check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Property Manager

Member since: 2005
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Plaza View Stay Downtown Arcata 2 Bd/2 Ba Vacation Rental Overlooks Arcata Plaza

3 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Pacific Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

NOTE: SINGLE NIGHTS MAY BE BOOKED IN SOME SITUATIONS BUT ARE SUBJECT TO MANAGER'S DISCRETION We handle our own bookings and charges to save you money. This property is EXCELLENCE rated by Tripadvisor.

PLAZA VIEW STAY 2 bedroom/2 bath upscale vacation rental which can accommodate 6 guests, is part of ARCATA STAY LODGING NETWORK OF EXCEPTIONAL ACCOMMODATIONS. The 2nd story apartment actually overlooks Arcata's downtown Plaza square, and is 8 blocks walk to Humboldt State University. Enjoy events from Plaza View's balcony or stroll to boutiques, eateries, nightlife venues, movies, the Marsh Wildlife Sanctuary, Redwood Park Trails, and HSU campus.

PLAZA VIEW STAY is a bright and cheerful space with high ceilings and skylights, appointed with exquisite accessories, antiques, and art gleaned from around the world. The master bedroom has a queen bed, side tables with reading lamps, walk-in closet, and an attached bath with tub and shower combination. The 2nd bedroom has 2 twin beds, two walk-in closets, and an attached bath with a stall shower. The kitchen is fully equipped and is adjacent to a dining area with a large farmhouse table which can seat 6 guests.

Separating the 2 bedrooms and baths is the living room with an antique entertainment armoire, gas fireplace, and a comfy sofa that can convert into a bed which can accommodate 2 additional guests. A door in the living room opens onto a balcony which overlooks the Plaza, the best people watching place downtown. Enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of fine Humboldt wine sitting on the balcony.

Keywords: Arcata Stay vacation rental, 2 bedroom apartment, near redwoods, on Arcata Plaza, 8 blocks from Humboldt State University

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Property Manager
Member since: 2005
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About The Owner

I have had a love affair with Arcata since I moved here nearly 40 years ago to attend Humboldt State University. I graduated and could not leave this special place; our progressive kinda quirky little university town is like none other. I own and operate Arcata Stay Lodging network, created in 2004, and manage Plaza View Stay for my owner partner, an Arcata resident and our former Mayor.

Why The Owner chose Arcata

The abundance of natural beauty just minutes away in any direction is phenomenal: the tallest most majestic redwood trees in the world, miles of unspoiled rugged coastline, sand dunes, lagoons, six beautiful rivers, ever changing Humboldt Bay, and Wildlife Refuges, to name a few. The redwood coast offers diverse recreational opportunities which attract visitors from around the world. I have hosted a good number of those visitors and guided them to the unique features of our area. I have developed friendships with guests who return again and again to visit their HSU students or family living in the area, attend our many festivals and events, conduct business, or come back to a getaway that they love. It is the perfect base from which to make day trips to the natural wonders of our region, and return at the end of the day to a lovely space with all the comforts of home.

What makes this apartment unique

Arts, culture, music, theater, shopping, food and drink, being 'green' before it was groovy, a lively downtown Plaza, Humboldt State University, architecture, history, and a friendly embracing community make Arcata a destination not to be missed.

Guestbook comments from the manager

5 of 5 stars

Reviewed August 13, 2014



I stayed at Plaza View 2 bdrm with my husband and two teen girls. It was impeccably stocked and furnished. We had plenty of room and loved people watching from the balcony. We had beautiful weather, and left the windows open at night, which was a little noisy with the people below but we were provided with earplugs which helped tremendously. We walked all over town and to HSU for the tour. The Farmer's market, Fern Canyon, Trinidad, Arcata Community forest and all the gorgeous beaches were fabulous. Renata's Creperie was unbelievable. We hope our oldest daughter choses HSU so we can stay here several times a year! We feel so lucky to have stumbled upon this wonderful getaway. Thank you Christy and your amazing staff. We will be back.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 8

Reviews

4
based on 3 traveler reviews

Plaza View Stay Downtown Arcata 2 Bd/2 Ba Vacation Rental Overlooks Arcata Plaza
average rating of 4.0 based on 11 reviews
New Providence NJ
5

The place to be in Arcata!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, 14 yr son and I stayed here for a week for spring break. I noticed that a previous review complained about the noise. Here's the thing. We debated between a remote and quiet rental with an ocean or mountain view, or a place right where the action is, walkable to all of Arcata. We chose the latter. No Regrets! I don't think it is fair to review a place poorly based on the fact that it is in the middle of the exciting Arcata Plaza. If you want a quiet secluded place, then no, this isn't it. However if you want an spotlessly clean, comfortable, fully equipped apt with a fantastic view of the plaza, look no further. We will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your thoughtful (and 5 star) review of Arcata Stay's Plaza View Stay vacation rental, and your keen understanding that the downtown district activity does make for a greater noise level than a quiet residential neighborhood. Your point is well taken that being right on the Plaza steps away from shops, eateries, galleries, theaters, night life venues, and activity on the downtown square, is definitely where the action is in Arcata. Arcata Stay on-line information does address the fact that the Plaza is a noisier location than those off of the plaza, but the trade off is being close to the commercial district. We are pleased that you believe that you will definitely return to stay with us again. Happy summer....Christy for Arcata Stay Lodging Network
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oakland, CA
5

Beautifully furnished accommodation in the center of Arcata

  • 5 of 5

4 members of my family recently stayed at the Plaza View rental and we were very pleased with our experience. The apartment is beautifully and tastefully furnished, with comfortable beds and furnishings, and wonderful local artwork everywhere. Everything you could need is included, right down to bathrobes, and a complete picnic basket.

With it's location right over the plaza, there is always the concern over noise issues. The owners have done their best, with double paned windows, white noise machines by the bed, and even ear plugs. However, on our stay none of this was needed. Even though we were there on a weekend, and the plaza was busy on Sat. night, the noise was never at a level that we noticed. I would say that if you were there on a big college weekend, say opening weekend or Homecoming, I think you might have some issues. The owners do have 2 other smaller properties there that don't overlook the Plaza that might suit you better if you are a light sleeper. However, in our case, we actually loved looking over the plaza from our balcony, and being so ideally located for walking to restaurants and shops.

The apartment exceeded our expectations- even our local Arcata daughter was very impressed. The price was also excellent, especially compared to having to book 2 hotel rooms instead. We look forward to returning to this location again someday.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
NB Canada
2

Sleepless in Arcata

  • 2 of 5

Located overlooking the local town square, this renovated building has several units. Very well decorated, it has a tiny closet kitchen, behind bifold doors. A wonderfully distressed kitchen table, charming artwork, fast WiFi and coordinated furniture make it warm and inviting. There are two modest BRs - each with a  well appointed bath. The small central LR is cozy with a cast iron Jotel gas stove which serves as the heat source for the entire apartment. Surprisingly, in early March, this worked well with the down quilts that kept us toasty warm.

The adjacent Plaza features night clubs, restaurants, fast-food joints and an endless supply of scalliwags whose antics during daylight are entertaining. At night, not so much. 

The ear-plugs supplied were a nice gesture but futile.  Noisy. Very noisy. 

If you want any sleep avoid this prettily furnished, charming, high-priced downtown location. On the other hand, if you are inured to street noise, it's cozy, comfortable and well located near food, drink and small-town night life.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Arcata Stay Guest, Thanks for taking the time to submit your very thoughtful review to VRBO.com. I always appreciate feedback from our guests and you took great care to describe Plaza View Stay. The interior of the vacation rental is something that we can control, and we do our best to provide our guests a pleasant home away from home. What occurs outside of the apartment is something that we cannot control. Arcata is a University town which had classes in session during early March. You booked lodging on Arcata Plaza, where most town activity occurs around our downtown square, so yes, the noise level is greater than in other locations. That being said, the vacation rentals on the Plaza in the Stillman building still consistently book and of Arcata Stay's over 140 5-star reviews on line at the top travel review website, many of them are for the Plaza vacation rentals. If a future trip brings you back to Arcata, I would be happy to have a conversation with you to discuss other lodging options in our Network that are in very quiet locations. All the best......Christy Laird, Manager for ARCATA STAY
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Arcata/Eureka Airport in McKinleyville
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Mad River Beach
Car: recommended

Arcata is located just 7 miles north of Eureka and less than 40 minutes drive to both southern and northern State and National Redwood Parks, home to the tallest trees in the world. Enjoy majestic redwood groves, miles of pristine coastline, Humboldt Bay, a famous wildlife refuge, and a lively town square in arty, progressive Arcata, which is also home to Humboldt State University.

Between scenic Humboldt Bay and forested hills, our town is a popular destination for visitors to the redwoods and is the ideal 'home base' from which to take recreational day trips or attend events on the Arcata Plaza, including the Kinetic Sculpture Race, Oyster Festival, Pastels On The Plaza, North Country Fair, Arts Alive, and Saturday Farmers Market.

Within a 15-30 minute drive from Arcata, visit Old Town Eureka's Victorian Heritage District, the Victorian Village of

Ferndale, or the quaint fishing village of Trinidad, Trinidad Head, beaches, and Patrick's Point State Park.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pacific Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$199
$1,183
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Tax Rate 12.0%

Per Night Rate (4 Guest Occupancy):

1-3 Nights – $199.00
4-6 Nights – $184.00
7 or more – $169.00
Per Week – $1183.00



◾6 guest maximum
◾A two night minimum is required on weekends
◾No smoking allowed
◾Sofa Bed: Additional guests $15.00/person/night
◾Pets may be accommodated with prior approval
◾Pet fee is a minimum of $25.00
◾Nightly rates are subject to 12% city tax

PAYMENT: Cash, check, credit card: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Rates and Policies:
Per Night Rate (4 Guest Occupancy):
1-3 Nights – $199.00
4-6 Nights – $184.00
7 or more – $169.00
Per Week – $1183.00
6 guest maximum. Additional guest $15.00/person/night
City tax: 12%
No smoking allowed
Pets accepted upon approval. Pet fee: $25.00

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pacific Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Each bedroom has its bath ensuite, tub/shower combination in master, stall shower in second bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofa in living room converts into an additional double bed
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hair dryer, spa robes, dream machine, iron, ironing board, menu book, tourism information

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties