check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

A.C. Traylor

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Private Beachfront Cottage on the Historic James River

42 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Surry Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 BR, 1 BA, Sleeps 5, private and close to Jamestown and Williamsburg

Our waterfront beach cottage sits on a bluff overlooking the James River and Jamestown Island, with steps down to your private beach. You will have the privacy of a cottage and will be directly across the river from Jamestown and Williamsburg. The view of the river is wide open (about a mile to the left is the Jamestown-Scotland Ferry Dock and to the right is Cobham Bay).

The free car ferry is part of the Virginia Dept of Transportation and runs every 30 minutes during the day until 9 p.m. when it runs every hour all night.

Our cottage is in a neighborhood where there are no other rental cottages, only cottages used by their owners. There are no houses behind the cottages. Once you leave the paved road, you are 0.5 mile down a lane from the start of a perfect vacation.

Watch spectacular sunrises over the river from the deck or the air conditioned/heated front porch. After enjoying a day of history in Jamestown, Williamsburg, or Yorktown, or some of the other attractions Virginia has to offer, come back to relax on the 'rivah' in the privacy of your cottage. Sometimes just sitting quietly watching the movement of the water, a tug boat going by, or eagles and ospreys fishing is just what is needed after a busy day. The moon coming up over the river is as beautiful as the sunrise.

Cottage is limited to 5 people (including children and overnight guests).

Two kayaks, a row boat, a canoe, and adult and children's life preservers are provided. Also provided are beach chairs, beach umbrella, cooler, beach towels, floats, children's beach toys, and fishing poles with gear.

The cottage is centrally heated and air conditioned.

Our cottage has a fully equipped kitchen with countertop oven/convection oven, stove top, refrigerator, icemaker, microwave, coffee maker (with filters, coffee and sugar), toaster, and blender. Dinnerware, silverware, glassware, cookware, cooking utensils, paper plates and cups, aluminum foil, plastic wrap, baggies, coffee, cooking oils, basic spices, condiments, sugar, hand soap, dish detergent, dish towels and cloths, paper towels and trash bags are provided. In the backyard there is a gas grill ready for your barbeque.

All of the bedrooms are equipped with bed linens, extra blankets and linens, a clock, and a flashlight. One bedroom has a TV and DVD player.

The living area has satellite TV (DirecTV) and a DVD player.

The Bathroom has a tub with a hand-held shower. Hair dryer, towels, toiletries (soap, body wash, shampoo, hand soap), paper products, and first aid kit.

Brochures for tourists attractions are provided.

This is a wonderful place for children but the cottage is not child-proof. Cottage sits on a bluff with steps to the beach.

River shoes (water shoes, crocs, flip flops, etc.) are suggested. There are shells on the beach and in the water.

One pet is considered. The cottage is limited to one (1) pet. There is a $100 pet fee. Even though some of us like to take our pet on vacation, the next family that rents our cottage should not see any sign that a pet has been there. Please email or call us about your pet.

The cottage does not have WiFi. All of the Historic Williamsburg area has free WiFi. It will give you the zone-coverage area, how to connect to the free WiFi, and a map of parking lots within the Historic Area.

The weekly rate applies to 6 or 7 nights.

Rents Sat. to Sat. July through August.

Check-in: 3 p.m. Check-out:10 a.m.

.

Credit cards, echecks and checks accepted.

Half is due when booked; 2nd half due 30 days before check-in.

CANCELLATION POLICY: 100% 60 days prior to check-in; 50% 30 to 59 days prior to check-in; no refund less than 30 days prior to check-in.

No smoking in the cottage.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
A.C. Traylor (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Why A.C. Traylor chose Tidewater & Hampton Roads

Our cottage is in a perfect location for privacy, has a beautiful view, a private beach and the James River to play in, but close to the ferry that will take you across the river to visit the sites you came to see. It is like having the best of both worlds. You will understand why the people who have a cottage here love it.

What makes this cottage unique

Private, beautiful view, can have fun on the 'rivah' as well as visiting Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Busch Gardens, playing golf or shopping at the outlets.

Reviews

5
based on 42 traveler reviews

Private Beachfront Cottage on the Historic James River
average rating of 4.952381 based on 42 reviews
5

Enjoyable and Memorable Week on the River

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four spent a week at the cottage in mid-August. Upon our arrival, we were impressed by three things: the privacy, the wonderful view, and the amenities A.C. and Linda provided to make our stay so comfortable. My sons (ages 13 and 11) had a great time in the river, and spent many hours swimming, fishing, and kayaking. A.C. and Linda are extremely kind and helpful, and even gave the boys some bait when they were fishing.

The ferry ride into Williamsburg is only a short drive from the house, so we were able to get to and from the historical sites and amusement parks easily. When we arrived back at the cottage each day after sight-seeing, we would relax on the beach or the deck and watch eagles and opsreys fly overhead. It was very peaceful, and we have many wonderful memories of our week on the river.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An absolute gem!

  • 5 of 5

If you enjoy an endless view of waterfront, stars, sunsets, and wildlife like bald eagles, cranes, and golden eagles, then this is your spot. Located directly across the James River from Jamestown & Busch Gardens, we enjoyed taking the free ferry across the river to the Williamsburg & Jamestown attractions. The private beach with gentle surf & warm water was so enjoyable for us and our 3 kids....not to mention the kayaks and canoe provided! The beach is also ripe with the biggest whole clam & oyster shells I've ever seen. It has such a magical feel! The house itself was so comfortable for our family of 5. We enjoyed sitting on the deck together or eating at the picnic table on the covered porch. The owners are so friendly and helpful and added extra comforts with extra toiletries, snacks, & wine upon arrival. The only 2 negatives I could say are that it is on a gravel road that made using a navigation system difficult when we were first arriving but most great places are off the beaten path, right? The only other surprise was that the property is situated high off the river on a small cliff so there are 60 steps down to the water. It really didn't bother us but a good thing to know if you're bringing small children. We loved our visit so much that we think we'll come again... Maybe even retire to the area. So much natural beauty, truly a treasure.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing location on the river!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 enjoyed a wonderful week on the river! The cottage is in a perfect location, so peaceful, but it’s easy to cross the river on the ferry to visit Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens etc.

We enjoyed seeing all the wildlife from bald eagles to fireflies and even got up early to see the sunrise one day

Thank you to A.C. and Linda for the welcome gifts and for stocking the cottage with everything we could want from fluffy beach towels to dvds!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

St. James River

  • 4 of 5

It was charming and private. The water in the river was warm and shallow, no strong currents. We loved it and felt safe with are 6 year old grand son in the water. It was secluded and did take time to get to a supermarket. The property was well maintained.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Philadelphia
5

Great house, Great location

  • 5 of 5

The pictures of the house don't do it justice,it's much better in person,the house was super clean and fully stocked with everything you would need, there were also a couple of gifts from the owners( which were greatly appreciated).The house had plenty of room for the four of us,all of the furniture was in great shape and very comfortable.The front and back yards were a place to watch the wildlife( Eagles,Hawks,Deer and Turkeys)and also the river. It wasn't bad going down the stairs to the beach,but coming back up could be a little tiring. Overall the location of the house to all of the attractions was awesome.I would definitely recommend this house to anyone interested.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

One of the best VRBO homes we have stayed at!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we walked in the door, we were greeted with wonderful amenities. The Taylor's thought of everything! From Williamsburg wine, individual hand sanitizers, all beach equipment you could imagine, to soft fluffy towels and much more! The James River had a delightful surprise. Once past the sea shells on the shore, the river has a sandy bottom! Nature also provided us with good memories when we saw Bald Eagles, close up, flying overhead while relaxing in the water.

A must place to stay at if visiting Williamsburg area.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Williamsburg-Newport News, Virginia
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Jamestown-Scotland Ferry
Nearest Motorway
1.3 Miles
Pleasant Point Road
Nearest Restaurant
3.12 Miles
The Surry Seafood Company
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Surry Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Dec 2 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,300
 
 
Winter
Dec 4 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,300
 
 
Summer
Jun 3 2017 - Sep 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200

Cottage is limited to 5 people (including children and overnight guests).

Weekly rate applies to 6 or 7 nights.
Credit cards, echecks and checks accepted.
CANCELLATION POLICY: 100% if 60 days prior to check-in; 50% if 30 to 59 days prior to check-in; no refund less than 30 days prior to check-in.

Rents Sat. to Sat. July through August.
Check-in: 3 p.m. Check-out:10 a.m.

River shoes (water shoes, crocs, flip flops, etc.) are suggested. There are shells on the beach and in the water.

A pet is considered ($100 pet fee). Cottage is limited to one pet.

No smoking in the cottage.

Two kayaks, a small boat, a canoe, and adult's and children's life preservers provided. A life preserver must be worn or in the kayaks, canoe or boat while using them.

Beach umbrella, beach chairs, floats, toys, and beach towels provided.

Bed linens, bath towels, kitchen towels, paper products, etc. provided.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Surry Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • River
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The Bathroom has a tub with a hand-held shower. Hair dryer, towels, toiletries (soap, shampoo, and hand soap), paper products, and first aid kit.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , TV, DVD Player, Children's DVD's, Books
  • All bedrooms have linens, extra blankets, alarm clock, and flashlight. One bedroom has a TV and DVD player.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
The view from this cottage is beautiful with a nice beach to relax, swim, or fish. Private steps in front of the cottage take you down to the beach where you will find two kayaks, a row boat, a canoe, adult and children's life preservers, beach chairs, beach umbrella, floats, children's toys and fishing poles and gear. You can enjoy a busy day exploring Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens, Water Country, or have a fun day on the 'Rivah.' River shoes (crocs, flip flops, etc.) are suggested. There are shells on the beach and in the water. The front porch is centrally air-conditioned and heated. Cottage is limited to 5 people (including children and overnight guests). We do not have internet access, however, most of the historic area of Williamsburg has free WiFi. Go to www.williamsburgwifi.com to see the coverage area and instructions to connect. Also, most restaurants and stores in the Williamsburg area have free WiFi. No smoking in cottage.

Partner Offers