check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Sarah Burton (Contact Manager)

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Luxurious 3 bedroom home at Sand Hollow, and just minutes to nearby Zion

39 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hurricane House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

This quaint, Santa Fe Style home is just minutes from Zion National Park. Fully stocked kitchen offers all stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, island bar, and an adjacent dining area with seating for 6. Adjacent to the kitchen/dining area is the family room with leather sofa and chair, entertainment center with 40" flatscreen TV, fireplace, and walkout slider to back patio. The back patio leads to a staircase that takes you to an observation deck. From here you have spectacular views of the Pine Valley Mountains, and the western cliffs of Zion. Master suite offers a King bed, 42" flatscreen TV, private bath, separate shower, beautiful travertine countertops with double sinks, and walk-in closet. The second and third bedrooms are separated from the Master by the family room. The 2nd bedroom includes a queen bed and French Door walkout to the courtyard. The 3rd bedroom includes a queen bed, 32" flatscreen TV and PC. Guest rooms include queen beds with shared bath. Other amenities include 14’ ceilings, washer & dryer, wireless Internet, DirecTV, double car garage, private courtyard, fully landscaped yard.

Attractions

*******************************************************************************

- Sand Hollow State Park (1 minute)

*******************************************************************************

Off-road enthusiasts love the 10,000 acres of challenging dunes at Sand Mountin. Explore endless trails on dune buggies, dirt bikes, or 4-wheelers while enjoying red rock outcroppings unique to Southern Utah.

Boaters enjoy water skiing and fishing at Sand Hollow reservoir.

*******************************************************************************

- Snow Canyon State Park (25 minutes)

*******************************************************************************

A redrock wonderland full of hiking trails, canyons, and dunes.

*******************************************************************************

- Gooseberry Mesa (40 minutes)

*******************************************************************************

Gooseberry Mesa is a slickrock singletrack mountain biking wonderland.

*******************************************************************************

- Gunlock State Park (40 minutes)

*******************************************************************************

Gunlock is Just 15 miles northwest of St. George, in scenic red rock country. Major attractions are boating, water sports, and quality fishing for bass. A mild winter climate makes Gunlock State Par a year-round destination.

*******************************************************************************

- Zion National Park (40 minutes)

*******************************************************************************

Hikers, canyoneers, and rock climbers from around the world come to Zion to experience the vertical climbs and zigzagging trails that ascend to pinnacles, domes, arches, and spires.

*******************************************************************************

- Grand Canyon - Toroweep Overlook (2 hours)

*******************************************************************************

Toroweap Overlook is a 5 star attraction for those who enjoy scenic vistas. The views are awe-inspiring and like no other I've seen in the Grand Canyon. The last 60 miles to the overlook are gravel dirt roads, with the last 3 miles requiring a high-clearance vehicle (or hike).

*******************************************************************************

Grand Canyon North Rim (2 hours 40 minutes)

*******************************************************************************

The North Rim offers a serene and enthralling Grand Canyon experience. It is more remote and less developed than the South Rim, and so it attracts far fewer tourists. Many people think its viewpoints are the most spectacular, since they are located at a higher elevation.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Sarah Burton (Contact Manager) (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 39 traveler reviews

Luxurious 3 bedroom home at Sand Hollow, and just minutes to nearby Zion
average rating of 4.8974357 based on 39 reviews
Brookfield, Wisconsin
5

Perfect get--way

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed the accomodations at the home - it is beautifully appointed, and the kitchen is well supplied with everything needed to prepare a meal. The location was ideal for us - for motorcross and mountain biking out of Hurricane and touring Zion - all short drives. We also rode the dunes on ATVs at the nearby park which was just down the road from the property.

Also the drive to St. George's for dinner is an easy one. I highly recommend staying here and would do so again if we ever go back to Utah. Great place to vacation!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ken, we are so happy the home worked out for you! We love the fact that there are so many activity venues within just a few minutes of the Sonora. As you know, Sand Mountain is just 5 minutes away, with ATV trails and and its challenging orange sand dunes. And dining is fabulous in nearby St. George. If you get back to Utah, we would love to host you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Layton, Utah
5

Good times in the desert!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful home away from home. Our family really enjoyed staying at the Sonora at Sand Hollow. The home was clean, comfortable and quiet with an amazing view of Pine Valley Mountain. I loved the simple southwest feeling of the home and appreciated being able to look out at the view from the shower.

Sarah was wonderful to work with and took great care in making sure everything was ready to go.

If you are quiet in the evening you can enjoy the bunnies coming out for evening "silflay" (Meaning to graze... bunny language from Watership Down)

This is a great base camp if you are making day trips for mountain biking!

We would stay here again in a heart beat! No seriously...one of the best VRBO properties we have stayed in.

Tom

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tom, thank you for your insightful review! You, like all of our guests, just can't get over the fantastic views and vistas at the Sonora at Sand Hollow. This setting really makes one's stay more enjoyable and memorable. The Sonora definitely beats staying in a motel in downtown St. George. And when it comes to logistics and check-in, there is not a better host than Sarah. She is absolutely amazing, and will make sure your stay is comfortable. And I'll add to your wildlife observation.... yes there are cottontail bunnies, and red tail hawks, coyotes, deer, and our famous resident roadrunner. Please let us know if you see him. This funny little bird runs around the Sonora all the time. Kat and I love the mountain biking around the area. Especially Gooseberry Mesa. I hope you were able to check it out. We hope you can make it back Tom, to the Sonora at Sand Hollow. Thank you again for your wonderful review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Salt Lake City
5

Beautiful home next to all kinds of adventure!

  • 5 of 5

We weren't sure what to expect at a home this far from the "center" of St Geoge but loved every minute at this beautiful place. Tasteful decor and high end finish and appliances throughout. Our favorite was to find the "hidden" deck on top of the home where we enjoyed a few glasses and views of the entire area from the Virgin Gorge to Zions Park.

Sand Hollow Reservoir and dunes are literally just a minute away and the golf course is incredible. There are several levels of courses that even hacks like me can enjoy. We rented a brand new (only 60 miles) RZR 1000 4 seat ATV at the clubhouse and spent a day exploring the amazing dunes, trails and rocks in the state park next door. I've ridden all over and this is as good as anything in the entire country.

Excellent place and as always, VRBO does us right. Looking forward to next time as we'll bring our boat too!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Devin, thank you for such a wonderful review. It sounds like you guys had so much fun. If one is looking to get away from the loud, busy traffic of St. George, then the Sonora at Sand Hollow is it! The Sonora at Sand Hollow is just 12 miles from the business center of St. George, yet when relaxing at the Sonora one feels a million miles away from any metro. Kat and I are happy that the decor is to your liking. Since we love the southwest, we decided to create a home with the southwest experience. Everyone loves the decor! You say the "hidden" deck was your favorite? ;) Kat and I have also enjoyed a good Pinot Noir on the roof top deck, as we too, take in all of the surrounding desert and mesa tops. Sand Hollow Golf Course is a fabulous course, with cliffs and scenery unmatched by other courses in the area. And we agree, another good reason to stay at the Sonora is the locality of Sand Hollow and the Dunes. You are literally right there - just 1 minute away from water skiing Sand Hollow Reservoir or flying off the dunes at Sand Mountain. There are many ATVs available at the clubhouse that will provide you with entertainment on the dunes the entire day. We're happy that you were able to rent one and see how wonderful Sand Mountain is. And Devin, you are so right about Sand Hollow, the dunes, and trails available - they are as good as anything in the entire country. Please do come back with your boat next time. We're happy you had such a wonderful time. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Charlotte, NC
5

Beautiful, comfortable, and cozy.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for over a week, and had a lovely visit. Property was clean and had everything we needed for a family of four. It was a beautiful location, and took about 20-25 minutes to get to St. George. We were greeted by beautiful wildlife each morning, and magnificent sunsets every night. Lots of MilkyWay to view as well.

The water was a little too soft. It felt like we couldn't get all of the soap rinsed off when showering. Also, there was a raven living on the roof, who pooped a lot on the front porch. A minor inconvenience for living in a modern home in the "wilderness". The wifi could have been a little stronger, but worked ok.

Overall we had a very nice stay. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're happy you had a wonderful time at the Sonora at Sand Hollow. We believe this is the most beautiful of all locations in the St. George area. From the home one can see the fantastic peaks of the Pine Valley mountains, as they rise to over 10,000 feet! The rooftop deck provides a great vantage point for looking at Zion Kolob and Zion West Temple. The sunsets are colorful and wildlife abundant. The St. George area water is a little hard, so soft water is a must. People who have soft water prefer it over the more gritty, hard water. Because the home is in the desert, you will find lots of wildlife. Ravens, hawks, and owls call Sand Hollow home. We even have a resident roadrunner! We hope you had a chance to see it. I visited the home today, 2015-10-13 and the wifi is very strong. A speedtest will show that it is above 7Mb/sec. Perhaps you were accessing a slow website, or your iPhone needs to be updated with the latest iOS. Powering off and on your wifi device will also reset the wifi radio in your phone. Thank you Tuba, and we hope to see you again, at the Sonora at Sand Hollow.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Just what our family needed!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for a beautiful and relaxing getaway! The location was central and perfect for everything we wanted to do. The home was very comfortable and had ample space to relax inside or out. Evening walks counting bunnies by the golf course we're the perfect end to the days. I don't think my family turned on the TV once and that's just what we needed! We'll be back...thanks a million!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amber, we are happy that the Sonora at Sand Hollow was the vacation you needed. One of the primary reasons we purchased in Sand Hollow was its close proximity to Zion National Park to the East, and Snow Canyon to the West. The location is perfect. Most of the fine dining in St. George is less than 12 miles away. Kat and I love to relax on the back patio and watch the sunsets over the Pine Valley mountains. And why watch TV when one can just walk up to the observation deck and listen to the quiet of the desert? The Sonora at Sand Hollow is a perfect place to relax after a full day of hiking activities in Zion. Kat and I look forward to having you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Wasilla Alaska
5

7 days of fun

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay! Our family had a great time with the house, it is close to so many great places to have fun; the sand dunes, Zion's park, the Sand Hollow Reservoir. We didn't even come close to doing all that we wanted to do.

It was nice to come back at the end of busy days to this very nice home, relaxing in great comfort and the clubhouse hot tub was perfect after long hikes in Zion's. Every part of our stay was enjoyed, Bret and Sarah were easy to communicate with and helpful. The house was very clean and well stocked, we only needed to stop by the store to get groceries.

Thanks for helping us have a great time on a much needed vacation! Certainly my favorite.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Matthew, we see that you had a thrilling time at the Sonora at Sand Hollow. Zion is such a great place, and so close to the Sonora. We love the many trails of Zion, as well as the adventure sport of canyoneering. We hope you had a great time at Sand Mountain with all of the ATV fun it provides. There is nothing more relaxing than being able to sit in the hot tub after a long hike in Zion. We hope you had a chance to take a dip in the pool as well. We hope to have you back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
St. George Airport
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sand Hollow Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Utah SR-9
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Brian Head Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Sand Hollow State Park
Car: recommended

Zion National Park

Zions

subway

Kolob

narrows

orderville

ponderosa

Bryce Canyon

cedar breaks

Grand Canyon

Lake Powell

wave

Snow Canyon

rockville

Springdale

virgin

Utah

southern utah

dixie

St. George

Hurricane

Saint George

hurricane

Gooseberry Mesa

mountain biking

canyoneering

rappelling

hiking

Grafton

Tuacahn

Entrada

the cliff

the ledges

Santa Clara

marathon

Gunlock

Quail Creek

quailcreek

Sand Hollow

sandhollow

coral canyon

green valley spa

las palmas

golf

sunbrook

bloomington

southgate

sky mountain

skymountain

sun river

sunriver

sedona

denali

maricopa

chaco

Retreat

Other Activities: Walmart Supercenter is just 5 miles away for all of your shopping needs.

Golf: Sand Hollow Resort features a world class 18 hole championship course.

The golf courses in the St. George area are known for their challenging designs, their well maintained fairways and greens, and their spectacular scenic features. In relationship to its population, the St. George area offers more golf courses than any other place in the Sunbelt. This is a year-round golf community with twelve great courses within a 15-minute drive from each other. In fact, several of the top rated courses in Utah are found here.

With blue skies and very little wind, winter daytime temperatures are generally in the 55-to-65 degree range making for ideal conditions for a round of 18 or more.

THE HOUSE:

Wireless internet is available. There is also a home PC for those that don't bring there own laptop.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hurricane House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,365
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning $80 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.6%

* No confusion, No guessing. Our rates are $195-$200/night for any night, during the entire year - PERIOD....



* 6 or more people will be subject to an additional $15/person/night charge. No exceptions!

* $259 Due at time of booking. Balance rent due 30 days prior to arrival.
* $159.00 Deposit see details below. ($59 non-refundable)

Refundable Deposit: $100 is refundable in the event the rental rules, contract has been met. See rental rules contract for details. The $59 is a non refundable insurance fee for accidental property damage. The balance rent is due 30 days prior to your arrival.
Thanks, Management

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hurricane House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Beautiful bathrooms include Mexican travertine countertops, showers, and garden tub. See additional details on our facebook page: www.facebook.com/SonoraAtSandHollow
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , bedroom with french doors
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , bedroom
  • 3 large bedrooms. 1 King, 2 Queens. See additional details on our facebook page: www.facebook.com/pages/Sand-Hollow-Resort/189834381031360
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO ON-STREET PARKING OVERNIGHT. ALL BOAT TRAILERS, ATV TRAILERS, AND VEHICLES MUST BE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY OR GARAGE. NO EXCEPTIONS. THERE IS NO ON-STREET PARKING ALLOWED AS PER THE HOA. VIOLATORS WILL BE ASSESSED A $50 FINE PER VIOLATION/DAY. Walmart Supercenter is just 5 miles from home, for all of your shopping needs. There is a community pool just 1 minute away. The resort also has a hot tub and work-out room next to the pool. See additional details on our facebook page: www.facebook.com/SonoraAtSandHollow

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers