check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Judy and Ralph Calderone

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views

23 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Town Hill Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Celebrate the 100th Anniversary of Acadia National Park (1916-2016)! Blue Hill Vista is a Saturday to Saturday rental located in the Bar Harbor village of Town Hill (Indian Point Area) just a 15 minute drive (6 miles) to the main entrance of Acadia National Park in Hulls Cove. Downtown Bar Harbor is just another 5 minutes drive from the Park entrance. A short walk from the property, operating seasonally, is The Island Explorer bus stop which allows car free access to the entire Mount Desert Island, including the National Park. We are centrally located close to all island points of interest and easily accessible to off island points and shopping. You will be in very private, relaxing setting but in minutes you could be in the hubbub of Downtown Bar Harbor, Southwest Harbor or Ellsworth.

The cottage is located on seven acres overlooking pastures, orchards, woods and water. From the deck and west facing rooms you will view breath taking sunsets over Western Bay and Blue Hill. Have your cameras ready! The cottage has two bedrooms, 2 baths, one with a shower in the master bedroom and the second bathroom has a tub/shower combination. The master bed room with the queen size bed has a television, DVD player and views the gazebo and the woods. The second bedroom has a full size bed with a sliding glass door which opens on to the deck and has views of Western Bay and Blue Hill. For your dining and entertaining all dishes, flatware, glasses, bowls, platters, pots and pans, cooking utensils, lobster pot, crock pot, linens, towels are provided for your convenience. The cottage has everything you will need to cook up a great meal. Appliances include an Jenn-Air electric stove, a dishwasher, microwave, toaster, ice maker and a washer and dryer. The dining area has a table with six chairs as well as two high counter chairs. Beach towels and beach chairs are also available for your trips to Sand Beach, Echo Lake or Seal Harbor beaches. The full sofa bed in the living room is perfect for the children in your family. The living room door leads to a deck with a table and chairs with an umbrella for comfortable dining. The front of the cottage has a farmer’s porch furnished with rocking chairs so that you can enjoy the cool breeze coming through the trees.

On the second floor, along with an outstanding view of Western Bay and Blue Hill, you will find a full-size Brunswick billiards table in beautiful wood-paneled cathedral-ceiling family room accented with a standing antique barber pole to give it an old-time flavor. The room comes equipped with television, DVD player, a game/card table,full size futon/couch and a twin bed. In case you brought your computer, high speed wireless internet service is available throughout the house

The outside grounds are beautifully landscaped and there is a bocce court and playground with swings, slide and small climb-up covered club house for family fun.

We supply all linens, firewood, paper and soap products, books, puzzles and games. You simply bring your own food, clothes, bikes and kayaks. Sunsets included, no extra charge! The cottage is comfortable, homey and contains everything necessary to make your stay a very pleasant one. If you’re here when the weather is cool the living area has a wood burning stove. (The first floor also has in-floor radiant heat and the second floor has baseboard hot water heat for winter guests and there is an automatic generator in case of power failure.)

Judy and I have owned this property for over 35 years and retired here in 1998 and we would not live anywhere else. The rental cottage has the best view on the property. We built our home adjacent to the cottage and that's where we live year round. The rental cottage is a complete identity unto itself and you will have complete privacy but if you want help or recommendations about anything in the surrounding area or have any problems with the cottage we are readily available. Otherwise, if we’re home, we will be nearly invisible. Enjoy your stay in our homestead.

Additional pictures are available upon request.

Travel to Bar Harbor by air has a number of options. The closest airport is the Hancock County Airport (Bar Harbor) is in Trenton, Maine a 10 minute drive to our property. Other airports include Bangor (1 hours drive), Portland, ME (3 hour drive) and, Boston (5-6 hour drive). Upon signing of a lease, driving directions will be provided.

Keywords: Vacation house, water view, Mountain view, private, playground, Winter Season rental available

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Judy and Ralph Calderone (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Judy and Ralph Calderone

We are retired educators from New Jersey and we would not consider living anywhere else. We are at our happiest when our 3 grown children, their spouses and our 12 grandchildren visit. Ralph and Judy are active tennis players and are members of the Ellsworth Tennis Center. Ralph has also built a stained glass studio where he creates his art work mostly incorporated into our home and as gifts to our children. Both of us do volunteer work and serve on a local board of directors for developmentally handicapped adults and children.

Why Judy and Ralph Calderone chose Bar Harbor

We were first attracted to Mount Desert Island in 1972 when we visted the island with 3 young children. We loved having Acadia National Park so accessible for all our outdoor activities and entertainment. We especially liked hiking and biking the carriage trails, climbing the many mountain trails, swimming in both Echo Lake and Sand Beach and picking wild blueberries!

What makes this cottage unique

Restaurants are located all over the island. Whether you like casual, rustic, or fine dining , with our advice and direction, I'm sure you'll find many to suit your likes.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for the beautiful house & being such good neighbors. You have a great view and we loved watching the Olympics with a view. Thanks again.



Burlington, VT

Toronto, ON
Aug 2008
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

5
based on 23 traveler reviews

Beautiful Private Cottage & Grounds W/ Water & Mountain Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 27 reviews
Greensboro
5

Mt. Desert Island/Acadia vacation

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our long awaited visit to Acadia NP and Mt. Desert Island. You can get anywhere on the island or mainland easily. If you don't want to leave the house there is plenty to do; play pool, bocce ball, walk the garden and grounds, listen to the birds, look for wildlife, watch beautiful sunsets over the water and behind Blue Hill. Judy and Ralph were the perfect hosts. They answered our many questions whether it was about directions, history or meals. They are there if you need them or nonintrusive. We did not want to leave and will go back if we have the opportunity!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words and comments. Please come back and visit with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Adventure vacation with serene base

  • 5 of 5

We had lots of adventures in Acadia - biking, hiking, beaches, etc. It was wonderful to have Ralph and Judy's cottage as our base camp. The setting is so quiet and the yard, gardens, house are beautiful and well-maintained. The house was perfect for the four of us (two adults, two kids). We played lots of board games, pool, and bocce. We had several take out lobster dinners on the deck while watching the technicolor sunset. Ralph and Judy are very friendly and gave us great tips on what to see and do and eat - you can really tell they love their home and Acadia!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that enjoyed your stay in our guest cottage. I can tell you that there is so much more to see, so please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family traveled to Mount Desert Island and stayed in Judy and Ralph's cottage for a wonderful week. They were great hosts and always available to answer questions and give us insight into the island. The view of the cove is absolutely gorgeous-we saw several stunning sunsets and the breeze off the water kept the house comfortable. We ate several meals on the deck, enjoying the view. The kitchen was well stocked-we had everything we needed to cook full meals and even blueberry pie with handpicked Maine blueberries! We felt safe, relaxed, and comfortable. I would recommend this cottage to any family wanting to stay in a convenient yet quiet rental with amazing views. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed being our guest in our cottage. I'm happy to announce that the sunsets are still spectacular and the weather is still unbeatable! Please come back and see us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Owners could not have been nicer.

  • 5 of 5

They welcomed us and went through some basics. Ralph filled us in on the rules to play Bocce Ball - the court is behind the house overlooking the bay and the entire family enjoyed playing. Judy was available to help with any site seeing questions. The house was clean and a nice size with rooms for all.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed our "corner of paradise" here in Bar Harbor!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautifull Property/Gracious Hosts

  • 5 of 5

We traveled with one other couple and stayed at Ralph and Judy's vacation rental this past week. Words don't describe how exceptional Ralph and Judy are as hosts. They are genuinely warm and gracious, as well as accommodating and helpful if you have questions about the island. Their property is gorgeous, and the home is spacious and well equipped in every way. We began our days having breakfast on the deck where there is a fabulous view of the bay, along with sightings of deer and turkey. Our days were filled with hiking and biking all over the island. Everywhere we turned there were breath taking views and incredible marvels of nature. In the evening we relaxed playing pool on the grand second floor, or played bocce out back. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing place to get away while enjoying all that this beautiful area has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful comments about our cottage. We really enjoyed meeting the 4 of you and were amazed by all that you did and see while you were our guests. It was fun hearing about all the biking, hiking and sightseeing you did not to mention your enjoyment of our selection of fantastic restaurants. If I'm not mistaken you didn't have time for canoeing but there's always next year. I think you missed a few hikes up a few of the mountains here on the island also!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Property/Excellent Value

  • 5 of 5

This was one of the most wonderful vacations my wife and I have experienced. The property is gorgeous overlooking the bay with beautiful sunsets every evening. It is extremely well equipped, maintained and very spacious. Ralph and Judy were terrific hosts providing extensive lists of restaurants and things to do in the area. When visiting Acadia, we would highly recommend considering this property as a top rental pick. Mark and Sonie

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure meeting Mark and Sonie and hope that you chose our cottage in the future. There is so much more to see, hikes to take, restaurants to enjoy and fantastic sunsets from our deck! We are so happy that you also fell in love with Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Bar Harbor Airport, Hancock County, Trenton, ME
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Mainely Meats and Atlantic Brewery
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Kebo Golf Course
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Scenic Railroad, Ellsworth, ME
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Mainely Meats
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Echo Lake, Acadia National Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Town Hill Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Indian Point Conservancy
Nearest Point of Interest
Atlantic Brewery
Nearest Point of Interest
Town Hill Bistro
Nearest Point of Interest
Blue Horizon Conservancy
Nearest Point of Interest
Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound
Nearest Point of Interest
Downeast Lobster Pound
Nearest Point of Interest
Acadia National Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Crooked Road
Nearest Point of Interest
Oceanarium
Nearest Point of Interest
One Stop & Gas Station
Nearest Point of Interest
Echo Lake Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Pretty Marsh Picnic area
Car: recommended

Abby Museums, Acadia National Park, Gilley Museum, Lobster Oceanarium

Photos

Rates & Availability

Town Hill Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall Season
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 22 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning fee $75
Tax Rate 9.0%

The $75.00 cleaning fee is for 3 hours of cleaning. Additional hours, if needed will be deducted from the security deposit. This is a Saturday to Saturday rental.

The first payment which includes 1/2 of the weekly rental fee, the $250.00 security deposit and the Maine State 8% tax is due when the lease is signed. The final payment, 1/2 of the rental fee is made 3 weeks before occupancy. Full payment is required if the lease is signed within 3 weeks of occupancy. Paypal maybe used but the renter must pay the necessary Paypal fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Town Hill Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Located in the master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located near the 2nd bedroom off the kitchen
  • Bath room in the master bedroom has a shower. Second bathroom has a tub/shower combination.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double , 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Portacrib and toddler bed available upon request
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , A full size futon is located in the 2nd floor billard room
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Portacrib and toddler bed are available upon request, a full size futon bed and a twin bed are located in the billard room,
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Bocce Court and equipment, playground, gardens, croquet, picnic table, , beach toys, snowshoes, deck table with umbrella

Partner Offers