Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

V close to Westminster and the River. 3 Double Bed Flat in Zone One with garden

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Double Bed Flat in Zone One with garden

Great Location - Most guests have noted that.

HOT NEWS....BRAND NEW BED MATTRESSES...

It is very central. Door to door – it’s a 3 to 4 minutes walk from the Bakerloo and Northern Lines and 7 mins walk from the Jubilee line at Southwark Tube Station. (An accurate description in terms of times.)

Garden Row is a short road - at the end of the road, there are 24 hour buses into the West End OR you can walk to the Houses of Parliament/Westminster.

At the other end of Garden Row there are 24 hour buses to Shoreditch and the City of London – just across London Bridge.

It is a 1 minute walk(accurate) to the Imperial War Museum and the park around it - I play tennis there and use the Café inside the Museum which is nice.

The Tate Modern and SouthBank is very close and a 10-12 minutes walk. I walk it twice a week.

It's a nicely decorated 3 double bedroom flat in SE1 on two levels just by the South Bank and the River Thames.

The apartment has a separate kitchen with a small table and chairs, a good sized open plan style living room with a table and 6 chairs and a sofa and glass doors leading into the walled garden. It has one shower room and a separate toilet.

The shower works well - not a dribble! - and is a good size. The three bedrooms are of equal size.

The flat has Wifi.

We have nice neighbours on the street and I tell them when I have people staying.

Parking permits for your car are available, if you give me advance warning so you can park outside the flat

All towels and bedding etc is provided and whatever in the food cupboard is yours to use - tea, coffee, all the usual cooking condiments, breakfast cereals and anything else that happens to be there. I hope I'm a good host and hope to be flexible to what you need during your stay. Just ask.

It has a separate kitchen with a small table and chairs, a good sized open plan style living room with a table and 6 chairs and a sofa and glass doors leading into the walled garden. It has one shower room and a separate toilet. The shower works well - not a dribble! - and is a good size. Two of the bedrooms are of equal size and the third is slightly smaller but still a double room with a double bed, desk and wardrobe etc Each bedroom has plenty of hanging clothes space and shelving.

The Tate Modern and South Bank is very close and a 10-12 minutes walk. I walk it twice a week - lots of things to do/see/eat/drink

The flat is in Zone One and inside the Congestion Charge if you have a car.

Parking permits for your car are available, if you can give advance warning, so you can park outside the flat.

More Details

Owner
Bob Parker
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
June 27, 2017

About Bob Parker

I work in factual television as a producer mainly for UK broadcasters BBC, Channel 4 and 5. I've worked on a variety of well known factual/reality shows in the UK.

I'm not bad at tennis either - and of course, I like going to the pub...

Because of work, I'm often away from home so rent my home when I'm away for long periods.

Bob Parker purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Bob Parker chose London

The area has changed and IS changing right now. For example, there's now a cycle superhighway that passes by the flat, which means there are rental Boris Bikes to hire. The shops are changing - there are nice coffee places, minutes from flat, there's a decent supermarket 5 mins walk from the flat. That's apart from the 24 hour shop, 30 seconds walk from the flat! Now there is a gym, one minute walk flat, as well. No excuses to do any exercise.

Amenities

Newington Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Meals:
  • Catering available
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • There are 3 bedrooms of similar size. They all have double beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
I can organize a cleaner as and when you need it.

Reviews

4.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

V close to Westminster and the River. 3 Double Bed Flat in Zone One with garden
average rating of 4.5 based on 2 reviews
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time in this Lambeth flat. Our children loved the garden and we all enjoyed the spacious sunny living room. The flat is in a peaceful neighborhood, and it was easy to have a croissant and coffee at the corner and catch a bus to the library where I was working during my stay. I have to admit that London is both exhilarating and exhausting for me and having a flat to call home makes it ever so much easier to enjoy. We didn't mind Bob's things at all, made us feel like we were at a friend's place...plus it's hard to manage in an empty kitchen. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thanks so much. (We stayed in 2013)

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oslo, Norway
4

Fantastic location

  • 4 of 5

We soon discovered that no better location can be found. We used the tube from Elephant & Castle to anywhere for quick transport, the innumerous buses going everywhere for enjoyable transport, and walking to all the sights along the South Bank and across the river. A walk back home from the Soho proved to be almost disappointingly short. The neighbourhood is not touristic, but seems to be a safe piece of everyday London. Luckily the weather was cold during our stay. Otherwise sitting in the back yard garden, reading interesting books from our host's shelves, in the company of squirrels, might be a major temptation. The flat is practical, all 3 bedrooms were very ok, the kitchen is small but ok, though it would be better if our host removed some stuff he do not really need. We would be happy to use it next time in London, particularly now when we see the flat and neighbourhood as Home.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Heathrow
Nearest Train
0.1 Miles
Tube Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
The Laughing Gravy
Car: not necessary

The apartment is an area close to Waterloo Station, Westminster and the Houses of Parliament and Southbank University. The Imperial War Museum and Park is at the end of the road which is endlessly fascinating (there's also a great cafe in the Museum) and the park is great if you have kids and want a game of tennis/basketball or just want somewhere super close for them to run around safely.

Within 15-18 mins max walking - you could be standing inside the Tate Modern or on the River Thames or next to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament in the opposite direction - a walk I do often and love. There are also - all the theaters and arts facilities of the Southbank which are second to none.

At weekends, there is Borough Market about a 10 mins walk - a huge food market which is great for browsing and people watching. I also like to go to Bermondsey Street and Maltby Street also in SE1 - for Saturday morning shopping and browsing.

In terms of going out for food and drink locally, I walk to The Cut, SE1 and Lower Marsh, SE1. Both about 7 mins walk - and they have a nice selection of affordable bars pubs and restaurants. Lower Marsh during the day is a daily local market - great for basic supplies.

If you want to go to further afield - the transport options near the flat are first class. You are 3 mins walk from the tube station and at the end of the road there are hundreds of buses going everywhere you want to go. I prefer to take the bus - the journeys are short because you're already quite Central and you get to see more.

I walk into the West End/Covent Garden which takes about 25-30 mins over Waterloo Bridge - but any bus in that direction will save your legs, loads to chose from.

Or if you want to go East - to the new cool areas of Shoreditch and Clerkenwell and the City, then a bus straight over Blackfriars Bridge and you are there, the bus stop is one min away. The flat is well positioned to either go East or West or Central.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Newington Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Xmas
Dec 19 2017 - Jan 2 2018
4 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
From
$323
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,682
$5,174
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties