check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Large Island-Style Family Home with Wheelchair Accessibility

25 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Princeville House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Loft, Sleeps 8

A beautiful 3 bedroom / 2 bath home with sleeping loft, situated on the North Shore of Kaua'i in the town of Princeville. 2000 square feet living space plus a 200 sq ft covered lanai. A fully outfitted home whose amenities include:

+TV/DVD and home theater system in the living room

+ Master bedroom has a king size bed and TV with DVD

+Additional bedrooms and a loft have:

1) Queen Bedroom: Queen size bed and a TV with cable.

2) Twin Bedroom: a twin bed and a full size bed.

3) Loft: A futon sleeper with a full size mattress.

* Fully stocked kitchen, newly remodeled with new appliances, including microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and blender

*All linens, towels, etc.

Additional Amenities:

* All linens, including beach towels

* Washer and dryer

* Outdoor shower (hot/cold water) with privacy screen

* Toys, games, puzzles, and books for kids and adults

* Gas BBQ grill on the 200' covered lanai

* Fruit trees

* View of beautifully landscaped gardens and permanent green space from lanai and all windows

* Accessibility options including ramped entry, single level design, shower chair, wide doorways, fully accessible shower and bath tub handles

Walking Distance to Beaches, Golf, Shops:

* Walk to Queen's Bath - a natural lava pool.

* Walk to Anini Beach.

* Walk to Makai Golf Course.

* Walk to Princeville town center shops.

* Walk to Hanalei Beach Park.

* Walk to Hanalei Valley Overlook.

State of Hawaii Transient Occupancy Tax ID# TA-171-960-1152-01

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible

Laurel Moorhead
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 24, 2016
Call Owner

About Laurel Moorhead

We bought this house in 2002 after searching for two years for a house that felt like it was made for Hawaii. We finally found this house and have been very happy with it. We improve it in some way each time we come, for example during the last trip we added new fishtail palms to the garden, replaced the TV in the Queen Bedroom and hung new artwork. The house is a work in progress, it just keeps getting better. We are a family of four, with two daughters, including our older daughter who has a spinal cord injury. It was for her that we added the wheelchair ramp to the front porch, insisted on a single level floor plan and have a shower bench that can be installed when needed.

Laurel Moorhead purchased this house in 2002

Why Laurel Moorhead chose Kauai

We love Kaua'i. We have been coming regularly since 1994 and began looking for a house in 2000. We chose the North Shore because of the beauty of the area, the limited development, the easy access to beautiful beaches and hiking. We chose Princeville because of the accessibility to shopping, beaches and hikes. Grant loves to golf, Laurie walks for hours each day, Marissa loves to jump off the pier in Hanalei Bay and Sara likes to walk to the library and shoot hoops at the neighborhood basketball court.


based on 25 traveler reviews

Large Island-Style Family Home with Wheelchair Accessibility
average rating of 4.88 based on 25 reviews

We loved the Yoga house

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at the Yoga house. The house was equipped with everything we needed, including beach and snorkeling gear. There was something magical about hanging out at night on the lanai with a glass of good wine listening to the rain. I highly recommend this home for families.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Yoga House...perfect home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

The awesome Yoga House

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

The Yoga House was so much more than we expected. Our family of six comfortably stayed for two and a half weeks. The large, great room was a fantastic common area for all of us to relax after playing on the many nearby beaches. The three separate bedrooms plus loft provided the perfect sleeping and chill out spaces.

The owners take great care of their property, and it truly shows in and out of the house. As we first stepped in from the large front lanai, we instantly knew we found the perfect vacation home away from home. The open beam ceilings and wood flooring give it a homey and yet Hawaiian feel. We were really hoping that a vacation home in Princeville would not feel like an "anyplace" home. The Yoga House really felt like a house that belonged in Kaua'i.

I think our favorite spot in the house was the 200 square foot covered lanai just off the great room. We ate all of our meals at the six person table. The fact the house sits adjacent to a green belt really provides the perfect feeling of outdoor openness one can only wish for. Whether it was sunny or rainy, the covered lanai was the perfect space.

The house sits back from a main loop road and feels very secluded. We especially enjoyed walking around the property as well as walking to the Primceville Shopping Center for early morning coffee. Just walking through the neighborhood provides a tranquil and serene Kaua'ian experience.

Would we return again to the Yoga House? Absolutely, in a heartbeat, no questions asked. We just hope it will be available the next time we can make it over to Nani Kaua'i!

Mahalo Nui Loa to the owners for sharing their beautiful 'hale' with the VRBO world.

Date of arrival

June 7, 2016

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?

Perfect family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The Yoga House provided the perfect home base for our stay on the north side of the island. Just a quick drive from Hanalei and Kilauea and a few minutes from the Princeville shopping area that has almost everything you need.

The house is well equipped and stylishly furnished with comfortable seating and bedding.

Thank you for providing everything we need to make our stay pleasant so that we could focus on having a good time and enjoying our time together.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Yoga House

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the Yoga House. It was spacious, clean, and close to many of the North Shore's gorgeous beaches and towns. The outside shower was a pleasant bonus after multiple days of beach hopping due to sand collecting in varies articles of clothing, as well as between the toes etc. The high ceilings were reminicent of a Tahoe ski chalet with screened open windows throughout. Necessary ecoutrements included dishwasher, laundry, and coffee pot. Kitchen was apt with space, not garganteous by any means, but enogh to prepare food for 6.

Drawbacks included a tempermental wi-fi (router needs to be replaced) as well as an amazing 5.1 surround sound stereo system with auxilary jack that 3 stereo nerds could not figure out. This was quite a bummer, it was as if a beautiful Porsche was there for us in the garage sans the car keys. Petty perhaps, but music is a key ingrediant for any get away.

Hands down, we would consider coming back to this place in a heartbeat. Princeville has the amenities at hand for a home rental, grocery store, food, etc. and close to the best parts of Kauai....Hanalei, Larsen's Beach and Kapaa. If you can avoid the madness of the south shore, please do. The East and North shore is lush with rain forests and empty beaches and cooler weather peppered by warm and transient rainfall.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so happy that you enjoyed the house and area. We appreciate the good and the bad and have responded to the two points you made. We have replaced the tempermental router with a new updated one that can better handle multiple devices at once. We hope that this solves the problem. Concerning the sound system, we were just as frustrated by it as you and have replaced it with a Yamaha Sound Bar that produces beautiful sound from the TV, DVD, music and videos. It is a huge improvement and we apologize for the lack when you were here.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Seattle, WA

Lovely stay at The Yoga House

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay at The Yoga House. My husband, sister and I spent a week in September. The house was well equipped, very clean, and provided some welcome extra’s (snorkel equipment, beach chairs, boogie boards, lots of beach towels, sunblock etc.) which came in very handy. Located in a residential area of Princeville, it’s an easy walk to Queen’s Bath and the golf course and a short drive to Princeville center.

Laurel was very friendly and responsive and provided lots of information. We would definitely recommend this property to a friend.

A couple things to note, the master bedroom faces the road. This is a quiet area and there is not a lot of traffic on the road. However at night you can see into the master bedroom through some of the windows. There are pretty tropical plants just outside that provide some privacy but it is not completely covered. We were here in the summer and it was hot even at night, there is no air-conditioning, but there are a few fans provided. This was not a big deal for us, but it might be a problem for those people expecting to have air conditioning. We couldn't figure out the new sound system for the TV, they have a new system installed and the instructions had not been updated. Again this was just a minor inconvenience. Overall we enjoyed our stay; I think this is a great place for a family with kids.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. Regarding the problems you noted, we have corrected two of them: 1) We have installed blinds in the windows in the corner of the master bedroom that faces the street so that there is no visibility into the room from outside. The other windows are fully shielded by beautiful foliage so they are still uncovered for complete enjoyment of our tropical garden. 2) The sound system has been replaced with a Yamaha Sound Bar and we have written instructions on it's use. This produces beautiful sound for TV, DVD, music and films. It is very easy to use and can also be synched via bluetooth to other devices. Thank you for letting us know what needed to be corrected. Mahalo, Laurie & Grant Moorhead, the happy owners
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Hale Yoga... Maika'i Loa!!

  • 4 of 5

We were very pleased with our stay at "Hale Yoga" (Yoga House) in Princeville. It is well maintained with all the amenities, just as described. The area is so very maluhia (peaceful) too. We would recommend staying at Hale Yoga. Grant & Laurie, Mahalo nui loa for sharing your lovely home!!

  • Submitted: May 28, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended

Beach, rain forest, nature, hiking, golf, mountains, waterfalls, wildlife, snorkeling, coral reef, ocean, river, walking, kayaking.


Rates & Availability

Princeville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee 1-4 guests $236
Tax Rate 13.25%

The cleaning and management fee ($236.25 for 1-4 guests, $262.50 for 5-6 guests or $288.50 for 7-8 guests) acts as the deposit, although it is actually a fee, nonrefundable. It is charged to your credit card at the time of booking.

The rental portion of the fees (rent & tax) would be due to us by check or money order two weeks before your arrival.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Princeville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Guest Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor Shower - outdoor shower
    Master Bath - toilet , shower , Roll-in Shower
  • Roll-in shower with ADA bars in Master Bath
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen Bedroom - 1 queen
    Twin Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Loft - 1 double
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , attached master bath with roll-in shower
  • Master Bedroom has TV/DVD player Queen Bedroom has TV/DVD player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Wheelchair Accessibility: Single level design, ramp to front porch, roll-in shower in master bath, ADA grab bars in Master Bath shower, shower bench available, wide doorways.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties