check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Spacious,open all windows,over look the lake, pet-friendly

52 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Brighton House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 3 bath, upcharge for basement apartment sleeps 18 with upcharge

The house sleeps 10 guests comfortably in 3 bedrooms and 2 pullout sofa beds, with 3 bathrooms in the main area of house.. The basement is a complete apartment that sleeps an additional 8 guests, one king bed and 3 pullout sofa beds with a bathroom and kitchen area.. Every guest over 10, there will be an automatic charge of $25.00 a night with a minimum charge of $100.00 to open up the basement. Our house is one city block from Island Lake State Park, where in the summer you can, walk your dog, bike, swim, picnic, fish, play baseball, horseshoes and have large parties. In the winter you can snowmobile, cross country ski and ice fish. Also there is a large ski lodge only a few miles away. Many many golf courses very close. Kayaks available at the house at no cost, a 16 ft rowboat available at no cost Also there is a 22ft pontoon boat available for rent. There is a large mall 3 miles from the house, many very nice restaurants and quaint shops in downtown Brighton.

We have signed up for Property Manager the Green Icon on our web sight; however WE PREFER PERSONAL CHECKS..


More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Jerry Rupp
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2016
Call Manager

About Jerry Rupp

(Dee) and Jerry live next door to the property.


based on 52 traveler reviews

Spacious,open all windows,over look the lake, pet-friendly
average rating of 4.8653846 based on 52 reviews


  • 5 of 5

What a great house! So warm and inviting! Just a short drive to Ann Arbor! Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice home. Perfect for a guys golf trip!

  • 4 of 5

Guys golf trip, a lot of great courses nearby. Owners are great. Inside was big and clean. Outside could've been cleaned up some. We enjoyed our stay, no complaints overall.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay! Jerry and Dee are awesome! Wish we would have had more time to enjoy the boats and fishing at the house. We were in Michigan for a brothers wedding, so we were pretty busy. There were 18 of us and we fit comfortably. My only suggestion would be to fix the basement up so it's as nice as the rest of the house. Not that it was bad, it wasnt, but it could use some tlc.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review . We are glad to hear that you had a great time. You mentioned in your review that the basement apartment needed some tlc. Could you tell us specifically what you see as needed to be done to improve the basement. The house has been booked solid since the end of May,making it difficult to do anything substantial. We would appreciate any feed back that would help us make positive changes . We know some things that we can improve on but would like to hear from you,this only helps us to know what the priorities are that we can improve on and correct. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Jerry and Dee
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Windows on the Water was Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Windows on the Water for 6 days in July 2016. The house was an outstanding facility for hosting both small and large gatherings that we had during the week. With three large bedrooms and three full bathrooms, we never felt crowded. The hosts (Jerry and Dee) live next door but we only saw them when they were walking their dogs and when we had minor house operational questions, e.g., how do you get the TV to work?

Despite the lack of a beach, water activities were excellent and great fun. The pontoon was loads of fun for all. Randy reports that the fishing was great, although fishing off the dock was a challenge because of the weeds. Three 15-17-inch bass were caught from the dock and many more were probably hooked but lost in the weeds, but he also caught three bullheads and two turtles (the last was about a 20-pound snapper!).

The only down side was the lack of on-site swimming (but that was not a disappointment, since we knew that going in). The lack of onsite swimming was OK though, because there was great swimming on the main lake, accessible from the cottage via kayak, canoe, rowboat or pontoon, and we used ALL of them. We beached on the island when we wanted sandy (also a little pebbly), shallow water and we anchored in the deep (20-25 feet) weed-free water for those who were interested in serious swimming. Fishing in the main lake was also excellent; in just two short outings, Randy caught one 20-inch bass and a couple 16-18 inchers, and there were no bullheads or turtles ! We also rode biked through Island Lake State Park to Kent Lake for additional excellent swimming. Finally, enjoying the star-filled sky from the hot tub was a great way to end the day.

All in all, it was a great place for quiet times and for larger gatherings as well, and we didn't have to go too far from the city and our various friends and relatives. We highly recommend Windows on the Water.

Randy Commissaris and Lydia Muller

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

4th of July Family and Friends Reunion

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at this wonderful lake house!

The house had plenty of space for everyone ( 14 adults and 3 children), very clean and includes everything you may need. Complete kitchen, great sleeping areas and 4 bathrooms. (we also rented the basement apartment)

We really enjoyed the lake and took advantage of the canoes, paddle boat and rented the pontoon boat.The kids also enjoyed the hot tub

Had a great time grilling and watching the fireworks on the 3rd and 4th of July from any of the 3 decks.

Gerald and Dee are amazing hosts. We hope to come back soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Canton, Ohio


  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the Brighton house on the lake. It was all they said it would be. We had lots of room for our 18 family members that were here for a wedding. We made use of all the water craft and outdoor recreation. The home was clean and comfortable. Shower faucets need repair and the outside could be neater. The hosts were next store and graciously supplied all our needs.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Corner of Academy & Grand River
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Many Many
Nearest Train
16 Miles
Ann Arbor
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 23 / 96
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Downtown Brighton
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Mt. Brighton
Car: necessary

Golf: Many many golf courses very close

Ski: Mt Brighton Ski Lodge very close to the house


Rates & Availability

Brighton House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
yearly rate
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
cleaning fee of $100
Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 6.0%

There is a cleaning fee of $ 100.00. Yearly rates do not reflect the up charge for the basement apartment.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Brighton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • River ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom upstairs sink, toilet and shower Bathroom downstairs sink, tub,shower and toilet Bathroom in utility room toilet and shower Bathroom in basement shower toilet and sink.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , SLEEP # BED
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • 3 bedrooms - 2 with King beds, one with Queen, two sofa beds both Queen. With upcharge, finished apartment in the basement sleeps an additional 8 adults. With one full size bed and 3 pull out couches, and one set of bunk beds.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
One 22 ft. Pontoon Boat Available for rental, terms to be discussed.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties