Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up


Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, spanish

One Bedroom English Basement in the Heart of Adams Morgan

16 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalize payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Washington DC Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

The Location:

This apartment is in a great location. A 15 minutes walk from the Woodley/National Zoo metro station in one direction and 15 minutes walk to DuPont Circle in another direction. The bus stop is also across the street. We are located on the edge of Adams Morgan and DuPont Circle, right in the middle of numerous restaurants , shops and exciting night clubs. There is a great variety of shopping options within walking distance, boutiques, small local stores and arts and craft shops.

The downtown sightseeing is just a few minutes away on the metro of about 15 minutes walk (we are about 1 mile from the White House and the National Mall). There are number of bus lines in the area, Metro just a few minutes away and we are walking distance to number of sites.

The Apartment:

Private English Basement Garden Apartment: Modern 1 bedroom Capitol Hill apartment with a private entrance.

• Sleeps 4

• Private bedroom with a Queen bed

• Full bath with bath tub

• Queen size Sleeper sofa bed in the living room

• sheets and comforters

• bath towels

• Clothes washer and dryer

• Fully appointed kitchen with refrigerator, oven/range, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, coffee maker, dishes, glasses & cook ware.

• Ironing board + iron

• Hair dryer

• Wireless internet

• Flat Screen TV

• Cable

• DVD/Blue-ray Player with Netflix and HBOGO apps

• Central AC


• No Pets

Keywords: condominium, Basement, English Basement, DuPont Circle,

Internships, Couples getaway, traveling nurses, Adams Morgan, Madams Organ, Bars, Restaurants, Zoo

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
Allen (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english, french, spanish

About Allen

The redhead next to me is my wife Ana.

We have 2 daughters who are grown and are on their own ( not really, if you are a parent you know) and a 14 pound Schnoodle ( he thinks he is a giant). We have been living in the DC metro area for about 36 years and absolutely love it. Washington DC is a beautiful city, it really is and for people coming here to spend their vacations or attend conferences, weddings, funerals (The Arlington Cemetery), graduations, sight seeing, festivals etc. etc. there isn't any city that offers so much.

I manage the properties and Ana tells me what to do (!!!) We are a great team and enjoy doing what we do.

Allen purchased this condo in 2006

Why Allen chose Washington DC

This is a great apartment in the middle of action but away from the crowd. It has its own unique character and has very up-beat atmosphere. We have has singles staying here and families of 5. mostly two adults and 2 or 3 kids. It is close to the transportation, the bus and the metro and of course the Zoo. We think it brings a great value.

What makes this condo unique

A commercial High Speed WIFI, Cable TV, full kitchen

Guestbook comments from the manager

**Please do not wire transfer or send any monies to any entity prior to calling us direct at 202-327-3688**
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 1


based on 16 traveler reviews

One Bedroom English Basement in the Heart of Adams Morgan
average rating of 4.0625 based on 17 reviews
We have homes in West Texas and New Mexico

Property is okay for the price but could have been cleaner.

  • 3 of 5

The property owner was very responsive and easy to communicate with. The property is close to amenities within walking distance and it was quiet at night. It could have been cleaner, needs a new coat of paint and some minor repairs, and the decor is rather strange, but priced well for a long stay. Toilet was slow and needed work. This basement apartment wasn't easy to get down to if you have any physical limitations--steep steps down and low overhanging doorway. But I felt safe there.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: MaryHelen was our guest for two weeks and she was great. Upon arrival she texted me that the rim of the washing machine has some green stuff on it. I offered to go and clean it for her or send the cleaner over. She said she will do it herself. It was some laundry detergent that had spilled and dried. She didn't mention anything about the toilet until this review which is unfortunate. Things do break down at all times. I went there after reading about the slow toilet and it was a $3 washer that was rotted out. Changed it in 5 minutes and It works great. I sensed that she was settled in and didn't want anyone, me or the cleaner or others to disturb her. I understand that but then we do need to fix things if they break at some point and the sooner the better for our guests. The paint scheme was designed and created by a local graffiti artist who spent a week creating it. We hate to paint over it but if more of our guests feel that it is strange we may have to. So if you read this review and are scheduled to stay here, we would love to hear your opinion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice apartment Excelent location

  • 4 of 5

Wife and I had a nice stay in this apartment. The location is incredible, full of restaurants and bars, close to the DuPont Circle and the Zoo where the metro station is. Bus stop across the street although we walked to downtown when not raining. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed. The wifi was a great help for a bit of work I had to do remotely. The owner was easily reachable by and had great recommendations for eateries. We enjoyed our stay and recommend it to our friends.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Plymouth, Massachusetts


  • 1 of 5

This property is not as advertised. It is dark, musty, dirty and chock full of bugs including roaches and fruit flies. The two leather couches in the depicted photo have been replaced with a single dirty linen covered futon. The bed has torn sheets and none of the bedding for the futon was clean. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone! We paid for four nights and left after the first night, choosing to drive eight hours to get home rather than stay in their another second. I have contacted the owner and as of today (9/7/15) haven't heard from him. Please stay away from this property! Please note we arrived 8/31/15 but was unable to choose that date from the calendar.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: David reserved the apartment for 4 nights. Prior to arrival we were communicating via text and phone calls. That extended to about 30 minutes prior to their arrival and guidance on parking. Three days later we received an email stating that they had left in a hurry due to the apartment not meeting their requirements and/or expectations. We had no Idea of what happened between the time of their arrival and their departure on the third day because there was not a single text, phone call or email sent to us. at no time during their stay did they contact me. It is a normal guest response to call and communicate if there is anything wrong, misplaced, missing or out of order or if there is a cleaning issue or if they need help. We didn't receive any communications until the third day of their stay. The email contained a request for a full refund which is similar to eating at a restaurant and after the meal is almost finished suddenly claiming that the food was not up to their standard and request a full refund for the meal. It is quite dishonest to stay 3 nights, not say anything and then complain about the accommodations 3 days after departure. We have hosted hundreds of guests in this unit and have had a fraction of a percentage of issues that we have addressed right away. David knows that we have several units in the neighborhood and could have moved him to any of them without hesitation if his claims were legitimate but he stayed 3 nights, and then sent us an email knowing this was a made up claim to get free accommodations. Please read the reviews on this unit and all the other ones we manage and judge for yourself. This review was not written in good faith. We do everything to make your stay a nice one and are proud of our record.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Not what we have come to expect from vrbo's

  • 2 of 5

This was a disappointing stay for us. We arrived to a dirty apartment (sheets nor changed, dirty pan in the oven, very dirty bathroom). To the owners credit he did send the cleaners back to correct. The place was poorly stocked (no kleenex anywhere in the house and a poorly stocked kitchen. And with the place just not feeling clean we didn't trust using much in the house). The turning point for my wife and I was that every morning a man was outside our bedroom or bathroom windows (we should mention that none of the windows had any type of covering) working on the owners deck. This made using the bathroom, getting dressed awkward and ultimately our stay extremely uncomfortable. I would not recommrnd this place without first talking to the owner to ensure vrbo expectations will be met. We will not be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: David and wife were nice people. We are disappointed that they didn't have a good experience like all the other folks who had stayed here. The cleaner didn't do a good job and was sent back to redo the cleaning. The sheets had been changed but had bleach spots but they were cleaned as we clean all linen and towels each and every time. They just didn't look new. The windows are glass blocks where they let plenty of lights come and no curtains required plus we have never had a complaint about them. As far as the man outside, he was a contractor washing the deck on one day where he got the job done and was not there again. I agree that he like most contractors started earlier rather than later and we apologize for that. We hope that David can visit us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place to rest after a long day of touring

  • 5 of 5

Excellent property. Owner was friendly and great customer service. The property was very clean and well maintained. Good location to get to metro station with ample bus service. The kitchen was well stocked and the wifi signal was strong. I was surprised by how quiet it was inside even on a busy Friday night in Adams Morgan. I will stay here again on my next trip to DC. I highly recommend this location!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
providence, ri, usa

7-nights in DC -- nice APT.

  • 5 of 5

just 2 of us -- in DC for basketball tournament -- apartment just right for us -- but interior different from photos (only 1 sofa) -- no dishwasher -- low ceiling -- hopefully will stay there again next year -- Alan is great to work with!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Adams Morgan Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $70 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 14.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Washington DC Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell us about your trip, then book it

This property requires that you message the manager to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote