check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kerstin & Udo

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, german, spanish

Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View

15 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Bahía Ballena House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

THE ESTATE

Built on over 2.5 acres, the large private estate is situated in a quiet pristine setting. It consists of the Longhouse, where the owners live, an infinity-pool with Indonesian style gazebo to relax under while overlooking the jungle and ocean, and the Orange House, for rental. The buildings are surrounded by a huge tropical garden with lots of native trees, giant bamboo and local fruit trees set close to the rainforest and the Morete River.

LOCATION

Uvita, with its infrastructure that includes banks, supermarkets and restaurants, as well as the beaches and Marino Ballena National Park are only a short distance away by car. To Dominical it is a 9 miles / 10 min drive by car. One of the most popular national parks of Costa Rica, the Manuel Antonio National Park near Quepos is just 37 miles/ 1 hour by car away. The property is located with easy access to the main road.

ORANGE HOUSE - THE RENTAL HOUSE

The Orange House is built a short distance from the Longhouse. It was designed to provide privacy for those who want to simplify and eliminate both the physical and psychological clutter in their lives and come back to nature.

The open inside is divided by built in furniture in bedroom, closet, kitchenette and daybed areas. Big sliding doors lead to the porch, which is settled between two big guaba trees, providing an easy interplay between indoors and outdoors. A lush outdoor garden bathroom invites the guests to experience a shower under the stars and emphasizes the open living character of the house.

The floors are made of stained polished concrete. Straight clear lines, minimalism of furniture and decoration invites the resident to enjoy the spirit of the tropical outside, surrounded by a simple inside design.

A sophisticated ventilation system of wood shutters and roof ventilation use the natural air flow to dispense with need for air-conditioning.

POOL

The pool area is located beside the longhouse and consists of a 3 x 11 m large infinity pool with waterfall shower from a bamboo pole and an Indonesian style gazebo to relax under. The pool will be exclusively for you to use during your stay.

From the pool area you will experience a breathtaking view of the surrounding jungle of the 'fila costeña', the coastal mountain range that rises to over 3000 feet above the southern Pacific coast of Costa Rica.

FREQUENT ASKED QUESTIONS

1) How far is it to the international airport in San José?

We recommend to rent a car. It is a 124 miles / 3-4 hours drive from the international airport in San José to Uvita. We also recommend to do the drive during daytime. The best route is starting from the airport taking the new highway 27 direction Caldera and then highway 34 via Jaco, Quepos, Dominical to Uvita.

2) What kind of rental car do you recommend?

We highly recommend a rental car to explore the area! We also recommend a 4x4, it would not be absolutely necessary but more comfortable. A small one would be sufficient.

3) How close is the Orange House from the beach?

The nearest beach is Playa Hermosa, 1,5 miles from the Orange House.

The famous whalestail beach is approx. 3 miles away. All together we are close to 7 different beaches here in the Uvita area. You will need a car to go there.

Keywords: At the Orange House you will enjoy privacy with great views, stylish open living and garden bathroom! A perfect hideaway for honeymooner and nature lovers.

More Details
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kerstin & Udo (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, german, spanish

About Kerstin & Udo

We are a german couple living its dream in Costa Rica. Kerstin is an architect and built our houses which have been finished end of 2010. Udo is a software engineer.

Kerstin & Udo purchased this house in 2010

Why Kerstin & Udo chose Puntarenas

We have traveled a lot in the past 20 years and found in Uvita in southern Costa Rica our paradise.

What makes this house unique

Living in the Orange House in a quiet pristine setting, close to flora and fauna and at the same time strategically located less than 1 mile away from the center of Uvita, the Marino Ballena National Park, restaurants, beaches and tourist attractions.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We spent a week at the Orange House and the photos cannot possibly do this place justice. It is very clean with beautiful modern decor, and was also bigger than expected. The property is stunning and the pool was a perfect place to enjoy the sunset.



Its location close to grocery stores and restaurants is very convenient. Kerstin and Udo are extremely pleasant, helpful people who took great care in ensuring our stay was perfect. We highly recommend the Orange House to anyone.
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

5
based on 15 traveler reviews

Stylish Open Living, Garden Bathroom, Pool & Great Sunset View
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
5

The Best place!

  • 5 of 5

The best place we stayed traveling through Costa Rica. We spend a week here last February and loved it. Orange House is Stylish, cosy, and has everything to feel home. The outside Shower is a bonus. Kirsten & Udo are very friendly and discreet; also Security dog Taifun is doing a great job. We could use there pool private and had a great massage at the poolside. And you will find all you need, as a tourist in a distant away. The Pacific, very beautiful beaches, Diving spots, nice restaurants, supermarkets. This place we will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A tranquil gem!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have just spent the most relaxing and tranquil two week stay at the Orange House over the Christmas/New Year holiday. Kerstin and Udo are charming and discreet hosts. What they have achieved here, returning what was once relatively barren cattle-ranching land back to an ecologically diverse garden filled with native and non-native plants that attract a variety of birds and insects is a joy to behold. It is a little "Eden"' tucked away up an unpaved road and yes less than five minutes' away from all the amenities of Uvita. The praises received from other reviewers are well-deserved. I, for one, will find every other bathroom - no matter how cutting-edge - mundane and ordinary after experiencing their magnificent outdoor shower and sharing it with the odd visiting bird or gecko! The view from the infinity pool across to the surrounding hills is breathtaking and it is a delight to watch the antics of the birds from there at sunset. Typhoon, the guard dog is the most gentle and well-mannered I have ever met. We had planned to do all sorts of excursions during our stay and yet we hardly left the property, so comfortable did we feel. Attention to detail and a sense of pride in what they have achieved here is evident. If you would like to stay in a beautiful hideaway and yet be close to all the restaurants and other amenities, then this is the place for you. We would love to stay here again. Thanks Kerstin and Udo for sharing your exquisite home with us.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Deserves all of the accolades & 5-star reviews

  • 5 of 5

Ditto to all of the rave reviews of this property. Kerstin & Udo have built an absolutely amazing guest house that is private, serene, gorgeous & green, and they are the consummate warm & gracious hosts. We would live here if we could. Compared to really expensive hotels & options, this place competes & excels at an amazing rate especially given the amenities & lush surroundings. Cannot speak highly enough of everything about the Orange House.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5

I was looking forward to stay at this place and it was one of the highlights of our 10 days trip in Costa Rica:

- the owner are very nice, we got to talk with them but they know how to give you privacy even when they were in their house and we were in the pool

- the accommodation is bigger than it looks on the pictures

- that infinity pool is just amazing, finishing your day with a good beer/glass of wine or starting your day with a swim is a real treat

- the outdoor shower is gorgeous, the bed is very comfortable, the kitchen has all utensils you need

- we loved to chill on the hammock in the evening and watch the storm moving in

- there is so many birds on the property and right in front of the patio

- the accommodation is well located at 5min from a free beach and 5min from the uvita center where you ll find a supermarket

- there is no a/c however the fan plus all the vent in the house keep it at a comfortable temperature at night

- the apartment is far enough of the owner's house to have your privacy

- despite being away from the ocean you could still hear the waves at night

- we also love the owner's dog visiting us and the delicious jams and fruits in the fridge at our arrival

It was an amazing stay it felt like being on honeymoon in a tropical paradise surrounded by palm trees, guava trees, all kind of beautiful/colorful tropical plants, hummingbirds.

We'll come back for sure.

Thanks

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Germany, Mannheim
5

Miriam + Matthias at orange house

  • 5 of 5

The time we spend in the Orange House was the best holiday we could ever imagine. The beautifull house with a great garden full of trees and flowers invited us to relax the whole day at the awesome pool. On other days we visited quite beaches and fresh rivers+waterfalls located only a few kilometres away. We watched whales and dolphines and many other nice animals. The house is clean and well equipped, the owners are very friendly and helpful. The Rainforest shower in the open bath is absolutely amazing! Hopefully we can come back soon

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canada,province de Québec
5

Notre 25ième anniversaire de mariage dans ce lieu plus que charmant.

  • 5 of 5

C'est un endroit inspirant, idéal pour séjourner et réveiller tous ses sens. Une pure beauté ,tout a été pensé avec goût, rien n'a été laissé au hasard. Kirstin et Udo sont de jeunes hôtes enthousiastes, dynamiques et d'une aide précieuse pour la découverte de cette belle región du pays.

Nous conseillons pleinement ce superbe endroit .

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Quepos
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
San Buenas Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Costanera Sur
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
Whales & Dolphins
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Playa Hermosa
Car: recommended

Waterfalls, Spanish School, Zip Line Tours, Nature Reserves

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bahía Ballena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
H2
Apr 4 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$105
 
 
H3
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$105
 
 
Christmas 2016
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
 
 
H1-2017
Jan 9 2017 - Feb 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$105
 
 
Envision 2017
Feb 23 2017 - Feb 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
 
 
H2-2017
Feb 27 2017 - Apr 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$105
 
 
Easter 2017
Apr 10 2017 - Apr 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$120
 
 
H3-2017
Apr 24 2017 - Dec 23 2017
3 night minimum stay
$105
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 24 2017 - Jan 13 2018
3 night minimum stay
$120
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$95
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cancellation Policy: If you need to cancel your reservation, the deposit will be refunded as follows: 50 % if canceled 60 days prior to the check-in date, later: no refund.

Key/Security Deposit: Upon arrival 100 USD cash, refundable on departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bahía Ballena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Garden bathroom with outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • 1 large King size bed
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Owner on site

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties