Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stowe Log Chalet: Wood Fireplace, Hot Tub, Outdoor Fire Pit, Mountain Views

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms (sleeps 12 in beds) / 4 Bath; 12.5 miles from ski lifts

Stowe Log Chalet with real Wood (not gas) Fireplace ; Outdoor Hot Tub; Mountain Views.

12.5 miles from Stowe Mountain Resort ski lifts and 5 miles from historic Stowe Village, settled in 1763. Nestled next to an evergreen forest at the end of a quiet, dead end road.

Save 30% on 7 night stays (see weekly rates) midweek to midweek (i.e. Thurs. to Thurs.).

Dogs are welcome.

Rental agreement required. Loud parties will be removed without refund. Stays that include a Fri. or Sat. will be charged weekend rate for 2 nights (3 on holiday weekends). ONE-night stays are considered (and their price negotiated) on a case by case basis only.

More Details

Owner
John Allis
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2018

About John Allis

Property is owned by a local small business owner who grew up in Stowe, knows the area well and loves welcoming guests to our historic mountain village for world class skiing, dining and adventure.

John Allis purchased this house in 2000

Why John Allis chose Stowe

This property had everything I was looking for: It's a log cabin with a real wood fireplace, mountain views and a location at the end of a quiet, yet easily accessible country road. Access wasn't a problem (I don't want to have to drive a 4-wheel drive) and it has cable internet.

What makes this house unique

Same as above: Log Cabin with wood (not gas) fireplace, outdoor hot tub and mountain views at the end of a dead end road with high speed internet. Score!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a guest post a 3-star review. He then removed it, but not until after I had written a response. Since I feel this should be said anyway, below is the response I had written. All of our guests should read this.



Let me clarify a few things:



TRASH REMOVAL: He's correct on this one. This is a vacation rental, not the Town Dump. The Stowe Transfer Station is open every day except Tuesday. It is your responsibility to sort and dispose of your own trash, recycling and food waste.



LAUNDRY: Wrong. We do NOT want clients doing the laundry. We'd much rather have our housekeeper do it, as it needs to be done thoroughly.



HOT WATER: Wrong. The hot water works fine. In fact, we have two water heaters (one primary, one backup for emergencies). This guest arrived 2-3 hours before check-in time... before the well pump had time to re-fill its cistern, which we had drained to fill the hot tub with fresh water. Mr. Nicholson, upon finding low water pressure before 5pm, started throwing valves near the water heater ("I'm a man... I can fix this") before contacting us. By the time he called us, he had reduced the flow of water to the hot water heater so that it didn't work properly for the rest of his stay. When we went in to clean the house after he left, we discovered that there was no hot water and that the valves and switches that control the water heaters were in the wrong position. We switched them back and everything works as it should.



CLEANLINESS: As I mentioned, Mr. Nicholson arrived 2-3 hours early. We have an experienced housekeeper who, when given the amount of time needed, can clean the house well. When you show up at 2pm for a 5pm check in, that's not going to happen. Contrary to what Mr. Nicholson said, we do NOT expect guests to clean the house (or do the laundry).



The Take-Away for Guests:

1) If something doesn't work, contact us BEFORE you mess with it. There's usually an easy fix.

2) Due to this review we will no longer honor requests for early check-in. No exceptions. If you arrive in Stowe early, tour the Ben and Jerry's factory, get some donuts at Cold Hollow Cider Mill or hit one of our local micro-breweries for some liquid sunshine. Just don't arrive 2-3 hours early and expect things to be clean and ready.



Good point on the bathroom towel hooks. We'll install some.

Thanks!



John Allis
Mar 2018
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Stowe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Pets considered
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Resort ...
  • Town ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , double-sink granite vanity
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , double-sink granite vanity
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , off the loft bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , main floor; double-sink granite vanity
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , Loft (upstairs)
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , main floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , main floor
    Bedroom 4 - 2 queen , walkout / includes 3rd bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 2 queen , 1 double , walkout / includes 4th bathroom
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • Groups
  • Singles
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Stowe Log Chalet: Wood Fireplace, Hot Tub, Outdoor Fire Pit, Mountain Views
average rating of 4.0 based on 13 reviews
fairfield, ct. USA
4

Very Good Experience!

  • 4 of 5

Inside is awesome - long bowling alley table for eating - great bedrooms - ample sleeping for 12 of us at our daughters wedding weekend - fabulous bedding! - great views! - hot tub not great but could still enjoy - small new grill installed while we were there - maybe getting larger one ? We would definitely return - responsive property manager - weekend we will always cherish!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Would not rent again

  • 1 of 5

We had high expectations for this house, but we were disappointed. We were a group of 8 teachers attending a conference at the Stoweflake. We were looking for a home close by so that we did not have to commute each day. In the photos, the home looks much better than what we found in person. To begin with, there is supposed to be a 5:00 check-in. We arrived at 5:30 and the house was still being cleaned. We waited until about 5:50 before we were allowed to enter. While waiting, we clearly noticed a lack of care on the outside of the home. Lawns were not mowed and trim had not been done for quite some time. There were junk cars in back of the home as well as a trailer with mattresses on it. We tried to use the hot tub our first night there, but the temperature was uncontrollable and the water quickly became too hot (109 degrees). We could not get any of the controls to work correctly. We all brought food in order to eat-in one night. There is a full-sized grill on the front porch with a smaller, two-burner grill sitting on top. With 8 people we hoped to have chicken, hotdogs and hamburgers, unfortunately, the large grill did not work (was not hooked up to the gas line, had no propane tank and was full of leaves and debris) and we were forced to only cook chicken on the small grill. The home is set up with 9 queen sized beds so it can technically sleep 18 people, however you are asked to remove all your own trash or you will be charged $50. We did this even though it seems very unreasonable. I have no idea how larger groups, staying for longer periods of time, manage to take all their garbage out with them. We were fortunate and had someone with a truck so we didn't have to smell our garbage all the way home. Owners instructions said the garbage could be left at the Stowe landfill, but it closes at 3:00 and our conference did not let out until after 3:00. On our last evening there, we returned from dinner to find strange cars and people in the driveway among our cars. Again, very odd. I have rented many homes throughout the US and the Caribbean and I never been disappointed...until now. I will say that the house was clean, but it is set up more like a bunk house with 5 of the 9 beds in the basement very close to a wood stove. It may be a good place for a large group of young skiers who aren't looking for much more than a place to sleep, however I would not recommend this home or rent it again.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place.

  • 5 of 5

Quiet, plenty of room and beds, kitchen stuff, etc. They even provide wood for the fire pit! Highly recommend it. Owner lives near by and quickly responded to the one question we had. Our entire extended family had a great week.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible Horrible Horrible

  • 1 of 5

My family rented this place to stay at for my sisters wedding. The property is nice, the view is amazing, but the interior was filthy. The toilet in the basement upon arrival was filled with poop and plugged. Everything on the main floor was covered in dust from the prior day of a construction crew redoing the flooring. Dishes were dirty and had to be washed. No dish cleaning cloths or sponges were available. No dish towels or hand towels. We are a party of twelve and there is only about 10 towels for showering. The hot tub was filthy and disgusting looking. There are bugs everywhere. We were told that we were the first people to rent it for the year. It should have been amazingly clean for first time use for the year. There was used soap bars in the shower! There was a paint roller in the fridge. The bed sheets on some beds were dirty. One looked like it had poop on it. Another one had bugs and hair in it. More dirty toilets. Hot tub lid doesn't even fit the hot tub. I do not know how this place ever got 5 stars on the rental websites.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The take-away from this is remember to submit your rental agreement. The house is not reserved and the cleaning crew is not scheduled until the rental agreement has arrived and you have received a confirmation email. This client never sent in an agreement and we did not expect them. The house was being worked on by a painter and two people re-finishing the floors when they arrived. Nothing was clean and the place was in no way ready for them. Beyond that, they were rude to the crew that was trying to ready the house for them without notice. We will no longer take any renters who show up without booking first. The house will be locked and they will be turned away. On their other note... The hot tub covers do not match the hot tub. Factory covers are made out of foam and are easily broken by renters who sit on them. If you absolutely must have a factory hot tub cover, please rent a different house. We've rented this house for many years and we rarely get guests who are rude, particularly to this degree. This guest came during the off-season when we had dropped the rate in an effort to fill the April through mid-June dead time. It's clear that doing so was a mistake. In light of this experience, we've now eliminated the off-season rates in an effort to avoid guests like this in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful place for a large group

  • 4 of 5

We had a great weekend...beds were so comfortable...long kitchen table was used constantly

Close to everything!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved this place!

  • 5 of 5

This house was PERFECT for our group. Everyone had their own bed. Great living space. My only wish was that the hot tub was a bit warmer and was filled up more. It hovered at 75-80 degrees the entire weekend. We would definitely stay again. Thank you John!

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Burlington International Airport
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Stowe Mountain Resort

Located at the end of a well-maintained dead end road, (easily accessible), 12 miles from skiing at Stowe Mountain Resort; 5 miles from historic Stowe Main Street.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund