Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Las Piedras -Adobe Oasis - Las Piedras 2900 Sq Ft, Upscale Amenities, 3 bd, 2 ba

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, Sleeps 8 -10

A captivating 2900 square foot retreat on 5 acres surrounded by tall Pinon and Austrian pines, mature deciduous trees and boasting of incredible mountain views in all directions. A large portal with deck facing north and east and private garden sanctuary off the dining area offer extended luscious outdoor living. A very large and new private hot tub offers wondrous star gazing after a day of sight seeing, skiing, hiking and fishing. A 2 car garage is available to store your equipment. Once inside, guests enjoy a haven of delight from the light filled country kitchen and the charming living room with wood burning Kiva fireplace opening to the plant-filled solarium (sun room). When your party tires of the incredible mountain views the flat screen TV is there for additional visual pleasure and entertainment. A large master suite with spa-like bath and Swedish sauna is adjacent to the den which contains a queen size bed, queen size futon and Satellite TV.


Owner
Maria Dickerson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Additional photos can be e-mailed upon request.
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

El Prado House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet , Dry Sauna
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom 1 is the Master Bath with two sink vanities, double headed shower, soaking tub and dry sauna. Bathroom 2 is the Guest Bath with private access from Bedroom 3 or the hallway.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Or (2) Twins
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , Queen Size Futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Or (2) Twins
  • Bedroom 1 is the Master Bedroom and has private entry. King size bed can be configured as (2) Twin beds. Bedroom 2 is also called the Den and has a Queen size Murphy Bed and Queen Size Futon couch. Bedroom 3 has a King size bed or (2) Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Local Caretaker is available 24/7 for questions about the house or to address any issues. There is a Queen size sofabed in the Sun room, which has doors to close it off from the Living Room. There is a TV in the den with Direct TV. The kitchen is fully equipped with upscale dishes, cutlery, spices and appliances.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
Las Piedras -Adobe Oasis - Las Piedras 2900 Sq Ft, Upscale Amenities, 3 bd, 2 ba
average rating of 4.3 based on 11 reviews
5

Taos Ambiance

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a quaint adobe experience, as we were, this is the perfect place. Cozy, comfortable, and southwest charming. Everything we needed to kick back and enjoy the ambiance of northern New Mexico. The location is so peaceful, overlooking the valley towards the ski area. Plenty of privacy yet close enough to town and restaurants. The photos are representative of the home and layout. We look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Do Not Book

  • 2 of 5

We were really excited about this property. We liked it's uniqueness and location. The caretaker also seemed nice.

When we first arrived, we instantly smelled mold with a mixture of something else…later found out it was mothballs. My guess is someone knew it stunk because there were air freshener cones in about every room. There were indications that they have had mold problems in the house, I took many pictures of the moldy roof in the laundry room and bedrooms. The smell was so bad that we left the windows open during the day so that it would be tolerable at night. The upkeep of the house obviously wasn't good but neither was the housekeeping. Our sheets smelled like mold, found that they had been shutting their front load washer, creating a large build up of mold. I ended up cleaning the washer myself (not something I wanted to do on vacation) so we could wash our smelly sheets. There were cobwebs all over the place, faucets that constantly leaked, a sauna that did not work, and many more things.

My family and I have no interest in staying there ever again.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have contacted the guest to apologize because she did not enjoy her stay. I take all complaints very seriously and accusations of mold are especially alarming. Since her stay the house has been thoroughly inspected for mold and no sign has been discovered. I did not receive any photos from the guest. I acknowledge that the front loader washer can smell funky, but that doesn't affect the cleanliness of the clothes. However, I am taking steps to use one of the machine cleaning products (Affresh) on a regular basis. In addition, I have contacted the guest who stayed in the house just days prior to the Mcgowan family arrival to inquire about any issues. Her email response: "Marie, we really enjoyed our stay. We did not have any complaints. The kitchen was well stocked and clean, bedrooms and bathrooms were clean." This review (and complaints of mold) materialized after I had rated the guests 3 of 5 on cleanliness - which is average. I didn't realize they would take such offense. However, the rating was appropriate as the hot tub was most likely used as a bathtub and I had to drain (450 gallons) it in order to clean it. Even with this unexpected cost, I refunded 100% of the security deposit. It is interesting to note that while the guests were staying at the home, there were no complaints about cleanliness or mold. My policy has always been to meet the guests upon arrival to make sure the accommodations are acceptable. If there are issues we work to correct them promptly.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

REVIEW A LITTLE LATE

  • 5 of 5

I spent the month of August 2015 in the absolutely charming property. Unfortunately my roommate did not leave a review so here I go. You couldn't ask for more. When you stay somewhere for a month it becomes your home and Las Piedras welcomed me with open arms! I can't imagine anything more to ask for than what this charming house provides. The views are stunning, the caretaker is marvelous, it's peaceful, quiet and beautiful. If you want excitement you are just a few miles from great shopping ,wonderful art and lots and lots of very friendly people! I love it! I hope to return in 2017.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience from the time we inquired about booking until the end of our vacation. The house is exactly as described and provided a comfortable and warm place to spend quality family time when we were not on the ski slopes. The location was perfect as it was close to town and Taos Ski Valley. The caretaker was responsive to all of our questions and in planning our arrival. We hope to be back next year!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Green Valley, AZ
1

Beware Winter Visitors, Cold and drafty!

  • 1 of 5

None of the reviewers stayed in Winter. I have been renting from VRBO for 10 years and over 5 years in the Taos area. The house has antiquated baseboard heaters that keep the house at a toasty 60-65 degrees. Their solution, ineffective space heaters that do nothing to warm the large open spaces. Obviously they know the heating is a problem or else why provide 6 space heaters? Owner does not provide basic amenities such as Kleenex, flashlights, a lighter to start the barbecue, or a fire in the fireplace. There was plenty of wood, just no means to start a fire to try and warm the house. We had a 4.5 hour power outage on Christmas evening and there were no flashlights, candles, or anything to make sure we were safe. We had to eat on the floor in front of the fireplace. I contacted the owner after our stay and her response was " I wish you had contacted Chuck Lane or failing that, myself, on the first or second day of your stay with your complaints then I would have had an opportunity to provide some remedies." I was on vacation with my daughters and the last thing I wanted to do after skiing and hiking the steeps of Taos was to have to handle someone's "home owner" problems. If you rent this property in the winter, bring flashlights for the weekly power outages, Kleenex, lighters, fire starter, and extra throws. The house is spacious and well located for skiers. Thank goodness the hot tub worked!

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2014
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate input from all our guests and we have remedied the issues that our guest wrote about. Natural gas has been brought to the house and a new tankless water heater and gas heater have been installed. An Emergency Supplies container has been created with lanterns, flashlights, matches, bottled water and candles. Unfortunately, we received these complaints on the last day of their stay and had no time to provide any remedies. I refused a demand for a $500 refund and the result was the unfavorable review. Our guests live in Arizona and I can understand why temperatures in the 60s would not be comfortable. Our guest was able to burn firewood and must have done so almost continuously as nearly 1 cord of wood was consumed in 1 week. It was unfortunate that the power went out, but that was not specific to the house - all of Taos was affected. We have had guests stay at the house from Jan-Feb for 2 years in a row and they will be coming back again in 2016, so the conditions must have been tolerable. Heat should not be an issue from now on.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Dallas, TX USA
5

Excellent Place to Relax and Enjoy the Beauty of Taos

  • 5 of 5

Casa Piedras gave us an opportunity to unwind from the city life we’re used to. Casa Piedras is a family vacation home that offers comfort and relaxation. Waking up to the sounds of nature and the cool mountain breeze blowing through the spacious home, allowed my family to relax all day if we desired. The home sits on a 2.5 acre lot that is full of vegetation and offers a scenic mountain view of Taos, but not too far from all the city’s attractions. The home itself offers so many wonderful amenities i.e., kitchen necessities, new washer/dryer, sauna, hot tub, game room, two car garage, large flat screen TV, DVDs, books, Direct TV, and music cds, just to name a few. My family and I spoke very highly of Casa Piedras and want to revisit it in the winter. I recommend this place for long visits, for a month or more to take full advantage of this beautiful home and town. This will be our VRBO destination every time we visit Taos. Thank you Maria for the hospitable service you provided during our stay. Hope to revisit Taos and your home again soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Millicent Rogers Museum
Rio Grande Gorge Rest Area
"The view of the Rio Grande Gorge is stunning. You can walk across the bridge. A bit nerve ..."
Dragonfly Cafe and Bakery -- CLOSED
"The food is creative, fresh and very tasty. Prices are fair for the quality. Service can b..."
Michaels Kitchen Cafe & Bakery
"The local diner in Taos. Operating hours are long, something for everybody. Portions are l..."
The Love Apple
"Food is creative and fantastic. Housed in an adobe church for a unique setting. This is fi..."
Navajo Gallery
Orlando's New Mexican Cafe
Martinez Hacienda
The Harwood Museum of Art
N Plaza
Taos Ski Valley
Ghost Ranch
Puye Cliffs Welcome Center
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 64
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Highway 64
Nearest Ski
14 Miles
Taos Ski Valley
Car: necessary

Hundreds of years of rich cultural interaction among Spanish explorers, Native Americans and American immigrants have created a diverse climate of understanding among Taosenos. The pace is slow, the air is fresh, the water clear, all contributing to a trusting small-town feeling of hospitality. Taos offers newcomers and visitors a warm and friendly community.

These wide open spaces - Taos County is comprised of several small communities that are spread out over approximately 50 square miles, offer an individual an environment to decompress and connect with the beauty of nature. Proximity to the Taos Ski Valley, river rafting, ballooning, fishing, hiking as well as shopping, fine dining, art galleries and museums. The sky is clear and stars shine brightly at night. Air quality is excellent and there is almost no pollution.

Welcome to Taos and we hope your stay at Las Piedras is a wonderful experience.

Other Activities: Art galleries, river rafting, ballooning

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0
Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 8.25%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.