check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

thefolks@kailuahouse.com

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Entire, Spacious, Airy Family House - Minutes to Beach

37 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 6 nights

Overview

Kailua House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

All the comforts of home await you at this perfect Hawaii getaway. The aroma of plumeria blossoms welcomes you. Designed by the dean of Hawaii residential architects, Vladimir Ossipoff, this large, open-plan home with a big, private back yard is always blessed by the trade winds. Seven-minute drive to world-renowned Lanikai and Kailua Beaches.

Peaceful and safe for families. The house is in a quiet, residential, upscale neighborhood. You have the entire house and get total privacy. Ideal for a large family, two families with children, or two or three couples. Features include cathedral-beamed ceilings, teak and koa wood furniture, a teak-floored dining area, ceiling fans in every room, a fully-equipped kitchen, and separate laundry room.

Keywords: House, Home

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
thefolks@kailuahouse.com (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

From our guest book:



Kailua and Kanehe were perfect places to get away from everything. The

beaches, shopping, and restaurants were all wonderful. Our kids had a

wonderful time and the house is excellent for children (5and2). The fenced in

backyard was great. For future guests with kids, the best places to eat were

Zippy's and Las Garcia's.
Dec 2005
  • 1 of 14

Reviews

4.7
based on 37 traveler reviews

Entire, Spacious, Airy Family House - Minutes to Beach
average rating of 4.7297297 based on 51 reviews
4

Stay in Kailua

  • 4 of 5

The house was spacious, clean and in a quiet location, within driving distance to the beaches. The owner was helpful and friendly. Kitchen was well equipped and dishwasher was helpful. Laundry machines were new and very useful and helpful.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Home in Hawaii

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 stayed at this home for 10 days in June. The house was perfect for us. It was very spacious. The master was huge with a sitting area and private bath. The room with the teenagers had 2 full beds and a full size futon and a TV. Perfect for teenagers who want their own space. Both have a/c units but you really don't need to use them because the trade winds keep the room cool at night. The third bedroom was perfect for my brother in law. The large, well stocked and equipped kitchen was great with a large table for all of us to eat at. Theres a sitting room off the kitchen and a living room with a TV. Theres was plenty of room for all of us. We were very close to Kailua beach. We could have walked there but preferred to drive since we brought a lot of "beach stuff" with us. Beach chairs, boogie boards, coolers, beach bags, beach towels, snorkeling gear, beach toys, etc. were available to use. This was great because we didn't have to bring any of this with us or purchase it while we were there. There is a grocery store very close by which was very convenient. If you are looking for an inexpensive and good place to eat we found a ramen noodle restaurant near the grocery store. We could eat for $10 per person and it was plenty of food. Carol was a gracious host. She was very friendly and easy to talk to. She provides a book with lots of information about the different activities to do and places to see on the island. We went to most of them and we enjoyed them all. This part of the island is not touristy, which is what we were looking for. The beaches here are beautiful. Waikiki is not a far drive from the house. It was nice to visit Waikiki when we wanted to but were happy to come back to this house. The house is not fancy, shmancy... its PERFECT!! You can't go wrong staying here. How can anything be bad in Hawaii!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable residential retreat

  • 4 of 5

The house is located in a quiet residential neighborhood that is well-maintained. The house has a very comfortable and spacious interior. The kitchen and bathrooms are dated and worn, but clean. The owner, Carol, is professional and responsive. She provided very clear instructions and all the information that we needed to enjoy the house and surrounding area.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles
5

Morning sunrise from your bed.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was in September so this review is a bit over due but better late than never. When you look at a home online it's hard to judge just exactly what you'll be getting when you arrive and I must say this home did not disappoint. Two of the bedrooms are huge! We had five of us staying here and there was plenty of room for everyone. In the morning you can lay in bed and watch the sunrise as the trade winds blow thru the window in both of the large back rooms. The third room is smaller but it was very comfortable. The master has its own bathroom and the other two rooms share a bathroom. The main living area of the house was perfect for having family time together or finding you own space to read or nap or have a cocktail or two. Now I guess you could walk to the beach from the house but we never did. We would drive to different beaches everyday so we could see the island. There is a super market nearby but I would also recommend going to the farmers market in town, I think it is on Sunday. I bought a large bag full of local fruits and vegetables for 20 bucks! It would have easily been 50 or 60 dollars in the super market. Speaking of food the kitchen is perfect for making meals at home. It is stocked with everything you need as far as cooking and there is a pantry with spices left by previous guests. I left some coconut syrup behind but I'm sure it's gone by now. Carol is the perfect host she lives next door but she definitely give you the privacy you want on a vacation however she's right there if you need any thing. The neighborhood is very nice and safe and quiet. We couldn't have asked for a better place to enjoy our vacation on Oahu. And one last thing I must say. I think Oahu gets a bad rap as being touristy because of wikiki and Honolulu but if you get out of the city you'll find one of the most beautiful Hawaiian islands full of the best beaches, stunning scenery and wonderful people. Thanks for having us and we will see you next time.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
GRANTSVILLE, UTAH
3

Our stay at this home.

  • 3 of 5

Myself and 3 sisters spent one week in this home. Very nice. maintained very well and it gave everything the ad spoke of. The only drawback was the price of food in Hawaii. We had heard about the cost but we were to put it mildly shocked. We did not use the kitchen because it was totally not within our budget to buy groceries and cook there. We also were disappointed that we didn't get to spend any time on the beach. We never did find the beach that Carol told us was within walking distance. Carol was a gracious hostess and if she has another property that will meet any future vacations, we will make sure and rent from her. Thanks Carol.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I so wish you had called me and mentioned that you couldn't find the beach access. I would have gladly showed you how to get there. It is an easy 10-minute walk. That makes me sad that you didn't see the most beautiful beach in the world while you were here. I have a major question -- if you didn't cook meals in the house because the food was too expensive in the supermarket, where did you eat? Restaurants are much more expensive than buying a week's worth of groceries -- although we do have some wonderful food in a variety of restaurants. (Yes, Hawaii's groceries are very expensive since most everything has to be shipped in except for local produce and a few other products. Sometimes the locally grown items can be expensive too because of the high cost of land here -- we just don't have a lot of land.) It's the price of paradise.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Sydney, Australia
5

Peaceful Escape from Touristy Waikiki

  • 5 of 5

We used to live in Kailua so knew the location was great. The neighborhood was serene and friendly and Carol was very welcoming upon arrival. The house itself had everything we needed, and was even more spacious than we anticipated. It's hard to figure why anyone would choose a hotel when for a few bucks more you can get a lovely house like this. We've now done two vrbo home rentals on Oahu, and this is the one we would come back to. Aloha, Tim

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Kalapawai Market
Buzz's Original Steak House
Lanikai Beach
Lanikai Pillbox Trail
Lanikai Juice
Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Honolulu International
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Pinky's
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Bayview golf Course
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
H-3
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Pinky's
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Kailua Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sept - Nov
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 15 2016
5 night minimum stay
$296
$1,851
 
 
Late Fall/Winter
Nov 16 2016 - Dec 20 2016
5 night minimum stay
$308
$2,023
 
 
Holiday
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 4 2017
6 night minimum stay
$444
$3,047
 
 
Jan - Feb
Jan 5 2017 - Feb 28 2017
5 night minimum stay
$313
$2,139
 
 
March - June
Mar 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$308
$2,023
 
 
July - Aug
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$330
$2,251
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$308
$2,023
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Departure Cleaning $165
Pet Fee $400

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Pack n Play available.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Large fenced yard, enclosed garage, plus more parking off street in driveway

Partner Offers