Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront, Pet Friendly, Hot Tub, Firepit | Contact us for last minute specials

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

MARTINIQUE is an isle of French charm, cuisine and culture, and also the inspiration for The Martinique suite at Villa Caribe. Beautiful beyond words, Martinique captured the attention of Paul Gauguin, whose paintings are among the world's most prized treasures. We believe you will treasure your stay at The Martinique at Villa Caribe. Beautifully furnished with your comfort and the style of the Caribbean in mind, The Martinique offers accommodations for up to four with a Cal-King in the bedroom and a queen sofa sleeper. This property is pet friendly, located at the back of the building and does not offer an ocean view like Villa Caribe's other two 1 bedroom properties (Trinidad and Tobago) - Unit is approximately 500 sq ft and not recommended for 4 adults.

Regarding Villa Caribe's location:

Three blocks to your left you'll find Sunset Cliffs Nature Park - a great place to spend the day exploring cliffs, caves and tide pools!

Directly in front of you lies a spacious patio area – with a convenient gas BBQ, a small sandy “beach” area we created to enjoy cocktails and the breathtaking views of the sunset - and, of course, miles and miles of deep blue ocean where we often see migrating whales, playful pods of dolphins and adventurous surfers.

We are located on a small cliff overlooking an enchanting, rocky, tide pool-explorer's beach (and surfing area!). Enjoy unmatched ocean views from the property or head down to the beach - just a short 1/2 block walk away!

A few blocks to your right is the casual seaside town of Ocean Beach. Stroll along Newport Avenue and take in the array of small shops and boutiques. From antiques to surfboards, sandwich shops to ocean-front fine dining – and bars and taverns in between – Ocean Beach is friendly, informal and fun!

In the evening, enjoy cocktails while listening to the surf, or take a romantic stroll on the famous Ocean Beach pier, and enjoy the lights of San Diego from the over-water restaurant.

Be sure to catch the fireworks display from Sea World - only 10 minutes away! Return home to your ocean-front, cliff-side hideaway, enjoy some wine with a loved one, and listen to the waves crash on the beach. Paradise!

Villa Caribe is also close to all San Diego has to offer: 30 seconds from a rocky beach-explorer’s playground (beach access is a short walk around the block), 2 minutes to the heart of Ocean Beach, 6 minutes to the charming village of old Pt. Loma, with its shops, restaurants and the San Diego Yacht Club, 10 minutes to Sea World, Old Town, the Gas Lamp District, the airport, shopping at Fashion Valley, 15 minutes to the World Famous San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park and about 30 minutes to Legoland and the Wild Animal Park. ASK us if this unit has AC!

Keywords: Vacation homes, ocean front, beachfront, San Diego, Ocean Beach, Dog friendly, vacation rentals, San Diego vacation rental

More Details

Property Manager
Nancy's Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017

About Nancy's Vacation Rentals

MARTINIQUE is an isle of French charm, cuisine and culture, and also the inspiration for The Martinique suite at Villa Caribe. Beautiful beyond words, Martinique captured the attention of Paul Gauguin, whose paintings are among the world's most prized treasures. We believe you will treasure your stay at The Martinique at Villa Caribe. Beautifully furnished with your comfort and the style of the Caribbean in mind, The Martinique offers accommodations for up to four with a Cal-King in the bedroom and a queen sofa sleeper. This property is pet friendly, located at the back of the building and does not offer an ocean view like Villa Caribe's other two 1 bedroom properties (Trinidad and Tobago) - Unit is approximately 500 sq ft and not recommended for 4 adults.

Regarding Villa Caribe's location:

Three blocks to your left you'll find Sunset Cliffs Nature Park - a great place to spend the day exploring cliffs, caves and tide pools!

Directly in front of you lies a spacious patio area – with a convenient gas BBQ, a small sandy “beach” area we created to enjoy cocktails and the breathtaking views of the sunset - and, of course, miles and miles of deep blue ocean where we often see migrating whales, playful pods of dolphins and adventurous surfers.

We are located on a small cliff overlooking an enchanting, rocky, tide pool-explorer's beach (and surfing area!). Enjoy unmatched ocean views from the property or head down to the beach - just a short 1/2 block walk away!

A few blocks to your right is the casual seaside town of Ocean Beach. Stroll along Newport Avenue and take in the array of small shops and boutiques. From antiques to surfboards, sandwich shops to ocean-front fine dining – and bars and taverns in between – Ocean Beach is friendly, informal and fun!

In the evening, enjoy cocktails while listening to the surf, or take a romantic stroll on the famous Ocean Beach pier, and enjoy the lights of San Diego from the over-water restaurant.

Nancy's Vacation Rentals purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Nancy's Vacation Rentals chose San Diego County

The weather and the ocean views!

What makes this apartment unique

Villa Caribe has just about all the amenities of home... but at the beach! Maybe some you don't have at home, like jetted tubs, hot tub, fire pit, and the sound and smell of the ocean, not to mention the view!

Amenities

Ocean Beach Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Jacuzzi tub with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Cal-King bed in the bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sofa-sleeper in the living-room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Leisure Activities:
  • horseshoes
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • water skiing
Notes:
ASK us if this unit has AC! It does not but we rent portable AC units.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront, Pet Friendly, Hot Tub, Firepit | Contact us for last minute specials
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
1

Odor in the air and mold in the grout

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I traveled to San Diego with our eight month old recently. Initially, we were concerned because the date of our flight came and we had not received information from the rental company on how to enter the building. It took a few emails but we did receive the information eventually.

When we arrived, it was clear that the photographs were edited to hide the age and wear of the building. When we entered the rental, there was a smell in the air that we know to be a cleanliness problem. My husband has severe allergies and he looked through the rental for signs that the rental was not as advertised. The rental was not staged the same as the photographs, and the real concern was the amount of mold in the bathroom. My husband took photographs and called the rental company.

They told us to wait for maintenance man to come and tell us what to do. My husband declined, knowing that he would not be able to stay in that rental comfortably without respiratory problems. In addition, we were concerned about our child being exposed to black mold.

We tried to work with the company and asked for a newer unit. We were even willing to pay more. However, they offered us a unit in the same complex and the condition of the unit was similar. We were told someone would call us back to discuss a refund but this did not happen.

Would not recommend.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry you left immediately without giving us a chance to do anything for you. We do not edit our property photographs and it is never our intention to mislead and we do believe that our photos represent our rentals very well. I'm sorry you did not find it to your taste. Regarding the little bit of mold on the bathroom ceiling, we do apologize once again. When you contacted us with your concern upon arrival, one of our agents offered to get someone to come by right away to clean it off with a bleach solution. We also offered alternatives from our 57 other units including others in the same building, but you seemed intent on leaving right away. You said you took photos and we also asked you to email them to us so we could help properly address your concerns and possibly work out a refund option that way, but you did not send them. We truly did try our best to work with you to find a solution, but unfortunately there didn't seem to be any options you wished to consider. Again, we do apologize that the unit wasn't up to the standard it should have been upon your arrival. The ceiling mold came off easily by wiping it with a bleach solution and our housekeepers have been reminded that they always have to be vigilant about bathroom ceiling mold in the moist beachfront climate. Sincerely, The NVR Team.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it. Comfortable, had all we needed.

  • 5 of 5

The property was great. Loved everything about it. My only recommendation is to get one of the condos that hadr a garage. Parking on the street was bad because there is usually not a place to park within a block of the condo.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay in OB

  • 5 of 5

We arrived and had no issues at all with anything. Everything was so easy that our vacation started the moment we walked through the door. Everything was neat and clean. everything we thought we needed was in the kitchen so it made cooking a breeze. This was exactly what we was looking for in a rental . We have decided that it will be San diego for all our future vacations. I'm so glad I fould this place !

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to having you back next year! Best, The NVR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This place was a paradise. Waking up to the sound of the ocean was very relaxing. Very clean!! The lady renting out the property was so nice and helpful. Fun places to explore, great places to go, OB restaurants and shops are a short walk away. You will have neighbors and for a couple days had some pretty loud ppl there and could hear them pretty well (they were REALLY loud though kind of disrespectful to neighbors) other then that, I slept better then ever and had a great time in sunny San Diego ! I suggest going down to the harbor and getting on one of the harbor tours or wale watching vessels. U can't walk directly down to the beach from the backyard, but access is right around the corner. I would suggest renting this place, it really is a home away from home. :)

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your neighbors were loud and not very considerate. This is certainly not the experience we want any of our guests to have, and we are very sorry for this. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to being your home away from home on future trips to San Diego. Best, The NVR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Molena Georgia
4

judy harris

  • 4 of 5

My daughter-in-law and I rented this condo. We had never been in this area before. Our first trip to southern California was very successful and most part because of the owner. All directions were right on cue and the condo was exceptional. The owner has tried to think of everything you could need during your stay. Parking on the other hand is somewhat a problem but not bad. We will go back and visit our friends in San Diego soon and if available we will gladly stay here. Thanks for a great trip.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Judy, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We work hard to provide a relaxing experience for each of our guests. We're happy to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as guests on future trips to San Diego! Best, The NVR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Nashville, TN
4

can hear the ocean..

  • 4 of 5

We arrived here on a honeymoon to southern california. My wife had never been before and I used to live in Ocean Beach a while back. If you have never been to Ocean Beach, CA. its a must, its gorgeous, and in my opinion the best beach town in San Diego. This spot is a great location, overlooking the pacific, and during high tide can hear the ocean rumbling over the rocks off the patio. The hot tub is community which I wasn't a fan of, and it was pretty filthy and low on water. The problem was fixed ASAP though as soon as pointed out to someone, so props on that. This location is blocks from gorgeous sunset cliffs, which is great for a walk during dusk or dawn. There isnt a parking space for this unit which I didn't understand, all the other units seemed to have one. Parking wasnt a huge deal, but we also were not there during the summer months. I imagine its not quite so easy then. Nice patio that is kept clean, the grass cut, and a great place to overlook the ocean. I prob would not return but that is only because there are so many different places to stay and check out while in San Diego, its not due to the place itself. Overall a great experience. I suggest it to anyone reading this.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ocean Beach Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
Apr 10 2017 - May 24 2017
4 night minimum stay
$136
From
$163
Fri,Sat
$850
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 25 2017 - May 28 2017
4 night minimum stay
$154
From
$187
Fri,Sat
$977
 
 
Early Summer Special
May 29 2017 - Jun 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$136
From
$163
Fri,Sat
$850
 
 
Early Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$179
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$1,124
 
 
Peak Summer
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 11 2017
6 night minimum stay
$223
From
$282
Fri,Sat
$1,451
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 12 2017 - Sep 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$179
From
$215
Fri,Sat
$1,124
 
 
Indian Summer
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$156
From
$187
Fri,Sat
$977
 
 
Fall
Sep 23 2017 - Nov 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
$136
From
$163
Fri,Sat
$850
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 26 2017
5 night minimum stay
$154
From
$187
Fri,Sat
$977
 
 
Early Winter
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 22 2017
4 night minimum stay
$136
From
$163
Fri,Sat
$850
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2017 - Dec 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$154
From
$187
Fri,Sat
$977
 
 
Early Spring Special
Jan 1 2018 - Feb 13 2018
4 night minimum stay
$136
From
$163
Fri,Sat
$850
 
 
President's Day
Feb 14 2018 - Feb 19 2018
4 night minimum stay
$154
From
$187
Fri,Sat
$977
 
 
Spring
Feb 20 2018 - Mar 9 2018
4 night minimum stay
$136
From
$187
Fri,Sat
$850
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 10 2018 - Apr 6 2018
4 night minimum stay
$154
From
$187
Fri,Sat
$977
 
 
Spring
Apr 7 2018 - May 22 2018
4 night minimum stay
$136
From
$163
Fri,Sat
$850
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 23 2018 - May 28 2018
4 night minimum stay
$154
From
$187
Fri,Sat
$977
 

Additional information about rental rates

Departure Clean $120 + Tax
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.5%

Due to HomeAway's limited ability to post additional fees, certain fees are not included in the quote/rate and may be required:
-Additional $25 for Summer Cleanings.
-Additional $50 cleaning fee for stays 2 weeks and more.
-Baby equipment (if available): Fees vary based on equipment needed.
-Portable Air Conditioning Rental (if available): $50 delivery, $25/day (3 day min).

Nancy's Vacation Rentals is not responsible for any erroneous descriptions or rates posted on this website or any other 3rd party travel website. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed by Nancy’s Vacation Rentals​. For up-to-date availability and accurate pricing, please visit NancysVacationRentals.

You must read and accept our Terms and Agreement and House Rules prior to us approving your reservation request.

Contact us for last minute deals or for monthly rentals.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties