check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Barbara Darby

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

River Moon Cottage Circa 1885 Victorian on the Potomac River

6 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Colonial Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom/2 Bath Home Sleeps 7 in Beds Comfortably with River Views

You'll fall in love with 'The River Moon Cottage' situated on the shores of the Potomac River just as I did some 30 years ago when I bought the home. The relaxing feel of the home and furnishings will allow you to sink into over-stuffed sofas and unbelievably cozy, soft beds. It's a complete unwinding from the fast-paced world and you will feel it the minute you step into the cottage. The wrap-around porches and sunroom with a 6-mile view to Southern Maryland will help you relax and enjoy your favorite foods and beverages. Forget the tanning salons! Bring your lounge chairs and get a real tan out in the spacious yard with that gentle breeze off the river. After relaxing, you may want to challenge the kids to a round of basketball or 'horse' on our cement court. Bring your favorite ball. The restored home is big enough so everybody can spread out and have their own space. Turn your busy cell phones and glaring lap tops off and drift into quiet. After staying here, you won't want to go home. Let me provide you with a cozy, relaxing home-away-from-home to spend your vacation here and really unwind. You won't regret it!

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Barbara Darby (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Barbara Darby

After living in College Park, Md for 4 years, my husband and I were looking for an new adventure away from the city. We found out about Colonial Beach from a friend and never looked back. We bought the house, ran a transportation business, raised a son, owned a party store with my sister, husband retired, divorced, and got my real estate license. That all took 30 years and here I am. I still love my riverside home and have had many holidays and family come to enjoy it. I miss that. Now I want to share my 'little piece of Heaven' with you. I know you will appreciate it as much as I have all these years.

Barbara Darby purchased this cottage in 1979

What makes this cottage unique

Peaceful, beautiful scenic views, slow-paced life.

Reviews

3.5
based on 6 traveler reviews

River Moon Cottage Circa 1885 Victorian on the Potomac River
average rating of 3.5 based on 6 reviews
2

Not the best experience

  • 2 of 5

Like another reviewer mentioned, we did not receive our security depoist back either. I followed up twice with the owner shortly after leaving and never even got a response. The location of the house was great, but the upstairs had a horrible musty smell (to the point where it was hard to be up there), the downstairs bathroom had a clogged drain, and the laminate floors were coming up. I hate to leave a negative review, and probably wouldn't have left one at all, had we gotten our security deposit back - or at least an explanation as to why we did not.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Arlington
1

Very unsatisfied

  • 1 of 5

This property advertised that it was fenced in, but upon arrival we discovered that an entire section of the fence was missing. This posed a problem because we could not let our dog run around. The house was tidy, but it really needs to be fumigated. There were little spiders crawling around all over the place. We were careful not to leave any of our luggage on the floor.

Lastly, customer service was terrible. A month after our stay I was told by the owner, Barbara, that my security deposit was spent "to pay some bills." I still have not gotten my deposit back.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0
4

Peaceful Get-Away

  • 4 of 5

The home has an amazing view of the bay that brought our guest of honor to tears, literally. The home is older yet well maintained and comfortably accomodated all of our guests. With perfect access to the more public and the less populated beachfront, we were ideally placed. The wrap around deck provides a great place and view for any meal. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning soon.

Thank you for a great experience.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
wash dc
5

The Perfect Spot

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect. Everything we needed was provided, the house was well equipped, the beds were comfortable, and we loved the fenced yard and wrap around front porch. The house was exactly as advertised and was clean and maintained. and the view from the front porch of the bay was so pretty. We will definitely stay again and hope to go back this summer for a weekend.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time, stayed 3 nights and everything was so nice! Very comfortable, had everything we needed, waterfront views, clean and Barbara was a wonderful hostess! Will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Labor Day Weekend

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was very roomy and the beds very comfortable. There were 10 of us and everyone had plenty of room. The yard was fenced which were great for the kids to play in and the view of the water as beautiful. I love Colonial Beach and would stay in the cottage again. Thank you Barbara.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3

Map

Riverboat on the Potomac
McDonald's
Light House Restaurant
"The best filet mignon you've ever eaten!!!"
Dockside Restaurant and Tiki Bar
"Great seafood, drinks, and live music."
High Tides on The Potomac
Ola's Country Kitchen
"Known for the best hamburger in Colonial Beach!! Daily specials."
Peddlers Market
Ledo Pizza
"Great sub's."
Ledo Pizza
"Great sub's."
Wilkerson's Seafood Restaurant
Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Richmond 55 miles, National 90 miles, Dulles 80
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Dockside, High Tides, Riverboat, Lighthouse
Nearest Ferry
80 Miles
Tangier Island, VA
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Cameron Hills Golf Course 540-775-4653
Nearest Train
35 Miles
VRE & MARC Trains 703-228-7433
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
Rt. 301, King George, VA
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Dockside, High Tides, Riverboat, Lighthouse
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Massanutten Ski Resort 540-289-4954
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Colonial Beach, VA
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Colonial Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$260
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$280
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $10

$120.00 Cleaning fee for a stay of two nights or more.
$69.00 Non-refundable Property Damage Protection (PDP) fee.
$100 Refundable security deposit after property inspection after check-out.
Case-by-case determination by the owner before a pet is allowed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Colonial Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • River ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Bedroom 1 is a large 15 x 15 room on the 2nd floor with a king bed overlooking the Potomac River. Bedroom 2 is a large 15 x 15 room on the 1st floor with a king bed. It has a private door leading out to the front sunroom. The 3rd bedroom is a medium-sized bedroom on the 2nd floor with a queen bed and a private full bath with a shower stall. All bedrooms have dark filter shades if you want to sleep in.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties