Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Eco-Friendly Luxury Oceanfront 'Mini-Resort' for your private use

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,750 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Spectacular Oceanfront Eco Friendly Luxury Villa with 3 bedrooms and 3 baths

You have internet surfed to one of the most fabulous and affordable oceanfront villas in the Caribbean. Rainbow Cove is pure Caribbean 'barefoot' luxury, which the owner opens to visitors when not in residence. Perched above the cliffs of the azure Caribbean Sea on St. Croix’s tranquil and very safe south shore, this home opens up to mesmerizing views and sea breezes.

For those travelers who are still conscious of limiting their carbon footprint even on vacation, we are the perfect place for you! The house is equipped with solar panels, a cistern system that collects and purifies rainwater, UV filters, Salt water pools and extensive use of LED/ CF Bulbs. Enjoy all the extravagance of this exotic property and house, all while being green.

Each luxurious, comfortable and air-conditioned bedroom walks out to fabulous sea views.

Entertaining in the ”Great Room” offers entertainment center wet bar and dining area. In this lovely gathering space you can enjoy satellite TV, a fabulous music system, and a assortment of games, movies and entertainment choices via the Apple TV hook-up. Includes Netflix access for streaming movies.

There is an alluring gourmet kitchen, that even the novice cook will enjoy.

Just steps away from the main house is a uniquely whimsical and charming guest cottage with a one bedroom loft.

Both the main house and the guest house feature their own refreshing pools.

.

All the bedrooms have air conditioning as well as the “Great Room” in the main quarters. Virtually no amenity has been over looked.

There are restaurants, hotel, casino, sandy beaches, and great snorkeling close by.

This is an adult rental and we do not rent to children aged toddler to 7 years old.

More Details

Owner
Kelsey Thomas
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Henry E. Rohlsen
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Grapetree Bay
Car: necessary

Amenities

Slob Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Wet Bar
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Guest House
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , two showers in master bath plus outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Guest House
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • MP3 Dock
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Deck Furniture
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch Furniture
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Green Amenities include; Solar Paneling and Solar Powered Appliances Sustainable Cistern system that collects rainwater - then filters and purifies for guest use with a UV filter Salt water pools Extensive use of LED and CF Bulbs

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Eco-Friendly Luxury Oceanfront 'Mini-Resort' for your private use
average rating of 5.0 based on 34 reviews
5

Spectacular

  • 5 of 5

The place was just right. It was clean, everything worked, the view was breathtaking, and it was quiet. We would stay there again if we came back to St. Croix.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Walker, Louisiana
5

Wow!!!!

  • 5 of 5

The avalanche of 5-star reviews are all true. This place is simply amazing. We've rented at least 25 homes on VRBO over the years and this one is by far our new favorite. While the 4 of us, 2 couples, loved our time on the island doing various tourist things, we all would sigh with delight whenever we got back to within sight of the house. It was by far the highlight of the trip for us. The views can't be beat and are available from every room in the house, the layout offers privacy for couples traveling together, the plunge pools are awesome for cooling off and relaxing with an adult beverage, marine life watching becomes an addictive compulsion (turtles, rays, numerous fish and even a few reef sharks), BBQing is a welcomed event in this surrounding and the sound of the waves crashing on rocks below is the perfect bedtime lullaby. It's truly a slice of heaven on earth. Andrea was fantastic. Our travel plans turned into a comical farce but she stayed in contact with us the entire time and made multiple trips to the airport to get us all to the house. She stocked the house with provisions as promised and stayed in touch the entire stay offering advice and responding to any and all of our questions. Kelsey too was a delight and responded quickly to any questions we had. Both are top notch. We know already that we'll be back. If you're looking for a place to calm the soul, this is it and it's a bargain at this price. Go and enjoy.....

PS- Some previous reviews noted issues with snorkeling at house. My two cents. Yes stairs are steep, water can be a bit rough and Sea urchins are there. All that said, I went several times and had no issues. Simply be careful on the steps and watch where you step when accessing the water. I had a great time snorkeling there though those damn turtles kept hiding from me whenever I'd get in the water!

Other things we enjoyed:

Point Udall - Need to see the sunrise.

Jack & Isaac Bay Preserve- Worth the hike! Awesome snorkeling off beach. Complete solitude.

Buck Island- Good snorkeling and rum punch.

The Pier at Fredricksted- More good snorkeling off the beach

Ziggys- Awesome Sunday brunch

East End Pizza- Very good and really close to house.

Cheeseburger in Paradise- Turth in advertising. Great burger, great atmosphere.

Blue Water Tavern- Great food and awesome desserts.

Botanical Garden- Beautiful place.

Shoys Beach- Very serene and quiet.

Renaissance & Bucanneer Resorts- Beaches with amenities available.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greg and guests, This is exactly as how we spend our vacation when we visit our own home and so glad you could experience it as well do! Thank you so much for the wonderful response. Hope to see you back in the islands soon. Cheers, Kelsey, Jim and team
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Hopkinton MA
5

My family and I absolutely loved this spot! Truly a slice of paradise.

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have asked for a better spot on St Croix! Andrea (the concierge) met us at the airport and led us to the house, which was about a 35 minute drive. The property is just as amazing as it looks in the photos. We wanted to keep all the kids (not really kids- all in their twenties) together in the main house, so my husband and I took the guest house. While not as nice as the main house, it was functional and the views were just as amazing! It wouldn't be suitable for those with mobility issues as the stairs to the bedroom loft are quite steep. For us it was perfect, and we enjoyed having our own little pool. As for the main house- very nice size living area with dining room table. Both bedrooms have beautiful views. We made much use of the kitchen as we cooked at home every night. We also used the grill several times. Most evenings we ate at the outdoor dining table. That was our favorite spot to eat, relax and talk about our day! The steps down to the water are a bit steep and the "beach" very rocky. I'd suggest bringing water shoes if possible.

Activities: Hiked from Point Udall down to Isaac's Bay- so scenic and very close to the house.

We did the day time kayak tour with Bryan of Virgin Kayak- excellent!

Snorkeling with Big Beards out at Buck Island - excellent (even though I was a bit seasick)!

ATV tour with Gecko Island- a lot of fun but the trails were extremely rough in some areas.

When we were done with the ATVs we ate across the street at Rythyms on Rainbow Beach. We loved this spot! You should go if you can. Great food and atmosphere. Bring your bathing suit!

We also ordered out from East End Pizza which is in the Divi Resort (close to the house). It was surprisingly good! A very good option if you don't feel like cooking one night.

All in all we thoughroughly enjoyed this property and the island of St Croix.

Best advice I received- leave your car UNLOCKED with no valuables inside. Otherwise you may be dealing with broken windows while parked in a touristy area.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Christine, What a wonderful and thoughtful review. Thanks for sending information about the area and the great time you had at the home. So glad you had such a great time and would love to have you back anytime! Cheers, Kelsey, Jim and team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jonesboro, Indiana
5

Absolutely loved the location of this home!

  • 5 of 5

The view is unbelievable and the blues of the water are gorgeous! We could not have found a better location for our family of 5. We loved everything about the house!

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your home!

Jeff, Stephanie, Jacob, Tori, and Kali

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi gang!! Thanks so much for the kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to have you back anytime. Wonderful guests! Cheers, Kelsey, Jim and team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis, IN
5

Great place to relax!

  • 5 of 5

We just recently stayed at Rainbow Cove and couldn't be happier with our choice! Every morning we would see Sea Turtles swim by, the occasional flying Sting Rays (not kidding, so cool to see) and of course Iguana's. It's in a great location and even though there are other properties near by it felt very secluded.

We were met at the airport by Andrea (very nice) and after we retrieved our luggage and car rental followed her to Rainbow Cove. After she showed everything we headed to the grocery store to stock up. Word of warning be sure to check what is already at the property before going to the grocery (we ended up buying coffee filters, seasonings, cooking oil etc.) all of which was already there. I guess in the end it all works out since we used some things we had forgot to pick up and left things we didn't end up using.

It's only a short walk to the Divi Carina Bay Casino and Resort and a short Drive to the Blue Water Terrace, Ziggy's, and Deep End for places to eat.

I will say we were fairly fortunate that most of the time it was breezy which kept the bugs away. The last day or 2 we were there the breeze died down a bit and the bugs came out, but if you use spray they are really not that bad.

All in all it was a great vacation and it all started with having a great place to call our home away from home for the week!

Mike & Tamara

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike and Tamara, Thank you so much for your review. So glad you had such a memorable experience at the home and on the island. Hope to have you back at your home away from home!! Cheers, Kelsey and Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

The house was exactly as pictured, with the exception of a remodeled master bath. We thourougly enjoyed all of the decks and pools. The kitchen was fantastic, and we used it 90% of our stay. I would definitely rent this property again.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $38 per person per night
Damage Insurance $59

Please note: Rentals of 2 to 4 guests will have the use of the main house only. Rentals of 6 guests will have the use of the main house and cottage. We do not rent the cottage as an individual unit to ensure the privacy.
All Rates are subject to 12.5% VI Hotel Tax
33% Deposit due at time of booking.
1/3 due 60 days out and balance due 30 days prior to arrival.
Personal Checks and PayPal accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties