Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Dominical Unobstructed Ocean View Total Privacy Villa 6-8 Minutes' Walk To Beach

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

White-water beach view, breathtaking view of ocean, jungle, blue sky, wildlife

Peaceful, quiet and private, Villa HighPalms is an ideal getaway for a week or a month. The 2-storey stand-alone condo-villa is located directly above a beautiful one-kilometer long beach in Dominical, Costa Rica, with stunning ocean and white water views. As one of the 35 vacation villas in a secure gated community, Villa HighPalms is the most private due to its position at the end of a closed road on a corner lot by the edge of the rainforest. Sightings of toucans, raccoons, iguanas and monkeys are common.

The community of Canto del Mar, where Villa HighPalms is located, offers convenient access to a string of pristine beaches, being only 150 meters from the coastal highway turnoff. It offers 24-hour security with a gated entrance and hourly foot-patrol.

At about 250 feet above sea level, Villa HighPalms offers a totally unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean, the sandy beach below, a picturesque headland, and a cove that welcomes fishing boats, swimmers and surfers. The villa is caressed by warm sea breeze throughout the day and cool mountain breeze throughout the night. Furniture on the veranda and lighting in the garden make outdoor dining and entertaining a way of life.

The stroll from the villa to Playa Dominicalito (Little Dominical Beach) takes 5 minutes down a gentle slope, alongside a football field, and across a low traffic road. The beach has a beautiful backdrop of emerald rainforest, light brown sand and rocky outcrops at both ends. Sunsets on the beach are fabulous. There is a popular waterfall with a natural swimming pool less than 1 km away.

The town of Dominical (3 hours from the international airport in San Jose and 30 minutes from the regional airport in Quepos) and the surfing actions on the main Dominical Beach are 4 km away, where you will find souvenir and grocery stores, restaurants and bars, internet cafes and tours offices. Uvita, which is 12 km further south, has large supermarkets, banks and more restaurants.

This fully furnished 1500-sq.ft.vacation home is surrounded by majestic palm trees, a profusion of tropical fruit trees and flowering plants. The corner position of the villa ensures tranquility and total privacy. One of the 3 bedrooms is furnished as a home office and TV room. Quality ceramics, hard wood poles and beams are used in constructing the villa and the design is overall airy, modern and tropical. There is plenty of space for car park directly in front of the villa. Cable TV, DVD player and Internet connection with WIFI are available.

The rates shown here are for couples. Extra person please add $20/night. Monthly rentals are only available to couples.

More recent reviews and guest comments can be found on our Airbnb listings by a search for 'Villa HighPalms'. Our villa virtual tour can be watched on

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Owner

We work and live around the world for the last thirty years. In 2005 we came to Dominical to work on a business project and came across this development overlooking the beach. We fell in love with the view and the natural environment.

Owner purchased this villa in 2006

Why Owner chose Dominicalito

It has the best of the both worlds, the beaches and the rainforests. One day we can stroll on a deserted beach for miles, and another we can spend hours on a nature trail, being mesmerized by giant or ancient plant species or dazzled by birds and small wildlife.

What makes this villa unique

The locals here are very friendly and welcoming and almost everyone you meet will greet you or smile. It's not yet as developed as other more famous destinations in the north, so you can still get that 'wild west' authentic feel around the place.

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a perfect spot for our amazing trip to Costa Rica. We had an amazing week in Dominical and we loved our time at the condo. We saw Monkeys right out from the deck every day! We could hear the waves crashing form the bedrooms! This is a beautiful area of Costa RIca and so many fun things to do. We were looking to "Check out" and "check out" is exactly what we did. The first day we did a little "beach crawl" checking out all the beaches downt the coast. We found that Playa Hermosa was our favorite, not a ton of people, great for swimming and body surfing…or at least attempting. We saw the most perfect sunset sitting on the beach here. We also rode horses up the the Nuyaca Falls and it was absolutely breathtaking! We got to jump off multiple falls and swim in the bottom. It is definietly a recommended exersion. Alex, the concierge, was so helpful throughout our stay. He made sure we had a map of everywhere we could possibly want to go and pointed us in the direction of the best restaurants. Por Que No……Best Meal we have had in a long time. Beautiful spot amazing staff and the best view you can imagine. If you eat no where else you have to eat there! We loved everything about our trip to Costa Rica and we would definitely stay in thie amazing spot again! HIghly recommended!!!! :) (Will from Chicago, IL, stayed Nov 23-27, 2015. Review left on Airbnb)
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 11


Dominicalito Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Printer
  • Scanner
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Extra firm mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Extra Long mattress
    Bedroom 3 - not for sleeping; TV room and office with a 3-seater sofa
  • Bedrooms are fully furnished with ample sheets and pillows. The master bedroom has ensuite bathroom and walk-in closet, the other two bedrooms share a second bathroom and both have custom designed wardrobes. The 3rd bedroom is a home office and has a 3-seat sofa.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Singles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeping
  • churches
  • forests
  • rain forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Weekly maid service is included. Daily maid service can be provided at extra cost. There is a natural pool at the base of a waterfall nearby where locals and visitors use for swimming.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Dominical Unobstructed Ocean View Total Privacy Villa 6-8 Minutes' Walk To Beach
average rating of 4.75 based on 19 reviews

Dominical Villa #8

  • 4 of 5

Hi Elaine,

What a wonderful setting, and the view is picture perfect!

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to our friends.

As former caretakers and leaving in Hawaii for several years we realize how much work it is to keep up a property and put your trust in someone to keep it up and maintain it.

When checking in the villa, it had not been cleaned for a few days prior to our arrival.

The lanai (patio) had not been swept or cleaned.

Lanai door not sliding properly

The interior of the villa was musty and had insect debris on the floors in several areas.

Fallen palm fronds are laying around the villa and some damage by fallen fronds to roof/overhang tiles was noticed.

Several screens are torn in areas and need repair.

The dryer seems to be on its last legs.

One of the bedroom A/C remotes not working.

The kitchen faucet assembly was not shutting down the cold water, Olmer was notified and the whole faucet assembly was replaced; worked perfectly after that.

Almost all the wall sconces in and out are not working.

I hope this helps Elaine.

Feel free to call or write back.

Thanks again .

Ed Cyr


  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ed, Thank you for all your feedback, it was helpful to know. 1. The lanai (patio) had not been swept or cleaned - That area is open to all the elements so we understand we cannot expect top marks from the maids on this, but still, I will insist it is swept prior to all future arrivals. 2. Lanai door not sliding properly - I will ask them to top up the lubricant. 3. The interior of the villa was musty and had insect debris on the floors in several areas - we have just come out of a heavy rainy season (Sep-Nov), obviously they have not let the villa air sufficiently prior to your arrival; what should have been done was to let the ACs run on dry mode for a couple of days. 4. Fallen palm fronds are laying around the villa and some damage by fallen fronds to roof/overhang tiles was noticed - I will poke the community gardening team to remove the fallen palms. About the roof tiles, we have had great difficulty finding the same type of tiles to replace the few broken ones, so eventually we will have to redo the whole roof. 5. Several screens are torn in areas and need repair - noted. 6. The dryer seems to be on its last legs - it is 10 years old; the filter (insert in the dryer's door) needs to be completely cleared prior to every use for it to be efficient. 7. One of the bedroom A/C remotes not working - hopefully it is just a matter of changing the batteries. 8. Almost all the wall sconces in and out are not working - I will ask them to please get on the ladder and change all the light globes! Thank you for taking the time to bring these to my attention. Regards, Elaine
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great spot

  • 5 of 5

We loved the villa, amazing views, close to everything we needed! We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks a lot, Matt, greatly appreciated. We are spending 3 weeks in the villa right now making some improvements, so your next stay with us will be even better. I will certainly offer you a repeat-guest discount as well. Cheers, Elaine
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Jersey, USA

Gorgeous view with excellent amenities!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our time SO MUCH in the Dominical beach villa over New Year's. The property is actually better than the photos! We were very comfortable and safe and had lots to do in the area. When we came back in the late afternoon from hiking or the beach, we could relax on the outdoor patio and enjoy the view, the birds, butterflies and one time - the monkeys!

The house was very clean and had everything you needed in the kitchen as well. TV and WiFi worked great. We did have one issue of water pressure going low and then going out completely - apparently this happens from time to time but it was only temporary and came back fine.

Elaine was very easy to work with and responsive and our deposit was returned within a few days.

The beaches all along the main road are awesome and the closest beach to the villa - Dominicalita was so nice to swim in and the sunsets are spectacular. We took a quad tour, whale/snorkel tour and hiked the reserves. All within 30 miles of the house.

I would book this place again in a minute!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Absolutely Breath Taking

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the place. Picture perfect views from all rooms and outside thatched roof patio. We would recommend this place to anyone that wants the ocean and the jungle in the same place. Also its a few minute drive from some of the best beaches in the area, as well as places to eat. We've stayed all over Costa Rica, by far this place is our favorite place in the 20 years we've been coming down here. Brian and Jena

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful, comfortable, great service

  • 5 of 5

The villa is amazing! It's located at the end of the road so it's a corner unit, the view is the most amazing you can get. Alex, the concierge, was extremely helpful and nice. The house has anything you could possibly need. The nearby beach (Dominicalito-walking distance) is absolutely empty, beautiful and private (except for the wonderful fisherman which will sell you the freshest fish you can get). The supermarkets are close by and offer anything you want to fill the fridge. Alex can help you with any activities/attractions you may be interested in. The villa was clean, check in/out was quick and easy, deposit was returned almost immediately and everyone was extremely helpful and pleasant! This is the place to be if you want a private, romantic, quiet, comfortable and beautiful stay in Costa Rica.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: January 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice; Great Location

  • 4 of 5

Great view of the Pacific from the nice and large deck. Main level features nice furnishings and decor. Downstairs bedroom level pretty so-so. Second BR is small and no lamp on one side of the double (!) bed. Property managers were friendly and helpful except that we reported the lights over the dark staircase to bedrooms were not working. Maybe just needed new bulbs, but this was never fixed.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: December 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi James, I'm sorry our property manager did not change the light globe at the staircase as you requested; this type of requests should have been attended to immediately. I appreciate that those wall lamps over the staircase are not within the maids' reach and require a very tall ladder, but they could have arranged for the community handyman to drop in with his ladder. The second bedroom feels a bit small, partly because the double bed is fitted with a custom made extra-long mattress, 6 inches longer than a normal double size bed. Currently both bedrooms offer reading light on one side of the bed only, sorry about that. I'll ask our property manager to purchase a couple more table lamps as soon as possible. Thank you for the helpful feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
La Mancha
Nearest Motorway
450 Metres
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
La Parcela
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Car: recommended

A short stroll from the villa down a gentle slope leads to a football field, then onto Dominicalito (little Dominical) Beach across the road. The beach has a beautiful backdrop of emerald hills and more than a kilometer of fine sand, with rocky outcrops at both ends and fabulous sunset evening after evening. From the villa you will also be able to walk or hike for miles into the rainforest behind and above. Chances are you will come across families of monkeys, raccoons, squirrels and a great variety of birds.

Dominical town and the surfing actions on the main Dominical Beach are 2.5 miles away, where you will find grocery stores, restaurants, bars and internet cafes. Within 40 minutes to the north and south are a dozen beaches or more, including the world-famous beaches of Manuel Antonio National Park. Corcovado National Park, the world's most biologically diverse spot, is 2 hours away by car and boat. You can take yoga or surfing lessons, join a horseback-riding tour to the waterfalls, watch whales and dolphins in the Ballena Marine National Park, hike or take a guided walk in the Hacienda Baru Wildlife Refuge, visit the bustling town of San Isidro and the farmers market in Uvita, which is also well known for its 'Whale's Tail' formation, made up of coral rocks and a 1-km sandbar between two beaches. We look forward to sharing with you some of our secret undiscovered spots!




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350

Rates shown are offered for couples. Extra person: $20/night, $26/night peak seasons.

Peak seasons are Christmas and New Year (Dec 21 to Jan 3) and Easter (Apr 10-16).
Monthly rentals are offered for couples only: utilities inclusive
Low season $3200/month (May to Nov)
High season $3700/month (Dec to Apr)
Peak Season premium applicable if year-end and Easter dates are included.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties