Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Carl S. Ey

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, german

Your Quiet Get-Away - GREAT SPECIAL RATES

54 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more

Overview

Shenandoah Valley Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Three BR/2 Bath Cabin, Sleeps 6 w/Hot Tub and Mountain Views

Secluded Get-Away from the weekly grind, this cabin is brand new and open for business! Warm, inviting, spacious with all the amenities of a luxury hotel right in the shadow of the Shenandoah Mountains, this cabin is ready for up to six guests at a time. Fully furnished, with a fabulous 8-person hot tub, super deck, screened-in-porch, grill and one gas fireplace, you will enjoy nature, peace-and-quiet as well the comforts of “A Buck's View.” Outfitted with flat screen televisions, DVD/VCR and DIRECT TV, come and enjoy the Shenandoah Valley during the day and unwind by the fireplace with a movie at night. Yes, we have a great fire pit outside (wood not provided) and a dog run for those guests who have their best friend by their side (yes, there is a pet charge)!

This three-bedroom cabin brags two king sized beds, and one queen sized bed. Two full baths (one master suite bath and one full bath in the hall) , sile-stone countertops, stainless steel appliances (dishwasher, fridge etc.) and plenty of room for your group of up to six person makes this the ideal weekend get-away. No internet connection and no WIFI for guests but there is spotty service for your smart phone (Verizon is strongest signal). Sure, there is a washer and dryer in the unit for the guests who want to make more than a weekend of it!

Gadino Cellars offers reduced pricing on tastings to any guests of “A Buck’s View,” and downtown Luray is a quaint town with antique shops, craft stores and super restaurants. Luray Caverns and zip-lining are great for the kids as well as a day on the Shenandoah River (call Luray Chamber of Commerce for more details at 540.743.3915). Lake Arrowhead is less than three miles away for a day at the Lake to swim, boat or fish etc.

'A Buck's View' is about 90 minutes from downtown Washington, DC. Escape the crowds and the bustle for the mountains!

5% Teachers & Military discount with ID. If you are a repeat customer, let me know for another discount! You must request the discount at the time of reservation or prior to confirming the reservation.

Located East of Luray, Va. 22835 off of Rt. 211, bordering the Shenandoah National Park. You can expect an 8 -mile drive to downtown Luray. Check in is typically at 3 p.m. and check out is at 11 a.m. sharp. Come and enjoy this great all-log cabin!

Of note:

- Early check ins or late check outs are an option pending the guests coming or going before you. There is a $40 charge for both early check in and late check out if it is available.

- Firewood is stacked by the handyman but not a guarantee. We recommend bringing your own firewood or checking the cabin out first and then purchasing it if is not there when you arrive.

- Charcoal is not provided for the grill and the gas grill is generally ready with a tank but if you run out or there is little in the tank, you are on your own to refill the tank.

- Dishes, cooking utensils, pots, pans, silverware, glasses etc. are in the cabinets. However, if you need a special utensil to cook a favorite meal, bring it.

- There are some games there at the cabin but bring your own playing cards, favorite games etc.

- Coffee pot is there with filter - bring your own grounds, creamer and sweetener.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Senior Adults Only Community
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carl S. Ey (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, german

About Carl S. Ey

The owners are a retired military couple but they lease their cabin to a limited liability company to manage 'A Buck's View.' Your host for your stay at the cabin is Ey Man Enteprises, LLC. We hope you enjoy your stay and look forward to your review. Thank you.

Carl S. Ey purchased this cabin in 2005

Why Carl S. Ey chose Shenandoah Valley

This cabin came available to Ey Man Enterprises, LLC in 2005 and was redone in 2014. Looking for a place to let our clients hang their hats on long weekends that took them away from the DC bustle, Ey Man Enterprises, LLC was fortunate enough to acquire 'A Buck's View.' It has been a main staple of many vacation plans ever since. Please enjoy our favorite wineries - 'Little Washington Winery,' Gadino Cellars and Chester Gap Cellars. Dinner is super at Thornton River Grill in Sperryville but you need reservations typically!

What makes this cabin unique

The most unique benefit is that you are away from everything - it is quiet at 'A Buck's View.' This cabin was completed in July 2014 and ready for guests - serene and ready for you to relax i.e. no internet, no wi-fi, your cell phone may get connectivity but even better is that it will likely NOT get service ;)! Drive into town (8 miles) to get connected with your smart phone - other than that, enjoy the peace at this great cabin.

Please remember, the hot tub is serviced regularly. To that end, all clients MUST SHOWER BEFORE ENTERING THE HOT TUB. Additionally, if the hot tub becomes inoperable during your stay, it will likely not be repaired and the owner will not authorize a refund of any kind if the hot tub becomes in operable. Since the hot tubs are maintained/serviced regularly, we rarely have an issue but again, refunds for hot tubs that break down during your stay are not provided. Lastly, please keep all drinks away from the hot tub; the tub is checked after you leave and we will charge for a water change if the H2O is murky or the handyman finds bottle caps, cups etc. in the tub.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We took a family trip to Buck's View in early September. This was a perfect place to relax away from the city. Will definitely think about going again during the winter. Five- plus stars!!!!!
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.8
based on 54 traveler reviews

Your Quiet Get-Away - GREAT SPECIAL RATES
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 56 reviews
Baltimore, MD
2

Nice cabin with horrible customer service

  • 2 of 5

The cabin is fine although it really is not any nicer than any of the other cabins I have rented in the area to justify the high price tag. And prepare to be nickled and dimed. Basically if anything happens while you are there, even if it is not your fault, you are out of luck. Pilot light out on the stove? Will be relit for $75. Grill out of gas? Oh well, go find some. Hot tub not functioning? Too bad. But the kicker was that I had arranged for a late check out which the owner conveniently forgot. No problem, just reminded him we had arranged to check out late. But he refused to believe me! We were pulled from our hike in park to "come get your stuff." Our weekend ended on this horrible note. When I even insinuated we may be entitled to a small refund he offered a minute discount on a future stay. And he was an absolute jerk about it, only after numerous text messages and an email proving we had arranged for a late check out did he even admit he had made a mistake. He even posts pics on Facebook shaming those who leave the cabin in less than tip top shape. I am sure he will write a scathing response to this as he seems to do with any reviews that are less than stellar. There are too many choices in Luray to give this guy your business.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate all reviews and are particularly interested in the portion of any review that indicates what our management team can do to make a client's stay better. This client is correct, our staff made an error in their departure time. She and her family ended up leaving at 1:10 p.m. instead of 2 p.m. and received a full refund of their deposit within 3 days of departure. In regard to "insinuating" for a partial refund, please understand that if there is an incident during any client's stay, we will try to appease those clients with discounts for future visits but cannot refund rental payments. Realizing that a client like the one posting here will likely provide a poor review if they don't get a "small refund" is an attempt at extorting the owner. This cabin and the management team have too many solid ratings (4.8 average out of 5) to be overly concerned with a bad review particularly when it is ONE out-of-tolerance review. Angry people make rash decisions particularly when writing a review. Finally, the entire staff believed the client when they reminded us that they had a late check out but because the cell coverage in the mountains (where they were hiking) is spotty, they never spoke to the owner and upon meeting the cleaning team/property manager at the cabin (who was there when they arrived from their hike), the client left in good spirits as per the manager's interaction with them. We are sorry that this weekend ended for the client on a horrible note. However, arguably the best part of this review is the fact that this client will never visit our cabin again. As you will note, our very next guest provided a 5-star review and we are sure your family will have a fabulous time at the cabin. Remember, all military and educators get a discount.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Mountain Hideaway With All the Comforts

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Secluded and tucked away near the Shenandoah National Park. Central Heat/Air, gas log fireplace, premium decks, hot tub, fire pit, propane grill, charcoal grill, & fenced dog run. Easy access to the park and Luray Caverns, etc. If you have a truck you may want to take it as the drive way is a bit steep, but we made it in our small compact front wheel drive car even after a big rain. Clean, well maintained, accurate listing. Great customer service and super fast response. Recommend to friends and family (actually brought them with us and they loved it).

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

totally impressed with everything.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Leesburg, VA
5

Lovley getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the Cabin! It was well maintained and cleaned, and has everything we needed. Great directions: that is some hill leading up to the house, by the way! We did need to call the maintenance guy to figure out the fire place temporarily didn't work, but it was minor compared to all the wonderful amenities. We were in the hot tub every night, and despite a little rain cooked outside, and enjoyed the fire pit! We saw amazing wild life every day, it was so peaceful, and just far enough away from everything. I can't wait to try out their other property on top of the hill. Thanks for everything!

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

great luray stay!

  • 4 of 5

A very nice location for our adventures! Thanks for having us and being thorough in your directions and information. made it easy and relaxing for us.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our favorite cabin

  • 5 of 5

Been here with family and friends and we love it, the location is great and cabin is always super clean. It's our perfect get away spot!

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Luray Caverns Airport
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Uncle Buck's
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Caverns Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 211
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
Brookside Restaurant
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Lake Arrowhead
Car: necessary

Borders Shenandoah National Park; this cabin is literally in the shadow of the Shenandoah Mountains. This is a great area to hike and enjoy the outdoors. Antiquing is a great activity and the wineries right over the mountain in Washington, Virginia are fabulous! Visit both Gadino Cellars and Lil Washington Winery and tell them where you are staying for a nice discount on the tasting price. Additionally, the cabin is a short ride from Lake Arrowhead for swimming and fishing, Bear Mountain Zip Lining is less than 8 min away by car and Luray Caverns are open year round within a 15 min car ride. Lastly, the most unique movie theater is downtown Luray at Page Theater; playing first run movies, you will thoroughly enjoy this quaint movie hall!

Please remember to take care of the cabin as if it were your second home. The housekeepers work primarily for tips so when you get to a clean cabin, remember them in gratuity.

The hot tub is fabulous but we require all to shower before entering and no drinks on the hot tub ledge or near it.

Smoking in the cabin in prohibited. Smoking outside is fine but please clean up.

Yes, you can bring your dog (or dogs) for a fee; one dog is $40 for your stay and two or more has an $80 charge. Please use the "pooper scoopers" to clean up after your pet. Lastly, please do not leave the pet inside the cabin unless you have a crate and do not leave the dog in the dog run if you are leaving the premises.

Lastly, please follow the check in/out instructions and we will be happy to refund your deposit within 14 days of your departure.

Have a great time.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Luray Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Day
May 27 2016 - May 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$950
Flat fee
 
 
Summer Rate
May 31 2016 - Aug 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$210
From
$315
Fri,Sat,Sun
$850
 
 
Independence Day
Jul 1 2016 - Jul 4 2016
4 night minimum stay
$900
Flat fee
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 5 2016
4 night minimum stay
$925
Flat fee
 
 
Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 
 
Columbus Day
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 10 2016
4 night minimum stay
$825
Flat fee
 
 
Veteran's Day
Nov 10 2016 - Nov 13 2016
4 night minimum stay
$935
Flat fee
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
5 night minimum stay
$1,235
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,325
Flat fee
 
 
New Years
Dec 30 2016 - Jan 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,450
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$345
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

PLEASE REALIZE THAT RATES FOR WEEKNIGHTS ARE DIFFERENT THAN WEEKENDS; PLEASE READ THE RATE INFO CLOSELY. Many clients ask to book a weekend applying weeknight rates.
Please remember, your deposit is a separate charge outside of the rental balance. Please do not subtract your deposit amount when sending final payment.
Final payment is due within 30 days before arrival; if payment is not received within 30 days of arrival, cabin is subject to be rented to another party.
Credit card charges apply if you book using the on-line booking system or if you use PAYPAL. Those charges will be deducted from your deposit return. Ey Man Enterprises, LLC accepts personal checks for all payments. However, I recommend paying your $250 deposit via PAYPAL because it is expedient. Upon deposit receipt, your dates are held for you; we will not hold dates without a deposit. I strongly suggest that you pay your rental fee with a check to save on the credit card fees. Rental payment must be received before you arrive.
Lastly, we have a strict refund/cancellation policy:
1. Pending the client following the check-in instructions, your $250 deposit will be returned within 14 days of your departure (minus any credit card transaction fees).
2. After receiving your deposit, the dates are blocked. Once a deposit is received, it will not be refunded should you cancel.
3. Should the client cancel within 14 days prior to arrival date, your rental payment will not be refunded. Ey Man Enterprises, LLC may offer another stay at no cost but Ey Man Enterprises, LLC is not compelled to do that.
4. Should the client cancel between 15-30 days of arrival, 1/2 of their rental payment will be refunded.
5. Should a client arrive and decide not to complete their stay, no monies will be refunded except the deposit pending adherence to the check in/out instructions.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Shenandoah Valley Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 2 - combination tub/shower , Has full shower and very roomy
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master Bath has full-sized shower w/2 sinks and hair dryer.
  • Bathroom is extremely convenient with a full shower!
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Queen Sized bed with flat screen TV - very comfortable
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , MBR is comfortable w/ king bed & bath; flat screen TV & DVD
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King sized bed w/flat screen TV & DVD; roomy & comfortabl
  • Master Bedroom has a king size bed with flat screen TV and DVD. Yep, DIRECTV is there and positioned on the wall so you can fall asleep to your favorite program! Very comfortable with closet space and attached master bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Senior Adults Only Community ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
This is a quiet get-away, which means cellular phone connectivity is fair at best. Hot spots have worked but there is NO internet connection at 'A Buck's View.' Firewood is stacked by the handyman but not guaranteed - bring your own or bring a hack saw to cut some up in the woods. Please remember to follow the check in/out instructions upon departure and ALWAYS SHOWER BEFORE ENTERING THE HOT TUB. Enjoy the weekend and visit our favorite Wineries - Little Washington Winery, Gadino Cellars or Chest Gap Cellars - all three are a short drive away. Also, make sure you make reservations at Thornton River Grill in Sperryville - yes, you typically need reservations! 'A Buck's View' is the right cabin for those of you on a tight budget - you won't be sorry! Of note: - smoking is prohibited in cabin. You may smoke outside if you clean up butts or stogies. - dogs are welcome; $40 for one dog and $80 for two or more for your stay.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the owner to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote