check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Lina or TK

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Magnificent Beach Views from Luxury Beach House/Huge Deck. WIFI & Cable TV!

44 Reviews
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Surfside Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Located about an hour South of Houston, the Bahama Mama offers the ultimate retreat for those seeking to get away from it all to enjoy a spectacular time at the beach. The House has an extended deck with nice views of the ocean, and the inside is very nicely furnished with the vacationing family in mind. The beach is a few steps away and offers endless possibilities for fun regardless of the season. Surfside Beach was recently voted as best Gulf Coast beach town by readers of Gulfscapes magazine. Surside is steeped in history and is home to the famous Fort Velasco, and is the location where the first battle prior to the war for Texas Independence was fought.

Keywords: Beach House

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lina or TK (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Lina or TK

Love the beach - fishing, swimming, surfing...

Lina or TK purchased this house in 2010

Why Lina or TK chose Texas Gulf Coast

Surfside Beach is family friendly and the beach is beautiful

What makes this house unique

Relaxing time at the beach swimming, fishing, collecting seashells with the kids...

Guestbook comments from the owner

Bahama Mama was a great spot for a family vacation. Adults, young and old children all enjoyed the easy access to the calm gulf waters. The house is in a great location too! Nothing on the left of you and only a few houses around you. I most enjoyed sitting on the deck and enjoying the view. I highly recommend it.
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 44 traveler reviews

Magnificent Beach Views from Luxury Beach House/Huge Deck. WIFI & Cable TV!
average rating of 4.6136365 based on 45 reviews
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5

The owners are very responsive and helpful. It is a nice, comfortable house that is very convenient to the beach! We had great views of the full moon and a fun time. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from Home!

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from a week stay at the house and we are ready to book our next trip! The house was very welcoming, warmly lit, and spacious. Perfect for our needs. The owners were very accommodating and communicative. Beach proximity was wonderful and Galveston is just up the road.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hunter - We really appreciate your feedback and are glad that you had an excellent stay. See you again soon! Lina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The house is nice, but...

  • 3 of 5

Overall, the beach house is well-furnished, clean and comfortable. Easy access to the beach. There was plenty of room for our family of 7. The deck is nice, and the outdoor shower is convenient. This house is in the second row, but it's only a few steps to the beach.

There are a few negatives. The mattress in the master bedroom is terrible--creaks, lumpy, very uncomfortable. There are no blinds in the master bedroom and all of the neighbors leave outdoor lights on that shine into the master bedroom. The ceiling fan in the master is old and out of balance also makes noise. All together, it's hard to get any rest in the master bedroom.

Although the ads feature a photo of a hammock on the deck, there is no hammock.

Last, and this isn't the owners' fault, the beach is a disappointment. There is trash strewn all over the beach and apparently there is no cleaning crew. People leave old lawn chairs, torn up canopies, and all sorts of other trash to go along with mounds of cigarette butts, paper, styrofoam, etc. I was really shocked at the amount of trash on the beach, and it goes on for miles, not just in front of this house.

I wanted to give the house a four star rating because the owners are nice and easy to work with and the house is, in many ways, very nice. But the mattress alone compels me to give a lower rating. You can't roll over in the bed without being jolted awake by the noise the mattress makes. After three nights with almost no sleep, I was ready to go home. I'm surprised this hasn't been mentioned in other reviews.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Keith for your response. Apologies about the blinds in the Master Bedroom - previous guest damaged blinds, and removed them to avoid them being noticed missing. Unfortunately this happens, although thankfully it is infrequent. We have replaced them with new ones and also replaced mattress with a new one. As far as the beach cleanliness, the city is very good about taking care of the beach - it could be that a crowd of beachgoers was inconsiderate and did not take care of there leftovers before leaving the sand behind.. and it was before beach patrol saw it... we hope to see you in the future and help you have a 5 star experience! thanks for the feedback as we strive to continuously improve.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to slip away and relax. Our stay was everything we hoped for and more. We will definitely be coming back for another stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to your return! Don't forget our low season specials coming up in the Fall :) Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location! Overall a great rental

  • 4 of 5

Overall a great experience at this beach house. A few nitpicks (see below) but would stay here again.

Pros:

- Super close location - quick walk to the beach, easy to get back and forth (important when you have kids)

- Great/huge patio with a view of the ocean

- Great for two families with kids (kid room has 3 separate beds)

- Kitchen had everything we needed to cook all meals

- Surfside is a great beach - very clean (for the Gulf)

Cons:

- You have to bring your own bath towels (to be fair, towels are not mentioned as provided but that seems like an easy thing to provide and I've never had it not offered at VRBO location before)

- Tap water is not drinkable (this is a Surfside Beach issue but still, annoying to bring in drinking water)

- Blinds in the master bedroom are broken and do not close

- My fault, but I thought this was on the last row of houses (that is, it faced the beach). From one picture, you can see that's not true, as there is a house in front of it. Not a big deal, just was surprised.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great feedback Elliot. We used to provide towels but could not keep up with them after one year since they were constantly lost and stained with suntan lotion as some guests take them to the beach. It is easy to provide but very time consuming to clean and account for every week. We apologize for the inconvenience and may revisit this policy in the future. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful, and well kept. My family and I truly felt at home away from home! The location is also great...close to the beach and stores in the surrounding area.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Houston Hobby Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Sharkies Bar and Grill
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 332
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Red Snapper Inn
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Surfside Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Surfside Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall/Winter 16
Sep 11 2016 - Mar 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Minimum age for renting is 25. No Proms, Graduation parties, Bachelor parties, or Birthday parties allowed.

Holidays will incur additional charge depending on number of days reserved and guest count. Submit inquiry t get exact quote. Thanks!

The additional guest fee is reduced if booking more than 4 nights.. submit inquiry for exact quote please.

Minimum of 3 nights during summer and holidays.

4th of July Holiday fee is $300 additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Surfside Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower , Hot/Cold Water
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed with pull-out Trundle (3 twins altogether)
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 2 sleeper sofas in the living room
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (3) Bunk Bed.. with 3 levels (Twin Size), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) 2 Sofa Beds in the Living room that can sleep 4 adults
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor shower with hot and cold water

Partner Offers