check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Maureen Cain/Brad Barco

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Reasonably Priced Condo with Beautiful Lake Views

9 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 28 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Florida South Central Gulf Coast Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 2 Full Baths, Sleeps 4

This condo is in beautiful, peaceful, visitor-friendly Punta Gorda, FL. It is a 2nd floor unit with stunning lake views from a private lanai. There are 2 lovely bedrooms, 2 full baths, a fully equipped kitchen, a spacious living room/dining room area, Wi-Fi in our unit, and a full-sized washer and dryer. The community heated pool, pier and gazebo overlook the lake. Maximum occupancy is four persons. Minimum stay is 28 days, May and June 2016, $68.00 per night. Off season rates 2016 as low as $63.00 per night. September to November 2016, $70 per night. February, March, and April 2017, $89.00 per night. Rent and $125 maintenance fee taxable at 12%. Security deposit $500. No pets. No smoking. The unit is just 4.5 miles from Charlotte Harbor with its many attractions. Walk or bike the Harbor Walk with its free bike rentals. Visit Historic Downtown Punta Gorda with its Farmer's Markets, many shops, and restaurants. Enjoy 11 acre Gilchrist Park, right on the harbor, with its many amenities including a fishing pier, basketball and tennis courts, playground and picnic areas, jogging/biking/walking/roller blading paths, free concerts, and rest rooms. Fisherman's Village is a must see with its many boutiques and spectacular waterfront restaurants, only 5 miles away. You can also catch boat cruises there. If you are interested in the Arts, visit The Charlotte Performing Arts Center, just 4.5 miles from your condo. For racing fans, enjoy Punta Gorda Speedway Racing, 13.5 miles away, on Piper Road. For the golfing enthusiasts, there are many golf courses to choose from within a short drive. If relaxing is what you have in mind, pull up a chair on the pier or in the gazebo overlooking the lake and take in Florida's beautiful climate. Or, just enjoy your lanai. Come and experience Punta Gorda, Florida's best kept secret. Contact us for a SPECIAL RATE FOR Sept, Oct & Nov. 2016.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Maureen Cain/Brad Barco (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Why Maureen Cain/Brad Barco chose Florida South Central Gulf Coast

We've rented elsewhere in Florida, including Treasure Island, for some years when a friend told us about Punta Gorda and their condominium complex. We visited the area and found so much to see and do yet without the traffic and congestion found elsewhere in Florida. The public is provided with unbelievable opportunities to access the waterfront and its many pleasures and activities including entertainment (Gilchrist Park and Fishermens Villages) at no cost. And everyone is so helpful and friendly. Businesses offer so many specials to provide reasonably priced meals, golfing, cruises, and admission to cultural activities and special events including a great comedy club just 2 miles from the condo (Vicente's). And one of the best features is the quiet and relaxation of the condo itself while being able to access every conceivable type shopping and business within a few miles.

What makes this condo unique

We immediately fell in love with this unit the moment we first walked in. It was a 'WOW!' moment and nothing else we had seen could begin to compare. The beautiful interior conveyed a sense of light, tranquility, and comfort and the lake view was spectacular even from inside. We live directly on the water in Rhode Island and the lanai, overlooking the lake, just added to our sense that we had found a perfect match. Additional note: Every single person who visited with us during our later stay expressed that same 'WOW!' moment.

Reviews

4.9
based on 9 traveler reviews

Reasonably Priced Condo with Beautiful Lake Views
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
5

Highly recommend

  • 5 of 5

We vacationed at this beautiful condo this past January. It is the first time that we have been to this area. What a wonderful find at a reasonable price. We particularly liked the location of this peaceful setting, especially the lanai over looking the lake. The condo is very clean and well equipped, it was well represented and the pictures on the web site were right on. Nice quiet area but so close to everything that you could want to do. We visited Port Charlotte Beach several times which was less than 5 miles , though not a gulf beach it was very nice. Hopefully we can return again in the near future. Brad and Maureen were great to deal with.

Sandy & Bill L.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sandy and Bill, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation in Punta Gorda and for choosing our condo. We also thank you for taking the time to write us a review, it certainly helps when previous tenants share their experiences with us for future renters to read. Hopefully you will be able to return sometime in the near future. Thank you again for choosing us for your recent vacation. Warm regards, Brad and Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Another Great Stay!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second time we have vacationed at this condo during the month of December. Again it is one of the cleanest places that we have ever rented. The condo is fully equipped with everything that you could possibly need. The lanai over looking the lake is just so peaceful just to sit and have a drink or to read a book. We have also enjoyed relaxing at the heated pool just about everyday. Everyone in the complex is so friendly. There is so much to do in the area and everything is so close. One of our favorite spots is Fisherman's Village, which has many shops and restaurants to enjoy on the waterfront less than 10 minutes away. We also enjoyed Visani's comedy club ½ mile from the condo. We can't wait to come back again. The owners are very good and easy to work with.

Jessica M

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jessica, we are so please that you choose to return to our condo again for your vacation. You are correct that it is very peaceful and relaxing especially over looking the lake from the lanai. We also enjoy Fisherman's Village and Visani's comedy club they are both favorites of ours. Maureen and I thank you for taking the time to write us a review and hope you will consider us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Had a great getaway in Punta Gorda,this condo is immaculately kept and supplied with every need! The location is safe,peaceful and beautifully maintained.The owners Brad and Maureen were very attentive and helpful throughout our entire stay! We enjoyed some great seafood restaurants and sunsets,along with musical entertainment as well!We look forward to returning again soon!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anthony and Doris, thank you for taking the time to write us a review it is greatly appreciated and we like to hear the comments from our tenants. We thank you for choosing our condo for your vacation, and we are happy that you had a good time. There are so many things to do in the Punta Gorda area for everyone to take advantage of. One of the reasons we bought where we did is because it is so peaceful and a safe area that's so close to everything. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back in the near future. Warm regards, Brad and Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A clean, comfortable condo at a good value

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in March 2016. It was very clean and nicely set up and worthwhile for the guests that we had visiting us.

The location was a little different than we expected. With the Punta Gorda address we thought we were on the other side of the river. This was our own fault as we did not explore a map to see that we were actually on the Port Charlotte side.

We drove over the bridge almost every day for walks and excursions. We especially liked Fisherman's Village, the farmers market on Sundays, and the music in Gilchrist Park on Tuesday/Thursday evenings. All the people in the complex were very friendly and we enjoyed greeting people who were out walking in the mornings.

We felt a bit isolated at this location. Directly across was basically empty lot, and there was a large amount of undeveloped area in the neighborhood. It was also farther than we expected from golfing opportunities and beaches.

A Couple of improvement notes:

The TV set up was disappointing. We are used to cable or dish TV. The setup had multiple stations, but viewing options were limited, at least compared to our normal habits. Some stations changed depending on the time of day and regular programming wasn’t always available. I would not rent another place that didn't have cable or dish.

The new tile in the living area is beautiful, but fresh carpeting in the bedrooms would be a big improvement. The online photos show lovely furniture, but it was disappointing that it was covered with slipcovers.

This was our first time spending a month someplace, so it was a learning experience. Our preference next time will be in a less isolated area with golf within walking distance and the gulf beaches within a few miles. We also need a place where we can house more than two guests as we have grandchildren.

We enjoyed the warm weather and the condo offered us a clean, comfortable home at a good value. The owner was very hands on and always easy to reach by phone.

Jackie and Phil Goodwin

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jackie and Phil, We are happy that you found the condo clean, comfortable, and a good value and that you enjoyed the wealth of leisure and recreational activities for which Punta Gorda is renowned. Regarding pinpointing the location of a vacation property, if you decide to use HomeAway again, the site provides an overview map on each listing. We're sorry that you felt isolated. Previous guests specifically addressed the advantages of the peace, quiet, and decreased congestion compared to other Florida vacations they had taken and yet such easy access to so many activities. It is most unfortunate that you did not communicate to us about the TV and slipcover situations as soon as you recognized they were a problem for you, particularly, in view of the fact that Brad spoke with you several times. We could have quickly and easily resolved those issues. The slipcovers protect against sunscreen product stains (which are very difficult to remove) but the slipcovers are removable in mere seconds with the sweep of a hand. We’d like to note here that your initial inquiries and later a signed Lease stated there would be only 2 adult occupants. Even though this 2 bedroom 2 bath condo is spacious, had we known that you intended on six or more occupants, we would have expressed our concern. Our goal is to provide a top notch rental experience to guests by being truthful in advertising, easily available by phone, and quickly responsive through several agents ready to assist in the Punta Gorda area. We continually make upgrades and will consider your suggestions in our plans for the future. Thank you for your input. Brad and Maureen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Condo!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We rented Brad's Condo for the month of Feb 2016 and it was awesome. Great view like the picture shows. All the photos were spot on. It was very very clean. Everyone was so friendly. So many things to do within 10 miles of his condo. The owners were great to deal with!! We would love to stay there again!!!!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive review, and we are glad that you had a great time during your vacation. The peaceful setting and how close it was to everything is what drew Maureen and I to Lakes Edge and purchase there. Thanks again and we hope you can come back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this condo for the month of March. The photos accurately represent the condo and its condition. It was very clean! The kitchen had every utensil or cooking implement you would need for your stay.

The complex is peaceful and quiet and is well maintained by the staff. Our friends were very impressed with the quality and appearance of the complex. Nearby is shopping, the cultural center, and the harbor. The cultural center has wonderful concerts at affordable prices.

We enjoyed sitting on the lanai and watching the wildlife around the lake. It was a wonderful break away from the cold snowy north! The owners are very easy to work with and we would recommend this condominium to anyone!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
47 Miles
Fort Myers Airport
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Interstate 75
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Port Charlotte Beach
Car: necessary

Peace River Wildlife Center, Ponce De Leon Park,Octagon Wildlife Sanctuary and Rehabilitation Center, Muscle Car City Museum, Yoga Sanctuary, Military Heritage Museum, Twin Isles Country Club, Punta Gorda Speedway, Alligator Creek Preserve. Historic Railroad Depot Museum.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Punta Gorda Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2016
Jul 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
28 night minimum stay
$63
 
 
Fall 2016
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 30 2016
28 night minimum stay
$70
 
 
Winter 2017
Dec 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
28 night minimum stay
$89
 
 
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay
$87
 

Additional information about rental rates

Maintenance Fee $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%

A signed Lease Agreement is required.
Personal checks accepted. No credit cards, money orders or bank checks.
Payment in US Currency: Any fees for check processing for other than US Currency and Non US Banks will be charged to the tenant.
There is a $50.00 per month allowance for electricity, overage will be deducted from security deposit.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
First payment of 50% of rental,cleaning, and tax is due with a signed Lease Agreement within five days to secure the reservation.
The remainder is due 90 days in advance of check-in. Payments are non-refundable.
Cancellation, early departure, and/or changes that result in a shortened stay do not warrant any refund of previously made paymens unless the Unit can be re-rented for the entire period and at the same price. Travel Insurance may be purchased separately.
The Damage Deposit is due 30 days in advance.
Maximum long term rental is 4 months. A $1000 damage deposit is required for long term rentals.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Florida South Central Gulf Coast Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1044 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , linen closet
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties