check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Francesca Goldsworthy

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

Charming Apartment in Nottinghill Gate

56 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kensington & Chelsea Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

A lovely apartment based in Notting Hill Gate, only 3 minutes walk to Notting Hill tube, Kensington Palace and Gardens.

Close by is an excellent variety of pubs, cafes, bars and restaurants on Notting Hill Gate and Portobello Road, where the famous market takes place every weekend.

A walk across the park will take you to the Victoria & Albert and British Science Museums and the Royal Albert Hall.

A number of supermarkets are also close by, and Oxford Street and Westfield Shopping centre are a 5 minute bus ride away.

High Street Kensington and Holland Park are also walking distance.

Excellent transport links are walking distance away, including Notting Hill Gate, Queensway and Bayswater tube stations, and several bus routes.

Paddington rail station is a 5 minute drive away.

A comfortable home from home ideal for exploring the sights of London!

Available for rent all year round.

Keywords: 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, apartment

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Francesca Goldsworthy (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english

About Francesca Goldsworthy

We are artists with two small children, who hope you will enjoy our home as much as we do!

Francesca Goldsworthy purchased this apartment in 2001

Why Francesca Goldsworthy chose Kensington & Chelsea

We have always loved Notting Hill because of the wide open spaces of the Royal Parks combined with vibrant and eclectic mix of designer boutiques and market stalls of Portobello, and the variety of places to eat and drink which makes it a unique part of London.

What makes this apartment unique

This is a great place to stay where you will be able to experience every aspect of London!

Reviews

4.9
based on 56 traveler reviews

Charming Apartment in Nottinghill Gate
average rating of 4.892857 based on 56 reviews
Redmond, WA
5

My favorite flat in London

  • 5 of 5

I travel to London every year on business and stayed in this flat last fall with a business colleague. We were so impressed with the place that I said "If I ever bring my family to London, we're going to stay here". Fast forward 6 months and we just finished a family trip to London and Paris, with a week at this flat with 3 adults and 3 teens. It was perfect. Plenty of space for the entire family and exceptionally clean and comfortable. Everyone loved the Notting Hill Gate neighborhood with all the restaurants, shops, and easy access to the Tube and Hyde Park. Christos and Francesca were excellent hosts yet again, making everything about this trip a fabulous experience. Can't wait to return to London - and to this flat. My home away from home.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canada
4

Excellent location and size

  • 4 of 5

We spent 11 nights in the flat, 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The location is excellent, close to many restaurants and minutes from Notting Hill Tube. The flat is very close to Kensington Gardens which is a lovely place to walk or jog. We ate in many local restaurants, one favourite for breakfast or lunch was Cafe Diana and the Champion pub on the corner is well worth the visit. There are three mini supermarkets within walking distance, all more or less selling the same items and prices are very comparable. Our favourite was M&S. The washing machine does take a long time - allow 3 hours for a wash. The dryer isn't vented so does not dry your clothes completely, but just enough for you to then hang them on the clothes drying rack. There is an abundance of hot water. The ensuite off the master bedroom is small and could do with more hooks or hanging rails for towels - we ended up using the clothes drying rack for ours. The kitchen is well supplied, the only items that really need updating are glassware. There was no washing machine detergent or paper towels so be prepared to purchase these and we also ran out of toilet paper, the supply was not long enough to last 11 nights. The only other slight inconvenience was the owner was not there for our arrival and we did not have access to the flat and had to wait on the street with our suitcases. Luckily it was a nice sunny day and once we called the owner he was there in 10 minutes. We would highly recommend the flat, it is a great size for 4 people. I am from London and have lived in Notting Hill, this did not disappoint.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our flat in Notting Hill Gate – we are so pleased you and your family had such a good time! We are sorry there was no one at the flat to greet you when you first arrived however. This was simply because you arrived slightly earlier than the previously agreed early check-in time of 1pm, and it was actually just luck that we happened to be home when you contacted us. We know only too well that journey times are impossible to predict, and that the last thing our guests want after a long flight is to stand around in the street waiting - we always do our very best to accommodate awkward flight times and any unexpected changes to journeys so that we can be there when they arrive. We are also sorry that the washing machine took so very long to do its job! It is in fact brand new but it does have a wide range of settings which may include particularly long cycles. We are very grateful for your feedback and should you choose to book with us again we will do our best to avoid you having to encounter these issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming property in great location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week at this flat. The location could not be more ideal. Just a block or so from the Notting Hill Gate tube stop, and lots of shops, restaurants, and pubs around. So convenient. Two of our favorite attractions close to the flat were Kensington Gardens and Portobello Market. It was wonderful to be able to walk to those.

Francesca and Christos are very responsive. Francesca returned all my emails promptly which made me feel very comfortable about renting the flat. And when we had a little issue with the handheld shower in one of the baths, Christos was there within the hour.

One note about the location: it's a basement flat and the staircase is steep and a bit curved. It wasn't a problem for our group, but might be for older travelers. I will say that despite it being a basement flat, it was very bright and airy. We loved the high ceilings and never felt like we were in a basement.

Everything was very clean (super important to me). The small kitchen was perfect for stocking up on drinks, snacks, and breakfast foods. We loved having a washer and dryer and did use it a couple of times during the week. The bathrooms were beautiful. Loved the artwork and many books in the flat. Made it feel very homey.

Just a couple of small points: the water in the back shower didn't get especially hot. It wasn't cold by any means but it didn't get hot either. Also, the wifi signal didn't reach to the back bedroom. Neither of these were huge deals and wouldn't keep us from booking this flat again. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great home away from home in London

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in this cute basement apartment with our 20yo daughter. It was the perfect spot for being a London tourist. The apartment is roomy and has lots of natural light. The walls are covered with art giving it some personal charm. It has the feel of home as opposed to a sterile vacation rental. The location is perfect. It is on a quiet street and is near The Underground, shops, restaurants and fun neighbourhoods to explore. Francesca was easy to reach and very helpful. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Gold Coast, Queensland
5

Great comfortable apartment for a family, especially with teenagers!

  • 5 of 5

Christos and Francesca were very accommodating from our initial contact. And whilst I would not recommend a late arrival they continued to accommodate us. Fabulously situated in a quiet street with a bus stop at the end of the street and Notting Hill tube 2-3 minutes walk away. Supermarkets including an M & S food hall and Tesco 5 minutes away, excellent transport links with Central/ District & Circle lines all available at Notting Hill - at the end of zone 1.

Two bathrooms, an utter luxury with excellent showers, comfy beds and as warm or cool as you like it. Free wifi as described which worked well apart from

in the main bedroom. Yes as per prior reports the tube can be heard in the distance, though we found it to be a gentle way to be woken though not at all

Intrusive. Something was broken on arrival and immediately replaced.

Yes the programmes on the washing machine take time but that is usual for most front loaders in the UK so plan ahead with your washing timings!

The stairs down to this basement flat are steep but ok for all able bodied, those with any physical disabilities may struggle.

Would I stay again? Yes!

Would I recommend it to friends? Yes! Should I stay there? Yes - you will not be disappointed and we found the whole experience seamless from start to finish. Thank you Christos and Francesca!!

  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Morgan Hill, CA
5

Perfect! Everything was just amazing.

  • 5 of 5

Great location, as advertised. Quick walks to subway, Big Bus stop, Starbucks, groceries, restaurants, pubs, Kensington Gardens. Flat was actually larger than I expected. Quiet, clean, charming! Modern, spacious bathrooms. Tons of closet space in both bedrooms. Comfy beds and plenty of main sitting room space. Loved that there are extra chairs scattered about, and lots of mirrors. Even with all our electronic devices - phones, laptops, tablets, Kindles - we had plenty of outlets. Just got home a couple days ago and already want to go back! Would stay here again FOR SURE. Thanks, Francesca! :)

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notting Hill Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 5 2017
4 night minimum stay
$523
$2,748
$7,852
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $65 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$432
$2,107
$7,852
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $65 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $262

We also accept electronic bank transfers ,paypal in sterling (GBP)
An additional £50 per night will be charged for a 5th guest over 2years
If the price for 5 days is more than the weekly rate we will charge the weekly rate .
In this occasion please ask for a quote.
Any cancelation eight weeks before arrival are fully refundable minus transfer charges.
Also full refund minus charges at any time if we fill the gap.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kensington & Chelsea Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1030 sq. ft.
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) can be linked to make a king size bed, Child Beds (1) travel cot , Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers