check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Judy Atwood

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Nordic Sauna, Walk to Town!

47 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Half Baths1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Woodstock Studio Rental Photos and Description

Studio cottage with kitchenette, sauna, writing porch, sleeps 2

Treat yourself to a relaxing, rejuvenating and inspiring retreat in your own private historic studio cottage in the heart of Stonecrop, the estate owned by Anita M. Smith — renowned writer, artist, historian and “Herb Lady of the Catskills.”

Nestled at the gateway to Woodstock’s legendary Overlook Mountain, Rock City Writer’s Studio is walking distance (just over 1/2 mile) to the Woodstock Village Green, where you’ll find galleries, boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Or just stay home and relax in your bucolic retreat surrounded by wildlife and nature.

Prepare snacks and meals in your well-equipped kitchenette, and serve them on the screened-in bluestone porch, or at the bluestone table on the lawn with a gas grill surrounded by gardens.

Treat yourself to a relaxing sauna in your Nordic sauna for two, followed by a shower under a skylight.

The living room converts into a cozy bedroom at night. We are happy to announce that our original sofabed has been replaced by a new Comfort Sleeper by American Leather. This high-end "marvel of engineering" opens into a luxurious queen bed with a solid platform (no bars, springs or sagging) and a thick high-density foam mattress with luxury linens. Described as a "non-sofabed", the Comfort Sleeper is easy to operate, glides open and closed effortlessly, and is extremely comfortable for a restful night's sleep!

The living room also features a 32” flat-screen HDTV with cable service and a Blu-Ray player, as well as an extensive collection of books and DVDs. Other amenities include spa towels and robes, WIFI, and private parking.

BONUS: Rent Rock City Writer's Studio with Herb Cottage (#3469885) to accommodate family or friends and save! When Rock City Writer's Studio and Herb Cottage are rented together, a 10% discount off both applies. Please inquire for details.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Judy Atwood (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.8
based on 47 traveler reviews

NEW! Rock City Writer's Studio: Bucolic Setting, Nordic Sauna, Walk to Town!
average rating of 4.7659574 based on 47 reviews
5

The perfect gataway

  • 5 of 5

Lovely and charming studio, great value,relaxing, well maintained, great location close to Downtown and restaurants. We will definitely come back!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the writers studio while our friends rented the main house for a weekend getaway for our friends birthday. It was so cozy and just the amount of room we needed - and our dog loved the yard! Would definitely rent again!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing, scenic, quiet stay in Woodstock, NY!

  • 4 of 5

I've had the Rock City Studio in my HomeAway favorites since I joined H/A. Finally the opportunity to book & stay worked out for me time wise. Everything was just like it's described. The place was spotless inside and out. Chelsea gave me all the info I needed before I asked. I used the studio as a launch site to visit three lakes to kayak. All were within a half an hour. I also took the opportunity to hike to the top of Overlook Mountain just up the street, this was a bit of a challenge for me but the views atop the MT were worth it! Also, can't recommend Yum Yum Noodle & Garden Cafe in the Woodstock green. Look forward to staying here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

We can't say enough about how perfect of a getaway Rock City is. Great furnishings and everything that is needed for a short term stay. Love the sauna especially after a long hike. The proximity of the studio to downtown Woodstock is within walking distance which is an added bonus. Outdoor grill, beautiful and well kept grounds. An absolutely peaceful and tranquil setting. We can't wait to book our next trip.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mansfield Ohio
5

Inspirational Tranquility

  • 5 of 5

The studio is a perfect place to detach yourself from reality for a while. As you close the door to the privacy fence behind you, you're in your own garden of peace and quiet. I can see and understand what Anita M. Smith saw when she retreated here to paint and write many years ago. A visitor here will see her paintings and her book of the history of Woodstock. The studio is comfortable and the grounds are beautiful, and this is all in the middle of a flourishing artists'/musicians'/writers' community. A perfect place to think and reflect. Thank you Chelsea for doing everything to make our stay very enjoyable!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for a few nights and the cottage was exactly as described. It's very close to all the shops and restaurants. I would recommend without hesitation!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Albany Int'l or Stewart Int'l (Newburgh, NY)
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Woodstock Golf Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Amtrak (Rhinecliff, NY)
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
NYS Thruway (Rt. 87)
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Numerous
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Hunter, Belleayre, or Windham
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Woodstock Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early-Fall
Sep 6 2016 - Oct 6 2016
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$125
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$725
 
 
Columbus Day
Oct 7 2016 - Oct 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Late-Fall
Oct 11 2016 - Nov 17 2016
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$125
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$725
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 20 2016 - Nov 27 2016
4 night minimum stay
$125
$750
 
 
Christmas/New Year's
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$125
$750
 
 
Martin Luther King Jr's Bday
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Valentine's/Presidents' Day
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$115
From
$125
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$725
 
 
Summer
May 26 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
$750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$125
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$675
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

PETS: Well-behaved dogs considered ~ please ask! One-time $50 pet fee per dog applies. Please note that we request that dogs not be left home alone, unless they are crate-trained, and also that dogs be leashed at all times when outdoors. Thank you!

REFUNDABLE SECURITY DEPOSIT: $200 for less than one week; $400 for one week or longer

NOTE: Rent Rock City Writer's Studio with Herb Cottage (#3469885), the spacious 1-bedroom cottage on the same property ~ and receive a 10% discount off both!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Woodstock Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Toilet + sink - toilet
    Shower - shower , skylit shower stall
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Living Room/Bedroom - 1 queen
  • We are happy to announce that our original sofabed has been replaced by a new Comfort Sleeper by American Leather. This high-end "marvel of engineering" opens into a luxurious queen bed with a solid platform (no bars, springs or sagging) and a thick high-density foam mattress with luxury linens. Described as a "non-sofabed", the Comfort Sleeper is easy to operate, glides open and closed effortlessly, and is extremely comfortable for a restful night's sleep!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Partner Offers