Three BR/2 Bath Cabin, Sleeps 6 w/Hot Tub and Mountain Views
Carl S. Ey
- english, german
About Carl S. Ey
The owners are a retired military couple but they lease their cabin to a limited liability company to manage 'A Buck's View.' Your host for your stay at the cabin is A Bucks View, LLC. We hope you enjoy your stay and look forward to your review. Thank you.
Carl S. Ey purchased this Cabin in 2005
Why Carl S. Ey chose Luray
This cabin came available in 2005 and was redone in 2014. Looking for a place to let our clients hang their hats on long weekends that took them away from the DC bustle, A Bucks View, LLC was fortunate enough to acquire 'A Buck's View.' It has been a main staple of many vacation plans ever since. Please enjoy our favorite wineries - 'Little Washington Winery,' Gadino Cellars and Chester Gap Cellars. Dinner is super at Thornton River Grill in Sperryville but you need reservations typically!
What makes this Cabin unique
The most unique benefit is that you are away from everything - it is quiet at 'A Buck's View.' This cabin was completed in July 2014 and ready for guests - serene and ready for you to relax i.e. no internet, no wi-fi, your cell phone may get connectivity but even better is that it will likely NOT get service ;)! Drive into town (8 miles) to get connected with your smart phone - other than that, enjoy the peace at this great cabin. Please remember, the hot tub is serviced regularly. To that end, all clients MUST SHOWER BEFORE ENTERING THE HOT TUB. Additionally, if the hot tub becomes inoperable during your stay, it will likely not be repaired and the owner will not authorize a refund of any kind if the hot tub becomes in operable. Since the hot tubs are maintained/serviced regularly, we rarely have an issue but again, refunds for hot tubs that break down during your stay are not provided. Lastly, please keep all drinks away from the hot tub; the tub is checked after you leave and we will charge for a water change if the H2O is murky or the handyman finds bottle caps, cups etc. in the tub.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Little Slice of Heaven
Cozy cabin with great amenities! Close to Skline Drive for great hiking! No WiFi or cell service. The neighborhood, had dogs that howled loudly and frequently. Other than that, great time! Pete was also awesome!
Brittany - thank you so much for your five-star review. Remember, repeat clients enjoy a 5% discount.
I am sorry you didn't have an opportunity to ask the neighbors to keep their dogs quiet. For those of you who are reading this review and my reply, we don't have that issue very often but we, the owners, are not on site. However, our neighbors are very nice people who are happy to honor quiet times if they know there are guests at our cabins.
Secondly, for those still reading, please be sure to read the cabin listing online, the check in / out instructions, which are emailed upon booking and the Frequently Asked Questions that are sent to you when you book. Those documents are very explicit about not having any wifi or cell service in the mountains. The cabin is literally butting up against the Shenandoah mountains and procuring satellite internet is outrageously expensive so we make sure our guests realize there is zero WIFI/cell service. However, when you are out and about visiting Luray, connectivity is fine. Additionally, there is a hard line phone in the cabin and we provide that phone number for emergencies.
Finally, if you can't unplug for a few hours on your vacation, I sincerely recommend you visit another cabin. You may be more comfortable trading the great outdoors and the Shenandoah experience to make sure you get your texts. I completely understand and there are plenty of Tom Bodett options that will leave a light on for you so you can see the WIFI password.
Thanks again for your review.
Nice spot, very quiet and peaceful
Nice cabin. Close enough to Shenandoah to enjoy the park but out of the way and quiet.
Thanks Jennifer for your review. Please come again.
Buck’s view is quiet and secluded but not far from attractions. Great week! Very clean and comfortable. After days of canoeing and hiking hot tub was just the way to end the days. Definitely recommend.
Nice property but a few challenges
Our family of four had a generally relaxing, enjoyable 2-night stay on our way home from coastal Maryland. We appreciated the detailed and very reasonable instructions and requests made to those who rent this cabin. It was obvious that previous renters must have respected the fact that this is someone else’s property, as the cabin was exceptionally clean and well cared for. We are a family that enjoys periodic isolation and disconnecting from the electronic world (with few frills), so this place was good for that. It was very quiet at bedtime. Overall, this is a functional and relaxing getaway rental with easy access to the national park and town of Luray.
We did have 3 issues that diminished the quality of our stay.
At arrival, we looked at the sheets on the beds and one had an unwashed “organic” substance on it. It was clear that this sheet, and from the smell the entire set, had not been recently washed. The substance on the sheet was fairly fresh and definitely had an odor (i.e., not simply a matter of remnant detergent). We washed another set of bedding and put that on the bed.
The refrigerator was turned to its coldest setting but the temperature was not even close to cool (61 degrees using portable thermometer). We put in already cold beverages and waited 3 hours but it only got to 55 degrees (not cold enough to preserve food). We went to Luray and left Pete a voicemail message (cabin landline gave a “we’re sorry, this call cannot be completed” message). Pete called back and explained that the refrigerator had been swapped out with another one recently and recommended getting some ice and keeping the refrigerator cool that way until a repair person could get out in a few days. We froze some of our drinks and used that to keep the refrigerator cool.
Future renters should be aware that, despite the apparent isolation, you do have neighbors who live fulltime very close by. The renters of Carl’s other cabins were quiet. The neighbors at the base of the driveway, however, were obnoxiously noisy for 3 hours on Saturday evening, essentially ruining our campfire time. The noise came from a loud stereo, one or more ATVs racing incessantly on a course within 40 yards, and dogs that howled and “screamed” the entire time. This is clearly not Carl’s fault, nor is there much anyone can do about this sort of behavior. Just know that this wasn’t coming from another short-term renter…it came from fulltime neighbors.
Comments like these are always helpful to our staff. I am always a bit concerned when we have an issue at the cabin with an appliance. The refrigerator has been replaced and is in good working order. In regard to the sheets, I am a bit surprised at these comments but also, concerned that Dan only used the phone in the cabin as opposed to texting like the instructions recommend. Texting works in all environments out there so Pete is accessible from your cell phone regardless of the cell service. Lastly, we have only one full time neighbor in the area and the town has a noise ordinance. The police and fire numbers are provided if an issue like this happens again - my strong recommendation would be to take action as opposed to suffer through it. The local municipalities are very responsive. Thanks again for the review.
A great stay in Luray!
This was a great place for our 'mountain vacation'. Very quiet and peaceful. Close to many attractions and the Shenandoah Park entrance. Even though owners are pet lovers, and allow pets, you wouldn't know pets ever stayed here (we didn't bring any). Smelled woodsy, fresh and kept clean. Owner kept house at a nice comfortable temperature as well. Not too difficult to find if you follow owner's directions, however our GPS actually took us right up to the front door.
Kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes and utensils. Enjoyed dining in the screened in porch. Bedroom space was more than ample and house was decorated nicely. Has an array of DVD's. Sat. TV was provided in the living room and bedrooms which was nice surprise. Hot tub is available, although we didn't use. Fenced in area for pets, fire pit and grilling was clean. Two types of grilles were provided. Grass in that area was a little long upon arrival, but was cut midway through our week. There is a local property manager if you do have any issues. However you will need to call or text him which is obviously a challenge with no cell service. Upon arrival we had a slight snag and had to drive down the mountain until we finally hit service just to report the issue or get a response. It would be nice if you could reach him through the provided landline, but he is outside the calling plan area. Also, with multiple rental homes next to each other, we would have preferred to see some sort of central system in place to place garbage and alleviate having it sit in the home, until you can find the time and a place to dump it. However this was all stated upfront and did not deter from our time there.
Overall I would give this home a definite 5 star rating for style, location and cleanliness. A definite must stay and great value if you are in the area. Thanks again for allowing us to stay as well as the educator discount!
Thank you for the review - very thorough. To all future guests reading, please realize that texting works when cell service is not connecting. If you have to reach our handyman, you can text him and he will call back to the cabin phone to assist. We provide his cell number in the check in/out instructions. Thanks.
Much better than expected
You never know what to expect with rental properties. They look good online but then when you get there, they look old and tired and aren't all that. So when we drove up that long gravel mountain road to the property, we weren't sure what to expect. Well, let's just say we were pleasantly surprised. It was smoking hot outside...about 95 and very humid...and the first thing we noticed is that the property felt about 10 degrees cooler because of the shade and lack of surface heat (you know, what you'd get at a motel from blacktop and rocks). Then, when we went inside the cabin (which looks really nice and new from the outside, by the way), we were welcomed by a gush of nice cold air. What a relief! It's obvious that the cabin was remodeled a few years ago because it has a "like new" appearance inside. We really enjoyed the screened-in porch so we could dine without fighting off flies and noseeums. And the doggies really enjoyed the dog run. It's great to be able to open the door and just let your pooch go without fear of it running away.
We had need for a little maintenance on the dishwasher while we were there and Pete was spot on, friendly, and very responsive. He's quite a character.
One lesson learned: do not rely on Google to get you to the cabin. It only works to get you to the general area and then you need to CAREFULLY read the owner's instructions on how to find the cabin. We met a few nice but wary neighbors on the first day because we didn't follow instructions. We're dudes...what can I say?
Next time I want to try one of the owner's other cabins just to experience the difference. The A frame at the top has an amazing view. But I would stay at A Buck's View again in a heartbeat.
Borders Shenandoah National Park; this cabin is literally in the shadow of the Shenandoah Mountains. This is a great area to hike and enjoy the outdoors. Antiquing is a great activity and the wineries right over the mountain in Washington, Virginia are fabulous! Visit both Gadino Cellars and Lil Washington Winery and tell them where you are staying for a nice discount on the tasting price. Additionally, the cabin is a short ride from Lake Arrowhead for swimming and fishing, Bear Mountain Zip Lining is less than 8 min away by car and Luray Caverns are open year round within a 15 min car ride. Lastly, the most unique movie theater is downtown Luray at Page Theater; playing first run movies, you will thoroughly enjoy this quaint movie hall!
Please remember to take care of the cabin as if it were your second home. The housekeepers work primarily for tips so when you get to a clean cabin, remember them in gratuity.
The hot tub is fabulous but we require all to shower before entering and no drinks on the hot tub ledge or near it.
Smoking in the cabin in prohibited. Smoking outside is fine but please clean up.
Yes, you can bring your dog (or dogs) for a fee; one dog is $40 for your stay and two or more has an $80 charge. Please use the "pooper scoopers" to clean up after your pet. Lastly, please do not leave the pet inside the cabin unless you have a crate and do not leave the dog in the dog run if you are leaving the premises.
Lastly, please follow the check in/out instructions and we will be happy to refund your deposit within 14 days of your departure.
Have a great time.