Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront: Single Family Home with Relaxation Guaranteed

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Covered Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

WELCOME:

Awesome/Breathtaking views await you as well as a quick transition into vacation mode when you arrive at The Screaming Eagle located in the quietest section of Ocean Oaks, Emerald Isle.

The Screaming Eagle is a single-family cottage that offers the ultimate in privacy and the relaxation you are looking for while on Emerald Isle.

Staying at a duplex has it’s benefits but why stay at a duplex where you may or may not know who the occupants are on the opposite side of the home you are staying in.

At our single family home, you will enjoy all the benefits of staying and living on an Oceanfront property particularly the view. At the Screaming Eagle, your privacy and the ability to wind down is our prime concern.

The house is situated on a dead end street that provides a safe play area for young children as well some extra peace and quiet from traffic.

The driveway offers ample parking along with covered area for at least two cars.

Staying Oceanfront affords you seconds away access to the beach and surf. From our deck, living room, master bedroom and kitchen, you can watch dolphins swim by, observe pelicans floating by, play a game, read a book, and/or enjoy your morning/afternoon/evening beverage.

Don’t want to relax on the deck? Then take a short walk down to the beach. All you need to do is take a short walk down our private walkway, travel down 6 steps and you are onto the sandy shores of Emerald Isle where the Atlantic Ocean awaits you.

While hanging on our beach, you can fly a kite, surf, swim, collect shells, play volleyball, play wiffle ball, build sand castles or even take a walk to the Pointe (always a highlight of our family vacations spent on the Isle).

And….If you are really lucky, you may even be able to witness the hatching of sea turtles on the beach. My gang has been fortunate to witness this incredible event twice. It’s amazing. I wish you and yours the same fortune when you pay us a visit

Want to enjoy the outside and nature a bit more? Then try our outdoor enclosed shower. It’s a treat and a pleasure you will love.

There is nothing like waking up in the morning, or going to bed at night, to the sounds of the ocean off the Crystal Coast of Emerald Isle. Enjoy the sunrises, the sunsets and the incredible moonlit/star filled skies. Relax on our huge beaches, swim in the clear waters of the Atlantic Ocean or take a walk to the end of the island.

Life long memories await you as you plan your vacation at our single family home.

LOCATION—LOCATION---LOCATION:

The Screaming Eagle is located in the Ocean Oaks section of Emerald Isle. As you leave the high-rise bridge over the Intercoastal Waterway, you then make a right turn onto Coast Guard Road and travel less then a half-mile to reach the Ocean Oaks development. The house situated is in a great location being conveniently located just a short walk, bike ride or car ride to the strip mall on Coast Guard Road, the mini-mart, the Emerald Forest Isle Woods Park and the Pointe (our favorite spot on the Isle).

LAYOUT:

The house has 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The oceanfront master bedroom has a queen bed, private bath and a doorway onto the beachfront deck. A second bedroom has queen bed, a third bedroom has two single beds and a fourth bedroom has a queen bed with a private bath.

Our living room/great room is a big highlight of the house. Here there are ceiling to floor windows overlooking the Atlantic.

There are wide-open ocean view from the dining areas, great room and master bedroom.

Your stays come with High Speed Internet access, free unlimited long distance calls within the US, 5 Televisions (2 with Cable and 3 with ROKU), 5 DVD players and a DVR player.

There is a private walkway to the beach, an outdoor shower, a deck with furniture, and a second dune side deck to hang out on.

When you are ready to take a break from the beach, you can choose from a ton of activities to keep you occupied:

---Bicycle (plenty of spots to ride a bike and rent bikes on the island)

----Kayak and Boat Rentals

---Run on the beach or the local roads, trails, or bike path,

----Golf

----Mini-golf

---Jet Ski

---Fishing (the Bogue Fishing Pier is only 3 miles away or you can cast your line right off our private shore line!!!)

---Much, Much more!!!!!

Saturday-to-Saturday rental, NO SMOKING! Must be 25 or older to rent our home. Reservations made under false pretenses will be subject to cancellation/eviction with no refund given. When calling to make your reservation, please remember to ask for SCREAMING EAGLE. Thanks and enjoy your stay!

Keywords: Awesome Views, Oceanfront, Beachfront, Emerald Isle, Cottage

More Details

Property Manager
Bob Mittleman
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017

About Bob Mittleman

We are a family of five that has been coming to Emerald Isle as a family since 1995. We spent many summers coming to the area starting in the late 1970’s before coming homeowners in the summer of 1994. Emerald Isle offers our family all we would want in a vacation….peacefulness, recreation, sun, surf and so much more. It’s been a perfect fit. We truly enjoy sharing our experiences and home with all of our guests!!!

Bob Mittleman purchased this house in 1995

Why Bob Mittleman chose Coastal North Carolina

After vacationing for over 15 years on Emerald Isle, we decided it would be a great idea to own a piece of paradise. We looked at many homes but when we were shown the Screaming Eagle in August of 1994, we knew we had found our perfect beach home. While on the Isle, our days and evenings are devoted to spending great times together as a family. A typical day begins with some sort of morning exercise whether it be a bike ride on our quiet streets, a walk to the Pointe, a hike thorough Emerald Wood or a run either on the beach, roads or bike bath. From there we head off to the beach and enjoy the sun filled skies while relaxing to the sounds/sights of the Atlantic Ocean. After beach time, the hardest part of the day begins, as we have to choose from a ton of great local activities. For example, mini-golf, catching a movie at Emerald Plantation, enjoying a treat at a local sweet shop, enjoying an evening of great food/atmosphere at one of the many local eateries, visiting the newly renovated Aquarium, catching a dolphin watch cruise, ridding jet skis on the sound, renting kayaks, getting in some waterfront shopping in Swansboro, Morehead City or Beauforts’, trying out parasailing, visiting Fort Macon (a fort from the Civil War!!!) and many, many more options to choose from. My wife and I have been visiting the island for over 30 years. It’s amazing to say that it still remains an awesome family-friendly place. We are grateful to call it our “2nd” home.

What makes this house unique

The View, The View and The View…… It’s such a treat to wake up each morning to the sights and sounds of the Atlantic Ocean each and every day while you are staying at our home. The main deck, master bedroom, living room and kitchen have great site lines to the great outdoors. While there are no promises we can make that will assure you will catch dolphins swimming by or fly bys of a pelican family, it will be worth your while to grab a book or your morning beverage and grab a seat on the deck. If you don’t want to stay on deck, you are a few steps away from the beach taking our main walkway with the added treat of having only 6 steps to transverse to the beach at the end of the walkway. As an added treat, you can stop halfway on your way down to the sandy shores and relax on our dune side deck. The dead end street offers a safe haven for children to play as well as quiet times due to the lack of through traffic. As owners, we are consistently looking at ways to improve our home and are open to suggestions from our great guests. We play an active role in ensuring your stay and future stays are enjoyable. In the off-season, the home continues to be offered for the weekly or weekend guests as well as for a monthly rental for the fisherman or visitor. If there is any interest in these options, further information on rates, etc. can be obtained from the owners.

Amenities

Emerald Isle House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3), Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) With High Chair
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dead end street, very quiet, dune protection

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront: Single Family Home with Relaxation Guaranteed
average rating of 4.638889 based on 36 reviews
5

Family Friendly and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Large comfortable home, beautiful oceanfront location in a nice quiet neighborhood. Our family had a very nice spring break here, and one of my sons caught a very large bluefish right there! Property manager was fantastic. He made sure we had everything we needed. Also, Food Lion was only a few miles away. We hope we will visit there again.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That's a treat. Congrats on catching the fish!!! Thanks for being great guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Screaming Eagle Week

  • 4 of 5

House is nice, but needs a little tlc. The beach area is wonderful, not crowded.

Had a couple of small problems, but the caretaker was on it quickly. Would indeed recommend this house!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: One of the beautiful things about staying at the Screaming Eagle is the beach. It's awesome and to wake up to it every day is a blessing. Another blessing we have is our property manager who is always on call and does a great job addressing any wants and needs of our guests. We focus on our guests experiences. While we can't control the weather, we do pay close attention to everything else. Every house/home needs tlc. :) It's just part of owning/renting a house. We are consistently making upgrades and changes to create a wonderful stay. The best input we receive is from our great guests. They have excellent recommendations that we always follow up on. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greensboro
5

Screaming Eagle is great!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a great stay at this property and will definitely return. The house was great, wonderful working with Bob on the rental, and Jerry from the realty company was quick to answer any questions we had. Saw dolphins each day from our deck and we couldn't have ask for better weather. Thanks for making a much needed week at the beach just perfect!

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The goal is to be "home" from home without the added worries and stresses. The dolphins are a treat and we are so happy you got to experience that too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house!!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time in Bob's home! The location could not be beat! Do not hesitate to rent this house!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A great visit plus a chance to compete in the Emerald Isle Half Marathon. Quite the combo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful winter holiday!

  • 5 of 5

We wanted to spend Christmas with our oldest son and his wife for Christmas. They live in Swansboro and we were looking for a beach house nearby. A consideration was for a pet friendly house. The Screaming Eagle certainly fit the bill. It was very comfortable and clean. The pictures on VRBO are an accurate reflection of the house. The house was a convenient 15 minutes from our son's home, close enough restaurants (even in winter), close grocery stores and drug store. The house was spacious and the kitchen was supplied well enough to fix meals. In spite of the drizzly and cold weather, there were pods of dolpins seen almost every day. I would definitely book the Screaming Eagle again! Thanks for renting to us!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had a Merry Christmas with the added bonus of seeing dolphins. That's always a treat.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very Enjoyable Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at the Screaming Eagle. The view from the deck and close proximity to the water was perfect. The home is well furnished and comfortable. The location is great as this end of the island is quiet and secluded . . . and we were just a short distance away from groceries and restaurants. We've stayed at numerous beach homes over the years and feel Screaming Eagle is one we would definetely return to. Thank you for a great weekend!

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had a great time and stay. One of the gems of the house is it's location. It's quiet and secluded while also being able to meet all of your needs in terms of stores, etc. being a short drive or bike ride away.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Shell Collecting

Photos

Rates & Availability

Emerald Isle House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late May
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
$512
$2,195
 
 
Early Season
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,865
 
 
Peak Season
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 11 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,845
 
 
Late August
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,535
 
 
Early Fall
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$410
$2,445
 
 
Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$289
$1,695
 
 
Late Fall---Early Winter
Sep 23 2017 - Dec 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$249
$1,585
 
 
Off Season
Dec 23 2017 - Mar 17 2018
3 night minimum stay
$229
$1,269
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.75%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties