Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ultra Modern Cottage With Pet Friendly, Green Eco, Walk To Downtown

Bedrooms 1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 30 nights


About the property

All Brand New, Light Bright Cozy Room, Easy Walk, Large 1 Bed, King Size, 1 Bath

A great ultra modern cottage, well thought space saving, 2 LED TVs, Eco friendly, nice combo living & dining area, high end appliances, large walk in shower, huge walk-in closet with organizer system, king size bed, great sectional leather sofa, nice firm memory foam bed. Free wifi Internet connection.

With a small rear deck & front courtyard is sharing with the front duplex professional tenants. Lots of privacy and the front load washer dryer is just across from the courtyard. Very well maintained with outdoor lighting for entertainment. You will be very pleasantly surprised with all the organization built in and some extra perks. Feel free to contact us with any questions. A minimum of 1 month is required in most cases (some exceptions when available), and discount for longer term stay available. Monthly rates are seasonal plus applicable tax, please text, email or call with any questions. Thanks!

Summary monthly rate: Winter (Jan 1- March 31) = $2700, Spring (April 1 - June 30) = $2200, Summer (July 1 - Sep 30) = $1750, Fall (Oct 1 - Dec 31) = $2000.

The minimum is 1 month preferred , after the period it will be prorated. Monthly stay is 30 days.


A long term rate is available with a 7 month lease, thank you!

More Details

Siman Halim
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

About Siman Halim

Hello :)

My name is Siman Halim, I moved to St Pete area in 1995, and fall in love with downtown St Pete instantly. I graduated from UCLA and worked my first job in Santa Barbara. After 5 years in Santa Barbara, I received another job opportunity to move to Florida. In my last 14 years, I have acquired a few properties to sell & buy, but I decided to keep this very special property for myself to retire. In the last 6 months, this cottage has gone completely made over from inside out. I always like a modern sleek looking style, with the help of my biz partner Taylor, my modern cottage finally came true. I moved to Baltimore due to a job relocation in March 2010; but somehow, I will make my way back to downtown St Pete area. In the mean time, enjoy my dream cottage & sunshine Florida for me. Thank you for your interest!

Siman Halim purchased this cottage in 1996

Why Siman Halim chose Historic Uptown

This property is very central located and only a short walk to Crescent Lake, tennis court and a mile walk to downtown Central. The cottage is setting back and very quiet. The bedroom & living room overlooking a courtyard with water fountain. There's a small private rear deck overlooking bamboo trees.

What makes this cottage unique

It has been completely renovated with modern features such as a smart nest thermostat, pull out drawer dishwasher, LED lightnings, Kenmore Elite fridge, orange front door that hardly could be missed. All new appliances, attention to details with convenient built in features shoe racks and kitchen organizers. Cleaning materials are provided for your convenience. A private parking space in the driveway.


Historic Uptown Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • 2 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • tennis
Centrally located in St Pete downtown area and Sunken Garden. Walk to everywhere and a mile away from the new Dali Museum.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Ultra Modern Cottage With Pet Friendly, Green Eco, Walk To Downtown
average rating of 4.866667 based on 30 reviews

It's not a good idea to manage a property from afar

  • 2 of 5

This is a case study in why it’s not a good idea to manage a VRBO property from afar.

First, the good news: The property is well-described on the VRBO site. The owner was responsive to issues raised during our visit

The not-so good news:

1. The bottom of the shower curtain was covered in orange (and some black) mold.

2. The stovetop had burned food on top of it.

3. The return duct on the AC unit was dusty.

4. The fire/smoke detector hung from the ceiling.

5. The gate to the property was broken although somewhat functional. (If you plan to bring a pet, be sure that your pet is fairly large. Otherwise, it can escape easily through the gate or the fencing.)

(I have photos illustrating these points, but I can't paste them into this box.)


6. The vanity in the bathroom was broken.

7. There were dried food spots on the kitchen countertops.

8. There were two open, corked bottles of wine in the kitchen.

9. The refrigerator was clean but contained (non-perishable?) food items.

10. In the living room was a package from Amazon addressed to a previous tenant and delivered in November, 2017.

How is it that these problems developed? As I mentioned earlier, the owner was responsive to concerns we raised during our visit. However, the owner did not live nearby but in Baltimore, MD. This probably means that the owner relied on others to maintain the property on his behalf—his cleaning lady and the tenants from the house in front of the property. These are probably not professionals with the same stake in the quality of the accommodations as the owner. And, it’s likely that his “helpers” did not communicate issues about the property effectively to him.

Again, this is a case study in why it’s not a good idea to manage a property from afar. Cleaned up, this would be a pleasant place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Professor A. Glaros, I have been managing this property from out of state for the last 5+ years and this is the first time I have ever received such a harsh review from my guests. As you stated that I have been very responsive to your each requests, which you only mentioned about the curtain and kitchen countertop during your stay. I immediately shipped overnight to replace the shower curtain and cleaning supply. I have explained to you by the phone this situation and yet you had waited until the last day to leave me this review. Prior to your move in, we had a young tenant who trashed the property and at the same time we had a new cleaning lady who didn’t speak up until I questioned her about the issues you brought up to me. I have a high standard to keep my property in pristine condition. The gate is not 100% pet proof, and you are not supposed to let them roam freely without any supervision. The package that a previous tenant sent to the cottage is NOT an owner responsibility. The vanity in the bathroom is NOT broken. The non-perishable food items (unopened & not expired) are from previous tenants, we tried Not to waste any food due to hungers advocate. You don’t have to consume them if you’re not interested. I can’t speak for the wine corks or dried food spots on the kitchen countertop but you have never brought it up when we spoke! I have instructed my cleaning lady to change the AC filters on schedule and sorry that if she didn’t clean it up this time. Here’s the real case, this is a perfect storm that when you had a bad tenant who left the place in a bad condition with a new cleaning lady to clean-up and then someone who likes to analyze in detail into a case study! Due to this circumstances, we have changed a new cleaning service for our future guests. We always strive for the best to meet our higher standard to make our guests satisfactions as we realize there’s always a room for improvement. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve your needs for 9 nights. Sincerely yours, Siman
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

FIVE STARS...St Pete Historic Uptown

  • 5 of 5

For 10 days I stayed here with my dog in October 2017. Siman was a great owner and was easy to get a hold of for any questions. He is very accommodating. His long-term tenants live in the duplex on the street side. This is a detached cottage with a shared courtyard. They were just wonderful helps regarding the area. This was an extremely quiet community, very peaceful, very relaxing. You are still close to the activities though. I managed to go to a lot of evening and daytime outings. I went to the parks, fishing, bars and restaurants. The bed was perfect, the house has a full kitchen and there is a gas grill outside. I would stay here again.

Five stars all the way, thank you so much Siman!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cottage from March 1 thru March 31, 2017. We absolutely loved our stay. The cottage was very modern, tastefully decorated and clean. It was very quiet with little street noise. If we needed anything one phone call to Simon or his assistant and it was there. We had two small yorkie's (dogs) and the courtyard was fenced in with room for them to play and we did not have to worry about them getting lost. The cottage has a romantic feel and we hope to stay again on our next trip to Florida. Simon is the best.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Well-equipped unique rental property

  • 5 of 5

My husband, I and our 2 rat terriers thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Siman's unique rental property for the month of Feb. It is tastefully furnished and has a modern, well-equipped kitchen which we enjoyed cooking in. The bedroom is large with a walk-in closet and the bathroom is great with a wonderful walk-in shower. The neighbourhood is terrific and the brick roads are lined with historic bungalows. What was most important was that the neighbourhood was safe and my dogs were secure in his rental when we weren't there. We loved our daily walks especially the dogs to the fabulous Crescent Lake and historic Round Lake. We were within walking distance of the Northeast Animal Hospital which we visited and highly recommend. Siman was very helpful and responsive in our communication with him. I highly recommend this rental to anyone interested in exploring historic uptown St. Petersburg.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

romantic stay at modern cottage

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at this cottage. Parking was easy for the two cars. The interior and exterior is exactly what is described. Modern, clean

and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking, which we did lots of. A Starbucks is in walking distance. Laundry is

available onsite. Quite street and very quite in our cottage. I will book this again for our next stay. We absolutely loved the cottage. It

felt like a home with a safe feeling. The owner responded quickly with a few questions that we had ,great customer service.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlotte, NC


  • 5 of 5

Did not know exactly what to expect, but once we got there we were pleasantly surprised. We also had our dog with us (Jack Russell) who seemed to be at home right away. Every little detail was taken care of. If you happened to leave something, have no fear as Siman had it all taken care of with some small samples and extras to get you started. Seems he had thought of everything you would possibly need. The space itself was perfect for my wife and I. The courtyard was incredible for relaxing after a long day out. You cannot go wrong with this spot. We only stayed 4 nights but look forward to getting this spot again on our next visit for a longer period of time. Thank you Siman for everything!!!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
St Petersburg - Clearwater International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Three birds tavern
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Vinoy Renaissance St Pete resort & Golf club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Little Greek Restaurant
Nearest Beach
8.5 Miles
Treasure Island Beach, Sunset Beach (Gulf ocean)
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties