check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Brian

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Large home with space/fun activities for all ages

30 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

McGaheysville House Rental Photos and Description

Welcome to Elk Lane - a large two story Colonial with five bedrooms and a killer basement rec room for kids of all ages. We are situated on a quiet street with lovely wooded back yard. Our home is furnished with leather couches, large screen HDTV's/ surround sound and a fully stocked kitchen ready for your family get togethers. One King and two (2) queens - one (1) on first floor, two (2) sets of bunk beds and two (2) twin beds provide sleeping for 12 . We have two (2) sets of washers and dryers for your convenience and ease. One set is in the garage that has been converted in to a mudroom for unloading wet gear after snow sports or Waterpark fun.

The first floor has one (1) bedroom, powder room, living room with gas fireplace, TV/DVD, Den and large kitchen with island seating for three (3). The master bedroom, bunk bed room and two (2) additional bedrooms are located on the second floor. The master bedroom has it's own private bathroom Both the master and queen bedroom on the second floor have flat screen HDTV's.

As you venture to the basement, you will see a 60' wide flat screen HDTV, DVD/ Surround Sound, air hockey/pool table game assembly, wet bar with refrigerator, glasses and mixing tools, electronic dart board, foos ball table a separate 'PS3 Game Room' and a Ms. PacMan Arcade Console. This game has been updated to include sixty (60) of the alltime classic games from the eighties.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Brian (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Brian,

First of all, thank you for having us as guest in your home. We had a great time. My family has been coming to Massanutten for about ten years. We have rented houses and have used timeshares in the past. Now we can say we have found our winter and summer getaway home.



This was special. Immediately after speaking with Brian, the Owner, I could tell he was proud of his home. Brian worked with me in getting his home ready a week earlier than intended for guests. Once we arrived, it was confirmed why he should be. The pictures do not do justice. Let me be clear, I use "home" and "guest" fittingly. This is how we felt while staying there for the weekend, like guests. His home is so inviting. At one time, truly feeling like guests in his home, we expected him to come on in and sit at the table with us. By the way, there were hospitality refreshments upon my arrival ... very classy. The bedrooms, family room, kitchen and basement were enjoyed by all. In closing, I must confirm that there were no issues. The payment process, door code retrieval, easy to follow instructions for (appliances, fireplace, stereo, TV's etc .) and the deposit was returned in 3 weeks. What a way to have and finish a getaway. No issues. We are looking forward to our next getaway at Brian's Home!!! Thanks again.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 30 traveler reviews

Large home with space/fun activities for all ages
average rating of 4.9 based on 31 reviews
3

Nice place

  • 3 of 5

This is a nice place, lots of room. Lots of spaces for people to sleep and common areas for people to hang out together or find a place to sit and read. Unfortunately, we found some dirty dishes in the cabinets, I think the dishwasher is not the best and one needs to carefully rinse before loading. The basement has an amazing rec room, but is a bit dark and the futon is uncomfortable. The property manager was very responsive when we needed help with an issue and the location is beautiful!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property and central location

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and well maintained and was equipped much better than expected. Would definitely rent again.

Owner was very responsive and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great fun for everyone.

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful property. Beautiful, spacious and so much to do. Pool table, air hockey, foosball, even a Pac man machine. Comfortable sleeping, good parking.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family rented the house for my son's JMU graduation. The house was perfect for our entire family. The game room had something for everyone of all ages. I would highly recommend renting this house.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This how was perfect!!!!

  • 5 of 5

The bottom line: "This house gets a five star rating @ Massanutten". My family and friends have been coming to Massanutten for the past 4 years for a long weekend ski trip. We have rented many different houses and overall this house ended up being our favorite for the following reasons:

- Kid Friendly: There are plenty of amenties in the house to keep the kids occupied: Pool Table, Air Hockey, PS3, and old school arcade games, and big screen TV in the basement.

- For the Adults: Had a great first floor open layout with the kitchen and family room for the adults to hang out while the kids played in the basement. After the kids went to bed the adults could hang out in the basement bar.

- The garage worked out great for taking off all your wet ski clothes after a long day at the slopes

- Central location to both the waterpark and skiing. Massanutten isn't that big, but it was easy access to get around the resort

- Sleeping arrangements were great with plenty of room to spare for a large group.

- We love to cook, it had everything we needed in the kitchen.

- Owner was extremely helpful in assiting with our or questions needs prior to the trip

You won't be disspoinated if you rent this house, we will be renting this house again next year and we are looking forward to it.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Property was well maintained and meet all our expectations

  • 5 of 5

The property was well maintained and was good as advertised. The owner was exceptional to work with and very accomodating. Our large group of 3 families enjoyed all the amentities the property had to offer and the location was great. With several small children in our group we were able to visit a Explore and more Children's Museum in nearby Harrisonburg. I would recommend this property to any of our friends.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Charlottesville
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Massanutten Mountain
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
Route 81 -
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Massanutten Mountain
Nearest Ski
1.5 Miles
Massanutten Mountain
Nearest Beach
180 Miles
Va Beach
Car: recommended

Welcome to Elk Lane. This large 5 bedroom home is brand new on the rental market. It is newly renovated with plenty of space to unwind with friends and family. Complete with a new gas fireplace and private wooded views as well as the backdrop of the mountains in Fall and Winter.

There is plenty of space to gather around the large farm table and relax in the comfort of the fire-lit living room with flat screen T.V. Take advantage of the extra room in the first floor den for playing board games or just reading a book. Daylight fills the open floor plan throughout the year. The kitchen was recently updated with new stainless steel appliances, refinished cabinets and tile work. For the cooks in the family you will find all the comforts of home from a gas stove and oven to a fully equipped kitchen for entertaining.

The real fun on Elk Lane is found in the basement! The Tropical themed playland is furnished with a 60' wide plasma HDTV with DVD/BR, Surround Sound. Bring your ipods, DVD's, CD's and enjoy the TV or music as you play air hockey or shoot pool on our two-in-one game table. Or go back in time and take your turn at Ms.Pac Man! An original arcade game console with updated display and hardware providing a choice of over 60 games to play. It has all of the greats from the early days: Donkey Kong, Galaga and many more. The basement is also furnished with a wet bar, electronic dart board, foosball table and for the video gamers in the family - a PS3 console/ HDTV station. Play your games you bring from home or with your on-line buddies. This basement rec room has it all.

In Winter enjoy an afternoon or evening skiing, snowboarding or even tubing down the slopes. On a mild winter day the Zip-line and Canopy tours offer adventure for all ages. Even the Putt-Putt course offers beautiful views and fun in cooler temperatures.

You can also warm up and feel like you are in the tropics at the massive Indoor Waterpark. Travel 10 minutes down the road and take the kids to the Harrisonburg Children's Musuem and check out JMU's beautiful arboretum.

In the warmer months you can hike the great trails within Massanutten Resort or travel minutes down the road to the historic Shenandoah National Park which contains over 100 miles of the Appalachian Trail. Along with the beautiful vistas on Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Mountains the park has over 500 miles of hiking trails.

Our home offers many amenities for vacationing families of all ages and we hope you will vist with us soon. Whether you stay for a long weekend or have an extended stay we know you will want to return.

We hope your memories of this beautiful area and all it has o offer are as wonderful as our family's are.

Photos

Rates & Availability

McGaheysville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$375
From
$375
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160
Refundable damage deposit $300
Property Damage Protection $59

note: special event rates are subject to change, please contact Owner for current rates applicable to events listed above and others that may not be listed at this current time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

McGaheysville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , First floor powder room
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Second floor shared hallway bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Bathroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , Basement bathroom
  • We provide 1 roll of toilet paper per bathroom. We provide hand soap to be left at house for other guests.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 4 child bed , Two (2) sets of bunk beds - sleeps four
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , TV in room
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , First Floor Queen
  • We have a Portable crib and a Pack and Play. We have 2 baby safety gates.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Play Pool, Air Hockey, Foosball, Arcade Video Games, PS3 in our tropical basement rec room.

Partner Offers