Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Make your 2017 Reservations - Same great rates - Pet Friendly!

Bedrooms 3
Space 836 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

This is a 3 bedroom (1 queen, 2 doubles), 2 bath home centrally located to Acadia National Park, the other island towns, and Bar Harbor with all the amenities of home. We provide everything you need - all cookware, dishes, linens, soaps (dish, laundry, bath), basic cleaning supplies, trash bags, toilet paper, paper towels, aluminum foil, sandwich bags, etc. There is a microwave, toaster, coffee maker, washer and dryer. There is cable TV, phone, and WiFi. There's a BBQ grill on the deck with chairs and a picnic table on the lawn.

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

Why Janice chose Town Hill

My husband and I spent many summers here until we decided to move here in 1989. We love Acadia National Park and the towns on MDI. (And fresh lobster of course). Spend your vacation at our rental property and I'm sure you'll fall in love with Maine too!


Town Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 836 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 1 full bath with tub and shower, 1 bath with shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • 1 bedroom with queen bed, 2 bedrooms with double beds
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
5 miles to Acadia National Park Visitors Center (you can catch the Island Explorer free shuttle bus and go almost anywhere on the island!); 6 miles to downtown Bar Harbor,


4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
Make your 2017 Reservations - Same great rates - Pet Friendly!
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews

8 Gemstone truly is a home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here and plan to return in 2018. It was spotlessly clean, everything worked, and the home was very comfortable. Everything was provided. Don't miss staying in this affordable home. Janice was also easy to deal with.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Should be condemned

  • 1 of 5

Ruined our vacation. House should be condemned and the owner should not be in the rental business. House smelled of mold and urine, bathroom had mold, sheets on the bed and the mattress under them smelled horrible.

We reserved the house for 4 nights as my wife and son were joining my daughter and myself on MDI for a few days. I was already up there with my daughter staying with my extended family. Since we have dogs we needed to get our own place. I showed up with my daughter on Wednesday to get the keys and pay for the place (cash at the insistence of the owner). Upon opening the house, I was overwhelmed with the smell, although the house itself appeared to be clean. Were it not for the circumstances of our dogs I would have simply refused the house but we had no choice. While the owner was there we opened every window in the place. My wife and son ended up not coming up Wednesday night so my daughter and I stayed one more night at my folk's timeshare. The next day I went back and after 24 hours the house smelled marginally better. I then pulled back the bed sheets only to discover they smelled horribly. I then stripped the beds and washed the sheets. I informed the owner of that and that the wifi was not working (neither was the cable). Trying not to be too confrontational when she came over she offered to let us use another house that would be available the next day or offered us a full refund. Again not trying to be a problem I said if the other place doesn't smell and is cleaner...great. By this point my wife and son were there so we had to stay the night. We froze with all the windows open and slept on the air mattress we brought to the timeshare. My son fell off of the deck which is falling apart as is.

The next afternoon we were informed by email that the other place was now not available. Thats when it got ugly. The owner renegaded on her offer of a full refund. And charged us for two nights all the tax we paid, leaving us with no options other than to go home of find somewhere to keep the dogs and all sleep on an air mattress in an overcrowded timeshare. Suffice to say I am beyond infuriated at how we were mislead and that we paid a 250 dollars to drive 5 hours and wash someone else's sheets. Horrible place and horrible people. I informed the town chamber of commerce, building inspector and had the police present when trying to resolve this issue. Avoid at all costs.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aaron Green made a late reservation for 4 days (9/27 – 9/30). He arrived on 9/27, walked through the house, filled out paperwork, made his payment (due to short time to his arrival, I had asked that he bring cash; he asked if an out-of-state check for the deposit could be written, to which I agreed), & he took the keys & left. The next day (9/28) he made a complaint of not being able to connect to wifi & stated that the sheets had a bad odor. I told him by email how to reset the wifi modem & stopped over later to re-set the modem & did not notice any odors. The house had just been cleaned (& all linens washed) by our cleaners after another guest left on 9/24. The cleaners did not notice any bad odors/smells. The previous renters had commented on the cleanliness of the home (see their review). There was no basis for his complaints. While at the house, I told Aaron I might have another house he could stay at (that should be available the next day) or offered a refund. Aaron and his wife left the house at ~5 p.m. on 9/28 (to pick up their children, who I never saw), leaving their 2 dogs gated in the bathroom with all of the windows open & lights on (inside & out). I was visiting another renter, & heard the dogs barking & whining, creating a disturbance for the other guests & the neighbors. I did not leave until ~10:30 p.m. & Aaron had still not returned to the house where he had left the dogs. The next day (9/29) I told Aaron the other house was not available; I could only offer a refund. He told me he was “packing up” & expected a Full Refund. I arranged to meet him at the house at 4:30 p.m., Friday, 9/29 to discuss his refund. When I arrived at the house, police arrived (called by Mr. Green). Other than to try to intimidate me, I have no idea why he called the police to be present but I am glad he did, because (in Aaron's words - where it became ugly) - Aaron’s behavior became very erratic & threatening. He did not have the keys to return, & we waited for someone else to arrive with the keys. He became more irritated, confrontational & threatening as we waited. He did not mention his son falling until the very end, when he threatened to call Code Enforcement. After the keys were returned, I refunded his deposit, 2 days’ rental and ½ of the Maine State lodging tax. Aaron was threatening to be "very verbal" about this as he got into his car. He was looking for place where he could leave the dogs unattended (for free) & join his friends at the time share.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Home sweet home

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this home for one week in mid may. We had everything that we needed and more for a comfortable and fun visit. The house was fully equipped for both indoor and outdoor activity and was set in a pretty quiet, and convenient location. Janice, our hostess was extremely helpful and friendly. We would rent this property again when visiting Bar Harbor.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
We own a home in a small New Hampshire town.

Wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place for our family. Convient to Acadia and Bar Harbor. It is exactly as the pictures show. Janice was a great host. She was very pleasant and made the check in and out very simple. We are hoping to return to the are in the future and will definitely stay here again if it is available.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Bar Harbor, Trenton, ME
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Town Hill Mainely Meats Brew Pub
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Kebo Golf Course, Bar Harbor
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Rt. 102
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Hulls Cove and Hadley Point
Car: recommended

About 5 miles to Acadia National Park Visitor's Center. Catch the Island Explorer free bus and go virtually anywhere on the island! Tour the Park Loop Road scenic drive or hike/bike the many trails or carriage roads/ Acadia National Park has several miles of hiking trails and carriage roads for hiking, biking, etc.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $125
cleaning fee $75
Tax Rate 9.0%

Deposit required 2 weeks after booking. 1/2 payment half-way to arrival; other 1/2 due 2 weeks before arrival. Checks only (no credit cards)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties