Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious and Lovely 5-bedroom historic home on Esplanade Avenue

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Historic Home with spacious backyard for relaxing and entertaining

Originally built in 1911, the property embodies elegant New Orleans architecture with high ceilings, pocket doors and a beautiful porch view of Esplanade Avenue. All of our guest rooms are luxuriously appointed with luxury bed & bath linens, beautiful furnishings along with modern comforts such as flat screen TVs and complimentary WIFI.

The property features 5 charming guest rooms - one king, one queen, 2 double bedrooms and a bedroom with 2 double beds - total of 6 beds in 5 bedrooms. There are 3 1/2 bathrooms - two bathtubs and one walk in shower. The front porch is an ideal location for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. Huge backyard feature seating for outdoor lounging.

Gianna Chachere
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2017

About Gianna Chachere

I recently moved back to my hometown of New Orleans after spending the last 20 years in New York and Los Angeles. It has always been a dream of mine to operate an Artists' Residency hence this property has hosted several writers and musicians over the last few months and I hope to continue.

Gianna Chachere purchased this house in 2011

Why Gianna Chachere chose New Orleans

Built in 1911, the property was once part of the Dunbar Estate - the original land was included in the Dunbar Plantation. Esplanade once the grand avenue for wealthy French in the 18th and 19th centuries. The property evokes a time of New Orleans history that is long doors, high ceilings, hard wood floors and special details make this home a unique experience.

The front porch is ideal for relaxing and back yard is spacious for grilling and dining outdoors.

What makes this house unique

There are so many little details - claw foot tub, stained glass windows, parlor doors, etc. that make this property unique. It is my wish that guests appreciate the history and elegance.


Treme House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , This is a half bath with sink and toilet only
  • Two bathrooms have bathtubs and showers - one bathroom has a walk in shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
  • 5 bedrooms One King One Queen Two Double One with 2 Double beds
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis


Very Good! 4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Spacious and Lovely 5-bedroom historic home on Esplanade Avenue
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews

Wonderful Host, Wonderful House, Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house and only a few miles away from Bourbon street. Gianna was also very accommodating to our needs.


  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR

Very disappointed

  • 1 of 5

We were excited to arrive at the house after looking at the pictures online and we're disappointed with the cleanliness of the house. It appeared it had not been thoroughly cleaned (cobwebs on the light fixtures, carpets dirty, chipped paint on the ceiling, a very dirty shower curtain, a cup of coffee still in the microwave). I called Gianna and she immediatley got angry and defensive because I asked for a new shower curtain. She said maybe our expectations were too high and if we did not like the house we could leave and she would refund our money in full. I was taken aback at her attitude for such a request that could have been resolved so easily. We have rented many rentals and all the owners are always ready to resolve whatever the problem may be. Not Gianna. Since she was unwilling to work with us we left. I would not recommend this place at all. The neighborhood is shady at best and if you complain this is what you are to expect.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All comments are very much valued. I am sorry the house did not live up to your expectations. The property is professionally cleaned after each rental. I have never had a negative comment regarding the cleanliness of the house on any of the rental platforms where the property is listed, in fact it is just the opposite. When we spoke upon your arrival there was no mention of any other issues except the shower curtain AND I offered to replace or clean it to your liking to which you said it was ok. Thus I was completely surprised an hour later when your group of 10 decided to leave and demanded a full refund. I am very familiar with rental properties in New Orleans accommodating large groups so congratulations on finding something else to your liking so quickly. Regarding the neighborhood - yes it is indeed very shady given the majestic live oak trees that line the street. If you had remained at the house longer than an hour or so, you might have realized that my immediate neighbors are the Joan Mitchell Center, an International artist complex that just underwent a $20 million renovation, the Degas House, The Free People of Color Museum and Esplanade Studios, Louisiana's largest music recording studio where Eric Clapton, John Legend and Bonnie Raitt, to name a few - recently completed albums. Again, my apologies you were disappointed with the house. I hope you managed to find something else to your liking and have a good time in New Orleans.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Room to spread out and enjoy!

  • 4 of 5

We had two families - both with children (6-10) - and this was a perfect house for us to be together when we wanted and be apart when we wanted. Gianna was gracious and helpful.

This part of New Orleans was not one with which I was familiar, but it was beautiful. The neighborhood was nice, restaurants and coffee were within easy walks, and it was nicely positioned between City Park and the Quarter. It's reasonable to walk to both, each within about 1/2 hr.

It's an old house, and it has its old house issues, just like most places in New Orleans. If that's OK with you, this is a great pick!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States

Perfect for family wedding and reunion

  • 4 of 5

This home was charming and great for our family visit to New Orleans for a wedding in the French Quarter. The beds were comfortable, there was plenty of room for us to gather, or to have our own space for a while. Loved sitting on the veranda in the morning with our coffee and saying hello to passerby's. Gianna was friendly and helpful, and she also catered a memorable Easter Sunday brunch with the extended family, along with an egg hunt. Great location, with a neighborhood feel. Happy to have found this home. Thank you Gianna, for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lakeville, MA

The house is beautiful and we loved this area of New Orleans.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay on Esplanade Avenue. The house is, as advertised, spacious and lovely. We were a family of 10, from both coasts, and the house was large enough for us to have time together as well as privacy. Gianna was very nice and attentive; communication was good. The location of the house was in a graceful section of upper Esplanade. Some of the side streets appeared a little rough, but turned out to be fine. There were great restaurants and coffee shops nearby, also groceries and pharmacies. One thing for future travelers to be aware of is that if you are traveling with little ones (we had a 22-month-old in our group), the banisters on the stairs and around the upstairs opening are low and have large openings - very beautiful, but definitely not child-friendly. No harm, just a constant game of "where is she now"! All in all, it was a great trip.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ruth...I'm curious about the 4 star rating vs 5...I would be interested to know why? Banisters that are not child friendly?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Home

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. House was big enough for 8 of us and we would either walk or uber down to the french quarter and frechmen street (Uber about 8 dollars) The park is a nice jog north of the house up espanade and their are grocery stores near by.

Front porch was great to sit on and feel the cool evening breeze after warm days. Kitchen was large enough to cook in, and the dinning room has a large table to have a few meals in. 3 full bathrooms and one half bath was a plus with that many people getting ready to go out. I have rented 3 places in New Orleans and this one was the best yet, particularly for what our needs were.

If you are thinking about it for a large group- do it. You'll be happy.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended

The property is located on a historic thoroughfare of Creole New Orleans. The bike lane has just been expanded so expect lots of bikes and bike tours passing by headed in either the direction of the French Quarter or City Park for beignets and a tour of the New Orleans Museum of Art.


Rates & Availability

Treme House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jazz Fest
Apr 27 2017 - May 2 2017
4 night minimum stay
Jazz Fest
May 4 2017 - May 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send Email Send Email

You might like these similar properties