Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cuckoos Nest: Private Pool, *6 seat golf cart (see terms), Pets Considered

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Private Pool

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

Cuckoo's Nest: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!!! Just off of Cutoff Road (Hwy 361) near the ferry, public boat launch, Waterfront Restaurants and the Marina. There is plenty of car parking and room for your boat too.

Golf Cart has been upgraded to a 2016 Six Passenger Ez-Go with Bluetooth Stereo System.

UPSTAIRS Bathroom arrangement is 2 bathrooms, one with a tub and the other with a shower. DOWNSTAIRS BATHROOM ARRANGEMENT is half bathroom downstairs inside the Bunk Room (double sinks, toilet, NO shower), there is a full OUTDOOR bathroom with hot and cold water shower just outside the Bunk Room. Cuckoo’s Nest has an ON-DEMAND GAS HOT WATER SYTEM so you never run out of hot water.

UPSTAIRS Bedroom arrangements are Two Private Rooms with Queen Beds in each. DOWNSTAIRS BUNKROOM has six beds arranged as three bunk beds, 4 Double Bunks and 2 Single Bunks. The Bunk Room is SEPARATE FROM THE UPSTAIRS, you must use the OUTSIDE STAIRS to go from the Bunk Room to the Upstairs Rooms. The Bunk Room has its own Smart TV, and small refrigerator.

The Living Area is a combination Living Room\ Dining Area \ Kitchen with vaulted ceiling. The Kitchen has everything you need for cooking and Grilling on the Webber Gas Grill.

There are Smart TV’s in each bedroom as well as the living room and the downstairs “Bunk room”. High Speed WIFI Internet is available.

Outside you have a PRIVATE POOL with a shallow section for small children or tanning, Cool Cabana with ceiling fans, picnic tables and chairs, WEBBER GAS GRILL, AND OUTDOOR KITCHEN, with hot and cold water sink and REFRIGERATOR. On the carport patio there is an outdoor Margarita Bar, with picnic tables for relaxing in the shade and an outdoor bathroom with shower.

It’s the perfect place for family and kids, several couples on a getaway week end, a group of fishermen setting off to fish the flats or the Gulf, Bird Watching or ladies get away. It is all about the OUTDOORS where you can relax by the pool, cook outside with ease and enjoy the great outdoors.

The views here are fantastic, the upper deck overlooks The Port Aransas Nature Preserve aka Charlie’s Pasture and the ship channel. This is a great place for BIRD WATCHING, the Leonabelle Turnbull Birding Center is just an easy walk down the street, bird watchers are always stopping on the street beside Cuckoo’s nest to watch the birds and take pictures. There is a much better view from our upstairs deck. It is also really interesting to watch the ships in the channel going to and from Corpus Christi. They appear to be floating across the land! For the kids, it is just a short walk to the community pool and awesome SKATE PARK.

Additional Features: Private Pool, Close to Beach, Outdoor Kitchen, In Town, SHORT TERM RENTALS ONLY - FREE CART (ADDITIONAL FEE FOR LONG TERM CART USAGE), Pet Friendly, Fenced in Yard, BBQ Grill, Smart TV's in Every Room, Wi-Fi, Plenty of Outdoor Seating, Concrete Boat Parking, Parking for 6 vehicles, Linens/Towels Provided,

*The golf cart is included in the rental price and is valued at $75 per day for short term rentals, it is not included in the monthly price of long term rentals but is available for long term rentals for an additional monthly fee of $400 per month. In the event that the golf cart becomes inoperable during your stay and you are not at fault then a credit will be given on the rental rate of $75 per day for short term renters or prorated at $400 per month for long term renters. A replacement cart will not be provided. When you rent the Golf Cart you are responsible for Damages. Your Automobile Insurance normally covers rental cars, Carts in Port Aransas are street legal vehicles licensed by the city with license plates. You should check with your Auto Insurance Agent to make sure you are covered while operating the golf cart. You are responsible for damages if your insurance company will not cover damages.

More Details

Property Manager
Silver Sands Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

Amenities

Leeward Sands House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • The third bath is an outdoor shower with a commode
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 2 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 4 Full beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Cuckoos Nest: Private Pool, *6 seat golf cart (see terms), Pets Considered
average rating of 4.4594593 based on 37 reviews
Roanoke, TX
5

Best Vacation Ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our family stayed at this beautiful house for the 2017 Sandfest. We had 10 people and the house had plenty of room and was very comfortable. After spending time at the beach, it was very nice to come back to the pool and relax. The refrigerator and grill were very handy. The 'hidden' bathroom under the stairs was nice to be able to rinse the sand off and not bring it into the house. The golf cart was a great bonus, we spent several nights riding the golf cart through the streets of Port A and always used when going to the beach. We got the best parking spots for the Sandfest. We had an amazing stay at this house and are looking forward to returning for the 2018 Sandfest. The people at Silver Sands were more than accommodating and very pleasant. On Sunday we had a windstorm and ended up getting leaves and what-not in the pool. I left a voicemail for Silver Sands on Sunday night and they had someone come and clean the pool on Monday. Awesome customer service! I can't say enough about the wonderful time we had. If I had one thing negative to say, the pillows could be upgraded, but we ended up bringing our own anyway, so it was no big deal for us. Thank you so much for letting stay at this amazing house and creating wonderful family vacation memories.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a wonderful property to vacation at and we are happy you had a wonderful time. We look forward to your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX
5

Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We were very satisfied with the accommodations and the location was very quiet and peaceful. Short golf cart ride to the beach and restaurants. The golf cart was dead when we first tried to use. Rental agency notified the owners who were in town and he came over and replaced it with another. Everyone was helpful, courteous, and very professional. Will definitely contact them again for another stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Silver Sands Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Property!!!

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about this property. We had such an amazing stay. The house has everything you need including a private pool and golf cart. The house was clean when we arrived. The staff at Silver Sands were friendly and made the check in process easy. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much. We are really happy that we could make your vacation as memorable as possible . We take pride in our properties and hope you consider us on your next stay. Thank you very much for your time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Awesome outdoor area

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Overall, had a great experience. Spent the majority of the time in the amazing outdoor areas. Would have been nice to have some basic spices in the kitchen, had nothing.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Silver Sands Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We greatly appreciate your stay with us. Due to sanitary reasons we remove all spices from the homes. We do offer concierge service to gather items like this for you during your stay. Next time give our front office a call and we will make sure you are taken care of. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Vacation at the Cuckoo's Nest

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Overall the house fit all our needs. The AC was cold and the pool was clean. There was WiFi and TV. All cookware was available along with plenty of clean linens. Some things that needed attention were the out of control amount of roaches. I'm assuming the wet weather didn't help. Also the mosquito's were terrible but again you can't control mother nature. The bunk house toilet was about to come off the floor. It was sketchy to use and the lights didn't work in the bathroom. The pull out coach was way to uncomfortable for anyone to sleep on so this was an issue. The coaches need to be replaced. They are old and dirty. Also the pillows were a plastic lined casing so they crackle anytime you moved. Very annoying. Other than these minor things the house was nice.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Silver Sands Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We always appreciate your feedback! With any type of rain in Port A; unfortunately, we get roaches and mosquito's. Our properties are sprayed monthly for pests. Since your stay the light bulbs have been replaced. We inspected the toilet after your stay and toilet was not found to be loose. The owner has agreed to purchase a new sleeper sofa for his guests. Thank you for the suggestion! We hope that you will choose to stay with us again. We always appreciate your business.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
5

weekend at cuckoo's nest

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We enjoyed this place very much, especially the pool & adjacent grill. The downstairs bunk room had a strange smell.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We love Cuckoo's Nest as well (the pool is great)! We appreciate the information regarding strange smell and we looked into it and it has been remedied. Looking forward to seeing you in Port A, again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Island living at its finest. Everything in Port Aransas is within a few mile radius and a golf cart is provided with this rental home for driving to and fro from the beach or restaurants and shops. Bird Watching and deep sea fishing are rated one of the top in the nation. This sleepy fishing village has beautiful drive on beaches, fishing piers, live community theater and so much more for a fun filled vacation.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties