Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Rebecca Helton / Makin Mtn Memories

Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

3 BR, Near Ski Lodge! $125 - $165/night / Sleeps 10 /Hot tub, pool table, wifi

7 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee

Learn more


Gatlinburg Chalet Rental Photos and Description

3 bedroom, 2 full baths, sleeps 10

Come enjoy our beautiful cabin in the Smokies and make memories that will last a lifetime! 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath chalet and we can accommodate up to 10 people comfortably!

Makin' Mountain Memories is a private 3 bedroom, 2 bath chalet located in exclusive Chalet Village about 3 miles from traffic light #10 in downtown Gatlinburg and the main entrance of the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. We are just minutes from the Ober Gatlinburg Ski Lodge and within a short 5 minute walk to the Club House with swimming pools, tennis courts and even a play ground for the kids (club houses are typically open from Memorial Day through Labor Day and our guests will enjoy free access). Many fun filled attractions and lots of shopping outlets close by in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge is only 15 minutes away.

After a busy day of shopping or hiking in the park come back to the cabin and enjoy a BBQ on the over sized deck or soak your cares away in your own private 6 person hot tub on the deck or we also have a whirlpool in the master bath . The main level has 1 bedroom and 1 full bath, large living area with cable tv and a wood burning fireplace. Pool table. New leather living room set with sofa sleeper added in April of 2012. The fully equipped kitchen is complete with all the necessities including a full size refridgerator, stove, dishwasher, coffee pot and microwave etc. etc. etc...... of course there are many terrific restaurant selections from BBQ to Fine Dining just minutes away.

Upstairs boasts 2 additional bedrooms, each with a private balcony and 1 full bath. The loft area has a tv and a new leather futon for additional sleeping.

Whatever your dream getaway experiences are, you can enjoy them all and make your own mountain memories that will last a lifetime...

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Rebecca Helton / Makin Mtn Memories (Property Manager)
Member since: 2008
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

" Unit was very clean. Beds very comfortable. Plenty of dishes and cooking utensils. Very happy with the hot tub. Overall a very rewarding experience. Going to make it a yearly event and will use The Heltons were very helpful."
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 6


based on 7 traveler reviews

3 BR, Near Ski Lodge! $125 - $165/night / Sleeps 10 /Hot tub, pool table, wifi
average rating of 4.428571 based on 13 reviews

Double family vacation

  • 2 of 5

We took our vaction to Gatlinburg this year and there was 4 adults and 2 children with us. The house had plenty of sleeping space for all of us and had plenty of towels. And the boys (even the big boys) enjoyed the pool table. I will say I was a very dissapointed in the fact that the upstairs bedroom with the queen bed smelled like a stale ashtray and was very noticable that the carpets had burn marks on it. My children and I are very sensitive and my son has to get allergy shots to control this problem so I stayed in that room but I had to keep the door open and open the windows just to make it where it was not nauseating. I also found dried blood on the throw pillow that was on that bed. That was very disappointing for me as I work in the healthcare field and know the problems that can occur from blood/bodily fluids. There was also no grill that could hold enough food for all of us as pictured in the pictures for the home. We just ate out instead so that would not be a reason not to stay again. But the over abundance of smoke smell and blood on the pillow was enough for me to say we will probably not stay there again. It was very close to Gatlinburg and easy to get to where we needed to be to make the most of our vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Heidi, We spoke about the charcoal grill during your stay. Again the city requires that we do not have charcoal grills on the deck any longer and that is why we have the brand new park style grilled installed just off the deck... I was not aware of any of the other items that you mentioned during your stay or I would have been happy to come up and address it It is our goal to make sure your stay is pleasant and comfortable while you are here..... Our cabin is non smoking and we have never had a problem with smoke smell in the cabin at all. I will be going up there today to check it out... and to replace/remove the decorative throw pillow. Thank you again for your visit
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

We made some mountain memories!

  • 5 of 5

We made last minute reservations to stay in the Gatlinburg area and were very impressed with the accommodations! The boys loved having their own rooms, and the view from the hot tub and porch were great. Lots of room, everything was clean and worked properly -- it was money well spent. We enjoyed the location -- very close to Ober Gatlinburg, but an easy drive down to town, to Pigeon Forge, and the national forest.

Quick notes: the pool table was cramped into a corner, but the boys still had fun playing. There is a very small charcoal grill on the parking pad -- not the grill that we saw in the photos, but it also worked just fine. Just don't plan on extravagant grilled dinners on it. None of these were a negative -- I just wanted to point them out for future renters.

We would definitely stay at one of the houses on the property again including this one. I want to express again that it was clean, roomy, everything worked properly, plenty of linens and towels, and the owner/manager welcomed questions before and during the stay.

And we saw four bears.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! So glad that you enjoyed your stay at our cabin. We hope that you will visit with us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sylvania, Ohio

Perfect vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for our spring vacation! It was so clean and comfortable. We were comfortable with the beds, the kitchen had everything we needed, and the hot tub was perfect to start and end our day. We loved waving to the visitors on the tram to Ober Gatlinburg! Thank you for living up to your advertising! The cleaning people were great, we couldn't even find a speck of dust!

Highly recommend Volunteer Pizza--they deliver and the pizza was fabulous, plus the people were so friendly. We went to Bryson City and rode the Smoky Mt Railroad--totally worth the trip. Then ate at Anthony's Italian across the street from railroad---great food with generous portions. !

We definitely recommend this rental! Will return--love the house and love the area!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Perfect location

  • 4 of 5

We stayed during valentine weekend with 10 of us in the chalet. Hot tub was great, all beds were comfortable. We went for the purpose of skiing and the location to Ober was awesome. For the price I can't complain but this chalet could use some repairs and a good deep cleaning. We had everything we needed for cooking. Rebecca was awesome her husband even came and jumped our car because of bad battery. I give customer service 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for reviewing your stay... just finished our annual spring cleaning and getting everything ready for the upcoming season. Look forward to you visiting again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Panama City, Florida

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

What a great location. We went up to Gatlinburg to ski and shop. Didn't realize how close it was to Ober Gatlinburg, only about a 1 to 2 minute drive. You can actually watch the tram go up right from the front deck, wow. When we wanted to go down town that only took a few minutes also. Couldn't of ask for a better spot. The drive way was also flat and nice to park on. Very clean on the inside and was as nice as the picture if not better. We sat in the hot tub, and relaxed in the jacuzzi. Thanks for such a great vacation, and letting us stay in your cabin. Hope to do it again in the future.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much... We love the location here too. So convenient to everything. Hope you visit again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
Nashville, Tn

Nature Lover! Shopping, couldnt ask for More <3

  • 5 of 5

Great Cabin! , We Enjoyed our stay here, Yes, it is in the Mountains but so close to downtown Gatlinburg we had the best of both worlds! Waking up and sitting On the deck listenting to the Birds sing in the trees above, sipping coffee, and not a care in site. The Best relaxing Vacation in a while, This is the life ! Thanks for sharing your Beautiful Cabin with us , See ya Next year~!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Makin Mountain Memories and look for to you visiting us again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
McGhee Tyson
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg Ski Lodge
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Bent Creek or Pigeon Forge
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Hwy 441 / Parkway
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Many downtown Gatlinburg
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg Ski Lodge
Car: necessary

Makin Mountain Memories is located in Chalet Village about 3 miles from traffic light #10 in downtown Gatlinburg, within walking distance of the Chalet Village club house with pools and tennis courts and only 1/4 mile to Ober Gatlinburg Ski Lodge where you will enjoy all kinds of winter activities such as snow skiing, tubing, snow boarding, arcades, shopping, bob sledding and a wonderful restaurant and lounge.

Other Activities: shopping, kayaking, snowboarding, miniature golf

Golf: Bent Creek Golf is located on Hwy 321E about 10 miles from Gatlinburg

Ski: Ober Gatlinburg Ski Lodge just 1/4 mile from our cabin


Rates & Availability

Gatlinburg Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Winter / Spring 2016
Jan 1 2016 - May 19 2016
2 night minimum stay
Summer / Fall 2016
May 20 2016 - Nov 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
December 2016
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
Holidays 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 31 2016
4 night minimum stay
Jan 1 2017 - May 18 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 19 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Accidental Damage Insurance / Travel Guard $45
Cleaning Fee $99 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

$125 - $165/night
$99 Cleaning Fee
$39 Accidental Damage Insurance
Tax rate: 12.75%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Gatlinburg Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , main level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub , upper level
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main Level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Upper Level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Upper Level
  • Living room sofa makes a queen bed and there is a futon in the loft for addtional sleeping. Will accomodate 10 people comfortably.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Accomodates up to 10 people comfortably. There is a bedroom and a bath on the man level for elderly and the shower is a stand up shower that is oversize, big enough for 2 with bench seat on either side.

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Request to Book

This property requires that you message the manager to complete your booking request.
Enter dates to calculate a quote