check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Alice Walls

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Quiet Location Right Outside Town of Bar Harbor and Acadia

9 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description

Large 3 BR, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6 Surrounded By Mountains

Sleeps 6-8

Quiet location w/ Open living, step down living room nice fully equipped kitchen w/attached dining room. Outside enclosed deck seats 6-8 for bug free meals nice yard for the kids w/ fire pit and horseshoe pit too for quiet nights to watch the stars or boil the lobsters. Fully furnished wit all linens and dishes pots and utensil too. Great Clean place in the middle of one of the most visited destination in Maine.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Alice Walls (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Alice Walls

Husbands family grew up in this beautiful area. I am the transplant as the saying goes. The place is just beautiful, horses in the field across the road, nice sunsets and just far enough away from the hub bub of town. It has been the best place to raise our family and i can't imagine us having done it anywhere else Our house has undergone many changes over the years but the home and love that was shared here will always be part of all of us. As my husband and I enter into this new phase of our life we hope you enjoy the surroundings of our home as we have. Alice and Robin Walls.

Alice Walls purchased this house in 1985

Why Alice Walls chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

We are about as close to the middle of Acadia National Park as one can be when visiting Mount Desert Island. The free shuttle will pick you up at the top of our driveway or you can walk or bike all over the island from the door yard. Plenty of room to relax in outside yard or enclosed screened deck,to be enjoyed as if you were in your own home.

What makes this house unique

Outside deck for sunning, screened in section for bug free dining. Plenty of space for couples, families and in-laws too. No in-town noise and lights so star gazing possible too.

Reviews

4.9
based on 9 traveler reviews

Quiet Location Right Outside Town of Bar Harbor and Acadia
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
4

Nice home in a great center-of-MDI location

  • 4 of 5

Thanks to Alice and Rob for the affordable, cozy accommodations --Theres is a comfy house with a great location. This property seems to be about 15 minutes from just about everything! Great couple of weeks.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Terrific location for our family vacation in August, 2015. We had 2 teenage boys and our dog with us. The house is very comfortable and offered everything we needed, including a very well equipped kitchen. The location was fantastic! Close to Bar Harbor, but not IN Bar Harbor. With the crowds in August that was a blessing.

The only downside to the house, was the small, dark shower in the upstairs bathroom. Not a problem for us as none of us are particularly tall. Beds were comfortable, and the rooms were spacious. Loved all the windows and the ability to sleep with them open. No A/C needed!

We took advantage of a lot of the hiking, biking and exploring on MDI, but just barely scratched the surface! We all want to go back!

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Central New Jersey
5

A Perfect Week

  • 5 of 5

Our third visit to Mount Desert Island, and our best, thanks to the features of this house. We found it easy to get anywhere on the island from here, yet we enjoyed feeling remote as the property is quite private and quiet. My family especially enjoyed the outdoor features. The boys loved the horseshoes, we all loved the fire pit, and the screened porch was the perfect place for board games and our lobster dinners. Furnishings were great, the the towels and linens were wonderful, and the kitchen was fully equipped. We all want to go back.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
NORTH DIGHTON
5

Great location, had all we needed!

  • 5 of 5

Our family which included 2 teenage boys and a small dog, stayed at this home on Eagle Lake Road for a week in August. The house was very spacious and had all the comforts of home. The screened in porch was a great bonus, and we had all of our breakfasts and most dinners out there. There was also a large yard to walk the dog, and a nice campfire set up. The kitchen was fully equipped, with the bonus of a filtered water and ice maker in the fridge. Great for filling our thermoses for day-tripping and hiking. They even provided a bird feeder for the moments we had to relax and enjoy the wildlife. A large laundry/utility room served as a great place for us to store our bikes. The owners were friendly and knowledgeable too. We had a great time exploring Acadia National Park with the entrance to Cadillac Mountain a couple of miles down the road, we didn't miss a sunset. Eagle Lake, along with the entrance to the carriage roads is less than a mile away! We would and probably will stay here again next time we visit Bar Harbor!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Easthampton, Massachusetts
5

Great House, Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here for a week with three friends and it was better than we could have hoped for. I've rented other vacation properties before, but this was the best. Alice and Rob are very friendly and were always available to answer questions. The house is spacious and well taken care of (although the top floor is tough for tall people like me as the ceilings are low), and well stocked with towels, dishes, etc. With the potted flowers and bird feeders that Alice maintains outside, this feels more like a home than a rental. The location is perfect for going into town and easily accessing most areas of Acadia. I would love to come back here!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Location Perfect Hostess

  • 5 of 5

We recently traveled to Bar Harbor and stayed here with another family. It was a perfect set up and provided enough space for all of us to come and go as we pleased. You can’t find a better location, close to downtown close to the Acadia entrance. We were able to pop into the national park, hike for a couple hours, and be home in time for the kid’s naps. Alice, was wonderful and bends over backwards to give you everything and anything you need for a great time in Maine. The horses across the street were a big draw for our daughter as well as the nice backyard. We would HIGHLY recommend this property for anyone looking for a great Acadia experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Ferry
250 Miles
Portland
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Train
250 Miles
Portland
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Route 233
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Camden
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Sand Beach Acadia National Park
Car: not necessary

Located on Eagle Lake Road , middle of all Acadia National Park locations. SW Harbor, NE Harbor, all locals towns minutes any direction.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bar Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,365
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed.
Rates noted is for 4 adults or 2 adults plus children, additional adults $10.00 per nite per adult, couples $15.00 per.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bar Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Upstairs Full Bath shower only Linens 1st Floor Full Bath Shower w/Seat Linens
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Upstairs 2 large rooms, Queen Beds (Air-conditioned) 1 room 2 twin beds(trundle) 1 full bath- shower no tub 1st Floor Sm bedroom Full Comfy Futon (air-conditioned) Full bath -shower/wseat only (no tub) Private entrance(great In-law room)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
SLEEPS 6-8 Nice pasture with horses and barn seen from kitchen and dining room. Lots of nice space in and out, sunsets so pretty and walk to the park, trails right from the door step, Plenty of space for privacy when couples sharing, nice big rooms bedroom air-conditioned. Cozy and comfy with nice flowers to enjoy in the yard.. ohhh the smell of Rugosa roses in early summer,

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties