check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Christena

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish

Darwin's Hearth, A Historic Gem In The Heart Of Frederick

12 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Frederick Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Darwin's Hearth has been standing in the heart of Downtown Frederick since Stonewall Jackson marched his troops through the town on their way to battle. Whether you are looking for a stroll through the area's rich history or a week's getaway in a super trendy little town, our little home is waiting to welcome you!

Our home is a completely renovated historic home within walking distance (2 blocks) of all downtown shops, restaurants and bars. Walk 2 blocks in the other direction and you'll stumble into Frederick's magnificent Baker Park that has a big playground for the kids, lovely strolls for the adults and free concerts every Sunday evening in the summer.

At Darwin's Hearth, we welcome your whole family including small children and even your small doggy if he or she knows about indoor rules!

As an added treat, with every rental of at least one week we'll throw in a free massage (either at our home or at the spa) by My Red Bow Spa in nearby Braddock Heights!

We know you'll love our home as much as we do and can't wait to welcome you into the warmth of our hearth and home!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Christena (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish

About Christena

I grew up in the area and have lots of family nearby. We bought this lovely home to live in, but work has taken us away from the United States for a few years and while we can't enjoy our home, we would love for others to enjoy its quaintness, convenience and rich history.

Christena purchased this townhome in 2012

Why Christena chose Frederick

We bought the home quite simply because we fell in love with it!

Reviews

4.5
based on 12 traveler reviews

Darwin's Hearth, A Historic Gem In The Heart Of Frederick
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
1

Poor

  • 1 of 5

When being told parking is "adjacent" you will find the spot in alley a block away, additional cars will have a hard time finding parking nearby.

There are 3 floors with stairs to 3rd (where only tv was located) are very steep. When jets in tub were turned on black was sprayed all over.

There were some ants in kitchen and also a mouse on the counter. Dog next door barks constantly. This is not a good property if you have

children or any mobility problems.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As I wrote to you in my private response along with the refund of the cleaning fee, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with our home. We always make every effort to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. I wish that you had contacted us during your stay so that we could have made an effort to address some of your concerns and disappointments. I do include a full description of our home's layout both in a description of our home and in the pictures. We have had many families with children happily stay over the years and there are many families in the neighbourhood where most homes have a similar layout. It is a home that dates back to the 1860's. I paid a visit to my home just a month ago and did not find any ants or mice, or I obviously would have addressed the problem - that being said, Spring in Maryland often brings rain, warmer weather and unwanted visitors. We have already addressed it now that you have brought that to our attention and I will make a point to have annual pest control around this time a year to avoid another issue in the future. We always respond promptly when we receive feedback from our guests and am again very sorry that you were disappointed with our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quaint house, great location, wonderful stay.

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous stay in Darwin's Hearth. With three bedrooms, a well-equipped kitchen, comfortable living and dining rooms, dedicated parking space, and just steps away from Market Street, Darwin's Hearth had everything we needed. The owners were incredibly flexible and accommodating making our stay all the nicer. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review & we do hope to see you again in the future! All the best, Christena
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ellicott City, MD
5

Great place with an even better location!

  • 5 of 5

We attending a wedding in Frederick and rented this place for 4 nights. It was everything we expected and more! The place is very characteristic of the history of the area but with fantastic upgrades! The weather was perfect so we spent a good deal of time on the back deck overlooking a nice shady yard. We were able to walk to restaurants, shops and to the farmer's market. The owner has a couple (Frank and Macella) that live locally to help settle you in. They were a pleasure to work with and even brought a nice bottle of wine, cheese and crackers. What a bonus! I would highly recommend this property and would stay there again!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, adequate accomodations

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our time in Frederick riding our bikes on the nice quiet roads and eating well. The master BR was a little too bright and loud for me to get a good night's sleep. The 3rd floor bedroom worked out nicely although some blinds would be a good addition to that room. It was also tough for our dogs to get up and down the tiny and steep stairway, so it was not an ideal sleeping location (they insist on sleeping in the same room as us). It was great that we were able to bring them both with us though. All in all the house worked out well for us. The location can't be beat and the house is well priced.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Location and Place for a Frederick Stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I loved staying at Darwin's Hearth. Clean, comfortable, well-appointed, cozy spaces yet spacious overall -- a great place in a very convenient location. Since there are extra bedrooms, we were able to have our daughter and her boyfriend stay over one night as well. We were greeted at the door by a congenial member of Christena's hospitality team, Frank. He showed us in and gave us a tour and answered questions. Also, good to know there is a designated parking space in an alley 2 minutes away. It's an easy stroll everywhere from here -- right into downtown one way, and over to Baker Park the other way. We stumbled into the Sunday Farmer's Market right around the corner, and ambled over to the Sunday evening concert at the Park's amphitheater. We ate at several of the fine restaurants downtown, went on hikes near Frederick, had breakfast on the back patio. One thing to note and that is the main bedroom is located street-side near a light, and on Friday and Saturday nights you do get some cars waiting at the light playing loud music, a few of them late at night. To avoid this, you can sleep on the third floor, where the bedroom is at the back of the house and it's quiet. Other than that, we had a perfectly wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

As close to perfect as it gets...

  • 5 of 5

Where do I start? We arrived slightly behind schedule to find Frank and Marcela waiting for us to give us the tour of the house. It was excellent, full amenities tour – right down to cautioning us about the ‘auto-lock’ feature on the back door---- this proved so helpful to us since we used the backyard patio daily…always remember your key…lol!

The home is beautiful, comfortable and fully equipped. Our little pug Grisham was happy with the fully fenced yard and the lovely dog bowls provided for his comfort – never mind the collectibles with the pug theme. We loved the comfortable beds, terrific shower and lovely furnishings and décor. It’s so close to everything in Frederick – we walked around the town daily without needing the car at all. Five minutes to Starbucks, cafes and restaurants and a lovely central park area. The shops are fun and quirky. The kitchen has everything you need – pots, dishware and glassware -plus there were basics provided such as sugar, spices, salt and pepper, cleaning products etc... There were also enough dishwasher tabs for the number of nights we were staying, but we’re just two, so we washed by hand. Anyone staying with a larger family would have no trouble seating them around the spacious dining table and cleaning up with the dishwasher later on.

Linens were provided – towels, sheets, comforters and even dog blankets for the furniture (we had brought our own, but still, a really nice touch!).

I’d particularly like to thank the owners for leaving the CD guided tour of Gettysburg – we had planned to buy it for our trip there, but there was no need. There are also many brochures to guide you around the many things to see – both historical and artsy.

A lovely touch, a bottle of wine from the local winery and a chunk of amazing cheddar with crackers were waiting for us – this rental could not have been more perfect! Thanks so much for sharing your home with us – we will recommend your town and especially your home to all our friends. Our special holiday for my birthday was made more special by spending it here.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kim & Jim, So, you noticed I'm a pug person myself? ;). Thank you so much for the lovely review and I'm so happy that you all (that includes Grisham) enjoyed your special getaway to Frederick and Darwin's Hearth! And a happy belated birthday Kim! We'll see you next time! All the best & thank you again! Christena
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Dulles Airport
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Frederick Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$130
$835
$2,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee (non-refundable) $85

Good faith deposit required to secure reservation. Full payment is due 10 days before check-in. Alternate payment options may be offered for extended rentals (more than one month). No penalty for cancellation with 14 days notice. Up to $200 may be forfeited if cancellation is made less than 14 days prior to check-in date, unless we are able to rebook all the cancelled dates on short notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Frederick Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Main bathroom upstairs - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Washroom main level - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Kid's room - 2 twin/ single , Bunkbed with two twin mattresses
    Master bedroom - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 double , 2 sleep sofa /futon , Full sized futons upstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • swimming
Notes:
With every one week rental, we include one free spa massage from My Red Bow in nearby historic and beautiful Braddock Heights.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties