Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

#216 Just For Fun. Private Pool/2 Community Pools, Racquetball, Playground!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 12

Loaded with beach charm and character, this recently updated, 5 bedroom, 4.5 bathroom home in Schooner Ridge is tastefully equipped with comfort & convenience for making perfect OBX family memories!

‘Just For Fun’ offers ocean views from the family room and decks from one of the highest points in Duck. Race to the beach – a 3 minute walk – to dig your feet in the warm sand. ‘Just for Fun’ comes equipped with floats, boogie boards, skim boards, a wagon to haul stuff, and bikes and helmets that you can ride to Schooner Ridge’s private beach access (where you’ll find a beach side pool and showers). After riding waves and building sand-castles all day, come home to sit in the front porch swing, lay in the hammock and watch the kids play basketball. Or swim and splash out back in the 18’ x 28’ private salt water pool, use the pool-side bathhouse and shower, swing under the pool-side gazebo, and relax in the large hot tub under the star-filled sky.

Arrive to find ‘Just For Fun’ cleaned by top notch professional cleaners and the beds made with clean, pressed sheets so you can start your vacation immediately! A keyless lock entry means you can enjoy your vacation right away without having to retrieve house keys from the rental agency. Free, reliable wifi is included.

Enjoy the sun and sand while you find everything your family needs in kids-safe (no roads to cross) Schooner Ridge. 100 yards and you’re at the Schooner Ridge community center, where you’ll find a new playground, tennis courts, an outdoor pool and separate baby pool – on the off-chance you catch a rainy day, the kids can splash in a heated indoor pool, play handball in the racquetball courts, or use the game room, and adults can enjoy the gym.

Quaint shops and restaurants in Duck Village await you – a five minute walk. So do Sunset Ice-Cream, the kayak launch, crabbing docks, and free concerts, puppet shows, and yoga/exercise classes at the amphitheater – all on the sound-side boardwalk that spans Duck Village.

Head north 20 minutes to Corolla for go-carts, bumper cars, mini-golf, beach shops, and other fun activities for the kids. Climb the 220 steps of the Currituck Lighthouse for ocean to sound views or take your 4x4 vehicle on the beach where the road ends. See the wild ponies roaming the sands (believed to be descended from survivors of 17th century Spanish shipwrecks). Or, head south to Kitty Hawk to visit the Wright Brothers National Monument or run Jockey’s Ridge, the huge sand dune that seems even bigger in the moonlight. You’ll find a long stretch of beachy restaurants, stores, mini-golf, and a movie theater heading South to Hatteras.

Pool Heat Fee $400

**2018 Pool dates 5/5 - 10/12*

More Details

Property Manager
Kevin
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

Map

Amenities

Duck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • 1 King bed, 2 Queen beds, 4 Twin beds, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
38% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
#216 Just For Fun. Private Pool/2 Community Pools, Racquetball, Playground!
average rating of 4.5 based on 18 reviews
Greenville, WV
4

Great time with friend & great location.

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

A luggage/grocery lift would be a great addition. Also a rail by the steps at the pool especially for seniors. Otherwise a very satisfactory place with a few cobwebs, dirty fans & some light bulbs burn out. Loved the area & amenities.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: "Good time & great location" is a wonderful review for any vacation property. We will certainly forward your suggestions about luggage/grocery lift and pool rail by pool steps to the owner for consideration. Also forward along to housekeeping your points about areas to make sure are clean at all times. Please join us again for any future vacations in the future here on the Outer Banks.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A week of fun at Just For Fun

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This was our second year staying at Just For Fun. We loved it last year so booked it again this year. 5 Couples were in our party and we had plenty of room and privacy. The pool area/back yard is FABULOUS! Schooner Ridge can't be beat for amenities. The recreation center is beautiful and clean and the pool on the beach is a real bonus when there is a red flag day and you need to cool off. It is a bit of a walk to the beach (5-10 minutes depending on your pace) but there is a wagon to carry your beach gear and a parking lot close to the beach if you prefer to drive. My one and only complaint about this rental is there were very few hangers, so take your own if you have a lot of clothes to hang. This is a wonderful beach house and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: "A week of fun at the beach" is a wonderful way to sum up a vacation here on the Outer Banks. It is great when a guest finds a home that suits their needs and exceeds their expectations and "Just For Fun" surely does both for guests. The pool area most impressive and well thought out for the comfort and enjoyment of all guests. Jut perfect when the "red flags" are flying. The home is located in a community which offers all guests really outstanding amenities for everyone to enjoy. We will certainly let the owners know to increase the number of hangers at the home for future guests. We look forward to having your family as our guests at "Just For Fun" for many more vacations in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Akron, OH
5

Always Fun at Just For Fun

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our family had a wonderful time. We have stayed in this home on multiple occasions. We love everything about the home the layout, the pool, The owners have it stocked with everything you need on a vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: "Always Fun at Just in Fun" what a great review for an owner about their home and also for Kitty Hawk Rentals as well. Kitty Hawk Rentals and every owner always strive to have every guest thoroughly enjoy their stay at any of property with no concerns, just making memories to share with friends and family in the future. Looking forward to having your family join us again at "Just For Fun" for many more vacations in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New City, NY
5

Great week at the beach

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had 2 issues about clogged drains and failed hot tub jets but they were both serviced on a timely basis. My only complaint with the management company was they did not explain that the community we were staying in required us to check in at their center to get our beach and activity passes for the week. In fact, when I questioned the management company they had no idea how the beach access worked. The house was in a great location and walking distance to town however, the main road in Duck gets clogged up easily from pedestrian traffic and sheer congestion. A 12 mile ride up this road to Corolla could take any where from 20 minutes to an hour depending on the time of day you go. Otherwise, great beach, restaurants and family fun.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our property "Just For Fun", we are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed the property and found everything to be comfortable and accommodating for your group. The location is fantastic as you had mentioned, and the quaint town of Duck has become an extremely popular spot during the busy summer months for a variety of reason so we are very happy that you got to experience the local culture. If there was confusion about the pool passes we do sincerely apologize, often time when placing a call to our company you are not directly linked with the home office for your property; however the clubhouse instructions were included with your driving directions we are very sorry if you had overlooked that. As you had stated our maintenance department is very prompt in responding to our guest concerns to ensure a memorable stay for everyone. We hope that you would consider renting this wonderful home again and call us here at Kitty Hawk Rentals the next time you are planning a trip to the Outer Banks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Neptune City, NJ
5

Fun in the Sun at Just for Fun

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We were extremely happy with our stay. By the 5 stars given below, we would stay there again. The house was spacious and accommodated our multiple families perfectly. The pool was such a bonus and was even better than described and seen in the pictures. The location was fabulous and we never moved our car all week. Having the luxury of going to the beach and a pool at the beach as well as a pool at the house - who could ask for more. The house also was well equipped with beach chairs, bikes, toys, etc. Overall, we had a wonderful time and glad we choose Just for Fun. We had a slight problem with towels and the property management company handled it professionally and checked in to make sure everything was okay. Great all around.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: This review "Fun in the Sun at Just For Fun" is a fantastic play on words and also a great comments about a property. This owner is working very hard to make sure his guest's expectations are met and exceeded throughout the property. The pool area is the best and well thought out when designed for guest's comforts and toatal enjoyment. This comments are of course being shared directly with the owner. Please join us at "Just for Fun" for many more vacations in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a fantastic week. The weather was absolutely amazing (second week of May). The temperature of the heated pool was perfect and the dollars for it very well spend! The room were nice, functional and overall in good condition. The house was clean - no complaints. Overall our week was fantastic - beach is close by (6min walk, or you could even park your car next to passenger drop off, beach chairs are a big small and rusty but still worked fine). Community pool, playground, indoor pool and fitness in fine condition. Pools didn't open until the end of our stay but we came early in the season and thanks to the weather and heated pool we didn't need the community pool anyways. The only two complaints we had: the a/c system is old - very old...top level was warm, loft area a sauna, bedroom level chilly but oh well, could have been worse. And the second complaint would be the pots and pans (very old and all of them terrible scratched). You ll get frustrated if you are big on cooking (I would even argue bring your own favorite pot and pan) but Duck and surroundings offers good take out and restaurant options.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Beach Realty & Construction / Kitty Hawk Rentals
Owner's Response: Updated 9/13/2017: We just wanted to make all of our potential guests aware that the home has been upgraded with BRAND-NEW pots and pans. Here at Kitty Hawk Rentals we take our guest feedback very seriously and this homeowner is extremely responsive to accommodating our guests needs. As for the air conditioning, if there are ever any maintenance issues that arise during your stay we encourage all of our guests to report any concerns to us immediately and I am pleased to report we have had no maintenance reports all summer about the air conditioning! Kitty Hawk Rentals is pleased to know that your stay at "Just For Fun" was a fantastic week for your family. That heated pool cannot be beat - to be able to swim at any time of day or evening and be comfortable is a great amenity. We will certainly make sure to pass your suggestions on to the owner on the upgrades and have the a/c checked as well. We look forward to having your family return to "Just For Fun" for many rental seasons in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • ***2018 Rates/Availability are subject to change. Non refundable pre-reservation deposit of $100/week plus tax is due to tentatively hold dates and will be applied to your balance upon confirmation & signed lease in the Fall***

    Duplicate Property Damage Protection: You are automatically covered for property damages through Beach Realty/Kitty Hawk Rentals. Please do not purchase the protection offered through CSA Travel through Homeaway.

    Optional Fees:
    Pet Fee: Properties permitting dogs will have a fee ($100.00 plus tax unless otherwise noted) for the privilege.
    Heated Pool Option: (if applicable) Fees vary, please contact Kitty Hawk Rentals for a quote.

You might like these similar properties