check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Alison & Brian

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Nordic Haus chalet nestled in the serene woods of Ski Brule Village

11 Reviews
Sleeps21
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Upper Peninsula Michigan Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Classic ski chalet, 5 Bedrooms, plus loft, 2 Bathrooms, 2 kitchens, sleeps 21

Beauty and adventure awaits! Treat yourself to Nordic Haus. Nordic Haus combines the friendly charm of a vintage ski chalet and the woodsy freedom of the Yoop. Nordic Haus can comfortably accommodate up to 21 guests. This 5-bedroom Alpine-style chalet is equipped with a hot tub, sauna, two kitchens and two bathrooms. It has comfortable furniture and beds, modern conveniences and classic ski lodge look and feel. This is the essential ingredient in great weekend getaways, lasting memories and family fun time.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Alison & Brian (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Alison & Brian

We're a close-knit family living in the Midwest that really treasures togetherness, making loving memories and healthy, wholesome fun.

Alison & Brian purchased this chalet in 2012

Why Alison & Brian chose Upper Peninsula Michigan

We have a large family and extended family. This property allows multiple families to be close together and really share each other's company. Nobody has to jump in a car or go back to a sterile hotel room in the middle of the evening. Family and friends can hang out as late as they want and retire to their beds a few steps away.

What makes this chalet unique

The surroundings are serene, pure and breathtaking. Ski Brule has one of the earliest starts and latest ends to skiing in the Midwest. And, excellent fishing and hunting are nearby. The town of Iron River can provide golf, restaurants, groceries or antiquing just a few minutes away. This property also boasts a hot tub, sauna, scenic deck and fire pit. It's also great for large groups and multi-family outings. It also has two full kitchens and two bathrooms. Nordic Haus is also just a few 100 yards from one of the county snowmobile trails (#15). So it's ski-in/ski-out, and snowmobile-in/snowmobile-out.

Reviews

4.1
based on 11 traveler reviews

Nordic Haus chalet nestled in the serene woods of Ski Brule Village
average rating of 4.090909 based on 11 reviews
Green Bay, WI
3

Great Value, but in need of improvements

  • 3 of 5

The process of renting this Chalet for a family wedding over the Memorial Day weekend was pretty easy. The owners answered all questions and emails promptly. The property itself was quite large. We did find the property to be a little on the run-down side. The furniture was very old and damaged. The bathrooms were small and not very clean. The carpets throughout the property were stained and very dingy looking. Many of the windows would not open (damaged cranks) or did not have the screen in them. We opened the hot tub on the first night, and it was green with a lot of foam and debris on the top. However, after a few days the discoloration had cleared and it was able to be used.

There is a nice fire pit in the front of the property, with a lot of wood to use. This was nice, but during that use the septic system had overflowed and ran down the hill right were the pit is located. The overflow happened twice during our stay, once in the evening and the following day.

The kitchen was well stocked with utensils/cookware. However the refrigerator on the upper level was very difficult to keep cold.

Not everything was bad. The beds were comfortable (memory foam mattress), and there was a sauna upstairs (did not use). The Wi-Fi and Television(s) worked well. As we said, the chalet is a great value for large groups when you compare against other options in the area. We just feel the property could use some basic updating.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My apologies for your less than stellar experience. We work very hard to provide a clean, comfortable and enjoyable experience for all of our guests. And, as you noted, we respond promptly to the questions and concerns of our guests. We had never had a problem with the septic before. And we have since switched to a more septic-friendly toilet paper to avoid that problem in the future. Nonetheless, we had the septic promptly pumped. And I am confident we will never have that problem again. We bought the chalet 3 years ago, and it has gone through many updates and upgrades. We recently had all of the kitchen cabinets and counters in both kitchens replaced. The three 43" HDTVs are less than a year old. And, we have replaced or upgraded about half of the beds. Every dollar we receive is invested back into the house, and then some. But it takes time to make things nicer and to improve things. We thank you for your patience as Nordic Haus continues to improve. And, we continue to make upgrades to Nordic Haus. For us, this is a labor of love. We share our house with families like yours, so that they can share great memories in the Yoop, like we do. Kindest regards, Brian & Alison
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

Great stay. Large space for group, hot tub worked well and when a door handle broke it was fixed very quickly.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great place to stay if you have a ton on people!

  • 4 of 5

The Nordic Haus is a well located home with some nice perks. There are nice TV's with cable, good wi-fi, comfortable beds, two kitchens, a sauna and a hot tub. We weren't skiing so proximity to the Ski Village was not very important to our group. The home was clean when we arrived and the kitchens (2) were stocked with cooking essentials. The owner is very responsive to requests and concerns about the property and made every effort to insure that we were happy during our week long stay. I would say this home is a good value and a comfortable stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We look forward to hosting you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Dirty and dishonest owners

  • 1 of 5

About a month after our visit I inquired about deposit refund and was informed by the owner that they are withholding most of it to cover cleaning fee. We were accused of "food thrown around the house, food on the walls and food on the furniture. Both ovens were left a mess. And the hot tub was a mess". We didn't use downstairs kitchen so how the oven was a mess? In the upstairs kitchen all we did in the oven were baked potatoes so I am not sure how we could do anything to it. Hot tub had dirty foamy water so we barely used it. I know kids are messy but our kids eat by the table and are not allowed to run around with food. Not at home and not at someone else's house. I tried to contact the owners several time requesting some more information about theirs accusations but no one contacted me back.

Speaking of clean house, first thing we did after arrival was cleaning it. Whoever is cleaning the house doesn't do a good job. It looked like all was done to the house is vacuum in the center of the rooms. Bathrooms were dirty and discussing. There was food and dirt under the armchairs and a couch. We come with kids and we didn't want them to get sick that is why we cleaned it yourself. Additionally only four sets of towels were provided for six adults and five kids and we had to ask for more. One bedroom didn't have sheets for three days until someone bring it but didn't bother to put it on the bed.

I am not sure if the owners were trying to make an extra money or whoever is cleaning the house needs extra cash but it's not worth the hassle. I am a very clean person and it was really upsetting experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: There's one in every crowd. :-) I trust most people will understand that withholding a portion of someone's security deposit is not something we do because we want to make extra money. It's something we have to do to offset additional costs. When our housekeeper arrived, there was food on the walls. There was food in the hot tub (We, of course, had to perform a full drain, clean and refill which is no easy task in winter). There was food on the carpet. There was food on the furniture. And there was a mess in both of the ovens. I can't speak to how she did or didn't know about these things. Maybe she left before all of the other guests did? It seems peculiar that she didn't complain about any of these things during her stay, or even after her stay. It was only after she was notified that she was going to be charged for the cost of excessive cleaning that she began complaining about things. And, now, she's filed a bad review nearly 10 months after she stayed. In our over 3 years of rental ownership, we've only had to withhold a portion of a security deposit twice. Most guests are respectful of our home, and return again and again. We are committed to providing guests a clean, safe and comfortable place to stay. We only charged this guest a portion of the $300 security deposit in order to recover our actual additional cleaning costs. And this was, by far, the worst condition the chalet was ever left in. 99% of our guests receive a 100% full refund of their security deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2
4

Nordic Haus

  • 4 of 5

We had a great weekend! The home is so close to Ski Brule which is great! We brought up our snowmobile and the trails were easily accessible as well. We loved having plenty of room for our group to all stay in one home. We loved having a hot tub for relaxation after skiing all day.

The home does need some updates, especially in the kitchen and bathroom. A dishwasher would be a bonus! ;) The shower does not have a lot of water pressure and the toilet clogged up easily. Some of the mattresses were newer in two of the bedrooms, but some were not comfortable at all.

We have been staying in this home for many many years. But I think next year we may seek other options unless updates are done.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Carolee. We're glad you had a great time. Yes, we've replaced 3 beds in the last year (we upgraded a double bed to a king-sized, timber-frame, memory foam bed, and we upgraded a double bed to a queen-sized memory foam, and we replaced the mattress on the loft bed). And we'll continue to upgrade the beds and furniture as quickly as we're able to. Last year we also bought new silverware, new pots and pans, a large new griddle, two new microwaves, new linens, new towels and new grills. We replaced both exterior doors. We had the deck and hot tub re-stained and rebuilt the garbage bins to hold 4 cans now. If you choose to go elsewhere, we wish you the best of fortune in your other accommodations. We bought the chalet about 2 years ago. If you've stayed here for many, many years, I'm puzzled by the sudden dissatisfaction despite the many, many upgrades. We never had a dishwasher. The toilets are the same. And the water pressure is the same as it's always been. Kindest regards, Brian
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome atmosphere!

  • 5 of 5

Nordic Haus was everything we expected and more. Plenty of space for family activities and lots of privacy as well. Accommodations were cozy and we all enjoyed the games inside the trunk. Lots of things to see and do in the area as well. This area is great in the summer but seems most come in the winter for the snow activities. My hope is that others will consider it for summer months and get outside and hike the area! Wonderful time and we hope to be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Heidi. We look forwarding to hosting you and your family again.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Stambaugh, MI
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Ski Brule Saloon
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
George Young golf course and indoor pool
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
MI-189
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Ski Brule Lodge
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Ski Brule
Nearest Beach
38 Miles
Eagle River, WI
Car: necessary

Nestled in the peaceful woods of Ski Brule. Easy walk, ski, snowmobiling or drive to Ski Brule or the Brule River.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Iron River Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Early Ski Season
Nov 10 2016 - Dec 12 2016
3 night minimum stay
$160
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Ski Season 2015
Dec 13 2016 - Jan 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
From
$450
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Regular Ski Season
Jan 5 2017 - Apr 12 2017
3 night minimum stay
$225
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$700
$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 6.0%

A charge of $15/person/night applies to each 13th-21st person. A $300 security deposit is required for the first stay (drops to $0 thereafter). Cancelling 30 days or more prior to arrival has a $100 handling fee. No refunds if cancelled within 30 days of scheduled arrival. No refunds for partial stays, late arrival, or due to unforeseen circumstances. No-shows forfeit 100% of rental deposit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Upper Peninsula Michigan Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2053 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski in/Ski out ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bathrooms, each has a shower stall, no tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 21
  • 5 total bedrooms. 1 Bedroom with 2 full-sized beds and 1 twin-sized bed on the third level. 1 loft area with a full-sized bed on the third level. 2 Bedrooms, 1 with a queen-sized bed and 1 with a full-sized bed on the second level. 2 Bedrooms, each with 1 full-sized bed on the first level. 1 fold-out couch on the second level. 2 fold-out couches on the first level.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountaineering
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
Notes:
Shuttle service to/from Ski Brule lifts (or Ski Lodge). Just call 800-Do-Brule. Ski Brule has childcare and ski/snowboard lessons as well.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers