check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kathy Schaefer

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Private Retreat Located on 44 Beautiful Acres.

11 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow

Overview

Danville Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

Bungalow, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

'Willow Springs Farm, Vineyard & Spa' is a spectacular venue with a relaxing atmosphere that you will feel from the moment you approach the private drive. Grazing horses and growing vineyards make this peaceful and secluded destination perfect for a Honeymoon, or just a much needed rest . Enjoy the guest house featuring 1300 sq. ft, soaring ceilings and open spaces. A full kitchen is included with amenities. Your host invites you to stroll through the vineyards, relax on the 600 sq. ft. deck, located at the main house, and if desired enjoy a custom facial and with some notice a massage therapist is available. The guest house features beautiful leather furniture, a walk in closet, full laundry, King Size bed and more. Go to the Norton Theater at Centre College. Dine at Eddie Montgomery's Steak House in Harrodsburg, one of the oldest cities in Kentucky. And, travel back into history as you tour Old Fort Harrod. If you long for a quiet, relaxing experience in a breathtaking natural setting visit 'Willow Springs Farm '.

Keywords: Accomodations, private, guest house, spa facilities, peace, web access

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kathy Schaefer (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kathy Schaefer

Your host is an Orange County California Housewife escapee. Knowing that there was much more to life, I searched and purchased this beautiful farm. Many changes have taken place and you will love this location. The vineyards have been planted by me and making wine is on the agenda. I am also an 'Executive Producer' with extensive television experience. Having my own TV shows for 17 years on Cox & Time Warner in Orange County. In our computer age I was able to pursue my profession from just about anywhere. You will love meeting Jonesy, an enthusiastic Bichon. We have retired race horses here. And we have glorious space. Peace and Quiet.. well not totally, you will have to suffer the sounds of NATURE... bugs... horses... birds. cows... 'Willow Springs Farm, Vineyard & Spa' come relax here and more.

Kathy Schaefer purchased this bungalow in 2005

Why Kathy Schaefer chose Kentucky

This farm is minutes from Danville, which is one of the nicest places in the nation to retire. Lexington is about 35 minutes away and this location is central in Kentucky. Nothing is that far away. You can go to Bowling Green and view Corvettes, Fort Knox and view where the gold is, visit Civil War battlefields and still get back here in the same day. Louisville, the location of the Derby is about 1 and half hours.. by the GPS..

What makes this bungalow unique

I live here and all my friends come visit me.. not the other way around. Obviously this is not a property for a huge family. This is a retreat for a couple. The Lake and waterways are just minutes away, you can bring your boat here and take it to the public launch.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Having Robynn and her husband was a delight. I think they caught up on rest. Everyone that stays here puts their own special touch to the interior, of the guest house and Robynn gets the gold star... I want everyone to feel at home and relaxed. But Robynn has a very special talent, her touches have made it even better, thanks so much.. hope to see both of you again soon.... Kathy & Jonesy
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Private Retreat Located on 44 Beautiful Acres.
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
5

Great guesthouse!

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully appointed with deluxe amenities. We were very comfortable here, and really enjoyed our stay on the farm! We had great weather, enjoyed walking around the farm, and Kathy did everything to insure we were comfortable! We were in town for a soccer tournament at Centre College, and the location was perfect.

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jonesy and myself enjoy guests... especially when they bring their Golden Retriever ...that is the dog that rescued him...The parents of the soccer player were a delight... hard to believe they look so young... I am sure they will come back and we will welcome them.....Next time we will do a party !!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

All We Can Say is WOW !!!

  • 5 of 5

Well not really ... we have LOTS to say and it couldn't be better :)

Kathy and Carson are warm and kind and they adopted me and my two boys during our wonderful stay at Willow Springs Farm. The photos herein just don't do this place justice.They have done wonders to make this a tranquil and welcoming retreat, both inside and out. The bungalow is spacious, clean, and very-well stocked. We most enjoyed watching our favorite horse Zoey and hearing about (and sometimes seeing) all the wildlife that visit the property. We toured the walking paths and vineyards ... and were the recipients of Kathy's special surprises (you'll have to find out for yourself). Truly, don't pass up this pristine property. It's a gem !!!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Danville visit

  • 5 of 5

Wife and I are looking at the Danville area for a possible relocation and decided to stay at Willow Springs Farm for a couple of nights. Can't say enough good things about Kathy and the property. Lovely grounds with more than enough room for two in the guest house. I would absolutely recommend staying on the property if visiting Centre College or just looking at the area like we were. Hope to be back soon!

  • Submitted: May 25, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Meeting the two of you was a delight…. Come back anytime… Jonesy loved you….and it was great to chat on the deck… If you decide to relocate here… You have a Friend… Kathy & Jonesy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great College Visit

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at Kathy's guest home for 6 days when accompanying our oldest daughter to Centre College. Kathy was a gracious hostess with a great sense of humor. She knew we were coming all the way from CA and had her home stocked with everything we could possibly need. The four of us fit comfortably, despite there only being one bedroom (it's a BIG bedroom). She allows her guests full access to her acreage...so be sure to take advantage of this. The hills make for excellent walks/runs and her horses are super friendly. The property is situated off a little traveled road where you have complete privacy, yet is only a short drive from stores, restaurants, gas stations, etc. We took some day trips to Shaker Village (do the river boat cruise), Perryville Civil War Battlefield, and Lincoln's birthplace. Take the opportunity to tour Centre College as well. It's such a lovely campus with lots to see. We highly recommend this property and can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Melanie and her family were a joy. I loved watching her girls hike up the hill to pet the horses. They are most welcome to return. I know her daughter will settle in at Centre College it is a beautiful campus.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
DAYTON, OHIO
5

Quiet Country Retreat Near Lexington Kentucky

  • 5 of 5

We came to Willow Springs for rest & relaxation and we were not disappointed. Although the photos on this web site are accurate, they do not do Willow Springs justice. The farm & vineyards were so quiet & peaceful. The guest cottage was immaculate and the kitchen well stocked - from spices to more small household appliances than we have in our own home! We loved the soaring window in the bedroom. You awaken to the site of horses grazing in the pasture & fall asleep while stargazing. If you want to "eat in" there is a grocery store an easy 5-10 minute drive from Willow Springs. If you want to "eat out" there are also several restaurants in the same area as the grocery store, and a steak house another 10 minutes away in Harrodsburg. Although we did not take advantage of it, you can also schedule spa treatments & massages with Kathy. Kathy was a pleasure to work with and is available at the main house if you have any questions. We highly recommend Willow Springs for a romantic couples getaway for honeymoon/anniversary/birthdays/etc. or a special retreat for couples visiting college students nearby. Willow Springs is also a great home base for visiting distilleries, wineries and historical sites in central kentucky. Lexington is about a 45 minute drive away.

Kathy - thank you so much for sharing Willow Springs with us. We are looking forward to returning and enjoying picnics in the vinyard and stargazing at night

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love having guests, and privacy is what we offer. I did not see these guests all day on Sunday !! Next time they return I think I can provide a picnic basket, and blanket or they can enjoy the deck and we will roll out the telescope for star gazing. Making yourself at home and rest is the hallmark of this farm.. Kathy & Jonesy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Visiting Centre College?

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect location for a college visit to Centre! My mother, daughter and I came to stay for three nights in July. Cathy was a terrific host and the guest house was really beautiful. We loved catching fireflies in the evening and watching the horses graze on the rolling hills of the farm. Truly Kentucky at its most beautiful.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a delight to host the girls...I know it is difficult to pick a College for your daughter, however, if Centre is the choice...Mom, Grandma and all of the relatives, can come stay here... Kathy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Foraging in the organic garden for dinner, seasonal of course, driving a golf cart around the farm. Strolling through the vineyards. Most of all you will have total privacy.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Danville Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Standard pricing
1 night minimum stay
$259
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 6.0%

I give special rates to repeat clients... you have a child here at Centre College, we will make it work for you... I just need a notice...my goal is to have a cliental that come back for years....

A Deposit then remainder during the stay..

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Danville Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Comode in separate room..
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Blow up beds for the kids if needed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
Notes:
View of Grazing Horses, Facials available, Massage available, total privacy.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties