check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Hawaiian Dream Properties

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

Waikoloa Colony Villas 806

6 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kohala Coast House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Colony Villas 806 - Paradise among the Palm Trees...

Greetings! Welcome to our villa. We bought this place as recently as December 2012, and practically everything in it is brand spanking new. We’ve done our best to buy the things for it that we would like to see on our vacations: in fact, we’re planning to spend as much time here as possible when others aren't enjoying the house in the Hawaiian sunshine. Waikoloa Colony Villas is a private gated community of luxury townhomes on the South Kohala Coast within the world-renowned Waikoloa Beach Resort. One thing you notice on the Kohala Coast driving here is that the landscape is dry grass and lava. It almost never rains here! Of course if you miss the rain, travel over the Saddle toward Mauna Kea and you’re almost bound to be inundated. But you will also see wonderful waterfalls, lush rainforest and really big tropical plants (imagine the ones you buy for little pots in your living room, only 30 feet tall).

New carpet installed June 2015.

Airy, spacious, and comfortable: The villa is airy and spacious, a 2 story townhouse with 17 feet vaulted ceilings, decorated in a sort-of Hawaiian contemporary style we’ve been making up as we go along. There are two bedrooms: the master has a king, the 2nd with 2 twin beds that can be converted to a king plus a queen-size sofa bed, so we can sleep 6 with ease.

Equipped for food, drink, and grilling by the pool: The villa has a terrific, well-equipped gourmet kitchen, complete with all the equipment you’re likely to need on a vacation: a massive modern fridge, smooth top oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster oven, coffee machine, coffee grinder, blender, and kettle. The kitchen has granite countertops, a granite bar with stools, and plenty of glasses and other cocktail-related equipment that can make a great party for a group of young or young at heart adults or hidden from the kids as necessary. Barbecues are provided poolside and roadside a few feet away. The kitchen is right next to an elegant hardwood dining table, or if you prefer, a full size table out on the lanai where you can watch the traffic on the 15th fairway go by.

Eating affordably: We’ve also provided a spice rack as well as a Hawaiian gourmet cookbook for you to try your hand at local dishes. Talking of which, the Island Gourmet Grocery Store down in the nearby Queen’s Marketplace has a great collection of local sauces and other ingredients to help you with this. A good selection of produce at reasonable prices can be found in the Waikoloa Village Market in the Waikoloa village a few miles up the hill from the beach resort. You will find fresh ingredients at the Kona Farmers’ Market year-round in Kailua-Kona on Saturdays and Sundays. Your stay in luxury here need not also cost an arm and a leg!

Eating not-so-affordably: When you’re sick of cooking, the King’s Shops and Queen’s Marketplace down near the waterside have an excellent selection of restaurants to suit all budgets, great upscale Sushi at Sansei, casual, tasty, and local at the Merriman’s Market Café, fine dining at Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion, and the Macaroni Grill chain, to name but a few, as well as fast food such as Subway and Arby’s, and a pizza joint. The malls also have a variety of other stores to seek out fashion and island originals.

Stay as connected as you choose to... We know you aren’t coming to Hawai’i just to watch TV, but for when you want to sit back and relax after a hard day on the beach, snorkelling, or scaling volcanoes, the living room has a 47" LED Stereo TV with a Wi-Fi capable Blue-Ray player. Those of you who subscribe to Netflix can watch it here also, or perhaps follow the latest zaniness or viral videos on YouTube. So, clearly we also provide broadband Wi-Fi internet. And, talking of communications, phone calls are free anywhere in the USA or Canada.

Luxury master suite: The living room and both bedrooms have ceiling fans and air conditioning, and there is a washer and dryer inside the villa. Each bedroom also has comfy hotel-class mattresses. The upstairs bedroom is really a suite that occupies the whole floor, including a small lanai that looks out onto the golf course, 22" LED TV, a phone, and a large bathroom with two sinks and separate shower and bathtub. There’s also a walk in closet big enough for two or three people to stand up in at the same time. The downstairs bedroom can be set up with two separate adult-sized twin beds or as a king size bed. It has a large closet and a full bathroom is close by.

What else to do at the complex and beyond: Condo amenities include two pools, the closer one with a beautiful waterfall, a hot tub, fitness center, and tennis courts. Beautiful beaches are just minutes away. There’s a beach inside the resort, and the world famous Hapuna Beach is just 5 miles to the north. Check out the guide book we left around for all the other great activities , and the DVD we left behind to give you some ideas about the highlights (Volcanoes National Park, Waipio Falls, macadamia nut factories, coffee farms, the highlights of Kona, and the amazing sea life). Tune into channel 9 (Big Island TV) for what’s going on currently and more ways to escape. The Hilton at the resort offers great luaus and opportunities to swim with dolphins and in the utility closet you will find beach chairs, a beach umbrella, a cooler and sand toys to make any day a day at the beach. From the complex you can enjoy views of Mauna Kea (gleaming telescope domes, and well worth a tour), the Pacific Ocean, Kohala Mountains, golf courses, lava fields, and swaying palmtrees. It really is a piece of paradise and we hope you enjoy it.

TAT #W01907049-01

More Details
Hawaiian Dream Properties (Property Manager)
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.3
based on 6 traveler reviews

Waikoloa Colony Villas 806
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
Maryland, USA
5

Excellent rental, perfect home away from home

  • 5 of 5

We rented this unit for two weeks in July 2016 and LOVED IT! The home is beautifully decorated, very comfortable and welcoming. The owners have made it especially accommodating for guests traveling from the mainland, considering all the "home away from home" necessities one might need but not wish to pack (beach towels, sand chairs, coolers, extra linens). And guests will find many extras not usually found in most rentals (coffee grinder, spices, kitchen gadgets, grilling utensils, docking stations, books/games, a Wii, Netflix, and great WiFi!). The unit was clean and very well maintained with comfortable beds (including the sofa bed), new furniture, and a warm and welcoming decor. We loved the location of the unit within the Waikoloa Resort. The A' Bay beach on the resort property was gorgeous and so peaceful, rarely crowded. Great for snorkeling or wading in the shallow surf. There were ocean activities available, with reasonable kayak and paddleboard rentals, as well as snorkeling gear rentals. Beach chairs were free to use on a first come basis and the Lava Lava Beach Club was just a few steps away, with friendly service, good food, and delicious mai tais! The pool nearby was very nice, and since each cluster of units has its own private pool, there were rarely more than two families at the pool at any given time. The Island Market, shops, and restaurants at the resort had everything we needed. We also loved the condo's easy access to Route 19. We did a lot of traveling around the island! Dream Properties Rental Company was very helpful with any questions we may have had prior to our arrival and while on our vacation. We will definitely return to this condo! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Thank you to the owners for making this a fantastic vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
London, United Kingdom
5

Great holiday rental

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this unit twice now, first in the summer of 2014 and most recently this past Christmas. We have also stayed in 2 other units in Waikoloa. All the units in this complex have been nice, but this one is the best which is why we have booked it twice. The furniture, fixtures and fittings are really modern and up-to-date. It was also the most 'homey' and well decorated, making it feel more like a home than rental. Unlike the last reviewer we found the unit spotlessly clean on both occasions. The master bedroom bed is really comfortable. It's also in a good location, with a beautiful view off the terrace onto the golf course, where I occasionally went for beautiful morning runs. Some of the other units, near the tennis court don't have a view onto green, only onto the road. The kitchen is really well kitted out, which is great when you are trying to cook a Christmas dinner! Other things that were useful was the wii for children's entertainment, the boogie boards and also the really high quality beach chairs that are great to carry on your back when you are walking down to the beach with all your gear. I have no hesitation recommending this place and would book again if we return to Waikoloa.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Gross

  • 1 of 5

I live on the other side of the island and take my family to waikoloa area about once or twice a month for a mini vacation. We like to try different condominiums and resorts. The area is beautiful, the facilities are nice but this is the worst private condominium that we stayed at. Upon arrival the fire alarm was ringing. We tried to shut it off numerous times but our attempts continuously failed. When we called the property management they told us there was a leak with the air conditioning system on the second floor of our unit. The second floor entrance to the master bedroom was soaked with water and buckets were already laid out because the maid had put them there because of the known leaks. It took two hours before an employee from an outside agency to come an another hour for him to fix the problem. We had to use the condominium towels to soaked up the water. When we asked if there was another room available there was not. Later that evening property management did come with fresh towels but it was dingy and unmatched towels. There was also a wash going through a cycle when we got there as if the maid did not finish the laundry for the unit so we had to. The place was dirty, old, dusty, and the jacuzzi had dirt inside. The towels in the unit was stained and nasty looking. Later in the week we brought three children with us and all three came down with a cold which we believed was because the unit was filthy. They property management refused to compensate us and didn't even apologize for the circumstance. I would never ever recommend staying at this unit but the area and location is beautiful. My friends stayed at the same resort that same weekend and their condo was nice and clean as it should be. Do not stay here unless u want to go home with a virus. Waikoloa colony villas unit 806. I'll never forget it. Hilton kingsland, outrigger fairway condo, kolea, and waikoloa beach villas is our top picks for this area to vacation. Again do not stay at waikoloa colony villas unit 806.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Thank you for your input. When we stopped by Friday evening right after you arrived and we brought our own towels from our home just in case they were needed, when we asked if everything was OK, we were told everything was fine. We had told you the A/C condensation had just happened earlier that day after the last guest left and we got the repairman there within 3 hours of discovering the issue. We also had mentioned that the water dripping had activated the smoke detectors and we resolved that within 2 hours of discovery. We were never notified about any cleanliness issues and were never requested for any refund or compensation for a 3-night stay. We strive to ensure no issues come up and take care of them immediately if they do. Mahalo and Aloha, Management
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis
5

Exactly as advertised

  • 5 of 5

My husband, sister-in-law and I stayed here and were very pleased to find the unit exactly as pictured on the website. The only thing you can't see from the photos is that the carpet, although clean, is quite stained. The owners indicated they are aware of this and will be replacing it in the near future. I will agree with other comments that the bed in master BR was extremely comfortable -- way better than the Westin Heavenly bed we had the following week on Maui! We did have to contact the property manager regarding slow running showers and missing potholders, but both issues were resolved within 24 hours. All directions for getting to and into the unit were very easy to follow. It might have been helpful to have "leaving" instructions either in the welcome packet or visibly posted, as we did not think to look in the back of the provided book. Thankfully, they were not upset when we forgot to strip the beds! We would highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Victoria, BC Canada
5

Great place, Great location, We will be back!

  • 5 of 5

This is simply a great choice for a vacation. The unit sleeps up to six people and the bed in the master bedroom is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, so much so that it was a bit of a task getting my husband up early in the morning! The pull out couch is also surprisingly comfortable. The unit is clean, tastefully decorated and the kitchen had everything we needed for cooking to help keep the restaurant bills down. The fridge has an automatic icemaker, a feature I was glad to have as ice was always available to throw into a cooler to take to the beach, or whip up some chilly Pina Coladas after a day at one of the many great beaches nearby. The lanai was a great place to eat or to relax and have some quiet down time.The master bedroom has a large walk in closet and the bathroom is nice and has double sinks. The guest bedroom is also a good size and I liked that the master bedroom was on a different level from the guest bedroom allowing for greater privacy. The unit is open plan and the lay out was great with nice high ceilings and the air conditioning was very comfortable temperature to escape the heat outside when needed. The unit is centrally located in the Waikoloa Colony Villas and for me that was ideal. The pools were a short 1-1/2 minute walk away and they were lovely. The pool was not busy, and most of the time we had the pool to ourselves which we really liked. With smoking not being permitted on the lanai’s, a smoking bench is provided directly across the parking lot of this unit, so it was very close. I noticed some smokers staying in units further away having to walk a fair distance to come to the bench so for a smoker the location of this unit is handy. There are some great beaches only a short drive away. If you want to swim with Turtles, just north of Waikoloa, Puako Beach is about 10 minutes drive, and close to that is Waialea Beach which has some great snorkling. Just a bit further is also Hapuna Beach a large sandy beach, and good for boogy boarding and surfing if the waves are up. South is Maniniowali beach, across from the Veterans Memorial Cemetery. This was one our favorite beaches, beautiful turquoise water and great boogy boarding. Waikoloa has good restaurants in varying price and same with the shops. For a special dinner out, you must not miss Lava Lava Beach Club. We did most of our food shopping at Costco in Kona and in Waikoloa Village a short drive from the resort to cut food costs. Wonderful trip, highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Look no further

  • 5 of 5

First of all, if you are looking for a place to stay on the beach, stop! It is really tricky on this lava island. The location of this property is 5 miles from 6 of the islands best beaches and we enjoyed a new experience every day. Great central location to get to all corners of the island. We have stayed in a dozen VRBO homes and this one ranks very high on the chart. Comfy and roomy with all the ammenities you need. 5 Stars!! Thanks

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. As the management company, we strive to make our guests experience a relaxing and enjoyable one. Mahalo and Aloha, Hawaiian Dream Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kohala Coast House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties