Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Las Piedras -Adobe Oasis - Las Piedras 2900 Sq Ft, Upscale Amenities, 3 bd, 2 ba

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,900 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, Sleeps 8 -10

A captivating 2900 square foot retreat on 5 acres surrounded by tall Pinon and Austrian pines, mature deciduous trees and boasting of incredible mountain views in all directions. A large portal with deck facing north and east and private garden sanctuary off the dining area offer extended luscious outdoor living. A very large and new private hot tub offers wondrous star gazing after a day of sight seeing, skiing, hiking and fishing. A 2 car garage is available to store your equipment. Once inside, guests enjoy a haven of delight from the light filled country kitchen and the charming living room with wood burning Kiva fireplace opening to the plant-filled solarium (sun room). When your party tires of the incredible mountain views the flat screen TV is there for additional visual pleasure and entertainment. A large master suite with spa-like bath and Swedish sauna is adjacent to the den which contains a queen size bed, queen size futon and Satellite TV.


Owner
Maria Dickerson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Additional photos can be e-mailed upon request.
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

El Prado House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet , Dry Sauna
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom 1 is the Master Bath with two sink vanities, double headed shower, soaking tub and dry sauna. Bathroom 2 is the Guest Bath with private access from Bedroom 3 or the hallway.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Or (2) Twins
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , Queen Size Futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Or (2) Twins
  • Bedroom 1 is the Master Bedroom and has private entry. King size bed can be configured as (2) Twin beds. Bedroom 2 is also called the Den and has a Queen size Murphy Bed and Queen Size Futon couch. Bedroom 3 has a King size bed or (2) Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Local Caretaker is available 24/7 for questions about the house or to address any issues. There is a Queen size sofabed in the Sun room, which has doors to close it off from the Living Room. There is a TV in the den with Direct TV. The kitchen is fully equipped with upscale dishes, cutlery, spices and appliances.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Las Piedras -Adobe Oasis - Las Piedras 2900 Sq Ft, Upscale Amenities, 3 bd, 2 ba
average rating of 4.428571 based on 15 reviews
Southlake, TX
5

We loved it

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at this El Prado Adobe house and had a great time. The views were outstanding, it was close to town yet isolated from the noise. The home was clean and ready as described and had ample beds for our large family. The location was a quick drive to Taos Ski Valley.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Taos oin the winter

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the house and Taos. Wish we had more snow.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jupiter, FL
4

Mishaps

  • 4 of 5

Due to the weather, we arrived at the house late at night. It was hard to find due to the lack of street lights and the dirt roads, but we made it! As coordinated with the caretaker, Chuck, we found the key and house was all lite up for us upon our late arrival. The layout of the house was kind of funky, but it worked for our family. One past review made a comment of a "musty" smell. We thought it smelled musty when we arrived but once we moved in, we did not notice it again. The house was cleaned and had plenty of pillows and blankets for us to use. The instructions for the fireplace, heater, tv etc where very clear and easy to follow.

Our first mishap was with the dryer. It broke down before our arrival and due to the holidays and being that we were in Taos, it was not feasible to have it fixed. Chuck did try but had no luck. We had to hang our wet clothes in the sun room. It was inconvenient but with the heat of the day, the clothes dried right up. Chuck did offer to take care of our dirty laundry but we decided against it. We just made it work.

Our second mishap was with the T.V. It just died! We called Chuck and by the next night he brought us and installed a new T.V. The new T.V. worked just fine.

Lastly, the internet went down for one night, but it was back up in the morning. In the good side, Grammy had a great time bird watching. They had several bird feeders and a big bucket with seeds. We never used the sauna or the hot tub but they were available to us. The kitchen had all the gadgets necessary and all the supplies we needed. The one thing we found odd, was that we were requested not to use more than 5 sheets of toilet paper per flush or the system would clog up. We had to flushed multiple times, every time you "went" to the bathroom to make sure only 5 sheets of toilet paper were flushed at one time.

The house was about a 25 min drive to the ski slopes and about 10 min drive to the town. Unfortunately, there was very little snow- but it was still fun.

Even though we had some mishaps, the house worked just fine for us. Chuck was always available. He was very nice and helpful.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We enjoyed our stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here 4 nights. 6 adults and a two year old. There was plenty of room for everyone, and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna after a day on the slopes. The dishwasher was so quiet that my husband wanted to take it home with us! We were impressed with the sharp knives, and good quality appliances and pots and pans. Chuck the caretaker was easy to contact and very friendly and eager to help with little things like running out of dishwasher tablets. The location was very quiet and peaceful. Easy drive into Taos for shopping and dining at LaCueva! Just under 30 minute drive to Sipapu ski area. The check list of things to do before checking out is simple, and very similar to other vacation rentals We have stayed in. I love that food left over is taken to a homeless shelter. We would stay here again if we get the chance!

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very valuable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Taos Ambiance

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a quaint adobe experience, as we were, this is the perfect place. Cozy, comfortable, and southwest charming. Everything we needed to kick back and enjoy the ambiance of northern New Mexico. The location is so peaceful, overlooking the valley towards the ski area. Plenty of privacy yet close enough to town and restaurants. The photos are representative of the home and layout. We look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Do Not Book

  • 2 of 5

We were really excited about this property. We liked it's uniqueness and location. The caretaker also seemed nice.

When we first arrived, we instantly smelled mold with a mixture of something else…later found out it was mothballs. My guess is someone knew it stunk because there were air freshener cones in about every room. There were indications that they have had mold problems in the house, I took many pictures of the moldy roof in the laundry room and bedrooms. The smell was so bad that we left the windows open during the day so that it would be tolerable at night. The upkeep of the house obviously wasn't good but neither was the housekeeping. Our sheets smelled like mold, found that they had been shutting their front load washer, creating a large build up of mold. I ended up cleaning the washer myself (not something I wanted to do on vacation) so we could wash our smelly sheets. There were cobwebs all over the place, faucets that constantly leaked, a sauna that did not work, and many more things.

My family and I have no interest in staying there ever again.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have contacted the guest to apologize because she did not enjoy her stay. I take all complaints very seriously and accusations of mold are especially alarming. Since her stay the house has been thoroughly inspected for mold and no sign has been discovered. I did not receive any photos from the guest. I acknowledge that the front loader washer can smell funky, but that doesn't affect the cleanliness of the clothes. However, I am taking steps to use one of the machine cleaning products (Affresh) on a regular basis. In addition, I have contacted the guest who stayed in the house just days prior to the Mcgowan family arrival to inquire about any issues. Her email response: "Marie, we really enjoyed our stay. We did not have any complaints. The kitchen was well stocked and clean, bedrooms and bathrooms were clean." This review (and complaints of mold) materialized after I had rated the guests 3 of 5 on cleanliness - which is average. I didn't realize they would take such offense. However, the rating was appropriate as the hot tub was most likely used as a bathtub and I had to drain (450 gallons) it in order to clean it. Even with this unexpected cost, I refunded 100% of the security deposit. It is interesting to note that while the guests were staying at the home, there were no complaints about cleanliness or mold. My policy has always been to meet the guests upon arrival to make sure the accommodations are acceptable. If there are issues we work to correct them promptly.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1

Map

Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 64
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Highway 64
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Taos Ski Valley
Car: necessary

Hundreds of years of rich cultural interaction among Spanish explorers, Native Americans and American immigrants have created a diverse climate of understanding among Taosenos. The pace is slow, the air is fresh, the water clear, all contributing to a trusting small-town feeling of hospitality. Taos offers newcomers and visitors a warm and friendly community.

These wide open spaces - Taos County is comprised of several small communities that are spread out over approximately 50 square miles, offer an individual an environment to decompress and connect with the beauty of nature. Proximity to the Taos Ski Valley, river rafting, ballooning, fishing, hiking as well as shopping, fine dining, art galleries and museums. The sky is clear and stars shine brightly at night. Air quality is excellent and there is almost no pollution.

Welcome to Taos and we hope your stay at Las Piedras is a wonderful experience.

Other Activities: Art galleries, river rafting, ballooning

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0
Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 8.25%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties