Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

KELLY

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish

Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter

16 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Ciutat Vella Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 mezzanine level with 3 beds, 1 bathroom with Cathedral views

OVERVIEW

All the apartments in this catalogued historic building have been individually designed and many retain their Gothic period features. This unique apartment with one-of-a-kind Cathedral views was just renovated in Nov. 2012. Situated on the second floor of a true Gothic building (sorry no Lift/Elevator), which dates back to the XII-XIII century, the renovation has been carefully done, respecting the original architecture, to expose the handmade wood beams and the stone walls. The apartment contains both vintage and loft-style-chic furniture. There are all the conveniences you would expect, including free wi-fi and a spacious walk-in shower plus one you might not - enjoying the views of the cathedral right from the living room . The large dining, living and kitchen spaces make this luxurious apartment perfect for individuals who need more space, families or groups of colleagues. PLEASE NOTE: the mezzanine level has a lower ceiling, some people might not be able to stand up in the mezzanine area.

YOUR APARTMENT AT A GLANCE

·high quality 100% cotton bed linens & towels

·Fully controllable Air Conditioning and Heating

·Kitchen with dishwasher, microwave/steamer, coffee maker, electric kettle, refrigerator, glass-ceramic cooktop/hob and stone-top work surface.

·Free wi-fi

·Ipod Dock

·Flatscreen TV with USB & HDMI input

·Washer & dryer

I believe that pictures speak better than words, so please take a look at our photographs. For more detailed information please don´t hesitate to ask.

OTHER IMPORTANT FACTS

· 1000 sq. feet in prime location of the Gothic Distric

· Sleeps up to 8 people

· 1 Double Bedroom , 1 open mezzanine & 1 complete bathroom

· 2 queen size beds, 1 queen size sofa, 1 full bed and a 1 twin size bed

· Balcony with views of the cathedral

· Pedestrian access only - limited entrace to taxis

· No Lift/Elevator - we will help you with all your baggage!

· Not allowed: Parties or Pets

· Optional Free Extras: Baby cot/crib & highchair on request

· Optional Extras (for a fee - please consult) - daily maid service, babysitting, daily trips, bicycles/scooter, event tickets....you ask for it and we will try to find it!

RULES: No parties, no loud noises or music, no smoking, we ask that you respect your neighbors and take care of our place.

Sorry, but due to problems in the past we DONT RENT OUT to guests younger than 25 years old.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
KELLY (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Speaks: english, spanish

About KELLY

This whole adventure started a few years back out of pure necessity. Kelly, being a Spanish-born, Korean-American but rooted in Barcelona for the past 17 years wasn´t able to find a decent long-term accommodation for all her visiting family and friends. Thus, Sal & Kelly, owners, decided to remodel one of their apartments in the gothic quarters. It started with one and continued with the rest of the building, a unique 12th century antique convent.

KELLY purchased this apartment in 1974

Why KELLY chose Ciutat Vella

THE NEIGHBORHOOD & SURROUNDINGS

Situated in the heart of the vibrant Gothic District, right behind Barcelona´s Cathedral, the location of this apartment is ideal. You are a stone´s throw away from all the main attractions such as Plaza Sant Jaume ( the council square), Las Ramblas, Port Vell, Born District and Plaza Catalunya. A 2 minute walk will place you right in the L4 metro line which easily connects you to all the other main features of Barcelona such as La Sagrada Familia, Paseo de Gracia with all of Gaudi´s Buildings and high-end shops. This apartment is located in a street with only pedestrian access, making it a quiet and peaceful place but still right in the middle of all the main attractions. There is no location like it anywhere else in Barcelona.

cancelation policy:

Our cancelation policy is strict regarding the prepayment, once prepayment has been made:

For a 50% refund, cancelation must be made 30 full days prior to listing's local check in time (or 3:00 PM ) on the day of check in.

What makes this apartment unique

Although there isn´t an elevator/lift in the building we will be happy to have someone help you out with your luggage at no extra cost. We will be happy to arrange day trips or even a guide for the day at a reasonable price. Plus, we will be more than happy to provide you with all of our knowledge about the city - shops, restaurants, etc... we will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible and give you great tips so you are able to enjoy the city as a local

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Spacious & Unique flat steps away from Cathedral - Gothic Quarter
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
5

Stunning loft apartment

  • 5 of 5

I loved this apartment, exceeded all of our expectations.

Superb location in the gothic district, close to everything.

Very clean, secure, well looked after and cozy with beautiful views of the cathedral. I would stay no other pace if I return to Barcelona.

I did not gets a chance to meet Kelly as she was not in Barcelona during our visit.

Her employee(Baadai)..hopefully spelling correct…was a gem. He was very helpful and a pleasure to meet. He showed us how to find everything in apartment. Kelly was also highly reliable and available via email if I had any questions for her directly. Class A act making for a truly enjoyable stay. You have it all in this apartment….great apartment, great view, great location and great host. You can not go wrong with Kelly's apartments. Loved it!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the awesome review. It is always a pleasure hosting guests like you and your friend. We really hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is the place to stay in Barcelona!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have been to Barcelona before and have stayed at other airbnb places until we found Kelly's lofts. This is our second time renting from Kelly. Her apartments are clean (which is a must for us), well decorated and the location for this loft could not get any better. Situated at El Gotico neighborhood, the beautiful Catedral is at arm's length. The church bells do go off but we were out and about most of the days so we were not bothered by it. There are shops, restaurants and the subway station is 5 minutes away by foot. The only thing I could see being an issue for some people would be the walk up to the apt. For us, we saw it as great exercise :)

Kelly was very responsive to all of our emails and requests. Baadei, her assistant, was very kind and was there to help us. We can't wait to come back and stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always a pleasure to host you and your wife, you are outstanding guests! Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

People trying to get into our room all night..t

  • 1 of 5

They are trying to get us to change our review ...we were terrorized people strangers trying to get into our loft all night... My family was terrorized manager Agrred but owner will not refund. Had to book last. Invite room no where near where we wanted so so scared

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry to have hosted this person in our loft. She is absolutely delusional and tried to have me refund her stay from the beginning, when I claimed I would not be refunding her anything she started threatening me and changing her story so I stopped all communication with her. She is at it again saying we are trying to have her change her review, this cannot be done in the Homeaway page. And her review makes no sense at all. I really do wish we could publicly review our guests, this way I could warn all the owners about this type of guest. I have been renting out lofts for over 7 years and I have never had to deal with this type of person. Happily 99% of my guests are excellent and wonderful guests that have enjoyed their stay as you can see from the previous reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
5

Historic Barcelona Gem Near Cathedral

  • 5 of 5

Be sure to plan plenty of time sitting inside this rental, staring out the huge window and watching the world go by. Best words I can use to describe is "fully immersed" in the sights, sounds and smells of Barcelona. Located above a cafe, you feel like you live in this great city, not a tourist.

Right next to the Cathedral, you do see many tourists, but you enjoy smiling knowing that their sterile hotel room probably doesn't have a 12' long dining table to talk to family over a big meal you just bought at the nearby fantastic market. Their room doesn't let is huge amounts of air through huge doors at night while you sleep.

A veteran of dozens of rentals, I can say with confidence this is one of my favorite rentals ever. Something about looking out of those windows, hearing the singers at night, feeling the energy. If we go back to Barcelona, we will stay here again.

The owner was very accommodating, even walked us to taxi stand and said goodbye on person. Owner tried hard to make the WIFI stronger in all rooms but only strong in 2 of 4 rooms. Wasn't a big deal. We went and ate tapas instead.

If you want "library like quiet" then this rental isn't for you. We loved the gentle racket late into the night. Made us want to go join the party.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A Barcelona Beauty

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Kelly's unit for one week and found it to be a perfect home base for enjoying and exploring historic Barcelona. The unit was impeccably clean, well organized and tastefully furnished—just as depicted in the photos. Kelly was the most hands-on, available and engaged host we've encountered in our travels.

The building is part of the very fabric of the historic Gothic Quarter. If you enjoy imbibing the urban energy, the hustle-and-bustle, the must of the ancient alleys, then this is your home. You'll hear street performers, keep time with the cathedral bells and savor the wafting odors of the cafes. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
St. Albans, Maine, U.S. A.
5

Livin' Like a Local

  • 5 of 5

We found the smaller one-bedroom apartment just as described, so cute... and immaculate. Located in the heart of Barri Gotic, it was a great home base as we ventured out, mostly on foot, to experience the wonder of Barcelona. the owner was a wealth of information, helping to guide our decisions about restaurants as well as where to purchase that good bottle of wine. Moltes gracies, Kelly

  • Submitted: May 21, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
BCN airport El Prat - by car
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
L'Ascensor - walking distance
Nearest Ferry
16 Miles
Port of Barcelona - walking distance
Nearest Golf
54 Miles
Catalunya PGA golf course - by car
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Estacion de Francia - walking distance
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Ronda de dalt - by car
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
More like a cafe &quick lunch/dinner 'Buenas Migas
Nearest Beach
11 Miles
Barceloneta - walking distance
Car: not necessary

Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious accommodations in a splendid 12th century convent in the heart of Barcelona. We invite you to stay in our one of a kind apartments and make yourself at home in this historic Barcelona residence. Sunny, with great vistas of the Cathedral and the Lieutenant’s Palace. This apartment offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious accommodation and personal care in the heart of Barcelona at reasonable cost.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Barrio Gotico Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
PRIMAVERA SOUND
Jun 1 2016 - Jun 6 2016
4 night minimum stay
$344
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $79 per night, per additional guest
 
SONAR
Jun 14 2016 - Jun 20 2016
4 night minimum stay
$356
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $79 per night, per additional guest
 
SUMMER
Jun 21 2016 - Oct 31 2016
4 night minimum stay
$276
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $68 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$229
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $56 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee - 4 guests $92

NO SMOKING ALLOWED IN ANY IF OUR LOFTS/ we don´t rent out to guests 25 younger
PRICES ARE FOR 4 guest/NIGHT! IF MORE THAN 4 GUESTS PLEASE ASK!
Increase on standard prices for special events
Christmas Hol. : + 25% - min. 5 nights
Mobile WC : + 40% - min. 5 nights
Easter : + 20% - min. 4 nights
Formula 1 : + 10% - min. 3 nights
Primavera Sound, Sonar or other festivals +20% increase min. 5 nights
Late checkin fee after 9 pm 30 euros after midnight 50 euros
Lost key - 50 euros
Late checkout if available - please ask for fees

We ask for :
30% deposit in Paypal or bank transfer
70% payable upon arrival in cash or with MC/VISA
cancelation policy regarding the prepayment: No refunds on prepayment.
300 euro cash refundable security deposit
Cleaning fee of 90 euro 4 guests, each additional guest 10 euros more.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ciutat Vella Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Double sinks
  • Spacious bathroom with large shower, double sinks & suspended toilet. We provide you with high quality 100% cotton towels, hand soap, blowdryer and toilet paper.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Large size bedroom with queen size bed, built in closets, antique secretaire, plenty of light from the large window and balcony. We provide you with high quality 100% percal cotton bed linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We are able to provide you with tickets to events such as (Barça Soccer games, concerts), recommend you tour guides, day trips, recommend you restaurants and shops. Just ask us!

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the manager to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote