check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Mi Casa Concierge - Puerto Rico

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish

2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District

19 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

San Mateo Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Mountain (El Yunque) View W/ Balcony, Full Kitchen And Close To The Beach

One of two spacious penthouse apartments at 1664 Ponce De Leon with a balcony facing El Yunque, the mountains of central Puerto Rico and San Juan bay.

The private apartment is centrally located half-a-mile from the beach, at the corner of Ponce de Leon Ave and Eduardo Conde Ave in Santurce, San Juan. The apartment location encourages a blend between vacation in a cool, artsy neighborhood and the perfect beach getaway.

With your reservation you will be welcome to use the facilities at the most exclusive rooftop club in Condado, with an amazing pool, bar, food and amazing views of the Condado Lagoon--a unique opportunity.

The building is right in front of a bus stop for the main bus line of the city (the M3), a block away from several churches, two blocks away from the largest art museum and many smaller galleries, in immediate proximity to quaint coffee shops and cool restaurants and bars and important sights (Like: Old San Juan, Condado, cruise ship piers, convention center, parks, hospitals, historical churches and Plaza las Americas).

There are two rooms (one master and one guest room,) one bathroom, one kitchen, a spacious living room and the balcony.

There are two flights of stairs before you reach the front door of your apartment—the building does not have an elevator.

The apartment has WiFi, air conditioning, a TV with cable, Netflix, Hulu Plus and a DVD player, good books, and a fully equipped kitchen.

The master bedroom has a queen-size bed, and everything else that makes it a normal room. The guest room has a full sized bed.

The bathroom has a shower—towels, soap and shampoo included—and everything else that makes it a normal bathroom.

The kitchen has a small refrigerator, a microwave, stove top, conventional oven, distilled water cooler and a coffee maker—coffee included. Cups, plates, forks, knives, and spoons are also supplied.

The living room has a dinning table that seats six, a couch, a plush leather chair and a coffee table. There is a TV with cable, a DVD Player and a Roku to watch Netflix and Hulhu Plus and a bookshelf with a bunch of good books and DVD's.

The sofa pulls out to a queen sized bed.

There are a couple of chairs on the balcony to watch the sun set over the bay on.

The neighborhood is quiet, fun and authentic. It's not the touristy side of town; the apartment is not next to a big casino or a five-star hotel.

You'll find cool coffee shops, bars, restaurants, and music venues where the locals hang out. (In front of the building is a coffee shop that has live jazz every Friday night, for example.) Three blocks down is the largest art museum in San Juan, and close by are other great museums and art galleries to visit. There are a handful of theaters nearby, with all kinds of productions (improve, drama, classics, and varied temporary shows). It's a friendly neighborhood, so if your not into anything that's going on, you can always stick around and play dominoes with the older locals at the bar down the street. (For a list of what's happening this week in the neighborhood: (website hidden) .)

Because the location is so centric, it's easy to venture to Old San Juan or the beach from here.

Taxis from the airport to the apartment cost about $20. Public transportation out of the airport is possible but difficult, and impossible after 9 p.m. If you're not into the taxi situation, and I'm not working, I can pick you up for half the cost.

If you need anything during your stay, I'm just a call or text away. I live in the building next to this one, and work one block down the road.

Please contact me if you have any questions or would like more information.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mi Casa Concierge - Puerto Rico (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish

About Mi Casa Concierge - Puerto Rico

I'm a journalist covering sports in PR for an international news-gathering organization. I was born in Puerto Rico and just moved back to the island after living in Boston. I love windsurfing, spending time on the beach and getting to know new places.

Mi Casa Concierge - Puerto Rico purchased this apartment in 2012

Why Mi Casa Concierge - Puerto Rico chose San Juan

It's close to everything! It's in an island city setting, so there are cafes, restraunts, bars, music venues, supermarkets, gyms, and, of course, the beach right at your doorstep!

What makes this apartment unique

This is right on one of the most important avenues (Ave Ponce de Leon) in Puerto Rico, so all of the main bus lines are right there and very frequent (every 4-5 minutes during the day). The balcony is also pretty awesome. It's great to sit out with a cold drink after a day at the beach and watch the sunset!

Guestbook comments from the manager

The apartment was clean, spacious and quite lovely. The view from the balcony - STUNNING, grab a cup of coffee in the morning . . . a great way to start the day. While it's true that it's no where near the tourist areas, it was central to everything. The best part of the apartment for us, however, would be Sebastian. He's super helpful, there when you need him, super accessible and an all around friendly guy. We arrived, dropped off our bags and he took us across the street, bought us coffee at abracadabra and then proceeded to drive us around to get us oriented to the neighborhood. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay off the beaten path but close to the action.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.5
based on 19 traveler reviews

2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 20 reviews
Kathleen, Georgia
4

Santurce Apartment nice and centrally located and in the heart of city

  • 4 of 5

Liked that it was centrally located in working class neighborhood of Santurce. Very close to many tourist attractions such as Old San Juan, El Yunque, beaches, Bacardi tour and others. Great eclectic breakfast spot across the street called Abracadabra. There are places to shop nearby for groceries including a 2 story walmart. For a real Puerto Rican experience this the place to stay. The buses run past the apartment I'd you want to give the transportation a try. If you have a car, parking can be a chore, but I found a parking spot every evening after a full day of sight seeing. It was nice to come back every evening g and chill and watch Netflix or enjoy the view on the balcony. I would stay here again to enjoy the San Juan area.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfecto. Muy contentos. El trato genial.

  • 5 of 5

Es confortable y cómodo. Esta cerca del mercado de la plaza. Precio calidad bien. Es amplio. Facil de aparcar. El encargado Sebastián muy muy amable. Muchas gracias. Recomendable.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful! I want to go back!

  • 5 of 5

My fiancé and I stayed in December 2015, but came back to reality that we did not have a moment to write a review right away. Overall, I loved the apartment, it's very close to attractions such as the Plazita for the night life, El Morro, Old San Juan and the freeway that will lead you to awesome towns. Sebastian was awesome, he gave us tips in where to go and was always helpful. The apartment in general was great with A/C, very comfortable and nice balcony to look over look the city. What I really liked about staying in the apartment was actually feeling like I was a local, not staying in a hotel, experiencing the real deal. I want to go back soon and I will definitely stay in the apartment again! No questions asked. Thank you so much Sebastian! :)

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Home away from home in PR

  • 5 of 5

Sebastian was incredible! He really made us feel at home; something that was very important to us especially being first-time visitors. He made himself available to us any time of day and for any reason. The place is so cozy and felt comfortable as if we were staying at a friend's house. After a few days of exploring San Juan on foot we came to appreciate what a wonderful LOCATION it has. There are so many places just a short walk away, and yes, follow the very popular recommendation and pop over to the other side of the street and treat yourself to a lovely puertorican feast at ABRACADABRA. This place is a steal at this price and I look forward to my stay here.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

San Juan's best location!

  • 5 of 5

Spectacular space with jaw dropping decor. Being here felt like paradise palace in this enchanted city. I definitely would return and Sebastian was so kind and very sweet and always there for us! We had an incident of locking ourselves out of the building and he was very quick to help us out even on a Friday evening! Thank you for a beautiful and unexpected stay in your beautiful city of San Juan!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Awesome Location

  • 3 of 5

I thought the vibe of the apartment was a bit like crashing at a guy friend's place back in college. It definitely has the feel of a young bachelor's apartment, and I felt that there were a few areas that could be approved on that would make the place feel a bit more homey.

Sebastian was super-friendly and responsive to our needs. He came over with paper towels and toilet paper when we were running low, and replaced the pump in the toilet when flushing became an issue. I loved the fact that he regularly checked in to see if we needed anything. It was awesome to feel like we were being taken care of.

Ponce de Leon is a major thoroughfare, so be prepared for the accompanying noise from the street. That being said, the location is ideal because a bus regularly stops in front of the apartment that takes you from Santurce to Old San Juan for $0.75. Way cheaper than taking a cab. And it's one of the more regular buses that run in San Juan. Also, the apartment is across the street from Abracadabra, which has the best breakfast I had while I was there. Everything on the menu is to drool for.

And the apartment is located near museums and La placita de Santurce (about a 15 min walk). So there's an abundance of bars and restaurants to explore.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
SJU- Luis Munoz Marin International Airport
Nearest Barpub
Abracadabra Counter Cafe
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Hato Rey to Old San Juan/Hato Rey to Catano
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
San juan Driving Range
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Sagrado Corazon station
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
PR 1
Nearest Restaurant
Abracadabra Counter Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Ocean Park
Car: recommended

The neighborhood is quiet, fun and authentic. It's not the touristy side of town; the apartment is not next to a big casino or a five-star hotel.

You'll find cool coffee shops, bars, restaurants, and music venues where the locals hang out. (In front of the building is a coffee shop that has live jazz every Friday night, for example.) Three blocks down is the largest art museum in San Juan, and close by are other great museums and art galleries to visit. There are a handful of theaters nearby, with all kinds of productions (improve, drama, classics, and varied temporary shows). It's a friendly neighborhood, so if your not into anything that's going on, you can always stick around and play dominoes with the older locals at the bar down the street. (For a list of what's happening this week in the neighborhood: (website hidden) .)

Because the location is so centric, it's easy to venture to Old San Juan or the beach from here.

Photos

Rates & Availability

San Mateo Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2016
Jul 1 2016 - Dec 1 2016
4 night minimum stay
$99
$479
 
 
Winter Hoiday
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 8 2017
6 night minimum stay
$109
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$99
$489
$1,874
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Refundable damage deposit $20

Tax is included in the price.
Check in hours are between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

San Mateo Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties