Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Quiet Townhouse Overlooking Keauhou Bay - 1 Min to Shops + Bay

Bedrooms 1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 6 nights


Minimum Stay
6 nights

About the property

Townhome, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Welcome to Moon Inn Kona! Think 'Home Away From Home.' Our family has a long tradition of hospitality which we would like to extend to you as you consider visiting the Big Island of Hawaii.

After a 5-6 hour flight to Hawaii, renting your car, stopping by the grocery store, and unpacking, you will be ready for a relaxing rest on your private lanai with 180 degree view of Keauhou Bay and the Pacific. The sunsets are outstanding!!

The modern bedroom suite with screened in lanai, clean decor and adjacent office space is bright and beautiful. Ocean and mountain breezes keep the bedroom cool and comfortable.

Walk out your door to the end of your drive, take a left to Keauhou Bay and boats or take a right to Keauhou Shopping Center where you will find lovely shops, a movie theater, Longs Drugs, KTA Grocery and several restaurants. We are also adjacent to the Kona Country Club if you like golf. If you don't feel like going anywhere, the Kona Resort pool is clean and inviting.

If you invite overnight guests or if you have children, our upstairs hide-a-bed can accomodate two comfortably. The kitchen is fully equipped and our dining table seats 4.

You are 6 miles to downtown Kona by car or you can take the Wiki-Wiki bus from Keauhou Shopping center. It is a 5-10 minute drive to popular Magic Sands or Childrens Beach for snorkelling and beach side fun.

Of course, if you get homesick, Kona also has a Costco, Wal-Mart, Target, Home Depot, and Starbucks.

Keywords: terraza-casa, terrace house, semi-detached, maisonette, condo, condominium, house, 2 story, casita, small, attached but self-contained house or apartment

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2017

About The Owner

Cliff and I enjoy sharing our home with others from all over the world. In Seattle our home is called Moon Inn because we have so many people here all the time. Right now we have students from Korea and China.

Cliff is a contractor and I enjoy taking my grandkids on an Adventure with Gramma every summer. Cliff just waves good-bye.

We love hospitality because we meet so many interesting people. We want your stay at Moon Inn Kona to be relaxed and enjoyable.

Thanks for considering Moon Inn Kona for your next vacation.

Beryl Moon

The Owner purchased this townhome in 2006

Why The Owner chose Kona Coast

We are actively involved with the Unviersity of the Nations Kona, a Christian missions training university with YWAM. It is located on Kuakini Hwy just above Coconut Grove in Kailua-Kona. We volunteer at the UofNKona at least two or three times a year so we wanted a home base in Kona. Cliff especially loves the ocean view and trips to the beach.

What makes this townhome unique

Being from Seattle we love the sunshine and warm weather. It is a place to get away from our house full of people. Moon Inn Kona is our quiet haven away from all the hustle and bustle of city life. We feel rejuvenated and rested in our island getaway and hope you do, too.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Quiet Townhouse Overlooking Keauhou Bay - 1 Min to Shops + Bay
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
Edgewood, WA, USA

Our Stay at Your Place!!

  • 5 of 5

We are back from our WONDERFUL TIME at your Condo...So clean and comfortable....nice neighbors too...refreshing pool that really cooled us off in afternoons...

Traveled over to Havi to whale watch..very windy in that area that was unable to see much...but did a few!!! So majestic!!! Nature is a wonder!!

Thank you for all the directions to your place on our uncooperative phone...The place we were at had poor reception but with your kind and patient help we got there just dandy!!!

I mentioned in a call to you that we bought a WONDERFUL Standing was a lifesaver for evenings....perfect...and you offered to reimburse kind...THANK YOU!!!

I'm sending photo of receipt and picture of fan that we left there for future renters!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Kona Lover

  • 5 of 5

Very pleased with this unit. Very quiet, no traffic or pool noise. Screened in lanai a big plus.

Appreciated being able to park right at the door. Walked to Keauhou bay every day, very close!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Birdsong Paradise close to everything!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family now has a favorite vacation spot on the Kona coast where we feel at home! The Property Manager was most helpful and caring with lots of great suggestions and clear directions. We were surprised how at home we felt in the condo. We knew with 5 adults we were overloading the condo a bit, so we picked up an inflatable mattress bed that turned out to be very comfortable. We left it behind at the condo since we're family now! There was room for all of us to be comfortable, even on the wonderful lanai. It turned out to be a huge blessing to have the motorized awning we could extend as we hit a rainy time. The brand new roof did great with the heavy night and morning rains, and we were even able to grill on the electric grill during a rainstorm. Even with the unusual rains, it really didn't stop us from doing everything we wanted to do. Be sure to buy to some fresh local fish and grill it up yourself for a great sunset meal and great view from the lanai. If you like to golf, don't miss the beautiful Kona Country Club. Most holes have views of the ocean. Rise with the beautiful birdsong as soon as the sun begins to shine, and get to bed early after enjoying the sunset. We left all the windows open and had wonderful air flow all night (ceiling fans helped), which also allowed the great mix of birdsong to fill the air each morning. We also loved having so many colorful birds hopping on the railing in search of some breadcrumbs. There is so much to do around the condo, and it is all so close! Shopping, shave ice, restaurants, etc. But the best part is Keauhou Bay itself. My son did a ton of research and found Anelakai Adventures, which launch out of Keauhou Bay, which is just a very short walk down the hill from the condo. Our family of 5 were all at different levels for paddle boarding, and we had the best time, with two guides who split up so my wife and I could stay more in the bay and the kids could head deeper into the ocean. Don't miss the Night Manta Ray Snorkel trip with Anelakai as it was by far the most intimate, friendly and special experience of all the teams out there. Also, the Keauhou Canoe Club on the bay will allow visitors to ride and paddle free with regular members Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday for about an hour paddle. Show up about 6:15 AM. We loved having the double pool just steps from the condo - great for a late evening swim and so convenient. This was the perfect place for us. We left a piece of our hearts here .

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Tropical Haven and Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We adore this condo, the property manager is a dream to deal with, before we arrived she sent us golfing suggestions, and quality restaurants galore, all catered to our specific tastes.

We arrived late at night (the condo was easy to find, even in the dark) to an inviting and supremely clean unit, the driving directions were exact, very welcome after 6+ hours of travel.

In the morning we awoke to birdsong, and had coffee on the private lower lanai. Which is ensconced in lush tropical landscaping, a great, cooler spot in the warmer weather. We then wandered down to the pool, which is very close to the unit.

In the evening we enjoyed the 5 minute walk up to KTA (the local grocery store) to pick up Hawaiian delicacies to put on the grill, like Moon Fish, marinated cutlets, as well as Mai Tai mixes. The 180 degree views of the ocean and sunsets from the upstairs deck is mind blowing. Its a very convenient location, shopping and Keauhou Bay are all within a stone's throw walking distance...not to mention our new favorite restaurant, Sam Choy's.

MAJOR highlight, this unit is nestled in the midst of the newly renovated Kona Country Club where you can play a fabulous game of GOLF, while an expensive course for non-residents, its a beautiful course and we REALLY had a GREAT time playing it. Amazing ocean views from almost EVERY hole! Wow, what a treat! We will definitely be back.

I subtly mentioned that I was a little hot in the evenings, and the owners immediately contacted us about when would be a convenient time to deliver a free-standing air conditioning unit. Wow, just amazing customer service....with a smile!

If I could give 10 stars, I would! Love this place.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Run Away Don't Walk

  • 1 of 5

Where to begin...We arrived after a long flight late at night to find a filthy condo! Dead centipedes and cockroaches all over, dirty towels hanging, dirty sinks and mirrors, dirty refrigerator, and on and on, YUCK! The worst was the bed, no sheets, a torn and stained (sweat and don’t want to think about what else) mattress pad , covering a huge urine and mold (brown spots) stained mattress, topped off with moldy and dirty pillows. I wanted to cry. If we could have afforded to leave we would have, instead, we did the best we could to cover the bed with clean sheets (multiples) for the night. We also found some new yet very cheap flat pillows in the closet to use.

The next morning I sent an email to the owners letting them know the condition of the unit with no response. Later that afternoon I sent another email to them and to the cleaning company that services the condo. Luckily I did receive a response from the cleaning service and they sent someone over immediately. I was told they were unaware that anyone was expected. After the cleaning the unit was habitable (with the exception of the bed), after wiping everything down with Clorox wipes, and washing all the dishes in the dishwasher. I’m not a germ phobe, but based on the units initial condition there was no guarantee that they were clean.

While the upper floor has been recently remodeled, it is in need a thorough cleaning to including the wall which are stained by bugs and gecko droppings, and lamps full of dead bugs. The lower level pictures are deceiving. Across from the bed is a large closet with no doors to look at and a bunch of miscellaneous furniture. The bathroom cabinetry is worn and the whole floor is badly in need of new paint.

The unit has sliding doors on both the upper and lower level, and the lower level is screened however it has gaps around the flooring which probably accounts for the dead bugs and geckos in the unit. Also not very effective for keeping mosquitos out during the outbreak of dengue fever occurring at the time of our visit. The upper floor gets very hot during the day despite the fan, open windows, screen door open, etc. The unit does have an electric awning on the upper floor which would have helped, but it didn’t work.

The pros…good location and washer/dryer.

The owners were quick to respond to inquiries, but never did respond to our issue.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear K&E... I would have been as upset as you were if I walked into a townhouse and found it dirty and not ready for me. Believe me, I do not find that acceptable either. We do apologize. There was a miscommunication with our cleaning company. I am glad they were able to come out and clean up the next morning. However, your comments have helped us address some areas that did need attention. We will be getting a new mattress and we have already purchased new pillows. And we are calling the awning company to come check on the awning over the lanai. Thank you for your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Edmonds, WA USA

Tropical paridise

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at this condo. The view of the ocean and sunsets while eating on the upper lanai were unforgettable. And the lower lanai, hidden in abundant tropical plantings, made a great hide-a-way in the warmer weather. Shopping and the bay were within easy walking distance. Set in a tropical garden, peaceful and quiet, and with the pool close at hand, we had paradise all to ourselves.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.15 Miles
Russels Sports Bar n Grill
Nearest Ferry
0.15 Miles
Ocean Rider Tours
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.15 Miles
Sam Choy's Kai Lanai
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Children's Beach
Car: recommended

Kitty corner to Keauhou Shopping Center, Beach Volleyball court, Black sand beach, Bay and Boat dock, near Childrens Beach for snorkeling and scuba-diving, Boat rental, Canoeing or Paddling (traditional Hawaiian), Luau, Night time manta ray viewing at Sheraton Resort, Kona Golf Country Club, Cliff Jumping at The End of the World, Hospital, Grocery stores, Farmers Markets, Church, Volcano, Mauna Kea Observatory, SUNSHINE!!


Rates & Availability

Keauhou Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit (not ref) $59
Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 13.41%

Tax ID# W09231113-01
This is a wonderful property for your Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Getaway.
1 week minimum stay (6 nights 7 days).
Most Credit Cards are accepted through VRBO
Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

$250.00 deposit and $59 nonrefundable damage insurance due with contract. Final payment due 24 hours before arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing


Keauhou Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size hidabed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Beautiful sunsets to enjoy from your own lanai, Quiet ambiance, Lush mature landscaping, Cooing doves, Morning birdsong, 5 min walk to black sand beach at Keauhou Bay, 5 min walk to Keahou Shopping Center, Bedroom office area, private parking, SUNSHINE!!!

Partner Offers