He always responded very quickly to any of my inquiries, before and after we actually booked the condo with him. He greeted us with a nice note and bottle of wine waiting for us in the condo. On our last day, while we needed to check out by 11am, our flight didn't leave until 4pm. We were allowed to stay at the resort and enjoy the pool and restaurant even after checking out. They watched our luggage at the front desk. Fred was even so kind as to offer to drive us to the airport. It was so nice to have been able to meet him. I wouldn't hesitate to rent from him again and to recommend his rental unit to family and friends traveling to St. Maarten.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jim and Teri - Thank you for taking the time to submit this kind review. As I recall you began your planning four or five months before your arrival. As a first time visitor to SXM it is appropriate that you would have lots of questions as you did. I feel it is my obligation to answer those questions as best I can. It is part of my responsibility in helping to provide you with a great vacation experience. I am a retired HR executive who loves interacting with people and helping to solve any problems. So getting to know you was my pleasure. Thanks again for your review and I look forward to meeting again in SXM. - Fred
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta
5

Great Vacation and Beautiful Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5

This was our first stay in St. Maarten. I'm so glad we found this condo and the owner Fred. The place was beautiful and very comfortable. Everything was as presented on the website or better. The Cliffs is a wonderful and secure place to stay. The view from the balcony was spectacular!! The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the nightly breeze blowing through the suite was so relaxing. It was great to be able to sleep with the sliding doors open. The beach and pool area were beautiful.

The SUV provided was a great benefit. My husband and I scheduled massages in the spa. The massages were the best we've ever experienced. The massages were so good that we returned later in the week for a 2nd massage. Well worth the cost!!

Lastly, I must comment on the owner Fred. He was very helpful and informative throughout the entire trip planning process. He always responded very quickly to any of my inquiries, before and after we actually booked the condo with him. He greeted us with a nice note and bottle of wine waiting for us in the condo. On our last day, while we needed to check out by 11am, our flight didn't leave until 4pm. We were allowed to stay at the resort and enjoy the pool and restaurant even after checking out. They watched our luggage at the front desk. Fred was even so kind as to offer to drive us to the airport. It was so nice to have been able to meet him. I wouldn't hesitate to rent from him again and to recommend his rental unit to family and friends traveling to St. Maarten.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Chez SoColisa. I am so pleased we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. That is always our objective at Chez SoColisa as well as our three other vacation rental properties in Cupecoy (JusMarNa Penthouse, Villa Bahari and Lemon Drop Cove). Many owners never meet their renters either because they are not on island during the rental or because their philosophy is not to do so. By contrast, normally I have the ability to be on island during the rentals and I value the opportunity to meet and interact with my clients during their stay provided I can do so without getting in the way of their vacations. Therefore, it was my pleasure to be able to get you to the airport for your return trip home. Thank you for your review and I hope you and Jim will return to SXM and again enjoy Chez SoColisa or one of our other rental properties in Cupecoy, St. Maarten.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful condo,great price!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived a day late, but Fred still greeted us at the condo. He had a nice bottle of wine and showed us the condo in great detail!!! He is an outstanding person to go out of his way to show us everything in detail. The condo came with a phone, and a car!!! My husband loved being able to keep in contact with work. The views from the condo are breathtaking!!!! We watched the planes and the cruiseships roll in. The condo had everything we needed and fit our family of 8. We got to know the housekeeper real well. She is very nice!!! It flelt like we had our own personal maid. I can't say enough good things about the condo. It is in a great location. My girls did comment on the sofa sleeper saying how comfortable it was. It was a queen size! My boys wanted it after that. I would not hesitate to rebook this condo. We hope to return to this beautiful island!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Super!

  • 5 of 5

We visited St. Martin for the first time this May and we stayed in Fred's condo. When we first arrived, we were in awe of the immaculately clean and beautiful entrance to the complex. There are direct views to the ocean from almost every window, all which showcase the crystal blue water.

Fred met us upon arrival and accommodated our (much earlier) arrival time. He gave us a thorough tour of the condo complex (gym, pools, saunas, etc.) and our personal condo for the week. Everything in our condo and in the complex was extremely clean, updated, and in great working condition. We were extremely impressed from the beginning. Fred was even so gracious to greet us with a card, wine, and host us at his place for a cocktail hour. We had a lovely time and loved meeting him and some of his family.

My family loved the amenities of the condo and the area. My daughters and I used the pools and gym daily, my wife loved the sauna, and our condo had a gorgeous balcony that we spent our waking hours on when we were in the condo. The 2 bedrooms were spacious and clean, the bathrooms were comfortable, and the kitchen/living area was fantastic. The kitchen had plenty of space for any food we picked up in town and was stocked with any cooking need we could have needed.

Overall, our week-long stay at Fred's condo was not long enough. We could not have had a better time in St. Martin, and we loved being able to use the rental car (that came with the condo) to explore the island. We highly recommend staying in Fred's complex, and we truly hope we can return sometime soon!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Zip lines, nature trails.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maho Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season 2BR (2.5 Baths)
Apr 16 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$360
$2,520
$9,720
 
 
Slow Season (2BR/2.5 Baths)
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$305
$2,135
$7,625
 
 
Low Season 2BR (2.5 Baths)
Oct 15 2017 - Dec 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$360
$2,135
$7,625
 
 
Holiday Season (2BR/2.5Baths)
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$5,600
 
 
High Season 2BR (2.5 Baths)
Jan 6 2018 - Apr 15 2018
3 night minimum stay
$475
$3,325
$14,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.0%

NOTE: 1 BEDROOM /1.5 BATHROOM RATES ARE AVAILABLE AT $60 LESS THAN THE ESTABLISHED 2BR RATES EXCEPT DURING SLOW SEASON WHICH IS $50 LESS. There are no 1BR rates for the Holiday Season.
HOUSEKEEPING IS PROVIDED SIX DAYS A WEEK AT NO CHARGE.
NO CHARGE FOR USE OF CAR OTHER THAN REFUELING.
PayPal can be used for credit card payments at a 4% fee. Checks or wire transfers can also be arranged. There are NO fees associated with payment by check or wire transfer (rate plus 5% tax).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Ask a Question Ask a Question
Available
Unavailable