check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Montgomery Center Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

3 bed sleeps 10, walking distance to stores & restaurants, has wifi, wood stove

Comfy red-roofed 2-story colonial set on the Trout River in the middle of a quintessential Vermont village. The house sleeps 8-12 with room for a few more dinner guests. It’s simply decorated, quiet and comfortable. There’s a full kitchen with dishwasher, pots, pans, spices and everything you’ll need, a wood stove in the living room, sectional sofa that seats 10. For entertainment there’s high-speed wifi, cable TV, 46” LCD Flat screen, Nintendo Wii, a fax/scanner/printer, and stereo system with Ipod plug.

The best thing about this place is the location smack dab in center of Montgomery Center,.This is the only option while visiting Jay Peak where you can walk out your door (day or night) and have a supermarket, liquor store, 3 restaurants, 2 bars, a post office, ski & bike shop, video rental store, pizza shop and gas station. It’s an 8 mile, 15 minute straight shot to the ski lifts in the morning. It’s an extremely convenient, fun location and a great, comfortable home.

We keep the listing calendar extremely up-to-date, so if the calendar says the house is available, it almost definitely is. So feel free to use the book-now feature on homeaway.

More Details
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Dan Sweeny
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 12, 2016
Call Owner

About Dan Sweeny

Boston area real estate agent

Dan Sweeny purchased this farmhouse in 2005

Why Dan Sweeny chose Montgomery

I chose this property because I wanted a ski house mins from Jay Peak that was also walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and fun in Montgomery Center.

What makes this farmhouse unique

Stumbling distance from the Snowshoe lodge and Pub (Located just across the river)


based on 11 traveler reviews

Jay Peak ski house mins to the mountain in quaint Vermont village
average rating of 4.090909 based on 11 reviews

Cozy comfortable home with charactter

  • 4 of 5

Comfortable well appointed house right in town for supplies and restaurants. Lots of room for the group to relax. Close to Jay Peak.

Only issue we could find is you need some over mitts & maybe a juice container.

Good value for a group.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Location, Nice place to stay

  • 4 of 5

We stayed there for 2 days and 2 nights. We really like the living-room area with the chimney!

The owner was very helpful and provides all the infos that we needed.

The first night was a bit cold, some extra blankets upstairs would have been nice :)

Definetely a good place to stay if you want to enjoy Jay Peak slopes.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location, Great Value

  • 4 of 5

This was our first visit up to Jay Mountain for some family skiing. Nothing beats ski-on/ski-off but this is a great second option that is a whole lot more reasonable for a big crew. We had 9 in all and this house worked out great. The beds are all comfortable, the house was clean and with Wifi, Apple TV and a big sectional, the kids were more than content after a day on the slopes. The house is only 10 minutes to Jay and is in a great location. There is a small market and a couple of restaurants within walking distance. The one bathroom can be a little challenging with a big crew but it really wasn't a problem for us and if you go to the water park, everyone can shower at the same time there. The Inn is a cool spot near the house to grab a drink . We didn't eat there but I hear the food is pretty good. We did have dinner at the Bellfry down the road and I would highly recommend this place, cozy atmosphere and the food was terrific! I would definitely rent this house again when we come back to Jay sometime.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Peter. Please come back soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Ski House!

  • 4 of 5

This house is your quintessential ski house that can sleep 9 or so people comfortably. After a long day on the slopes, you can come back and cook up a nice meal in the fully equipped large kitchen, play a few games, watch a movie or surf the internet. When your group is ready, walk a few steps to the Snowshoe lodge next door for a few beers with no need to get into a car. The grocery store is also a few steps away. Very convenient, and truthfully, one of the best reasons we chose to rent here for a long weekend. Not having to get into the car after getting back from the slopes. One bathroom is a bit of a bottleneck with large groups, but we hardly had a problem taking turns. The colder bedrooms didn't bother anyone in our group either. Plenty of blankets and comforters to cuddle up to at night. We had a great stay and would stay again in the future.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much!! Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wouldn't Stay Anywhere Else

  • 5 of 5

House was very neat and well-organized when we arrived. A lot of open space and room to get comfortable. After about a half hour you feel as if you're in your own home. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for more than the usual hotel room experience. There really is no substitute.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much! We really appreciate the kind words, and are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to return anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

The property is conveniently located to the village and Jay Peak access road. The home has a lot of potential for a family or small group and the owners are polite and very responsive. That is why i allow myself to give it one star.

Unfortunately, upon arrival we found the home to be dirty and inadequately maintained, delivered below minimally acceptable standards of cleanliness for a vacation home. We are a family of four (kids age 9 and 10) with basic expectations of cleanliness (not Four Seasons expectations) when we travel, whether renting a home or staying in a hotel. This home was not rental-ready. I first attributed the situation to perhaps a breakdown associated with local cleaning service. But surprisingly, the owners actually acknowledged the property's imperfect cleanliness when i complained. They didn't find it overly dirty, saying that they "don't treat the house as a primary residence, it is more of a ski house. " It really would have been nice to know this before I rented the property.

My family encountered the following:

* linens not clean

* kitchen/bathroom floors dirty, shower not scrubbed

* dirty carpeting

* furniture/window sills grimy and undusted

* refrigerator with spills/stains

In addition, there was no cable/wi-fi as advertised, and the heating system blows inefficiently with upstairs vents located only in the bathroom and hallway, not in the bedrooms. Not really ideal or comfortable for a family of four on a cold, 3-day ski weekend.

Our first nite at this property was our last. It turns out that the Ski Gods didn't cooperate anyway with freezing and pouring rain throughout the first nite and day. We enjoyed the water park ( great for kids and adults) and mountain on our first day. The mountain ended up closing on what would have been our second day, but we were already gone.

Our experience was disappointing and really was unnecessary. The owners should take the proper (basic), measures to clean the property appropriately and deliver it professionally, or be more candid about their maintenance practices with prospective renters. Some people may actually be fine with these conditions, but all should be aware.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The weekend this renter checked in (Dec 20, 2013), a huge ice storm hit the area, and Jay Peak actually closed (google 12/20/13 weekend at jay peak). The renters asked for a refund claiming the condition of the house was not up to their standards, when in reality they were just disappointed that Mother Nature ruined their weekend. Every other review on the house is positive, but clearly you can't please everyone. In addition, if you have any problems while you are at the house, simply call us and we will get it fixed immediately. As for wi-fi and cable, they most definitely are there, and instructions are provided for anyone wishing to read them :)
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2


Nearest Airport
58 Miles
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Jay Peak
Nearest Motorway
35 Miles
I91 or I89
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Jay Peak
Nearest Beach
34.8 Miles
Lake Willoughby
Car: necessary

Jay Peak is well known for its, Skiing, Snowboarding, Pump House Waterpark, Ice Haus Arena-Ice Skating, Tiaga Spa, and 18 Hole golf course. The house is located 8 miles down the road in Montgomery Center.

The house is right in the middle of the fun town some call 'Monkey Center.' Everything in town is walkable. Restaurants: Trout River Traders, Bernie’s, Snowshoe pub w/live entertainment, Fresh Betty’s pizza and subs. Sylvester’s grocery store and VT state liquor store, Firstrax ski shop, and more are all right there (2 min walk). Montgomery is a picturesque little Vermont town at the bottom of Jay Peak. Montgomery claims to be the Covered Bridge Capital of Vermont with six covered bridges and a seventh just on the town border with Enosburg Falls. The area is noted for its fall foliage, covered bridges, scenic bike routes, alpine and cross country skiing and mountain biking on old logging trails. Access to Long Trail is minutes away and the nearby Trout and Missisquoi rivers are ideal for fishing or canoeing.

There is also Snowshoeing and Cross-country skiing.

The Fall Foliage season in Vermont is one of the busiest times of the year while visitors flock from all over the world to witness the beautiful changing colors.

Montreal, Quebec is just 1.5 hour drive away.

Northeast Kingdom, golf, Ski Resort, Jay Peak Vermont, Jay Vermont, Jay Peak VT, Jay VT, Jay Peak Resort, Vacation Rentals, World, USA, Vermont, Northeast Kingdom Vacation Rentals, Jay Peak Vacation Rentals,


Rates & Availability

Montgomery Center Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Montgomery Center Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Village
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • fax
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is large, simple and clean. The tub shower is finished with white subway, and shower head that may be hand held or mounted.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • The beds in the bedrooms accommodate up to 9 people, with a pull out twin futon in the living room and a few air mattresses for additional space.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Lawn / Garden
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming

Partner Offers