check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Very private modern cottage, breathtaking view, hot tub, Lake Vernon, Huntsville

Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleep 8

This nature lover’s retreat sits peacefully high on a hill with a spectacular view of Lake Vernon and the woods around. With a southern exposure and panoramic vista, it’s truly breathtaking in all directions. Located in Muskoka just 15 minutes from Huntsville but a million miles from it all.

A charming 2 storey cottage perfect for mature groups of up to 8 people or 2 families. Each level has a kitchen, living room, deck, two bedrooms and bathroom. Ceiling fans, gas fireplaces and large windows provide total comfort and a cozy experience. High speed wireless internet and DVD players on both floors allow different age groups to enjoy themselves while at the same cottage.

Lounge around on the deck or soak in the outdoor 8 person hot tub while gazing at the stars.

Take the pathway and stairs down to the lake where you’ll find the 200 sq. ft. dock for docking your boat or jumping in for a refreshing swim. Enjoy the canoes and kayaks with a leisurely paddle or an energetic exploration of the lake. Along the way you'll find your own observation deck with astonishing cliffside views. The observation deck provides you with a secluded spot to sit and relax and gaze at the lake in complete privacy.

At the waterfront, you'll find natural vegetation along the 150 ft of private shoreline and a hard packed sandy/pebble bottom for swimming.

Boat or drive 15 min to Huntsville, shops, restaurants, world class golf and Algonquin Park

More Details

Property Manager
Les Gayne
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017


3.5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Very private modern cottage, breathtaking view, hot tub, Lake Vernon, Huntsville
average rating of 3.5 based on 6 reviews

Just what we wanted!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a terrific week at Deers' Leap cottage and we enjoyed all of its amenities.

Les was very prompt in answering all of my emails and addressing any questions/concerns prior to our arrival. We found that everything was exactly as represented and all of the detail in the instructions that were provided was much appreciated.

The lake was beautiful, the scenery spectacular, and the cottage was very comfortable for our family of eight.

We would highly recommend this cottage for a Muskoka vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Absolutely beautiful view of Lake Vernon,

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was perfect for our family, the kids stayed upstairs while the adults had peace and quite to our selves downstairs

The owner Les was very kind with whatever we needed and the hot tub put the icing on the cake.

The HomeAway app lead us right to the cottage and showed us the sites and restaurants in the area, made things so much easier.

Thanks Les for sharing your cottage with us

Lorne Kalb and Family

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St.Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Neglected-Call this

  • 1 of 5

Where do I start? 1)Their steep driveway was crumbling off the hill, so you had to drive fast to get up there & not fall off it. 2)A huge wasp's nest one foot long and a swarm of wasps greeted you as you stepped out onto the balcony on the 2nd floor, unusable after that. 3) Showing 2 large TV's in their photos but no cable- so totally useless, just some old VCR's from 25 yrs ago. 4) The first day, I navigated down the steep 200 ft (!) cliff that takes you down to the dock on the water. Only about 50 feet are steps, the rest is a scary dirt path with rocks and weeds sticking out. I never went down there again the rest of the week. 5) Their binder suggested their garbage day was Tuesday, but when we got down the steep driveway, the box was locked! Texting them, they said the binder is old, not used, and yes, the garbage stays locked! We had to wait with the garbage inside the house for nearly a week, and drive an hour (!) out of our way home to deliver to the dump. 6) My daughter got a horrible bacterial infection from the hot tub, not well maintained, just like the rest of this place. 7) The canoe had a crack in it, letting water dangerously in. Lifejackets were sitting in a bin of dirty smelly water. Gross!...Worse than poor!

Reviewer location

St.Catharines, Ontario, Canada

Date of arrival

July 16, 2016

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for letting us know about your experience at our cottage. We appreciate your concerns and we do our best to resolve every issue as soon as we can. The beehive issue has long been fixed - no more bees. While there is no cable, we do have DVD players and TV’s to play them on. We also supply unlimited hi speed internet to allow you to watch any online shows and movies that you have subscriptions for, such as the online access to your own Rogers or Bell cable account, or Netflix. Our cottage sits high on a hill with a spectacular view over Lake Vernon and the woods around. It is a natural outdoors kind of place with a natural pathway through the woods and stairs down to the lake. It’s great for people who like the outdoors and kayaking, canoeing, hiking, and other activities in a wooded lakeside setting, as well as being able to enjoy the beautiful views and sunsets you get from its location. There is no longer garbage collection at the cottage. It is common in cottage country for cottagers to take their garbage to the dump and we supply directions to our dump not too far away. We appreciate your letting us know there is still an old binder lying around in the cottage. We will have that removed as soon as we can. This was long ago replaced with the up-to-date online information located on our HomeAway website listing. For our hot tub, we have a commercial hot tub maintenance company going there every week to check the water and filters, and refresh the chemicals to the correct amounts as required for safety. They have been doing this every week for more than 10 years and keep the system working as it should. Thanks for letting us know the canoe was leaking, we didn’t know that. We’ve already replaced it with a brand new canoe. Again, we appreciate your taking the time to let us know your concerns and as you can see we do our best to resolve every issue quickly.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Clean, Private cottage

  • 4 of 5

Overall, we had a great time at the cottage. The place was very clean and also very private. The deck was nice and large and allowed us to have many of our meals outside. The large hot tub was a big bonus and we all enjoyed it throughout our stay. We found the ground floor felt a bit cramped from the large furniture, but the the second floor was very open and the view from the balcony was amazing. Too bad there was a bee hive under the wooden planks of the 2nd floor balcony so we weren't able to spend much time up there :( . There were lots of blankets and pillows in all the rooms which was great, but the rooms that had a queen bed in them were very cramped as the bed was in the centre of the room and it left only 1.5-2 feet around the edges for us to walk around.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the drive up to the cottage from the road was very steep and some of the brick work that has been laid to provide traction is falling apart. Also, because the cottage sits high on the hill, the trek down to the dock is quite long. It takes about 5-10 minutes to get down to the dock and another 10-15 min to get back up, again depending on your pace. Half way down to the dock, there is a beautiful observation deck that overlooks the lake with an amazing view. The dock is very large and appears to be well maintained. However, the chairs at the dock were dirty and several of them were broken. Also, both canoes had holes in them. One canoe had a large hole and definitely wasn't safe to use. The other one had a fine crack and it seeped water into the canoe. After about an hour out on the lake, there was enough water in the canoe to fill a small bucket. Also, the canoe had a couple areas where some metal fasteners were clearly cracked. The 2 kayaks were in much better condition.

A couple other small issues: we had a small issue that we had to contact Les about and so I tried to call the contact number given to us but the number is a not a cell or landline and is actually a MagicJack (internet) number that goes straight to voicemail. Les eventually got back to us the next day (not great if you had an emergency). He was much quicker to answer emails so that is a plus. Also, the fire pit faces the forest so you can only sit around 1 side of it. Finally, the owner does not offer a cleaning or garbage service for the cottage, so you have to clean the bathrooms and kitchen and sweep/wipe the floors. We would have gladly paid a fee to not have to clean :)

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Beautiful cottage, wonderful time!

  • 4 of 5

This cottage was definitely as beautiful as advertised with a breathtaking view, in a private forest environment. The hot tub was the perfect touch and the drinking water from the well was so crisp. I was there in a group of 8 and we all had an amazing time. The only complaint we had was that the very steep snowy climb up to the cottage wasn't that well explained ahead of time. We definitely didn't know what we were getting into and it wasn't completely accessible for everyone. Once we got all our luggage up the hill, and settled in, there was no toilet paper anywhere in the cottage!

All that aside, it really was the perfect weekend and I would definitely come again!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for taking the time to write a such a great review. We're glad you all had an amazing time and found the cottage was as beautiful as advertised. We're sorry you experienced a snowy climb. In the winter parking is on the road due to the snowy conditions, and you have to walk up a snowy path to the cottage. As you say though, once you arrive it is breathtaking. However I value your comment and I will make sure to highlight this better for future winter visitors. This isn't an issue in the Spring, Summer of Fall of course. The snow is gone from the driveway and you can drive right up to the cottage, where there is space to park two or three cars. We're happy you found that it really was a perfect weekend and that you would definitely come again! We certainly look forward to having you come back. Les and Suzi
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Toronto, Canada

Well appointed pet friendly cottage but water access is a very steep 7-10 min hike down hill

  • 3 of 5

We chose this property as a base for exploring Algonquin park via day hikes and enjoy the fall leaves. Brought my stand up paddle board hoping to enjoy the advertised 150 feet of private waterfront property. Was disappointed as the hike to waterfront was so steep it was impractical to carry the SUP downhill. Would have appreciated knowing this peculiarity before renting the property. On the plus side, the view from the deck of the lakes was outstanding, and we made good use of the hot tub after our long days of hiking. Kitchen has everything you need, dishwasher and they were even kind enough to leave coffee filters for the machine which we forgot to bring! Property also very tidy.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
17 0


Nearest Airport
200 Kilometres
Toronto International Airport
Nearest Barpub
15 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
20 Kilometres
Nearest Train
15 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
15 Kilometres
Hwy 11 and Hwy 60
Nearest Restaurant
15 Kilometres
Nearest Ski
20 Kilometres
Hidden Valley
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
Hutchison Beach


Rates & Availability

Huntsville Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $38 per night, per additional guest
May 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest
Jul 1 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $19 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $380
Tax Rate 13.0%

Early booking discount: $100 off all weekly bookings made before February 29, 2016.
3 day long weekends in February, May, September, October and December are minimum 3 night rentals, $1475 for the 3 nights.
First two nights charged at weekend rates. Please email for rate for three or more nights.
Security deposit is $500.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Huntsville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake
  • Lake View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Double/single bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , Double/single bunk bed
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon
  • There are 2 floors, each with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. The 4 bedrooms can sleep 8-10 people. Two bedrooms have a queen bed, (sleeping 2 each), and two have a double/single bunk bed (sleeping up to 3 each). There is also a futon in the upstairs living room that can sleep 2 more. Both bathrooms have a toilet, sink, bathtub and shower.
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • swimming
Linens included in cost. Changeover day in summer is normally Saturday. Changeover day in spring/fall/winter and first/last week of summer is flexible.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties