Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful home with hot tub in native rainforest

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

Gorgeous 3BR 2.5bA Sleeps 8 With Hot Tub Next To Volcanoes National Park

Picture yourself awakening to the songs of exotic birds and the comforting sounds of the rain forest. Feel the silken smoothness of hand-crafted exotic hardwood furniture under your fingertips. Imagine luxuriating in a huge hot tube surrounded by giant, primeval tree ferns, after a day hike in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

This is the Hale ‘Apapne experience. We invite you to join us in this beautiful, newly built home that will make your stay in Volcano enjoyable and comfortable.

LIVING AREA

A spacious living area with soaring cathedral ceilings, custom furniture, polished hardwood floors and natural ohia posts. All warmed up with a gas heater for our cool Volcano mornings. TV, DVD player and Bluetooth enabled stereo speakers in sitting area for entertainment.

KITCHEN

Open kitchen area that is great for entertaining while you are cooking. Full electric stove. Full refrigerator. Includes dishwasher for easy cleanup. All the pots & pans that you need are available. Washer and dryer room off the kitchen.

BEDROOMS & BATHS

Three bedrooms featuring high thread count sheets and thick comforters with locally themed print covers, artwork by local artist and windows overlooking the rainforest.

Master Suite: King-sized bed with en suite full bathroom with jacuzzi tub, his and her sinks and walk-in closet.

Bedroom one: Two full-sized beds w/shared full bathroom.

Bedroom two: Queen-sized bed w/shared full bathroom.

Downstairs toilet and sink.

All bathrooms have towels and hair dryers.

OUTDOORS

There are two large lanais (covered decks) that you can enjoy the beautiful outdoors - even when it's raining. There is a gas grill for barbecues, a four-person hot tube surrounded by native trees and tree ferns, and a large covered carport with high roof and basketball court, and swing in the yard.

TAT#: W32963412

More Details

Owner
Adam Jacobstein
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

About Adam Jacobstein

I live in San Francisco, California, and love to visit the Big Island when I can. This home was built by my brother, also the manager of the property for his family in 2007.

Adam Jacobstein purchased this house in 2007

Why Adam Jacobstein chose Volcano

Hale Apapane was built by Adam Jacobstein, the owner's brother, and was his family's home for 6 years before they moved off of Hawaii Island. It has been very carefully designed to take advantage of the surrounding landscape, with large windows, and enough room for a big group to feel together in the open living space, but still have separate areas upstairs. The furniture is all high quality and it was decorated with a purpose in mind.

What makes this house unique

The house is large and open inside. It has special artwork from local artists and photographers. It hace hot tub, a swing in the yard, and a large covered carport for playing basketball or hanging out.

Amenities

Mauna Loa Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • A portable crib is provided in the master closet. The master bedroom also has a folding futon in the closet. A second folding futon is available by request.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • forests
  • rain forests
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(49 traveler reviews)

Beautiful home with hot tub in native rainforest
average rating of 4.5306125 based on 49 reviews
Honolulu, HI
5

Lovely, clean, spacious

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for a great experience. Lovely property. We had a wonderful weekend.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed yourselves! I hope you'll come back sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just glorious!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Impeccable, practical, and gorgeous. This place is amazing in every way. Thanks so much for everything!

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Federal Way
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our stay here, very to close to all the sights in Volcano's National Park! The home was just lovely inside and out! We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Jane! I hope you will return sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

House showing its age; and hot water does not work.

  • 2 of 5

Location ok.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Despite of the massive upkeep involved with having a home in a high elevation tropical rainforest, we pride our selves on the good condition of our house. Some people just can't be satisfied. There may have been a problem with the hot water heater, although we didn't hear about it from this guest, and we always respond to problems quickly. Please check out the numberous other reviews we have.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful home

  • 3 of 5

This home is perfectly located if you are spending your days in the National Park.

The house was great for our family. We recommend doing your grocery shopping in Hilo.

Cons: First two days we had no water pressure or hot water in the showers.

Masterbath sinks don't drain well .

House is very cold so you have to light the fireplace or use space heaters .

The pots and skillets were in bad shape. We had to cook most of our meals so having a good set of pans was important for us.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Volcano does get chilly, especially in the winter, but we do have a fireplace and heaters, and our house is much better insulated than most in Volcano. We appreciate the feedback about the roots and pans, we'll buy a complete new set. The hot water problem was a bent part on our water heater, which has been fixed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy home near volcano

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful home! It's very close to nature yet has all the modern equipments, and the house itself is decorated very nicely. It's also just a 10-min drive to the volcano national park, which is very convenient. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Volcano Village
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
HIghway 11
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Volcano Village
Nearest Beach
25 Miles
Hilo
Car: recommended

We are located one mile from Volcanoes National Park and . 5 miles from charming Volcano Village. Restaurants, art galleries, and a farmer's market are all nearby.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mauna Loa Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$190
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90
Tax Rate 13.14%

Additional $20 per person per day over 2 people.
Minimum number of guests price may apply at certain peak periods

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties