Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

GREAT LOCATION/Oceanfront Building w/Patio On Boardwalk, Steps From Beach

Bedrooms 2
Space 750 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

This fabulous 2 bedroom, 1 bath condo with a oceanfront patio is a perfect spot for your vacation in Mission Beach, San Diego! Unit was just repainted and had new cordless blinds installed to allow for more light and airflow.

Drive up, relax and enjoy at the beach as all the toys are included from the boogie and surf boards, sand buckets, beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels. The unit is on the first floor, backside of the building and just steps away from the board walk and sandy beach.

Amenities include corian kitchen counters, eat in kitchen, dish washer, washer/dryer in the unit and one parking space in front of the unit. The patio is separate from the unit and is shared with another unit.

The condo is a short drive from all that San Diego has to offer, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town, Seaport Village. Belmont Park, which has the world famous big dipper roller coaster, along with many other rides and activities is only 1 block walking distance from the unit. Lots of fun for kids of all ages.

More Details

Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

About Kathy

This unit is owned and managed by myself, Kathy. My goal is to always be there for my guests, answer any questions they may have so that the vacation is an amazing one. I have two units in this complex, and take personal ownership in ensuring that my guests have the best experience possible. Thank you in advance for your patronage.

Kathy purchased this condo in 2013

Why Kathy chose Mission Beach

Best location! There are only 8 units in this ocean front building. My condo is on the first level and only steps away from the beach. Even though the unit is on the back side, you can hear the ocean waves all night long. Location is south Mission Beach, which is the most popular beach in SD and where all the attractions are.

It's beachy, kid friendly and feels like home but in paradise!

What makes this condo unique

Best location! Steps away from the beach. Small complex with only 8 units. One block from the Belmont Park. 5 minutes walk to the bay. Short drive to Sea World, Zoo, Downtown, Seaport Village and Balboa Park.


Mission Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 1 has mirror closet, 2 night stands, 6 drawer dresser and TV. Bedroom 2 has mirror closet, night stand.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Additional unit available in the same building, please contact me for details.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
26% Complete
3% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
GREAT LOCATION/Oceanfront Building w/Patio On Boardwalk, Steps From Beach
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 65 reviews

Construction going on above us for 3 days in a row...owner initially refused reimbursement

  • 2 of 5

We rented the condo for 4 nights which means we were there for 3 full days. These are the facts and you can judge yourselves who is right.

The 'good' : Location and house were as described and Kathy seemed very efficient answering her phone immediately and promptly answering our emails.

The 'bad': In our second day we woke up in very loud construction noise. I sent an email to Kathy asking if she knew about it. She said she didn't. I recorded the noise (multiple audio recordings for each day) and sent her a text. She called immediately to say she was sorry and that she would ask the other owner about the construction...but couldn't we go and see the city??? We've been many times to San Diego and know the city by heart, so, no we didn't (but we HAD to in the end). Later she sent me a text to let me know that the construction would 'wrap up' the next day. I was upset and said it wasn't fair to us. Again she responded she was very sorry. We went out as much as we could. The next day the exact same story, same loud noise starting at 8:30am. I texted Kathy to say that even if it wasn't her fault, it wasn't ours and that we think we should be partially refunded. Kathy just responded to another question we had (about our car)in the same text, but she didn't mention anything about a refund. We went (it was cold, so we couldn't go to the beach) to the Zoo (for the 5th time!) just to avoid getting crazy from the noise. The construction was not finished in that day, the noise started promptly at 8 am the next day (the day we were leaving)...we were all on edge, couldn't wait to leave that house. I sent Kathy another text this time asking directly for a partially refund. I told her it was up to her to take it with the other owner (via HomeAway). She responded hours later that since we stayed until the end (she didn't tell us we could leave the house and be reimbursed!) there would be no refund. So...I called HomeAway. They were very supportive and said 'of course you should be refunded' and called/texed/emailed her. In the end she gave us a refund stating(again) that she was sorry for our experience, that it wasn't her fault (was it ours?) and that the refund is ONLY to cover some expenses in the city(?). I will not comment on her attitude since everybody will draw their own conclusion...but I will end with this: It's very unfortunate that there are no regulations regarding customer protection for situations like this.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very clean

  • 5 of 5

We had great communication with the owner. Thanks Kathy for helping make our stay easy and enjoyable.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always glad to help in any way I can to make vacations more enjoyable through information, things to do and extras within the condo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, awful parking

  • 2 of 5

We were happy with the location of this rental but unhappy that the details for parking didn’t let us know that we would get yelled at on a daily basis by other renters and tenants. The parking situation was really bad, you have to constantly rotate parking spots and be available to move your car within 20 mins or it gets towed. Our rental ran out of toilet paper which was annoying, we had 4 adults staying and were there 5 days and there was one roll of toilet paper.

The location was great but we would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry as to your experience with the parking. As was outlined in the instructions provided, you have one assigned spot that is available only to you. There is overflow tandem parking on a first come basis, but as outlined, you would need to have you phone number on your dashboard if you were not the first car in to move your car and allow the other cars to get out. Unfortunately this is the beach and parking is at a premium. We feel we are lucky to have overflow parking with our complex located right on the boardwalk. In terms of the toilet paper, I provide each of my renters, no matter how long their stay with 2 rolls of toilet paper and a roll of paper towels, which is what most vacation homes do as well. Going forward I will be sure to highlight the supplies provided. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Love Mission Beach!

  • 4 of 5

My mistake for thinking this unit faced the ocean and boardwalk (it does not), but everything was very nice. Parking is tight, but very convenient. Not sure if it was other renters, but the upstairs neighbors were very active and loud; moving (dragging) furniture and thumping around and around late at night and very early in the morning. Could be bumped to 5 stars with the addition of a few simple amenities, like coffee and tea. Thanks for providing beach supplies though!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Spot

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay at this place. It is the perfect location, right on the beach and close to bars & restaurants. I definitely recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Oceanside getaway

  • 4 of 5

Great location, great beach. Although this unit faces the backside, it’s only 15 steps to the beach wak and sand. 2 blocks walk to Belmont Part. Many restaurants. It was Spring Break but not loud and roughty. Unit was comfy and upto date. Very clean and stocked, utensils, dishes, towels, washer/dryer etc.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed all of the benefits of being location, right on the boardwalk with a completely stocked unit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
San Diego International
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Sandbar Mission Beach
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Mission Bay Golf
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Freeway 5 & 8
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles

One block from Belmont Park which has roller coaster, rides, games rock climbing wall, and mini-golf. Restaurants include The Wave House, Canonball Sushi and Drafts - which has a 40 foot TV and lots of fabulous beer.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $165 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300

No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made.
Need to folllow HOA rules.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.