Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waikoloa Colony Villas 806 at the resort

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Colony Villas 806 - Paradise among the Palm Trees...

Greetings! Welcome to our villa. We bought this place as recently as December 2012, and practically everything in it is brand spanking new. We’ve done our best to buy the things for it that we would like to see on our vacations: in fact, we’re planning to spend as much time here as possible when others aren't enjoying the house in the Hawaiian sunshine. Waikoloa Colony Villas is a private gated community of luxury townhomes on the South Kohala Coast within the world-renowned Waikoloa Beach Resort. One thing you notice on the Kohala Coast driving here is that the landscape is dry grass and lava. It almost never rains here! Of course if you miss the rain, travel over the Saddle toward Mauna Kea and you’re almost bound to be inundated. But you will also see wonderful waterfalls, lush rainforest and really big tropical plants (imagine the ones you buy for little pots in your living room, only 30 feet tall).

New carpet installed June 2015.

Airy, spacious, and comfortable: The villa is airy and spacious, a 2 story townhouse with 17 feet vaulted ceilings, decorated in a sort-of Hawaiian contemporary style we’ve been making up as we go along. There are two bedrooms: the master has a king, the 2nd with 2 twin beds that can be converted to a king plus a queen-size sofa bed, so we can sleep 6 with ease.

Equipped for food, drink, and grilling by the pool: The villa has a terrific, well-equipped gourmet kitchen, complete with all the equipment you’re likely to need on a vacation: a massive modern fridge, smooth top oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster oven, coffee machine, coffee grinder, blender, and kettle. The kitchen has granite countertops, a granite bar with stools, and plenty of glasses and other cocktail-related equipment that can make a great party for a group of young or young at heart adults or hidden from the kids as necessary. Barbecues are provided poolside and roadside a few feet away. The kitchen is right next to an elegant hardwood dining table, or if you prefer, a full size table out on the lanai where you can watch the traffic on the 15th fairway go by.

Eating affordably: We’ve also provided a spice rack as well as a Hawaiian gourmet cookbook for you to try your hand at local dishes. Talking of which, the Island Gourmet Grocery Store down in the nearby Queen’s Marketplace has a great collection of local sauces and other ingredients to help you with this. A good selection of produce at reasonable prices can be found in the Waikoloa Village Market in the Waikoloa village a few miles up the hill from the beach resort. You will find fresh ingredients at the Kona Farmers’ Market year-round in Kailua-Kona on Saturdays and Sundays. Your stay in luxury here need not also cost an arm and a leg!

Eating not-so-affordably: When you’re sick of cooking, the King’s Shops and Queen’s Marketplace down near the waterside have an excellent selection of restaurants to suit all budgets, great upscale Sushi at Sansei, casual, tasty, and local at the Merriman’s Market Café, fine dining at Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion, and the Macaroni Grill chain, to name but a few, as well as fast food such as Subway and Arby’s, and a pizza joint. The malls also have a variety of other stores to seek out fashion and island originals.

Stay as connected as you choose to... We know you aren’t coming to Hawai’i just to watch TV, but for when you want to sit back and relax after a hard day on the beach, snorkelling, or scaling volcanoes, the living room has a 47" LED Stereo TV with a Wi-Fi capable Blue-Ray player. Those of you who subscribe to Netflix can watch it here also, or perhaps follow the latest zaniness or viral videos on YouTube. So, clearly we also provide broadband Wi-Fi internet. And, talking of communications, phone calls are free anywhere in the USA or Canada.

Luxury master suite: The living room and both bedrooms have ceiling fans and air conditioning, and there is a washer and dryer inside the villa. Each bedroom also has comfy hotel-class mattresses. The upstairs bedroom is really a suite that occupies the whole floor, including a small lanai that looks out onto the golf course, 22" LED TV, a phone, and a large bathroom with two sinks and separate shower and bathtub. There’s also a walk in closet big enough for two or three people to stand up in at the same time. The downstairs bedroom can be set up with two separate adult-sized twin beds or as a king size bed. It has a large closet and a full bathroom is close by.

What else to do at the complex and beyond: Condo amenities include two pools, the closer one with a beautiful waterfall, a hot tub, fitness center, and tennis courts. Beautiful beaches are just minutes away. There’s a beach inside the resort, and the world famous Hapuna Beach is just 5 miles to the north. Check out the guide book we left around for all the other great activities , and the DVD we left behind to give you some ideas about the highlights (Volcanoes National Park, Waipio Falls, macadamia nut factories, coffee farms, the highlights of Kona, and the amazing sea life). Tune into channel 9 (Big Island TV) for what’s going on currently and more ways to escape. The Hilton at the resort offers great luaus and opportunities to swim with dolphins and in the utility closet you will find beach chairs, a beach umbrella, a cooler and sand toys to make any day a day at the beach. From the complex you can enjoy views of Mauna Kea (gleaming telescope domes, and well worth a tour), the Pacific Ocean, Kohala Mountains, golf courses, lava fields, and swaying palmtrees. It really is a piece of paradise and we hope you enjoy it.

TAT License #: TA-160-143-7696-01

More Details

Property Manager
Hawaiian Dream Properties
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018


Puako House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Waikoloa Colony Villas 806 at the resort
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews

Great place close to amenities and enjoyed the pool and fitness room

  • 5 of 5

Our kids had a great time here - nice villa. Everything was on site....just need to buy food from Costco and just cook away!

Nice patio space and loved the washer and dryer!

Would do it again! Cheers from Canada

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

Everything we expected and more! We had an amazing vacation and are extremely sad to be leaving. The Villas and community here are amazing, everyone was so friendly and welcoming. The villa we stayed at was absolutely gorgeous, the photos really do not do justice! It was our perfect home away from home, we had everything we needed while we were there and the place is so warm and welcoming with beautiful decore. The location is close to everything, definitely rent a car when you go however there are local stores in the queens marketplace and a lovely itallian restaurant. Its close to beaches and other fun things, also the pool is beautiful and was always quiet so there is always a place to lay and relax (unlike other resorts where you fight for a chair). There is also a list of things to do while you're there.. we would recommend doing a helicopter ride to see the beautiful island. The place is perfect for visiting with families, friends or as a couple. We will definitely recommend to family and friends and hope to return as soon as we can!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Maryland, USA

Excellent rental, perfect home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We rented this unit for two weeks in July 2016 and LOVED IT! The home is beautifully decorated, very comfortable and welcoming. The owners have made it especially accommodating for guests traveling from the mainland, considering all the "home away from home" necessities one might need but not wish to pack (beach towels, sand chairs, coolers, extra linens). And guests will find many extras not usually found in most rentals (coffee grinder, spices, kitchen gadgets, grilling utensils, docking stations, books/games, a Wii, Netflix, and great WiFi!). The unit was clean and very well maintained with comfortable beds (including the sofa bed), new furniture, and a warm and welcoming decor. We loved the location of the unit within the Waikoloa Resort. The A' Bay beach on the resort property was gorgeous and so peaceful, rarely crowded. Great for snorkeling or wading in the shallow surf. There were ocean activities available, with reasonable kayak and paddleboard rentals, as well as snorkeling gear rentals. Beach chairs were free to use on a first come basis and the Lava Lava Beach Club was just a few steps away, with friendly service, good food, and delicious mai tais! The pool nearby was very nice, and since each cluster of units has its own private pool, there were rarely more than two families at the pool at any given time. The Island Market, shops, and restaurants at the resort had everything we needed. We also loved the condo's easy access to Route 19. We did a lot of traveling around the island! Dream Properties Rental Company was very helpful with any questions we may have had prior to our arrival and while on our vacation. We will definitely return to this condo! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Thank you to the owners for making this a fantastic vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Absolute Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We adored our 10 day stay in this beautiful villa. The surrounding area is stunning with wonderful views of the mountains and large expanses of volcanic rock which give you a great feel for the island. Our hosts were wonderful and everything was ready and waiting for us. They also have a really comprehensive folder of information about local restaurants, sights to see and emergency numbers. They've thought of everything.

The villa is precisely as advertised with all the facilities you could possibly want! The owners have done up the villa and really accentuates the local culture. Everything is modern but it's very easy to settle in and make yourself at home. The two bedrooms make it perfect for families but also for a romantic holiday!

We would recommend hiring a car but the fact that we didn't have one didn't stop us having fun. Loads of tourist companies will collect you from Waikoloa which is perfect. We went ziplining, swimming with dolphins, snorkelling with manta rays at night and a sunset whale watching cruise.

The beach is a few minutes walk accessed from either hotels on site with water sports equipment available for hire. The restaurants and market onsite are brilliant and have everything you can think of. We loved the Hilton hotel and the option to swim with dolphins onsite is not one to miss! We didn't want for anything. We'd highly recommend and can't wait to visit again.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
London, United Kingdom

Great holiday rental

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this unit twice now, first in the summer of 2014 and most recently this past Christmas. We have also stayed in 2 other units in Waikoloa. All the units in this complex have been nice, but this one is the best which is why we have booked it twice. The furniture, fixtures and fittings are really modern and up-to-date. It was also the most 'homey' and well decorated, making it feel more like a home than rental. Unlike the last reviewer we found the unit spotlessly clean on both occasions. The master bedroom bed is really comfortable. It's also in a good location, with a beautiful view off the terrace onto the golf course, where I occasionally went for beautiful morning runs. Some of the other units, near the tennis court don't have a view onto green, only onto the road. The kitchen is really well kitted out, which is great when you are trying to cook a Christmas dinner! Other things that were useful was the wii for children's entertainment, the boogie boards and also the really high quality beach chairs that are great to carry on your back when you are walking down to the beach with all your gear. I have no hesitation recommending this place and would book again if we return to Waikoloa.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

I live on the other side of the island and take my family to waikoloa area about once or twice a month for a mini vacation. We like to try different condominiums and resorts. The area is beautiful, the facilities are nice but this is the worst private condominium that we stayed at. Upon arrival the fire alarm was ringing. We tried to shut it off numerous times but our attempts continuously failed. When we called the property management they told us there was a leak with the air conditioning system on the second floor of our unit. The second floor entrance to the master bedroom was soaked with water and buckets were already laid out because the maid had put them there because of the known leaks. It took two hours before an employee from an outside agency to come an another hour for him to fix the problem. We had to use the condominium towels to soaked up the water. When we asked if there was another room available there was not. Later that evening property management did come with fresh towels but it was dingy and unmatched towels. There was also a wash going through a cycle when we got there as if the maid did not finish the laundry for the unit so we had to. The place was dirty, old, dusty, and the jacuzzi had dirt inside. The towels in the unit was stained and nasty looking. Later in the week we brought three children with us and all three came down with a cold which we believed was because the unit was filthy. They property management refused to compensate us and didn't even apologize for the circumstance. I would never ever recommend staying at this unit but the area and location is beautiful. My friends stayed at the same resort that same weekend and their condo was nice and clean as it should be. Do not stay here unless u want to go home with a virus. Waikoloa colony villas unit 806. I'll never forget it. Hilton kingsland, outrigger fairway condo, kolea, and waikoloa beach villas is our top picks for this area to vacation. Again do not stay at waikoloa colony villas unit 806.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Thank you for your input. When we stopped by Friday evening right after you arrived and we brought our own towels from our home just in case they were needed, when we asked if everything was OK, we were told everything was fine. We had told you the A/C condensation had just happened earlier that day after the last guest left and we got the repairman there within 3 hours of discovering the issue. We also had mentioned that the water dripping had activated the smoke detectors and we resolved that within 2 hours of discovery. We were never notified about any cleanliness issues and were never requested for any refund or compensation for a 3-night stay. We strive to ensure no issues come up and take care of them immediately if they do. Mahalo and Aloha, Management
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties